Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two arrested after 'vicious' filmed assault on teenage girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Down the hatch

Poor girl. Couldnt watch the video. If that was my daughter 😠 Hope they get locked up and those that recorded it should be locked up also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Just seen the video to this.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/two-arrested-after-vicious-filmed-assault-on-teenage-girl-36831890.html

Holy crap what an assault. Kicks to the head should be classed as attempted murder, hope the poor girl is ok.

Will we also be getting the news reports from Hull, Ipswich, Exeter and other corners of the realm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Difficult to watch, spirits getting poured on her face, unbelievable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Didn't see the video but if it was my daughter anyone assaulting her or anyone standing by would pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Found that incredibly hard to watch earlier today when my brother showed me it. If it was my daughter they subjected to that, I reckon I’d wait about 3 or 4 months and then when all is back to normal I’d track down and kick the ever living fcuk out of the hard man who poured the drink over her. That was done for humiliation and nothing else. Utter scumbag. 2 months later I’d do the same to whoever filmed it for all to see. As for the the two vicious tramps dishing out the unmerciful beatings, I wouldn’t trust myself to give them a hiding in case I went too far. I’d find it incredibly difficult not to go overboard. Some hired help required there I think.

It’s sh*t like this that makes me glad I don’t have teenagers in this day and age, their worst moments going so public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Never watched the clip.

I have heard though that the mother of the person who filmed it (a guy I think), handed him and the phone into the cops.

I am guessing cos the perps are minors nothing will be done, and of course the stupid "we can't name them cos they are minors" rule will mean we will never find out who they are.

There will be little or no justice in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

That video is absolutely sickening. Those thugs need locking up.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Never watched the clip.

I have heard though that the mother of the person who filmed it (a guy I think), handed him and the phone into the cops.

I am guessing cos the perps are minors nothing will be done, and of course the stupid "we can't name them cos they are minors" rule will mean we will never find out who they are.

There will be little or no justice in this one.
    Well done the mother of the person who filmed it. Totally the right thing to do. The right thing is not always the easiest.

sugarman wrote: »
    Seriously?

A lad I knew was killed not too long ago for intervening in a fight.

Not ntervening and standing by recording it are two different things.

Well thats not what you said tho! You just said "standing by".

...and anyway, by recording it they now have hard evidence to use against them.

Ok not intervening is not the same as standing by. Not intervening could be passing by and going ahead. Standing by and watching and not intervening is totally different.
    If it was my daughter anyone who "stood by" would pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Apparently two of them were arrested earlier on tonight as they were smashing up McDonalds. Sick. Couldn’t watch the entire thing. The poor girl. I hope she’ll be okay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

NIMAN wrote:

They have been named on social media already and widely shared , helps that the names of the girls are said repeatedly by the scumbag egging them on .....

Yeah but I, and the majority of the people who might hear about the case, won't know their names. Not everyone follows social media.

The BBC or UTV won't be able to name them on reports. Thats wrong imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭MSVforever

Total scumbags deserve anything they ll get and more. I also have a daughter and if she was subjected to this then I would end up in prison. Total waste of oxygen. My advice to parents is to get their kids into MMA or Krav Maga. It's great for their confidence and can get them out of nasty situations I. e. disable the attackers and run away.

MSVforever wrote: »
    Total scumbags deserve anything they ll get and more. I also have a daughter and if she was subjected to this then I would end up in prison. Total waste of oxygen. My advice to parents is to get their kids into MMA or Krav Maga. It's great for their confidence and can get them out of nasty situations I. e. disable the attackers and run away.

That shouldn't be necessary though.

You have the right not to have the sh1t beat out of you by scumbags.

Deedsie wrote: »
    You also have the right and responsibility to protect yourself. My daughter when she is older will 100% be doing some self defence class. I hope she will have it and never need it but she will have it anyway.

Doesn't matter how trained you are, if enough scumbags decide to batter you, you'll not stop them.

I think the issue is the sentencing of the scumbags, not that we should all be trained in self defence, thats looking at it from the wrong angle.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Anyone know the difference between GBH and AOABH? Never heard of AOABH before, is that a lesser charge?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

That shouldn't be necessary though.

You have the right not to have the sh1t beat out of you by scumbags.

You'll have trouble telling them that as they use your head as a football.
    "Erm, excuse me my good sirs, I wonder if you know what you're doing is in fact against my rights. I must ask you to cease and desist immediately or the police will hear about this!"

Seriously?

A lad I knew was killed not too long ago for intervening in a fight.

That is a very real risk.
    A friend of mine nearly got himself into some serious sh*t. There were 2 guys fighting and he walked in between them and said "lads, you don't want to be doing this"
    If you do that you will get attacked by both and later arrested. If you're lucky.
    If you saw someone that was getting murdered by 1 or 2 people you might get lucky if you surprise them. Pick up the heaviest thing you can get your hands on, crack it over their heads from behind as hard as you can and then run!
    Scumbags are impervious to being knocked out, but it might distract them long enough for the victim to get away.
    If there's a crowd kicking someone, a single person can't do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭slogging...it

Was livid watching it. Your ones father/mother would right to go looking for them. Pour petrol over them it'd scare the living daylights out of them ha.
    The fella egging them is supposedly a manager in JD Sports

The victim is being treated in hospital for a number of facial injuries. Police have said that the injuries are so bad that medical staff will not be able to carry out x-rays until next week.

What? X rays don't do anything, I don't understand that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Am i really that old that the world has changed to a completely different place?

I was the same age as these people about 15 years ago, grew up in a rough enough area and got in plenty of scraps and watched plenty of scraps including a few rough fights between women.

The one difference was no matter who was fighting or how much you disliked someone involved, if someone was clearly getting the better of the exchanges you split it up no matter what and there were unspoken rules such as don't ****ing kick someone on the head :mad:
    These fights involved lads i'd classify as proper scumbags that have spent the 15 years since in and out of prison for drug dealing, assault and countless other convictions so not like i was in the company of very well mannered teens.

If these hateful bastards are at this now where will they be down the line? Fair play to that parent for taking the sons phone and handing him in, hopefully it'll teach him a lesson the little ****head.

For 2 girls to repeatedly beat the ****e out of another all the while a number of people stand back and record it and one absolute wanker pours drink over the girls face is close to unbelievable(prior to watching the video i felt it was surely getting highly exaggerated).

How many people stood around watching this without splitting it up and without absolutely hammering the ****e out of that little ballsack pouring the drink because no way could i have not given him a hiding after that :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Squaredude

What? X rays don't do anything, I don't understand that statement.

I assume this means they'll need to wait for swelling to go down in order to get an accurate xray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

What? X rays

Röntgen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Ah the immoral gutter media.

Disgusting attack yada yada yada.

Heres the video no need to worry your sick voyeur head rooting for it on facebook. Here it is. Watch away lads and condemn the sickos who watched it in the flesh. You sit there and watch it with a cup a tea. Fair play.

Why else would the media show the video.

They know more advertising revenue for them as tons will watch it despite their proteststions.

Was livid watching it. Your ones father/mother would right to go looking for them. Pour petrol over them it'd scare the living daylights out of them ha.
    The fella egging them is supposedly a manager in JD Sports

Throw them in the back of a van take them to a field in the arsehole of nowhere and put a gun in their mouth(no need for a bullet) they'll literally wet themselves with fear and hopefully sort their lives out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Am i really that old that the world has changed to a completely different place?

I was the same age as these people about 15 years ago, grew up in a rough enough area and got in plenty of scraps and watched plenty of scraps including a few rough fights between women.

The one difference was no matter who was fighting or how much you disliked someone involved, if someone was clearly getting the better of the exchanges you split it up no matter what and there were unspoken rules such as don't ****ing kick someone on the head :mad:

Nah you aren't and it hasn't. You just didn't see it yourself but attacks like that happened alright. Big difference is they weren't filmed and shared publicly.

Take for example Brian Murphy in 2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Just seen the video to this.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/two-arrested-after-vicious-filmed-assault-on-teenage-girl-36831890.html

Holy crap what an assault. Kicks to the head should be classed as attempted murder, hope the poor girl is ok.

Agreed, something is really rotten in society when it seems to be the norm these days to get a person on the ground and kick them in the head.

Sick, should be 20 years + in prison.

Ah the immoral gutter media.

Disgusting attack yada yada yada.

Heres the video no need to worry your sick voyeur head rooting for it on facebook. Here it is. Watch away lads and condemn the sickos who watched it in the flesh. You sit there and watch it with a cup a tea. Fair play.

Why else would the media show the video.

They know more advertising revenue for them as tons will watch it despite their proteststions.

Unfortunately true, I find myself with a sick curiosity to watch the video ...
    I won't now though ...

humberklog wrote: »
    Nah you aren't and it hasn't. You just didn't see it yourself but attacks like that happened alright. Big difference is they weren't filmed and shared publicly.

Take for example Brian Murphy in 2000.

Yeah but they don't seem to be broken up like they were 15+ years ago, people too busy holding on to their phones to get a good angle ....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Prison is too good for little scrotes like that, send them to straight to hell screaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Kimbot wrote: »
    Prison is too good for little scrotes like that, send them to straight to hell screaming.

They live in Northern Ireland, they’re already there.

2 females and 1 male charged with GBH with intent. Brave mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Scumbags. I find it amazing that these gurriers do this while recording the evidence for the police. They will probably get a few months in juvenile detention of some kind though they deserve a lot worse.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Scumbags. I find it amazing that these gurriers do this while recording the evidence for the police. They will probably get a few months in juvenile detention of some kind though they deserve a lot worse.

1 is 17 so it wont be Juvi for them I think, once over 16 they will be sent to an adult jail in the north?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Kimbot wrote: »
    1 is 17 so it wont be Juvi for them I think, once over 16 they will be sent to an adult jail in the north?

Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Doesn't matter how trained you are, if enough scumbags decide to batter you, you'll not stop them.

I think the issue is the sentencing of the scumbags, not that we should all be trained in self defence, thats looking at it from the wrong angle.

I can tell you from hands on experience, once you drop one scumbag, they take note and it generally stops them. They operate in a pack mentality and once you whittle the numbers down, they back off. They attack people they think won't hit back.

I say generally as I was once set upon by 5 lads for stopping 3 girls and 2 lads beating up another girl. I got a hold of one of them, balled up and kept hitting him until they stopped, which was fairly quickly.

Learning an MA is vital, not only does it give you the tools needed in such situations but it drastically reduces the chances of the situation ever happening - this is because you hold yourself with confidence and have the situational awareness to keep distance and work angles to lessen the chances of being clipped. You will also become comfortable with conflict and not freeze or have an adrenaline dump.

Looking at sentencing wont stop attacks, prison is a badge of honour for some of these scumbags and they don't fear it. We live in a world with predators and the only way to beat them, is to be a bigger threat. It shouldn't be this way, but it is and the police can only act after the fact, and the damage is done by then.

Better to be tried by 12 than carried by 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Apparently the 3 of them were refused bail, and charged, appearing back in court on 11 may.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Pretty brutal albeit I'm a little surprised at how shocked some of you are in, in the sense of this somehow being indicative of a worsening of society or so. I can recall quite viscous attacks at many times through Irish society, perhaps the difference now is the footage.

There has and always will be absolute scumbags.

Also to the person who imagined old fights were all honourable and people broke them up, come off it, it depends then, as now, on who was fighting. The world does not change much really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Didn't see the video but if it was my daughter anyone assaulting her or anyone standing by would pay.

Maybe that's what they were doing here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Yeah but they don't seem to be broken up like they were 15+ years ago, people too busy holding on to their phones to get a good angle ....

Not sure what world you were in but I saw plenty of fights like this 15+ years ago and plenty the opposite. Depended on the crowd really.

scopper wrote: »
    Pretty brutal albeit I'm a little surprised at how shocked some of you are in, in the sense of this somehow being indicative of a worsening of society or so. I can recall quite viscous attacks at many times through Irish society, perhaps the difference now is the footage.

Also to the person who imagined old fights were all honourable and people broke them up, come off it, it depends then, as now, on who was fighting. The world does not change much really.

It was me.
    I was going off the evidence of countless fights i was involved in or watched, including rows with absolute scumbags.
    Maybe there's different levels of scumbags but at the time these future cocaine dealers and general dodgy bastards didn't kick people in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

"What is happening to our young people? They disrespect their elders, they disobey their parents. They ignore the law. They riot in the streets inflamed with wild notions. Their morals are decaying. What is to become of them?"

Plato circa 320 B.C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

It was me.
    I was going off the evidence of countless fights i was involved in or watched, including rows with absolute scumbags.
    Maybe there's different levels of scumbags but at the time these future cocaine dealers and general dodgy bastards didn't kick people in the head.

regretfully a young lad got a single kick to the head and died in my town when i was about 17, so that would be around 1988. scum on the streets is nothing new, its just become more brazen, more frequent and more in your face due to social media.

i did not watch the video, i could not bring my self to do it. i was reminded of the exact same thing happening to me Jan 17. strangely, despite my broken jaw and the scum being caught in the act, they were allowed walk free and the case only comes up next month. i note from the report that these scum were denied bail and are due in court next month too. swift justice in the north.

in my case one of the men had a knife and produced it to try to stab my son. am hoping they get charged with attempted murder but most likely it will be a lesser charge, slap on wrist and don't be a bold boy again.

they have the whole come from a broken home, bad background, never stood a chance m'lud attitude down pat. already laughing in street at us saying they will get off. some things never change in this country.

(yes am a little bitter, gonna be a hellva lot more if they get off :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

Picture circulating of the 3 girls in this video smiling at the camera, seemingly friends. Girl getting a beating is wearing a electronic ankle tag. nothing to do with the video just a bit of background on these colorful characters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,484 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

There was also more that was not filmed with them holding her head in a fountain that was only broke up by a passing motorist

KilOit wrote: »
    Picture circulating of the 3 girls in this video smiling at the camera, seemingly friends. Girl getting a beating is wearing a electronic ankle tag. nothing to do with the video just a bit of background on these colorful characters

I just looked at the video again and can not see an electronic tag on the girl getting a beating

Apparently the 3 of them were refused bail, and charged, appearing back in court on 11 may.

2 girls were refused bail and the fella did not apply for bail going be the BBC

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-43862292

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

You probably aren't old enough to remember, plenty drunken fights back in the 80's but no one ever resorted to head kicking, that started in the late 90's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    You probably aren't old enough to remember, plenty drunken fights back in the 80's but no one ever resorted to head kicking, that started in the late 90's.

i seem to remember in about 1988 or so a murder in my town where an English lad wearing admittedly ill advised England football shirt got jumped by a local piece of fecal matter.
    He was dragged outside a chipped and kicked in the head and face repeatedly.

I remember the media buzz as it was at the time was to make a kick to the head carry a attempted murder charge .

theres always been animals living among us just seems that the legal systems are less well able to cope with them . I believe the POS in that case got life , no doubt he is out and about by now