Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

It's a pretty bad stretch for horrendous driving from all forms of motorists. Motorbikes are awful on it too. Saw a 4 x 4 overtaking 3 cars in a row along there yesterday, coming against me, he could barely overtake the second one because it was already going fast...he still had a car to clear after that one. Can be scary to have someone coming directly towards you at that speed, would doubt he saw me cycling in that lane at all.

Acfually, you remind me. After that incident, two cars and a jeep passed me at a safe distonce. All three ripping it, but the jeep, which was third, was overtaking the cars on the wrong side of the road. The second car was tailgating the first. Now, a cyclist is coming down and the jeep is not pulling in. Cyclist had to slow/move in and is passed by jeep at speed on the wrong side of the road, with not much space. I could see all this ahead of me and thinking WTF. Prior to the van I was also passed close by a car at the new island after Jobstown. What a nuts few KM.
    Highlight of my day was a Garda checkpoint on the Wicklow Gap. Nice to see some checking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Generally I avoid the Embankment if I'm out for a spin by heading up Seskin. It's a bit of a slog followed by a short descent to Brittas when heading for Blessington and a short climb followed by a great descent going the other way. It's nearly always quiet and much more scenic than the N81.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Generally I avoid the Embankment if I'm out for a spin by heading up Seskin. It's a bit of a slog followed by a short descent to Brittas when heading for Blessington and a short climb followed by a great descent going the other way. It's nearly always quiet and much more scenic than the N81.

A bit of a slog? Fair play.

I'm quicker walking up it than cycling.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,025 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

amcalester wrote: »
    A bit of a slog? Fair play.

I'm quicker walking up it than cycling.

I followed Google maps this way before, I would have been quicker if half way up, I turned round and went up the embankment.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

CramCycle wrote: »
    I followed Google maps this way before, I would have been quicker if half way up, I turned round and went up the embankment.

The first time I went that way was because I took the wrong turn. Genuinely thought there was something wrong with my bike as I slogged away :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Is a Near Miss really a Near Miss if it happens on the Airport Roundabout. It's f*&king carnage there every day.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Bike down on Parnell Road this morning about 200 meters before Harolds Cross bridge - ambulance and police car at the scene when I cycled past around 7.45. That stretch is normally OK, there's no spots where cars pull into the cycle lane unless maybe going inside someone turning into the petrol station.

Hope they're OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Lambay island

I was left Hooked by a van this morning. I was coming down past liberty hall heading towards Customs House. I had a green light at junction under dart bridge about 30 yards out in bike lane and he decided to go level with me to my right and I knew it was happening before it even happened so had pulled on brakes and hes cut right in front of me and somehow managed to not collide due to my experience of this BS I suppose. He then had to stop at junction anyway as traffic was slow going left so was completely unnecessary and easily could have waited one second behind me to pull in. Happens so regularly, I'm almost immune at this stage so didn't even react which surprised me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

I was left Hooked by a van this morning. I was coming down past liberty hall heading towards Customs House. I had a green light at junction under dart bridge about 30 yards out in bike lane and he decided to go level with me to my right and I knew it was happening before it even happened so had pulled on brakes and hes cut right in front of me and somehow managed to not collide due to my experience of this BS I suppose. He then had to stop at junction anyway as traffic was slow going left so was completely unnecessary and easily could have waited one second behind me to pull in. Happens so regularly, I'm almost immune at this stage so didn't even react which surprised me.

It's a bit of a free for all around that general area. He was going left to go down Gardiner Street? I'm always fairly nervous around there with the bloody Luas tracks thrown into the mix too.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

That junction is a shambles for sure. I try to get right into the middle of the lane as soon as I'm over the Luas tracks.

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    That junction is a shambles for sure. I try to get right into the middle of the lane as soon as I'm over the Luas tracks.

Yeah, same here. I have to get in the right lane going up Gardiner Street. It' a bit of a pain turning right there over the Luas tracks. I'm always afraid I'll slip on the tracks in front of the traffic pulling away from the lights.

It's a bit of a free for all around that general area. He was going left to go down Gardiner Street? I'm always fairly nervous around there with the bloody Luas tracks thrown into the mix too.

Yes that's the spot.
    Ciaran_B wrote: »

Yes, I must do that in future now you say it

Yes that's the spot.

Yes, I must do that in future now you say it

In theory it's a bit mad. Quite often the most dangerous place to cycle is in the bike lane

I got a surprised look from a driver as they merged into the bus lane a km before they turned. They looked right at me and wondered where I came from. They still continued in so I took the higher ground and hauled my brakes to let them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

check out the grey car. takes off a full 3 seconds after the red, 5 after the amber!

Hit a van this evening, car to my right waved a van out but it wasn't going into the traffic lane but into the petrol station. Managed to skid stop and turn in but bumped of the van and mirror.
    He apologised completely, Admitted fault and said he seen me but he just messed up. I was OK and he learned a lesson, asked him was he OK as I know you can get a shock and that was that.
    I should have slowed just in case but sin Compared to the driver 300m down the road who pulled out from my side. I let a roar to warn them and the devil eyes I got. Continues to stare at me as they drove out into moving traffic. The full military fatigue ensemble was also quite odd but I ain't the fashion police.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Great tweeting from these lads in the UK today, this one though....

https://twitter.com/WMPRHRT/status/988843910557585408

oh wait, and this :pac:

https://twitter.com/WMPRHRT/status/988846090270191616

*wasn't sure which thread this best suited...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

I saw those earlier. It seems the UK police have really started to take a pragmatic approach to the real dangers on the road. Whereas here we still have to deal with the usual calls for hi-vis, helmets and "road tax"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭site_owner

And those passses don't even look that bad compared to what most of us see on a daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Was the bike cycled by a police officer, or were they just using video evidence?

I nearly got hit by a guy on a bike this morning. The same guy has nearly knocked me off a few times. I always encounter him between Harolds Cross and Christ Church. Sometimes in the evening in the opposite direction too.

He's a really big guy, wears three quarter length shorts with a red hoodie. Cycles a mountain bike and has a real sh1tty hi-vis covering a bag on his back. He also has massive cans on his ears, so there has been a few occasions when he hasn't heard me telling him what i think of him. He has no consideration for other cyclists or motorists. When he gets hit or hits another cyclist, he's going to do damage due to his size and the fact that he's usually going at speed.

I've seen him nearly being taken out of it a few times because he overtakes without looking. He was a whisker away from being hit a while back overtaking someone in front of me around St Patricks Cathedral. I nearly puked after it, he didn't even bloody see the car coming up.

He never looks over his shoulder, never indicates that he is turning and sails through every fcuking red light.

/end rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭homer911

I nearly got hit by a guy on a bike this morning. The same guy has nearly knocked me off a few times. I always encounter him between Harolds Cross and Christ Church. Sometimes in the evening in the opposite direction too.

He's a really big guy, wears three quarter length shorts with a red hoodie. Cycles a mountain bike and has a real sh1tty hi-vis covering a bag on his back. He also has massive cans on his ears, so there has been a few occasions when he hasn't heard me telling him what i think of him. He has no consideration for other cyclists or motorists. When he gets hit or hits another cyclist, he's going to do damage due to his size and the fact that he's usually going at speed.

I've seen him nearly being taken out of it a few times because he overtakes without looking. He was a whisker away from being hit a while back overtaking someone in front of me around St Patricks Cathedral. I nearly puked after it, he didn't even bloody see the car coming up.

He never looks over his shoulder, never indicates that he is turning and sails through every fcuking red light.

/end rant

Sounds like a candidate for a Darwin award!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

homer911 wrote: »
    Sounds like a candidate for a Darwin award!

These Mr. Magoo fúckers never get hurt it's everyone else who takes evasive action that ends up injured.

amcalester wrote: »
    These Mr. Magoo fúckers never get hurt it's everyone else who takes evasive action that ends up injured.

Aye, that's it. I'm constantly looking over my shoulder but this guy comes up fast and doesn't wait to overtake, he just goes through. Like an ignorant dreadnought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,162 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Hurrache wrote: »
    Was the bike cycled by a police officer, or were they just using video evidence?

What they do, AFAIK, is send out an officer unmarked, paired with officer on a motorcycle or in a car. The motorist never knows the cyclist by sight. It's much the same procedure as operated for trucks; they hae an unmarked cab driving around motorways so they can see what other truck drivers are doing and radio a paired car to pull said driver over if they're ont he phone, watching a laptop, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Yeah, I've seen the truck cabs operations on Traffic Cops before, pretty cool set-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

check out the grey car. takes off a full 3 seconds after the red, 5 after the amber!

Who is breaking the lights between the cyclist the walkers. Either the walkers are or two cyclist are!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Not quite related folks, but I witnessed an accident from my car at portobello bridge on the canal Tuesday night just after ten pm- I think it was a pedestrian.

I was waiting to get lights to turn left onto the canal whilst coming from Rathmines, I was a car back from the junction. a white car shot through the junction from my left to right and hit someone at speed - I'm not sure if it was a pedestrian or cyclist, literally after I heard the bang and a girl screaming, the rest of us got green lights. I'd guess that maybe they saw amber and accelerated to make it through - possibly through a red though.

I feel sorry for everyone involved and the images of the aftermath, a person prone in the road, people rushing to help / stop traffic, personal belongings and clothing scattered all over the road and the sharp bang of the impact etc will stay with me forever.

I couldn't turn left due to the accident so filtered right and continued across the bridge before stopping the car and getting out to see if there was anything I could do. The injured pedestrian was prone in the centre of the road and there were many people assisting/calling for an ambulance. Dolphins barn DFB units were amazing and were there in minutes. I'm not sure who really was at fault, but 2 days later I'm still in shock over the whole incident.

I honestly don't know if the person survived although I have searched news stories etc since and thankfully seen nothing about a death or even a serious injury, so fingers crossed that they make a full recovery.

Anyway, I think what I wanted to say was, however, you get about, walk, run, cycle - bicycle or motorbike, drive, take care of yourselves out there because nobody else will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Chiparus

https://twitter.com/WMPRHRT/status/988842302255894528
    Great to see the Irish connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Didnt twig this one coming this morning, scared the bejaysus out of me. Looking back, there was very little attempt made by the driver to leave some room, I think he moves out even further after he'd buzzed past.:rolleyes: