Garda making up numbers again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Brae100 wrote: »
    Garda, Revenue Officers..... all the same. Just proof that they also inflate numbers.

Yeah they’re the same just like Doctors and porters in a hospital are the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The thing is, they will get away with recording this as €52k saving for the exchequer, and that is a blatant lie. And they will get away with it.

Oh it’s terrible that they’re getting away with saying that we hypothetically saved €52k. What planet are you on? How does this matter? How does it effect you? Is your life so perfectly mundane that you get outraged by complete nonsense? Go and get a hobby or something more worthwhile to do. Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Life is so much better when looked at through an optimistic lens.

You really should try it.

It's difficult to know how to respond to that but the fact that you seem so completely unaware of how lucky you are to be able to tell that anecdote of yours, with it's picture postcard ending, speaks volumes.

For vast swathes of our citizens, usually our oldest and most vulnerable, the idea that a phone call will bring a squad car screeching to their aid with lights flashing, sirens blaring and some criminal waiving a wad of notes at them to cover any damage to their property is quite frankly delusional.

Many of them will have to wait hours for that car to arrive, and that's if it arrives at all because in some cases resources are so thin on the ground that it may not reach them till the following day depending on the nature of the offense being reported.

So while i'm delighted that things worked out so well for you in this case, providing you with the opportunity to fling your condescending and patronising advice around so glibly..

Maybe you should really direct it at the elderly and those that actually live alone and in fear because if only they knew that all they needed was a bit of optimism as they sit at home at every night, terrified out of their minds, then i'm sure their lives would be transformed.

You could also give John O'Keefe of the GRA a loan of that magic lens of yours..

Only yesterday he was quoted as saying that if frontline officers do not have ready access to appropriately specified and modern vehicles they “can prove no match for criminals traversing city and county in high-speed vehicles”.

“Nor can they respond to simple call out requests with any degree of expediency when either a car is not available, or the one that is, is not properly maintained,” he added.

Anyway, back OT..

The Gardai and Revenue have always inflated the figures. The average person on the street would have no idea how much drugs are worth so they can pretty much get away with any figure they like, and they do.

So I imagine there's an excise duty on import, and then a lot of tax when it's sold?

If so, the price in lidl is irrelevant since they'd just be making less tax from each one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Get Real

Quite ironic that this thread was started because OP is annoyed at the misinterpretation of the value of a can of beer.

Yet the OP is doing the same themselves by quoting an article that says "revenue commissioners seized"and turning it into an issue about the gardai and numbers.

So it's okay for you to do something similar in order to complain about the very thing you have an issue with?

Okayyy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Mrhuth

My car was damaged by someone who crashed in to it while it was parked outside my house. They fled the scene as were unlicensed, uninsured, etc.

I called the Gardai. They arrived to tell me they had picked up two guys they saw running along the footpath nearly 1.5km away.

5 days later, in the presence of Gardai I was handed E1,800 cash by the perpetrator to pay for repairs.

They couldn't have done their job better, in my view.

On topic. OP is drinking too much beer (lidl or otherwise) when posting.

My car was smashed up by scumbags and Gardai never showed up and I had to go to the Garda station myself. Your case means nothing.

Sorry, can't let this pass. I got a B in higher level Maths back in the day (I should have got an A, but that's a different story). I won medals for Maths and got a scholarship to a top private school based on my previous math results. I was encouraged to pursue Pure Maths in Trinity by the best Math teacher in the country, Ollie Murphy.

My math is correct.

Sorry, dude, doesn't add up

Mrhuth wrote: »
    My car was smashed up by scumbags and Gardai never showed up and I had to go to the Garda station myself. Your case means nothing.

Apparently you need a special lens for that.

Clears the problem right up..

You'll have criminals lining up at your door throwing money at you :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Try contacting Revenue officers should you ever find burglars in your house in the middle of the night and see if they are all the same.

I'd wager if you told them there were tax evaders in your gaff they'd show up quicker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Not another **** da Shades thread on AH.....

Sorry, can't let this pass. I got a B in higher level Maths back in the day (I should have got an A, but that's a different story). I won medals for Maths and got a scholarship to a top private school based on my previous math results. I was encouraged to pursue Pure Maths in Trinity by the best Math teacher in the country, Ollie Murphy.

My math is correct.
    There's only ONEEE, OLLIE MURPHY!
    Was he the guy with the slight lisp who used to do the maths grinds at the Institute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Mrhuth wrote:

But yours does? OK then. SMH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Swanner wrote:
    The Gardai and Revenue have always inflated the figures. The average person on the street would have no idea how much drugs are worth so they can pretty much get away with any figure they like, and they do.

So you don't trust Gardai?

But you use them to support your point....
    Swanner wrote:
    You could also give John O'Keefe of the GRA a loan of that magic lens of yours..

Only yesterday he was quoted as saying that if frontline officers do not have ready access to appropriately specified and modern vehicles they “can prove no match for criminals traversing city and county in high-speed vehiclesâ€.

Shock horror. Advocate for a group portrays a picture where that group should get more services.

Isn't that what unions do? Always?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭mattser

Swanner wrote: »
    You were incredibly lucky that there was a car in the area and that it was available.

And even luckier again that this person had €1800 in cash to give you..

A very fortunate series of events indeed.

No. It just put paid to your massive generalisation. You mightn't be so quick next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Bracken81

F**k the Poooolice.........or Revenue................or Lidl...........I forgot who we're after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Mrhuth wrote: »

Did the Revenue Commissioners turn up though? According to the OP they are the same thing as the Gardai, so maybe you should have called their PAYE helpline?

Well to get back on topic I trust revenue a whole lot more then I trust the Gardai.

They just seem to be a bit better at counting

But then it is their core business

The Gardai would have been disqualified from any maths paper for cheating..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Mrhuth

But you use them to support your point....

Shock horror. Advocate for a group portrays a picture where that group should get more services.

Isn't that what unions do? Always?

Exactly, your post is pointless and you should delete it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭flutered

Lol

That made me laugh..

What do you think would happen if you contacted the Gardai in this situation ?

Let’s just say the burglars will be well tucked up at home in their beds by the time the guards finally “get a car” and respond.

I’m not sure people in this country realise just how little help is actually there from the guards if and when they need it.

You’re on your own people..don’t wait for the Gardai to come and rescue you. They won’t.
    which is why i have my own ideas on home security

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Garda, Revenue Officers..... all the same.
    Customs have powers the Guards can only dream of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

Was he the guy with the slight lisp who used to do the maths grinds at the Institute?

He did teach in the Institute, but I wouldn't really have described him as having a lisp. Lovely, gentle man with a genuine passion for teaching. He is the head at Castleknock College and I just googled and he is retiring at the end of this year. I only had him for Maths, but he was meant to be even better at Applied Maths and wrote the definitive text books. Brilliant guy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Lol

That made me laugh..

What do you think would happen if you contacted the Gardai in this situation ?

Let’s just say the burglars will be well tucked up at home in their beds by the time the guards finally “get a car” and respond.

I’m not sure people in this country realise just how little help is actually there from the guards if and when they need it.

You’re on your own people..don’t wait for the Gardai to come and rescue you. They won’t.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2351736/three-members-of-tallaght-burglary-gang-who-raided-rural-home-and-stole-car-nabbed-by-gardai-in-limerick/

http://www.thejournal.ie/burglary-gang-sligo-3805542-Jan2018/

http://www.thejournal.ie/burglary-death-3981155-Apr2018/

is your mrs sleeping with a garda or something to cause that much bitterness ?

mynamejeff wrote: »
    is your mrs sleeping with a garda or something to cause that much bitterness ?

What bitterness :confused:

Please quote the parts of my posts that are bitter.

In the meantime i'll see your 3 and raise you 1 :pac:

2 RTA's and 2 burglaries so a good mix of serious calls that the guards were unable to respond to due as there was no car available. In fairness to the Guard in the last story, he used his own car to attend the house that had just been burgled.

I understand that people like to pretend they live in a magical world of fairy dust and moonbeams and garda cars that arrive 2 mins after you dial 999 to apprehend the bad men and take them way while they throw money at you but this is just fanciful stuff.

You might be lucky. You might not. I have no bitterness. I am realistic.

https://m.herald.ie/news/gardai-took-10-hours-to-respond-to-our-breakin-31098402.html

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/garda%C3%AD-unable-to-attend-crash-scene-as-no-car-available-inquest-told-1.3110775%3fmode=amp

https://kclr96fm.com/anger-over-a-3-hour-wait-for-gardai-to-attend-road-crash-outside-carlow/

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/newsireland/garda-used-own-car-to-respond-to-burglary-call-as-no-patrol-available/ar-BBEN7GE

Swanner wrote:
    I understand that people like to pretend they live in a magical world of fairy dust and moonbeams and garda cars that arrive 2 mins after you dial 999 to apprehend the bad men and take them way while they throw money at you but this is just fanciful stuff.

Get real Swanner. If things were as bad as you say, you'd think people would be protesting that instead of water charges. (Yes, I know you were involved in that).

There are absolutely some cases of poor performance (as in every walk of life) but the majority of experiences with Gardai are positive.

It's human nature to focus more on the negative and as a consequence you do hear more about those stories.

I gave you an example of very satisfactory Gardai performance and you put that down to luck yet you don't see situations where cars can't attend as bad luck (as would understandably be the case if cars are occupied elsewhere).

And no I'm not a Garda, don't have any close friends or family members Gardai or have no affiliation with them.

I just really hate whinging. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

My car was damaged by someone who crashed in to it while it was parked outside my house. They fled the scene as were unlicensed, uninsured, etc.

I called the Gardai. They arrived to tell me they had picked up two guys they saw running along the footpath nearly 1.5km away.

5 days later, in the presence of Gardai I was handed E1,800 cash by the perpetrator to pay for repairs.

They couldn't have done their job better, in my view.

On topic. OP is drinking too much beer (lidl or otherwise) when posting.

So the Gardai decided that rather than following procedure, that they be judge and jury and sort it out “off the books”. Sounds like AGS alright, prob didn’t want the hassle of the paperwork.

So the Gardai decided that rather than following procedure, that they be judge and jury and sort it out “off the booksâ€. Sounds like AGS alright, prob didn’t want the hassle of the paperwork.

You're wrong. But carry on.

Get real Swanner.

I did and it seems to have touched a nerve.

I'm not sure why you and the other poster assume i'm attacking the guards :confused:

I'm not.

We have had a funding and a resourcing issue since 2010. We've closed 100's of garda stations and we're still reducing numbers of Garda even in high crime areas such as Dublin city centre.

Take Kevin Street station as an example, they have 33% less Gardai since 2010 and numbers continue to fall. That equates to 42 men and women on the street by the way and that's just one station.

It's of no consequence to me whether you believe it or not but it is the case and is backed up by official Garda figures.
    I just really hate whinging.

But you're whinging about hating whinging :pac:

Regardless, and with respect, that's your issue, not mine.

Boards tends to have a lot of whinging.

It's kinda par for the course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭badtoro

€105k retail value, I wonder what shop they're buying their beer in cos it's not the same shop I'm buying my beer in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

So the Gardai decided that rather than following procedure, that they be judge and jury and sort it out “off the books”. Sounds like AGS alright, prob didn’t want the hassle of the paperwork.

Aren't you the guy that goes into a thread about any incident and immediately blame it on Muslims without any basis, and then disappear from the thread when it turns out to be another white guy with mental issues from a Christian background?

Judge and jury indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

You're wrong. But carry on.

So they sent a file to the DPP, and a judge advised them to make the guy pay you??

All within 5 days.