Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Negatives are we have very little depth on the panel and of course Keegan and Parsons are massive losses.

Positives are it doesn't make too big a difference at this stage if we go through the front or back door. Galway will now face Sligo and Roscommon before either going into the qualifiers or the Super 8s. Either way they still have a tough route. Mayo might have a couple of handy qualifiers to get them up to speed.

All is not lost for this Mayo team but it will take a monumental effort to come through the Super 8s if we get that far.

No team has gone to the well so often and so successfully in recent years than this Mayo team. They are at their best when written off and with their backs to the wall.

As for Galway they will have to overcome their Croke Park hoodoo to have a chance in the Super 8s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,666 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

seanhynes wrote: »
    Id be inclined to think Mayo are better off getting away qualifiers , seems to be absolutely horrible our shooting anytime we play at McHale park, I dunno is it the extra pressure from fans playing at home I can't understand it ,the Derry qualifier last year springs to mind along with yesterday,shooting is criminal but we seem to play with more freedom away from there

A good point.
    Its been so long since we last put a really good side to the sword at McHale park, cant really remember last time it happened.
    Knocked out of Connaught in 2 of the last 3 years at home. And home qualifiers in the last 2 years far from impressive
    A curious thing with this team, but when we reach Croker, it seems to liberate the lads and we drive on that extra 10-15%. I guess we've played so many games there over the last 7-8 years!

Whether we make it that far this year is anyone's guess.

On the midfield issue, theres no ready made replacement in the same class and its naive to think we can find one.

Best we could probably do is withdraw AOS a lot more and play Vaughan too. Aidan's physicality will help but his lack of mobility is a real concern.

We'll need a driving Half back line more than ever....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

[/b]

You put Aiden O Shea back on the middle of the park and play a half forward line of McLaughlin, Doherty and Diarmuid (after suspension).

By the way, you pick up the phone to Varley to, I'm not joking, he could be worth something yet.

Of course Varley is worth a go, he can score.

Getting married soon tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Zeek12 wrote: »
    A good point.
    Its been so long since we last put a really good side to the sword at McHale park, cant really remember last time it happened.
    Knocked out of Connaught in 2 of the last 3 years at home. And home qualifiers in the last 2 years far from impressive
    A curious thing with this team, but when we reach Croker, it seems to liberate the lads and we drive on that extra 10-15%. I guess we've played so many games there over the last 7-8 years!

Whether we make it that far this year is anyone's guess.

On the midfield issue, theres no ready made replacement in the same class and its naive to think we can find one.

Best we could probably do is withdraw AOS a lot more and play Vaughan too. Aidan's physicality will help but his lack of mobility is a real concern.

We'll need a driving Half back line more than ever....

I'd like to see us start the qualifiers with

Clarke
    Harrison Vaughan O'Donoghue
    Higgins Boyle Durcan
    O'Shea Keegan
    McLoughlin O'Shea Doherty
    Loftus Moran O'Connor

and try and get as much game time for Cian Hanley, and James Durcan. I certainly wouldn't be against Enda Varley being given a a recall to the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

jr86 wrote: »
    Do galway really have more depth than Mayo?

Up front yes but the whole half backline, keeper, Tom Flynn and Declan kyne wouldn't even make the Mayo bench

Tom Flynn seems to do alright against Mayo. Winning goal in 2016 and caught a huge kickout and fisted an insurance point near the end of the game the last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Hennelly
    Harrison
    Barrett
    Drake
    Vaughan
    Moran
    Hanley
    Doherty
    Douglas
    Regan
    Durkan

That's the Mayo subs bench as per yesterday's program.
    Now obviously Barrett started for Cafferkey and Doherty for O'Connor, and if Harrison was fully fit he would have started for O'Donoughe.

But there is plently of depth in that bench.

Is it a deep as Dublin's obviously not, but it's as good as any other of the top teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Hennelly
    Harrison
    Barrett
    Drake
    VaughanMoran
    Hanley
    Doherty
    Douglas
    Regan
    Durkan

That's the Mayo subs bench as per yesterday's program.
    Now obviously Barrett started for Cafferkey and Doherty for O'Connor, and if Harrison was fully fit he would have started for O'Donoughe.

But there is plently of depth in that bench.

Is it a deep as Dublin's obviously not, but it's as good as any other of the top teams.
    Some depth but not plenty and for a team with a lot of 30 year old starters Mayo need a much stronger bench with subs capable of producing an impact more now than ever before.

I really don't know what Rochford was at bringing on J Durcan,C Hanley 2nd half while experienced players B Moran,G Cafferkey was left on the bench.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

djPSB wrote: »
    [/b]

You put Aiden O Shea back on the middle of the park and play a half forward line of McLaughlin, Doherty and Diarmuid (after suspension).

By the way, you pick up the phone to Varley to, I'm not joking, he could be worth something yet.

Of course Varley is worth a go, he can score.

Getting married soon tho.

Marriage at Mayo’s time of need . What were they thinking ? ? ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

I really don't know what Rochford was at bringing on J Durcan,C Hanley 2nd half while experienced players B Moran,G Cafferkey was left on the bench.

You would have to wonder why is Big Bird still on the panel if he isn't brought on in a game like last Sunday? Be like Regan and Douglas in that they are carried all year to never be seen when a match is in the melting pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Tweet from Tom Parsons

"Teammates,opponents,supporters and all GAA people.THANK YOU all from the bottom of my heart for all the messages of support and best wishes at a rough time.

"My comeback will be stronger than my setback" "

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Can anyone tell me what Drake is bringing to the Mayo team. I can't say I have seen him play much with Ballaghdereen, but for the life of me I can't see anything that he has done to say he has a squad place ahead of Nally, Freeman, Conroy and how he is getting game time ahead of Regan or Douglas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

yop wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me what Drake is bringing to the Mayo team. I can't say I have seen him play much with Ballaghdereen, but for the life of me I can't see anything that he has done to say he has a squad place ahead of Nally, Freeman, Conroy and how he is getting game time ahead of Regan or Douglas.

Because of strong running in the middle third towards the end of games / Croke Park imo. Rochford is a fan of the type of player and that type of player has a place and served him and the team well imo. I don't think that place was last Sunday though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

He won't kick worldie scores or anything but he brings a great engine and is an extra body in defence to close out games, as well as an added ball carrier in attack. Pretty much what Parlance said

Rochford is clearly a big fan, you'll always get managers who have a preference for particular players. There are 6 subs available and that should allow for players with different functions to come in

The subs used were probably wrong the last day in hindsight but I don't think it cost the game or anything. As the summer progresses Vaughan, COC, Keegan, Barrett and Harrison should all get back to fully match fit and there will be serious options available

The back door could be an ideal opportunity for Durcan and Hanley. I'd start Durcan the next game tbh and see what he has to offer. It might all be a year too early for Hanley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,624 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Do galway really have more depth than Mayo?

Up front yes but the whole half backline, keeper, Tom Flynn and Declan kyne wouldn't even make the Mayo bench

But up front has been Mayo`s major downfall in recent years.
    Even in the free taking compartment.

Something that really stood out on Sunday when you compare McLoughlin`s free taking to McHugh`s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

charlie14 wrote: »

Something that really stood out on Sunday when you compare McLoughlin`s free taking to McHugh`s.

Cillian O Connor was the top scorer in the championship 3 out of the last 4 years. Andy Moran was the top scorer from play last year.

Mayo's 'lack of forwards' is always the line rolled out. Our forwards were the problem on Sunday, but they are not our downfall.

I think our lack of strength in depth is.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

PARlance wrote: »
    Because of strong running in the middle third towards the end of games / Croke Park imo. Rochford is a fan of the type of player and that type of player has a place and served him and the team well imo. I don't think that place was last Sunday though.

I don't think he is subbed correctly though. Last Sunday he came in for Loftus last Sunday, when we needed scores. He has done this in the past and as of yet I can see zero impact.
    The Galway subs were of much higher impact than ours.

Agree re the qualifiers been a platform for these guys to get a footing and experience, time will tell if he uses them and more importantly in the correct positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

yop wrote: »
    I don't think he is subbed correctly though. Last Sunday he came in for Loftus last Sunday, when we needed scores. He has done this in the past and as of yet I can see zero impact.
    The Galway subs were of much higher impact than ours.

Agree re the qualifiers been a platform for these guys to get a footing and experience, time will tell if he uses them and more importantly in the correct positions.

I can see why people feel Drake offers little but then I know many had issues (and some still do) with Jason Doherty and dare I say it Enda Varley too, the same that some on this thread are calling to be returned.
    Also Drake came on for Loftus and Cillian came on for Parsons, so if you were to switch those positions around it would be a fairly even match.
    Drake needs to create more of an impact before people to see what he brings I feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

charlie14 wrote: »

No I fully agree Galway have great options in attack and mayo are light, but I was questioning the overall depth argument. I don't think Galway have any standout defenders overall never mind on the bench, bar Kerin who's a great bit of stuff, and potentially Sean Andy O'Ceallaigh. I think Liam Silke will be a huge addition next year

Mayo won the midfield battle handy enough I thought in the first half and I would really question Galway's options around the middle also. There's a case that the two Corofin midfielders are better than galway's starting two on Sunday, although I thought Duggan did well in patches. I don't think Tom Flynn is up to top inter-county standard. Maybe in a few years when Cooke and Darcy fully develop they'll be stronger in that area but if their attack malfunctions any day, they're in right trouble

Cillian O Connor was the top scorer in the championship 3 out of the last 4 years. Andy Moran was the top scorer from play last year.

Mayo's 'lack of forwards' is always the line rolled out. Our forwards were the problem on Sunday, but they are not our downfall.

I think our lack of strength in depth is.

Over the past 6 to 7 years Mayo had backs and mid-fielders to sell. Although in fairness full back has been a problem position.
    Cilian O Connor for 3 years up front was excellent, as was Andy Moran last year, but to win AI`s you need a spread of scoring forwards and imo that has been the major problem for Mayo and there have been no recent finds to alleviate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭muddle84

Why didn't Durcan get a run around in the league though? Surely he should have got game time there before this game. I thought Gallagher might have been a better option given his performances in the league. I really think he should have brought in Vaughan earlier too. 
    What are peoples thoughts on Andy being on for the finish of the game rather than the start?

No I fully agree Galway have great options in attack and mayo are light, but I was questioning the overall depth argument. I don't think Galway have any standout defenders overall never mind on the bench, bar Kerin who's a great bit of stuff, and potentially Sean Andy O'Ceallaigh. I think Liam Silke will be a huge addition next year

Mayo won the midfield battle handy enough I thought in the first half and I would really question Galway's options around the middle also. There's a case that the two Corofin midfielders are better than galway's starting two on Sunday, although I thought Duggan did well in patches. I don't think Tom Flynn is up to top inter-county standard. Maybe in a few years when Cooke and Darcy fully develop they'll be stronger in that area but if their attack malfunctions any day, they're in right trouble

Galway may have no outstanding defenders, although O`Ceallaigh looks to be a great find for them, but they are set up in such a way that they are extremely difficult to break down and if they turn over ball have forwards that attack at serious pace. All of which can take their own scores, with the added option of a wrecking ball of a full forward in Comer should they wish to go long (something a lack off has hindered Mayo over the years imo).
    Foul them when they are coming at you at pace and then the have McHugh

I thought Cooke did quite well when he came in.
    Strange as it may sound the one team in particular that could give Galway serious problems this year should they come up against them I reckon is Monaghan.
    They have been unlocking defenses similar to Galway`s for years in Ulster

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

That Galway Lad took great frees from the ground and a good bit out too . I wish Mayo had some one as Good .

Cillian O’ Connor is not as good as he was , and struggles a bit with the long ones .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

blinding wrote: »
    That Galway Lad took great frees from the ground and a good bit out too . I wish Mayo had some one as Good .

Cillian O’ Connor is not as good as he was , and struggles a bit with the long ones .

That was the problem, 11 wides, and Diarmuid O'Connor acting the gurrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

muddle84 wrote: »
    Why didn't Durcan get a run around in the league though? Surely he should have got game time there before this game. I thought Gallagher might have been a better option given his performances in the league. I really think he should have brought in Vaughan earlier too.
    What are peoples thoughts on Andy being on for the finish of the game rather than the start?

You would imagine that his recent form has been such that he has just taken the thing by storm. However, although that might be the case, I don't think that is exactly the answer to it. If you consider what opens a blanket defence - serious pace off the shoulder. What do durkan, hanley and drake have? Serious pace.
    If you consider rochfords horses for courses approach, introducing these guys late in the game very much fits in with that way of thinking. So giving out about drake coming on, or durkan not getting more games, kinda misses the point. They were there for a specific job that they had the tools to do better than most - strike runners.
    In reality, if hanley had slipped by the galway defender when he got that run at goal, and rattles the net (which I think he should have, or at least scored), it's a master stroke.

Re andy moran, what if you bring him on at half time, he absolutely destroys the defender, rattles off 4-5 points and finishes strongly, and we lose by a point? Everyone is saying he should have started...
    To my mind, let him start and empty the tank. Once that happens and he is completely honest about that happening, indicating that he needs to come off, that is getting the absolute maximum from him, and that is exactly what is happening now.

I think the sending off affected all above tactics massively. For starters, it gave galway an extra sweeper who can just sit deep and not commit to marking anyone, which in turn affects the impact the pacey guys coming on could have. It also makes mayo go into a defensive shell in the second half - including moran, who ideally we don't want chasing back at all.

I wouldn't be as critical of the mayo shooting as some. That wind was obviously hard to judge and galway had similar issues (they didn't have as many wides but they had far more into the keepers hands). Our main issue in losing to galway in the last few years has been discipline and that is what needs addressing. The two oconnors need to tune in to playing football. They are going overboard with the dark arts and are getting caught out. Someone needs to remind them, it's only an art if you are getting away with it - if you aren't it is just stupid behaviour. (Obviously the elbow isn't a dark art, but I don't believe he was deliberately trying to elbow conroy in the face)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

What was the craic with the red netting behind each goal,looked ridiculous on tv.
    Was it a tactic to put Galway off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The nets are red (and green) because they are the Mayo colours. And more power to them for doing it. It makes watching tellys replays a pain in the neck though, as the netting colour comes up a lot darker on the camera behind the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

ProudDUB wrote: »
    The nets are red (and green) because they are the Mayo colours. And more power to them for doing it. It makes watching tellys replays a pain in the neck though, as the netting colour comes up a lot darker on the camera behind the goal.

They were installed at the beginning of the year. Cant actually notice them that much at the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

mayo.mick wrote: »
    They were installed at the beginning of the year. Cant actually notice them that much at the game

That's why I said on the telly. The camera is up high, behind the goal. You aren't watcihng the game from there. People at home, watching replays of goals and points are. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,622 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

The light blue colur seats in the stand bugs the f*ck out of me. I know its a minor issue but they should be green and/or red.

Rant over.