Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Mooooo wrote: »
    Wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,855 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Just another, silent contribution, from Moo. They occur occasionally, with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

First few posts don't seem to come up for some reason couldn't see your reply until a certain number of posts on pagedunno why. On the bb prices seems to be the way things are going this year. Exporters keeping the price up for later fr calves it seems. Haulier reckons the smaller buyers of calves are disappearing as well with more land going for silage or leased to the lad next door so the suck calf isn't in as much demand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Last one calved at home last night. Nearly a month since the one before her. A heifer with a big backwards calf. A baptism of fire for the young lad. Calf was dead when he got it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭thisyear

Lads how's breeding going? Seems to be slower this year or is it just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭topgeas

thisyear wrote: »

75% in first 3 weeks. Last 5 days 10%. Zero repeats so far. Bulls out today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭thisyear

topgeas wrote: »

75% in first 3 weeks. Last 5 days 10%. Zero repeats so far. Bulls out today.

How many bulls? Are you not worried about them overworked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭topgeas

How many bulls? Are you not worried about them overworked?

72 cows.I've 3 bulls.only 2 with cows at any 1 time. Also aa with heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

About 70 cows/103 done here in 2 weeks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Home from 3 weeks on the road, and the OH has been minding the show...was really concerned with breeding, but class job done...day 13 today and percentage bang on to get them all by day21

Massive relief..

She's looking for a day off now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Am I wasting my time spaying silage ground for docks now? To be cut in about 2wks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,403 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Timmaay wrote: »
    Am I wasting my time spaying silage ground for docks now? To be cut in about 2wks.

Read the label. But I'd say it would be too chancy with the spray ending up in the silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Timmaay wrote: »

Yes, plant too strong. I’d wait till they’re at lettuce stage in aftergrass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Got an offer of AN 34.5% BB €188 and €180 for June.

Tempted to buy for next year...

Got an offer of AN 34.5% BB €188 and €180 for June.

Tempted to buy for next year...

What way do you see it going? Hard to know what trumps carry on will result in if he does anything re import tariffs etc. Would bulk be cheaper for you than big bags?

Mooooo wrote: »
    What way do you see it going? Hard to know what trumps carry on will result in if he does anything re import tariffs etc. Would bulk be cheaper for you than big bags?

It’s imported in BB so no choice Mooo.
    Hard to call what way it’ll go, but the Urea that ye used this year was bought last Aug for sub €180. Some touch.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

alps wrote: »

Home from 3 weeks on the road, and the OH has been minding the show...was really concerned with breeding, but class job done...day 13 today and percentage bang on to get them all by day21

Massive relief..

She's looking for a day off now....
    You better mind her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭cosatron

In the latest round of ebi scoring, lwr has jumped from 111kg to 490kg and this time last year he was at -11kg. I'm not complaining as I've used a good bit of him this year but its very frustrating to have bulls ebi jumping up and down and like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

cosatron wrote: »
    In the latest round of ebi scoring, lwr has jumped from 111kg to 490kg and this time last year he was at -11kg. I'm not complaining as I've used a good bit of him this year but its very frustrating to have bulls ebi jumping up and down and like this

Makes a farce of the whole thing in my view, I in general am trying to lower the milk in the herd here (coming from a liquid HO herd), one cow for AI today with plenty HO in her, and big bag of milk apparently has a milk kg of - 20, pure br fr straw for her still though. At the stage where I think I'll start using more daughter proven, plenty with high ebi figures.

It's a pisstake...

Look at the genomic predicted figures if YAD attached, and how the solids actually came through as daughters produced...unfortunately, I've used more of him again this year.

He is one of the new "daughter proven" offerings...

Question.
    Cow calved on Mon with twins with no bother. Calved herself, and cleared, and is in good bcs, even though she wasn’t scanned with twins.

She’s milking only 5 litres per day...no temp and is scoffing her grub. Her last lactation did over 12k litres.
    What to do?

There's more clarity on how new info comes in and changes the figures so much needed.

Repost

Question.
    Cow calved on Mon with twins with no bother. Calved herself, and cleared, and is in good bcs, even though she wasn’t scanned with twins.

She’s milking only 5 litres per day...no temp and is scoffing her grub. Her last lactation did over 12k litres.
    What to do?

Strange one. Normally they would be off form if not giving the milk. I assume she doesn't have much of a springing or is it that she is only releasing 5L? If she has a full bag possibly not producing oxytocin to drop the milk so possibly a shot of that may help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

alps wrote: »
    It's a pisstake...

Look at the genomic predicted figures if YAD attached, and how the solids actually came through as daughters produced...unfortunately, I've used more of him again this year.

He is one of the new "daughter proven" offerings...

Brilliant health figures too haha, using no bull less then plus 14 euro for health, funny thing is it automatically rules out 99% of high ebi bulls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Question.

What to do?

Is she scoury? A dose of a rumen stimulant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭cosatron

Question.

What to do?

we had two girls like that last year after having twins, vet came out and said that the calves took her store off minerals so we gave them injections for cal and mag and we actually gave them two bolus's each and they came around, took them a while mind you but they came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

He has cause daughters on ground now and more figures through .forst of my lwr calved this spring and can’t fault them ,def have lots of milk and daughters doing up to 3.9% p on first recording .the advice to pick team of bulls needs to be adehered to .

mahoney_j wrote: »
    He has cause daughters on ground now and more figures through .forst of my lwr calved this spring and can’t fault them ,def have lots of milk and daughters doing up to 3.9% p on first recording .the advice to pick team of bulls needs to be adehered to .

"Team" is a great analogy..

In a team you can normally substitute the player not contributing...

In dairy....you're stuck with the runt...