Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

Thinking about it more with the new kickout rule in effect parsons is a HUGE loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

Pi$$ poor quality of a game, far too defensive. its turning into football with all the playing around the back.

AOD used to take the ball and blast through, get the lads and the fans pumped and that usually evoked a bit of a game.

I was watching him for a while the last half, Hands on hips, staying in wrong half, wandering around, not a man to be seen near him to mark, when the ball did come back he jogged a little the direction and gave half arsed tackle.....

On a side note,, what happened to the traffic?? Was mental to get going, 1 hour lost sitting in car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Bonniedog wrote: »
    I would say Dublin still fear Mayo more than Galway. Watched the game in Craobh after the hurling and Dublin supporters were delighted Mayo lost. Which is indication of where threat lies.

Would fear Galway more because Galway have no fear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Point being that Mayo as of now be handy game for Dublin.

Id put Donegal or Monaghans or maybe Tyrone chances of running Dublin close much higher than Mayos

Truth is the all Ireland now that is the benchmark.
    Beat Dublin really.

They'd be handy if we got to play them now yeah. I'm sure if Dublin were playing them yesterday they'd have lost by 10+. They've a track record of improving dramatically though so that means nothing come August.

Also, how could you have any confidence in Monaghan running Dublin closer than Mayo? They've been crucified more than once at Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

What are people's feelings on Parsons replacement? AOS to drop in, or Vaughan to come in maybe?

Coen seems to have done it all at underage and is spoken of in the highest terms, but from his limited senior football to date I don't see him adding a lot. Maybe he'll grow into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,265 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Watched the game yesterday as somewhat impartial (Missus is from belmullet but im from Kildare).  I thought Mayo were poor from their own kickout. Was it just me or did Aidan O'Shea have a brutal game?. Looks to have got bigger than last year and a lot less mobile.  Saw him blatantly pull out of one challenge also.  I thought he had a great game in last years all ireland but jesus he hadn't even the bottle to kick the ball yesterday.  Very impressed with Loftus. Looks to be an excellent young player. Didn't think Galway were overly impressive either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

grbear wrote: »
    Just how bad is a dislocated knee? I'm no doctor (not even related to one, think a cousin is a nurse though) but dislocated knee sounds a bit better than my own initial diagnosis of "Eff me, he has broken his leg clean in half". I thought I was after witnessing a Luc Nilis type horror break.

Absolutely horrible to see any player hurt like that and I hope to see Parsons back playing for Mayo at some point in the future.

I think there is likely a lot of ligament damage as well. Dislocated knees can become a recurrent problem too. I would say it's a long road back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

km79 wrote: »
    Monaghan and Tyrone you say ? 2 teams Dublin annihilated in the championship last autumn before drawing with mayo and overcoming them in reply by a solitary point ?

We don't live in the past!.

Mayo have gone backwards while I think Northern teams like Donegal and Monaghan are on the up.

As we know looking to the past is a terrible way to determine the future.

Put it this way. Do you see Mayo giving Dublin a run this year?.

Not a hope!. I have a feeling MAYBE a Northern team give them a run for it.

But nothing in Connacht Leinster or Munster (yes Kerry) will give Dublin any concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,306 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Mayo have gone backwards while I think Northern teams like Donegal and Monaghan are on the up.

But nothing in Connacht Leinster or Munster (yes Kerry) will give Dublin any concern.

But what do you base that Donegal and Mnaghan are on the up ?

Injuries, a poor league and a loss yesterday make the case for Mayo being on the down.

But what have Monaghan and Donegal done to show they are on the up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

This exact sentiment has been expressed at around this time for the past 2 years

Yes I do see mayo giving Dublin a run this year and I’m sure Jim Gavin does as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Mayo will play 5 in total to get to the quarter final groups, Galway 3 in total , so 2 extra.

The difference is Galway know their path to the super 8s now will have the safety net of the qualifiers if they lose to Sligo or Roscommon while Mayo don't have that anymore and last summer diced with death on more than one occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Mayo reach the last 8 and they will be back in the ball game again. Monaghan will do well to reach the last 8 and will go no further than that. Donegal are in transition they won't beat Tyrone or Monaghan in the Ulster final IMO and could face another round 4 exit like they did last year.

The last provincial quarter final is Sunday 27th so I take it the draw for the first qualifier round will be Monday 29th.

Can't wait (feck all else to do)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

One could argue that we played better yesterday than this time last year and look where we ended up in 2017.... you get what you deserve.

We are too good to bow out and I expect us to make the super 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Finally in a vaguely fit state to so to speak put pen to paper.

Unfortunately as I feared our indiscipline possibly cost us victory.Whilst we were none too convincing with some poor wides I thought we were in a relatively good place pre Diarmuid's sending off with a largely minimal deficit heading to the break with a none too insignificant gust at our backs in the second half.This is a recurring issue whither a spur of the moment action or serious foul play.It is costing us dearly.

Too gutted to as yet watch the game back or view the Sunday Game.The Players Championship was a less painful alternative( an anaesthesia of sorts).

By all accounts Diarmuid's foul play was at the higher end of the scale,my fellow GAA aficionada thought it was a stonewall red in real time.

I thought we were fast out of the blocks but our shot selection was woeful with attempts from too great a distance into a swirling wind.It was a shame we were not better and more patient at working the ball inside.

Our lack of a freetaker from the right hand side was costly as poor Kevin Mc has no gra for taking same and his execution exemplified same.In contrast Barry McHugh's execution from placed balls was top notch.

David Clarke was very good under the high ball yesterday and Damian Comer threatened to give Chris Barrett a roasting in the first half but the sending off ensured a more defensive setup with less opportunities for Comer to impress.

Shane Walsh had a very hit and miss day,so much talent but I lost count of the number of times the ball dropped short into David Clarke.He must be very frustrating as a Galway supporter to watch.It was hard to believe Galway surrendered the short kickouts while a man up.I thought it was set for Galway to push up on our kickout.

The old reliables Colm Boyle and our probable MOTM Keith Higgins to drag us back into the game.Higgins was immense,I dread the day when he calls it a day.The void will be immense.

Stephen Coen and Jason Doherty failed to make any real impression.Aidan O Shea was peripheral to the action.Kevin Mc kept persevering,Andy Moran our sole real threat inside had some poor wides.Outside his exemplary freetaking Conor Loftus was peripheral to the action.

The Galway forwards ability to score from play was in stark contrast to our difficulties.

No real surprise it was a cynical game of a very poor standard,awful to watch up to 29 men in a half.The sending off certainly did'nt help.Galway won't care and neither would we have.

Stark to put it mildly the bench qualities,Cillian and Donie look quite a bit off match fitness while James Durcan and Cian Hanley did not make a telling impact.Mystified to the reasoning behind David Drake's introduction,great engine but hardly likely to win you a match.

The Galway bench has real depth and made a real impact Cooke,Kelly,Burke and bringing a forward of the quality of Brannigan for a corner back Kyne.Clever move whilst a man up.

For a team that were supposed to be preparing for this contest much more so than the two years previous I saw very little in the way of great sharpness and match readiness.

So the big question is how much of a decline is there in this team?Galway are most certainly a team that will challenge in the latter stages of the championship.

We'll need the luck of the draw,some handy home games as was the case two years ago.One month to get Lee Keegan,Cillian O Connor and Donie Vaughan match fit.

Which brings me to the awful injury suffered by Tom Parsons in an seemingly innocuous contest for the ball.Same upset me far more than the result.I wish him a speedy recovery to full health.

Who do we possibly draft into the middle?Donie or Lee,Barry Moran in all probability has not sufficient mobility when Seamie is also stationed there.Does Jason Gibbons get a reprieve or a shot in the dark Matthew Ruane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,623 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

But we dont, qe have the same as any other county but not the talent, look at even Galway yesterday and the impact their subs made. We have little or no real strength in depth

Even had Mayo won yesterday and avoided the qualifiers I would have worried that even in the Super 8 series the depth off the panel was going to be a problem, plus there has been no new talent emerging from this years league either.

The extra games now plus the loss of Parsons isn`t going to help imo.
    Of the two teams yesterday Galway seem to be the squad with the most depth.
    The pace of three of their subs created the goal.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Finally in a vaguely fit state to so to speak put pen to paper.

Unfortunately as I feared our indiscipline possibly cost us victory.Whilst we were none too convincing with some poor wides I thought we were in a relatively good place pre Diarmuid's sending off with a largely minimal deficit heading to the break with a none too insignificant gust at our backs in the second half.This is a recurring issue whither a spur of the moment action or serious foul play.It is costing us dearly.

Too gutted to as yet watch the game back or view the Sunday Game.The Players Championship was a less painful alternative( an anaesthesia of sorts).

By all accounts Diarmuid's foul play was at the higher end of the scale,my fellow GAA aficionada thought it was a stonewall red in real time.

I thought we were fast out of the blocks but our shot selection was woeful with attempts from too great a distance into a swirling wind.It was a shame we were not better and more patient at working the ball inside.

Our lack of a freetaker from the right hand side was costly as poor Kevin Mc has no gra for taking same and his execution exemplified same.In contrast Barry McHugh's execution from placed balls was top notch.

David Clarke was very good under the high ball yesterday and Damian Comer threatened to give Chris Barrett a roasting in the first half but the sending off ensured a more defensive setup with less opportunities for Comer to impress.

Shane Walsh had a very hit and miss day,so much talent but I lost count of the number of times the ball dropped short into David Clarke.He must be very frustrating as a Galway supporter to watch.It was hard to believe Galway surrendered the short kickouts while a man up.I thought it was set for Galway to push up on our kickout.

The old reliables Colm Boyle and our probable MOTM Keith Higgins to drag us back into the game.Higgins was immense,I dread the day when he calls it a day.The void will be immense.

Stephen Coen and Jason Doherty failed to make any real impression.Aidan O Shea was peripheral to the action.Kevin Mc kept persevering,Andy Moran our sole real threat inside had some poor wides.Outside his exemplary freetaking Conor Loftus was peripheral to the action.

The Galway forwards ability to score from play was in stark contrast to our difficulties.

No real surprise it was a cynical game of a very poor standard,awful to watch up to 29 men in a half.The sending off certainly did'nt help.Galway won't care and neither would we have.

Stark to put it mildly the bench qualities,Cillian and Donie look quite a bit off match fitness while James Durcan and Cian Hanley did not make a telling impact.Mystified to the reasoning behind David Drake's introduction,great engine but hardly likely to win you a match.

The Galway bench has real depth and made a real impact Cooke,Kelly,Burke and bringing a forward of the quality of Brannigan for a corner back Kyne.Clever move whilst a man up.

For a team that were supposed to be preparing for this contest much more so than the two years previous I saw very little in the way of great sharpness and match readiness.

So the big question is how much of a decline is there in this team?Galway are most certainly a team that will challenge in the latter stages of the championship.

We'll need the luck of the draw,some handy home games as was the case two years ago.One month to get Lee Keegan,Cillian O Connor and Donie Vaughan match fit.

Which brings me to the awful injury suffered by Tom Parsons in an seemingly innocuous contest for the ball.Same upset me far more than the result.I wish him a speedy recovery to full health.

Who do we possibly draft into the middle?Donie or Lee,Barry Moran in all probability has not sufficient mobility when Seamie is also stationed there.Does Jason Gibbons get a reprieve or a shot in the dark Matthew Ruane?

You put Aiden O Shea back on the middle of the park and play a half forward line of McLaughlin, Doherty and Diarmuid (after suspension).

By the way, you pick up the phone to Varley to, I'm not joking, he could be worth something yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

charlie14 wrote: »
    Even had Mayo won yesterday and avoided the qualifiers I would have worried that even in the Super 8 series the depth off the panel was going to be a problem, plus there has been no new talent emerging from this years league either.

The extra games now plus the loss of Parsons isn`t going to help imo.
    Of the two teams yesterday Galway seem to be the squad with the most depth.
    The pace of three of their subs created the goal.

Absolutely. That was a concern of mine also and it has now been greatly exacerbated.

[/b]

You put Aiden O Shea back on the middle of the park and play a half forward line of McLaughlin, Doherty and Diarmuid (after suspension).

By the way, you pick up the phone to Varley to, I'm not joking, he could be worth something yet.

Not a midfield laden with pace Father Tod with the two O Shea's,I was assuming Aidan would be the auxiliary midfielder dropping back from centre forward.

He has been shooting out the lights for St. Vincent's for years,I was inclined to think his time had passed but it might be worth a shot given our frailties up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Well, Selig, we were both equally gutted yesterday!

Ce la vie, Was watching the Castlebar game after our own defeat and thought Mayo made some terrible options where Galway were just holding on waiting for a break. Very different to what we would be used to from Mayo, seemed a bit panicky at times.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Well, Selig, we were both equally gutted yesterday!

Ce la vie, Was watching the Castlebar game after our own defeat and thought Mayo made some terrible options where Galway were just holding on waiting for a break. Very different to what we would be used to from Mayo, seemed a bit panicky at times.

Ah Bonniedog I was disappointed you guys did'nt turn over the cats,great effort nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Life is great efforts, usually unsuccessful,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

seligehgit wrote:
    He has been shooting out the lights for St. Vincent's for years,I was inclined to think his time had passed but it might be worth a shot given our frailties up front.

He's worth a shot, however look at Nathan Mullins in Donegal

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

I have to admit lads, as a Dub, I'm always delighted when a serious All-Ireland competitor slips up and gets beaten, but jaysus, that injury to Tom Parsons was frightening. Really brings it home to you what these guys, pure amateurs, are doing to themselves for the love of their county.

Best of luck to Tom in his recovery.
    grbear wrote: »
    Just how bad is a dislocated knee? I'm no doctor (not even related to one, think a cousin is a nurse though) but dislocated knee sounds a bit better than my own initial diagnosis of "Eff me, he has broken his leg clean in half". I thought I was after witnessing a Luc Nilis type horror break.

In order for the knee to dislocate like that, at least a couple of the ligaments around the knee had to have torn, and those have a recovery time of three to four months. Those ligaments will then have an increased risk getting damaged again and again, they just aren't the same afterwards. Not a doctor either, by the way, but just interested in injuries and recovery times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

Id be inclined to think Mayo are better off getting away qualifiers , seems to be absolutely horrible our shooting anytime we play at McHale park, I dunno is it the extra pressure from fans playing at home I can't understand it ,the Derry qualifier last year springs to mind along with yesterday,shooting is criminal but we seem to play with more freedom away from there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Do galway really have more depth than Mayo?

Up front yes but the whole half backline, keeper, Tom Flynn and Declan kyne wouldn't even make the Mayo bench

jr86 wrote: »
    Do galway really have more depth than Mayo?

Up front yes but the whole half backline, keeper, Tom Flynn and Declan kyne wouldn't even make the Mayo bench
    Not sure about that when you consider two lads that were brought on for Mayo yesterday had never played for the seniors before in any type of game..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

They were both forwards.

jr86 wrote: »
    They were both forwards.
    Flynn played as forward. Then you have Drake brought on and IMO Kyne is a better footballer and defender than him.