Two arrested after 'vicious' filmed assault on teenage girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭MSVforever

Did the attackers knew their victim or was it random? Either way hang em high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Am i really that old that the world has changed to a completely different place?

Hope not to come off in a 'them violent video games' sort of way, but...

I honestly believe the increased presence and normalisation of violence through a world dominated by social media, reality tv, and clueless idolisation of MMA and the likes has had a profound effect on the youth of today.

Frequent exposure to the latest viral videos of people gettin the heads boxed off them has in my mind helped to desensitise a great number of young people and bred a sort of apathy towards the suffering of other people.

Obviously in the past these things happened too, and many of us have seen violence and gore videos in the past without any ill effect, but added to that we now have a culture of quick draw smartphoned onlookers and people eager for viral fame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,213 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

MSVforever wrote: »
    Did the attackers knew their victim or was it random? Either way hang em high.

Going by their social media accounts they are all friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Going by their social media accounts they are all friends

Yeah what great mates they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

xzanti wrote: »
    Don't.

I watched the first minute or so and I wish I hadn't :( I could almost feel those belts to the face, and I had it on silent :(

Dirty, filthy scumbags. This world terrifies me. I have a 7 year old and a 7 month old. Both boys. I dread sending them out into it.

I hope justice is served. By someone, anyone. A lynch mob preferably.

Vermin.

I did :(

Christ, what the f*ck is wrong with people .... I have 2 boys myself.

Think ill send them to Judo classes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭EdEd

Yeah but they don't seem to be broken up like they were 15+ years ago, people too busy holding on to their phones to get a good angle ....

You're joking right? People were just as reluctant to break up fights even 25 years ago. I would probably say longer but I wouldn't have been out socialising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Grayson wrote: »
    wonder what their defence will try to say. The second that get's played in court they're fcuked.

Can the people who stood around and did nothing be charged? They either decided not to intervene or were willing spectators.

there is no obligation to intervene in a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

there is no obligation to intervene in a crime.
    There is an obligation to report a crime, so therefore anyone present who didn't report it, could and should be charged.

Justice Act, section 19.— (1) A person shall be guilty of an offence if he or she has information which he or she knows or believes might be of material assistance in—

(a) preventing the commission by any other person of a relevant offence, or

(b) securing the apprehension, prosecution or conviction of any other person for a relevant offence,

and fails without reasonable excuse to disclose that information as soon as it is practicable to do so to a member of the Garda Síochána.

(2) A person guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable—

(a) on summary conviction, to a class A fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or both, or

(b) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

RoboRat wrote: »
    There is an obligation to report a crime, so therefore anyone present who didn't report it, could and should be charged.

Justice Act, section 19.— (1) A person shall be guilty of an offence if he or she has information which he or she knows or believes might be of material assistance in—

(a) preventing the commission by any other person of a relevant offence, or

(b) securing the apprehension, prosecution or conviction of any other person for a relevant offence,

and fails without reasonable excuse to disclose that information as soon as it is practicable to do so to a member of the Garda Síochána.

(2) A person guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable—

(a) on summary conviction, to a class A fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or both, or

(b) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years or both.

The key phrase there is "relevant offence". the relevant offences mentioned in Schedule 1 of the act are all financial and company law offences

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2011/act/22/enacted/en/print#sched1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,308 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If you take a look at the victims Facebook account, the others are all "Friends".
    The girl who was hitting her first, her Facebook friends list disappeared last night.
    They all seem charming young adults, going by their profiles. (Sarcasm)

Northern social media reporting that the girl who got the beating is currently facing charges of a count of GBH against another person recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The go fund me account for the “victim” is in disarray after lots of people requesting refunds. The Facebook page has given people seeking refunds the right to seek refunds and admitted there is too much evidence to keep up the “justice” stance and that they believeshe too is s bully and people should not donate.

Lots of claims from numerous sources that the so called victim and her friends(who she now fallen out with) are part of a gang and have viciously attacked and bullied others and she is due in court fior GBH as outlined above as the parents of other children attacked by his gang apparently terrorizing Bangor have spoken out.

Have seen a photo of victim posing after the beating in a victory pose complete with black eyes etc. proudly displaying war wounds like a medal.

Looks like a case of infighting within a skanger gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

So this is a case of a scumbag bitch getting a taste of her own medicine?

Apparently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,568 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

She got what she deserved it seems. Paybacks a bitch.

Neither attack is correct, but these animals don't seem to understand anything else.

It's not just one person coming forward either...there's loads of them ......

Not sure how to post links ...it's called Justice For Jamie-lee Bee Barbour Public Awareness...it's eye opening ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,353 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I wonder will the likes of the BBC and utv report these new details?

NIMAN wrote: »
    I wonder will the likes of the BBC and utv report these new details?

A post from the admin of the public awareness page said they contacted the media and was told they wouldn't be.

PandaPoo wrote: »
    A post from the admin of the public awareness page said they contacted the media and was told they wouldn't be.

It may change now with the outpouring of reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Well anyway most of the gang is now going to jail for a while even if the victim is also a bully.

How come the previous assaults were not brought to court?

endacl wrote: »
    So.

Much.

Duckface.

:(

If you have a few euro to spare.....

https://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/susan-durrant-1?utm_id=107&utm_term=8rE4kN2EG

anewme wrote: »
    It may change now with the outpouring of reality.

Some of the people who donated are saying they still want her to have the money. It sounds like she's an absolute scumbag. I hope she gets nothing and stops acting like a f*cking thug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

I was at a parents' Internet and Social Media Awareness Session last night. It was a complete eye-opener.

If I had daughters, I would be very worried.

They seem much worse than the boys at bullying and getting too deep into social media.

Jamie-Lee and Courtney. Is this Bangor, County Down or Bangor, Maine?

Scarleh for poor Aul Susan there.

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    I was at a parents' Internet and Social Media Awareness Session last night. It was a complete eye-opener.

They seem much worse than the boys at bullying and getting too deep into social media.

The social medya bit is the worrying bit.

The fighting was always there.vicious as well. remember being summoned by someone to "have her out" after school. She thought I'd been eyeing up her boyfriend. It was not an option not to go politically and half the school was there waiting. So you had to face it. It was always the rough crowd bullied those they considered "posh".?

That was 30 years ago. Can only imagine how it's got since.

anewme wrote: »
    The social medya bit is the worrying bit.

The fighting was always there.vicious as well. remember being summoned by someone to "have her out" after school. She thought I'd been eyeing up her boyfriend. It was not an option not to go politically and half the school was there waiting. So you had to face it. It was always the rough crowd bullied those they considered "posh".?

That was 30 years ago. Can only imagine how it's got since.

Wahey snap. I had the exact same situation 10 years ago. A few others similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

Jimbob1977 wrote: »

down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Abz26

From what i have seen/heard, Jamie supposedly kissed one of the girls in the videos boyfriend so thats where the issue stems from, From what i have seen the two girls that carried out the assault look like scruffs two dogs, Jealous that jamie was gonna take her man. Tbh if the rumors about jamie attacking others is true then shes no better and dont have any sympathy for her, You get what you dish out in this life and thats how it goes. Madness all the same glad i dont have any children if i did i would be worried sick, Feel sorry for my nephew and niece especially going up in this day and age.

This story only caught my interest because a bunch of us are heading to Bangor this weekend .......

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    This story only caught my interest because a bunch of us are heading to Bangor this weekend .......

Bangor is grand.

Obviously I don't condone anyone getting a hiding, but she's dished out a fair few by the looks of things herself and there is claims that she abuses the health services to get prescription drugs.

The bigger thing here I believe is showing that jumping on bandwagons for stuff you know nothing about has to stop. Starting up a GoFundMe and support pages on Facebook has to stop until all the facts are out there.