Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda making up numbers again

• 28-04-2018 1:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭

25,000 litres of beer seized by customs. Retail value placed at €105k, with a loss to revenue of €52k.

That equates to retail value of €4 per litre with revenue loss of €2 per litre. For beer.

If revenue are pulling in €2 per litre of beer, how can Lidl sell 500ml cans of beer for 89c?

https://www.joe.ie/news/smuggled-beer-revenue-dublin-624061

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Rushden

Brae100 wrote: »
    25,000 litres of beer seized by customs. Retail value placed at €105k, with a loss to revenue of €52k.

That equates to retail value of €4 per litre with revenue loss of €2 per litre. For beer.

If revenue are pulling in €2 per litre of beer, how can Lidl sell 500ml cans of beer for 89c?

https://www.joe.ie/news/smuggled-beer-revenue-dublin-624061

Since when are revenue the guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

Rushden wrote: »
    Since when are revenue the guards?

Garda, Revenue Officers..... all the same. Just proof that they also inflate numbers.

The thing is, they will get away with recording this as €52k saving for the exchequer, and that is a blatant lie. And they will get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Not as bad when they confiscate a nodge and say it's enough for 10 joints. I'm never smoking with those stingy bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Oi hayte de gourds coz I canna behave meself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Because no-one smuggles cheap beer. You smuggle in the expensive stuff to sell off cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Garda, Revenue Officers..... all the same. Just proof that they also inflate numbers.

Try contacting Revenue officers should you ever find burglars in your house in the middle of the night and see if they are all the same.

sugarman wrote: »
    If it has a retail value of €105k, that includes vat @23% and excise duty which is dependent of the alcohol content.

So VAT is what, roughly €24k there?

Then if we take Guinness as an example with 4.3% alcohol content, the excise is 55c a can.

So say 25k litres is 50k cans. Total excise is €27k 'ish?

Making total losses, €51k 'ish? Not all that far off.

Open to correction.

That's misleading fluff. Let's keep it simple. They placed a value of €4 per litre for beer. That is a grossly exaggerated estimate. Revenue do not extract €2 for every litre of beer sold. If they did, Lidl could not sell 500ml cans for 89c consistently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

That's misleading fluff. Let's keep it simple. They placed a value of €4 per litre for beer. That is a grossly exaggerated estimate. Revenue do not extract €2 for every litre of beer sold. If they did, Lidl could not sell 500ml cans for 89c consistently.

Roughly what a pub would sell it for.

Selling cans of beer for 89c is possible. They sell them for that price. Pay the duty. Make a loss. They are called loss leaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Emmmmm because it wasn't Lidl beer!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Try contacting Revenue officers should you ever find burglars in your house in the middle of the night and see if they are all the same.

Lol

That made me laugh..

What do you think would happen if you contacted the Gardai in this situation ?

Let’s just say the burglars will be well tucked up at home in their beds by the time the guards finally “get a car” and respond.

I’m not sure people in this country realise just how little help is actually there from the guards if and when they need it.

You’re on your own people..don’t wait for the Gardai to come and rescue you. They won’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Swanner wrote:
    I’m not sure people in this country realise just how little help is actually there from the guards if and when they need it.

My car was damaged by someone who crashed in to it while it was parked outside my house. They fled the scene as were unlicensed, uninsured, etc.

I called the Gardai. They arrived to tell me they had picked up two guys they saw running along the footpath nearly 1.5km away.

5 days later, in the presence of Gardai I was handed E1,800 cash by the perpetrator to pay for repairs.

They couldn't have done their job better, in my view.

On topic. OP is drinking too much beer (lidl or otherwise) when posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I knew one Guard who was fond of making up numbers

He told me he had a pension worth eleventy gazillion euros despite just sitting on his fat hole all day every day for years

actually, maybe those are actually real numbers...

I called the Gardai. They arrived to tell me they had picked up two guys they saw running along the footpath nearly 1.5km away.

You were incredibly lucky that there was a car in the area and that it was available.
    5 days later, in the presence of Gardai I was handed E1,800 cash by the perpetrator to pay for repairs.

And even luckier again that this person had €1800 in cash to give you..

A very fortunate series of events indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Grayson wrote: »
    Not as bad when they confiscate a nodge and say it's enough for 10 joints. I'm never smoking with those stingy bastards.

How many nodges in a wodge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Swanner wrote: »
    You were incredibly lucky that there was a car in the area and that it was available.

Were we not bashing revenue ? Thread seems somewhat derailed ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

OP must have done pass maths in the Leaving Cert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Bubbaclaus wrote: »

OP seems annoyed at everyone , Gardai , revenue , Lidl , himself , beer the list is endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

My car was damaged by someone who crashed in to it while it was parked outside my house. They fled the scene as were unlicensed, uninsured, etc.

Just another classic example of why I gave up 'going for a run' years ago.

Anyway, no sympathy for them - the joggy bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

It's all part of the system, job figures , hospital waiting lists etc., gaming the system has become more important than actual results.

Swanner wrote:

Life is so much better when looked at through an optimistic lens.

You really should try it.

Sorry, can't let this pass. I got a B in higher level Maths back in the day (I should have got an A, but that's a different story). I won medals for Maths and got a scholarship to a top private school based on my previous math results. I was encouraged to pursue Pure Maths in Trinity by the best Math teacher in the country, Ollie Murphy.

My math is correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Sorry, can't let this pass. I got a B in higher level Maths back in the day (I should have got an A, but that's a different story). I won medals for Maths and got a scholarship to a top private school based on my previous math results. I was encouraged to pursue Pure Maths in Trinity by the best Math teacher in the country, Ollie Murphy.

My math is correct.

Math???

Really bro?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

There's only ONEEE, OLLIE MURPHY!

He the man. Best Math teacher ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

My math is correct.

That's a decent result. A B in honours maths is respectable. But would have put you among the lower level of entrants into that pure maths course. (For maths, and I also think some engineering, related subjects in Trinity you used to need the equivalent of a minimum of a B in honours maths in the LC to be eligible to be considered for a place).
    It would be a disappointing score for someone who had received a scholarship in maths though - notwithstanding any mitigating circumstances. Particularly given the advantage of having this mythical best maths teacher in the country in a top private school.

Not singling you out. It's a decent and respectable result. It would be better than the majority of people could get.

That's a decent result. A B in honours maths is respectable. But would have put you among the lower level of entrants into that pure maths course. (For maths, and I also think some engineering, related subjects in Trinity you used to need the equivalent of a minimum of a B in honours maths in the LC to be eligible to be considered for a place).
    It would be a disappointing score for someone who had received a scholarship in maths though - notwithstanding any mitigating circumstances. Particularly given the advantage of having this mythical best maths teacher in the country in a top private school.

Not singling you out. It's a decent and respectable result. It would be better than the majority of people could get.

Indeed. When I got my leaving results and only got the B, Ollie shook his head in disappointment. I'd let him and me down terribly. I was the northsider on the scholarship and he took me under his wing. But, there were extenuating circumstances. I had to leave school in April prior to the June exams to take up a job that I was offered and couldn't refuse.

My math is correct.

Good job boards threads weren't examinable as you would've failed based on this one alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Good job boards threads weren't examinable as you would've failed based on this one alone.

His math is correct, logic is questionable though.

Anyways I want to hear more about medals for math, and why he only got a B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yeah they’re the same just like Doctors and porters in a hospital are the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The thing is, they will get away with recording this as €52k saving for the exchequer, and that is a blatant lie. And they will get away with it.

Oh it’s terrible that they’re getting away with saying that we hypothetically saved €52k. What planet are you on? How does this matter? How does it effect you? Is your life so perfectly mundane that you get outraged by complete nonsense? Go and get a hobby or something more worthwhile to do. Ridiculous.

Life is so much better when looked at through an optimistic lens.

You really should try it.

It's difficult to know how to respond to that but the fact that you seem so completely unaware of how lucky you are to be able to tell that anecdote of yours, with it's picture postcard ending, speaks volumes.

For vast swathes of our citizens, usually our oldest and most vulnerable, the idea that a phone call will bring a squad car screeching to their aid with lights flashing, sirens blaring and some criminal waiving a wad of notes at them to cover any damage to their property is quite frankly delusional.

Many of them will have to wait hours for that car to arrive, and that's if it arrives at all because in some cases resources are so thin on the ground that it may not reach them till the following day depending on the nature of the offense being reported.

So while i'm delighted that things worked out so well for you in this case, providing you with the opportunity to fling your condescending and patronising advice around so glibly..

Maybe you should really direct it at the elderly and those that actually live alone and in fear because if only they knew that all they needed was a bit of optimism as they sit at home at every night, terrified out of their minds, then i'm sure their lives would be transformed.

You could also give John O'Keefe of the GRA a loan of that magic lens of yours..

Only yesterday he was quoted as saying that if frontline officers do not have ready access to appropriately specified and modern vehicles they “can prove no match for criminals traversing city and county in high-speed vehicles”.

“Nor can they respond to simple call out requests with any degree of expediency when either a car is not available, or the one that is, is not properly maintained,” he added.

Anyway, back OT..

The Gardai and Revenue have always inflated the figures. The average person on the street would have no idea how much drugs are worth so they can pretty much get away with any figure they like, and they do.

So I imagine there's an excise duty on import, and then a lot of tax when it's sold?

If so, the price in lidl is irrelevant since they'd just be making less tax from each one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Get Real

Quite ironic that this thread was started because OP is annoyed at the misinterpretation of the value of a can of beer.

Yet the OP is doing the same themselves by quoting an article that says "revenue commissioners seized"and turning it into an issue about the gardai and numbers.

So it's okay for you to do something similar in order to complain about the very thing you have an issue with?

Okayyy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Mrhuth

My car was smashed up by scumbags and Gardai never showed up and I had to go to the Garda station myself. Your case means nothing.

My math is correct.

Sorry, dude, doesn't add up

Mrhuth wrote: »
    My car was smashed up by scumbags and Gardai never showed up and I had to go to the Garda station myself. Your case means nothing.

Apparently you need a special lens for that.

Clears the problem right up..

You'll have criminals lining up at your door throwing money at you :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'd wager if you told them there were tax evaders in your gaff they'd show up quicker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Not another **** da Shades thread on AH.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,290 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

My math is correct.
    Was he the guy with the slight lisp who used to do the maths grinds at the Institute?

Mrhuth wrote:

But yours does? OK then. SMH.

Swanner wrote:
    The Gardai and Revenue have always inflated the figures. The average person on the street would have no idea how much drugs are worth so they can pretty much get away with any figure they like, and they do.

So you don't trust Gardai?

But you use them to support your point....
    Swanner wrote:
    You could also give John O'Keefe of the GRA a loan of that magic lens of yours..

Only yesterday he was quoted as saying that if frontline officers do not have ready access to appropriately specified and modern vehicles they “can prove no match for criminals traversing city and county in high-speed vehiclesâ€.

Shock horror. Advocate for a group portrays a picture where that group should get more services.

Isn't that what unions do? Always?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

No. It just put paid to your massive generalisation. You mightn't be so quick next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Bracken81

F**k the Poooolice.........or Revenue................or Lidl...........I forgot who we're after?

Mrhuth wrote: »

Did the Revenue Commissioners turn up though? According to the OP they are the same thing as the Gardai, so maybe you should have called their PAYE helpline?

Well to get back on topic I trust revenue a whole lot more then I trust the Gardai.

They just seem to be a bit better at counting

But then it is their core business

The Gardai would have been disqualified from any maths paper for cheating..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Mrhuth

But you use them to support your point....

Shock horror. Advocate for a group portrays a picture where that group should get more services.

Isn't that what unions do? Always?

Exactly, your post is pointless and you should delete it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

Lol

That made me laugh..

What do you think would happen if you contacted the Gardai in this situation ?

Let’s just say the burglars will be well tucked up at home in their beds by the time the guards finally “get a car” and respond.

You’re on your own people..don’t wait for the Gardai to come and rescue you. They won’t.
    which is why i have my own ideas on home security

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Garda, Revenue Officers..... all the same.
    Customs have powers the Guards can only dream of.