Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 8th Amendment Part 2 - Mod Warning in OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,771 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I didn't given an opinion. The Gardai are investigating the illegal removal of No posters. You said by the ESB, which means you made a claim they are involved in illegal activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

RobertKK wrote: »
    I didn't given an opinion. The Gardai are investigating the illegal removal of No posters. You said by the ESB, which means you made a claim they are involved in illegal activity.

That is some warped logic

Posters that appear on electricity poles will be removed by ESB staff when possible and it is safe to do so.

No it's dangerous to place posters on ESB poles and they remove them regularly everytime there's a campaign or election.

So any side that do so are endangering life, ironic when the save the 8th do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

The Gardai are investigating after lots of No posters were illegally taken down.

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

You are right in your analysis,, the yes posters are very kinda soft compared to the no posters- & just incase anyone asks me no Im not referring to any graphic imagery or anything, for example take this new no poster, its hard hitting blunt & getting right to the point a lot better compared with the soft approach of the yes posters.

448199.jpg

You'll find that plenty of on the fence voters find the no campaign's posters to be outright offensive rather than persuasive.

Can find this

https://kclr96fm.com/pro-life-posters-seized-gardai-kilkenny-following-complaints/

The only link compaints of no campaign posters being reported to the gardai is from the SSM campaign

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/same-sex-marriage-referendum-removal-5573116

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Can find this

https://kclr96fm.com/pro-life-posters-seized-gardai-kilkenny-following-complaints/

The only link compaints of no campaign posters being reported to the gardai is from the SSM campaign

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/same-sex-marriage-referendum-removal-5573116

The second one was the only one I could find too

I'm sure Robertkk can provide the link to back up what he said, it might be just the search terms we're using.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Someone has been busy down my way, I've yet to see a single "Vote yes" poster in County Wexford yet the place is plastered with "Vote No" billboards and posters.
    Come to think of it,the only repeal posters I did see were 2 on the Longmile Road in Dublin.
    The "Vote No" campaign seems to have stolen a march in the visibility stakes.
    Personally,I don't like the tone of their posters,there seems to be a huge emphasis on guilt tripping people with images of foetuses etc and messages along the lines of "why would you kill me?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

If the poster campaign in Dublin so far is anything to go by then the Repeal campaign have already lost the referendum. The anti - Repeal campaign have had their posters up for about a month now and of course they’re what you’d expect – simple, graphic no nonsense, fear-based messages claiming that repeal is a licence for wholesale baby murder. So far, so predictable. Only in the last fortnight have the pro - Repeal posters begun to appear. It’s bad enough that the pro-Repeal side were behind the ball in launching their campaign but the quality of the messages so far have been dreadful. The Labour party’s two posters – “For Compassion in a Crisis” and “For Women’s Health” are typical of the kind of bland, wishy washy, “let’s not offend anyone” approach common now in all establishment election and referendum campaigns. The worst I’ve seen so far though is the Together For Yes campaign poster – an awful yoke proclaiming “Sometimes a private matter needs public support”.

I thought the first "1 in 5" poster was very good but I was in two minds about the second "License to kill" one until I came face to face with it looking out the upstairs window on a bus. It really packs a punch.

The repeal side posters read like they were written by a committee. Which they were.

“For Compassion in a Crisis” could equally well apply to the unborn child. It's like the people who decided to use it couldn't make that leap of imagination.
    I don't understand the "For Women's Health" one. It seems like they missed an opportunity to explain themselves further.
    Also it'd be great if they could make the Labour Party logo even bigger. Anyone able to put a word in?

There's a picture on one of the other threads which I can't link to but it's a fairly ironic. It's a save the 8th poster above directions to the ferry to Wales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

There's a picture on one of the other threads which I can't link to but it's a fairly ironic. It's a save the 8th poster above directions to the ferry to Wales.

Speaking of irony I almost got hit by a car the other day, they were pulling into a carpark across a footpath without looking...had a big love both bumper sticker.

I bet if I was a foetus instead of just a woman they would've seen me :p

Someone has been busy down my way, I've yet to see a single "Vote yes" poster in County Wexford yet the place is plastered with "Vote No" billboards and posters.
    Come to think of it,the only repeal posters I did see were 2 on the Longmile Road in Dublin.
    The "Vote No" campaign seems to have stolen a march in the visibility stakes.
    Personally,I don't like the tone of their posters,there seems to be a huge emphasis on guilt tripping people with images of foetuses etc and messages along the lines of "why would you kill me?".

Pretty much the same during the SSM campaign, No posters greatly out numbered Yes posters, just a matter of funding.

Speaking of irony I almost got hit by a car the other day, they were pulling into a carpark across a footpath without looking...had a big love both bumper sticker.

I laughed. I shouldn't have laughed but I laughed :pac:

You didn't happen to be wearing a repeal top at the time were you :D

Find people leaving the shops are dangerous their mind is on "did I remember the milk, sh1t why is someone walking under my car"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

Link?
    I'm sure Robertkk can provide the link to back up what he said, it might be just the search terms we're using.

I found a link after a bit of searching. I think I know why Robert wasn't keen on sharing it.

http://theliberal.ie/garda-investigation-underway-after-numerous-pro-life-posters-have-been-illegally-pulled-down/

I thought the first "1 in 5" poster was very good but I was in two minds about the second "License to kill" one until I came face to face with it looking out the upstairs window on a bus. It really packs a punch.

The repeal side posters read like they were written by a committee. Which they were.

“For Compassion in a Crisis” could equally well apply to the unborn child. It's like the people who decided to use it couldn't make that leap of imagination.
    I don't understand the "For Women's Health" one. It seems like they missed an opportunity to explain themselves further.
    Also it'd be great if they could make the Labour Party logo even bigger. Anyone able to put a word in?

1 in 5 has been shown to be inaccurate but that's already been pointed out to you so not sure why you still think its a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

Maybe if buffoons stopped spreading false info across their posters individuals might be inclined to not tear them down, I saw two women tearing one down on Glasnevin the other day while I was out on a stroll with herself, when I asked were they pro-choice they said no, they just don't feel the posters are appropriately representing their pro-life views - the poster in question was of an aborted 20 something week fetus and how the 8th will allow abortions to this stage to happen (even though it's been unanimously agreed that it's 12 weeks).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I found a link after a bit of searching. I think I know why Robert wasn't keen on sharing it.

http://theliberal.ie/garda-investigation-underway-after-numerous-pro-life-posters-have-been-illegally-pulled-down/

Why?

Because of the source? The journal is not exactly reputable. Plus it's also totally pro choice, being ran by Cora Sherlocks brother Leo.

Could that be the reason I wonder??

*sarcasm alert*

Plus that article is pure drivel, reads like it was written by a sixth class student

Ah a fine example of truth and investigative journalism on every page, why would anyone be afraid of sharing that as evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

This is too important a vote to rely on what you see in a poster. Please research, educate and come to your own personal conclusions. Research the status of a feotus. Read the experiences of others, those who travelled and those who didn't. Don't vote based on what you see on poster .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭horseburger

That's all well and good but try extra hard to answer the questions I've actually asked, rather than share YouTube links.

I already stated that I have not objected to abortion being availed of.

If you don't want to read my reply and understand the point I was making about how people advocate for abortion through vague phrases and slogans, knock yourself out, but don't suggest that I haven't answered you.

volchitsa wrote: »
    I think BPAS and thr NHS etc are in a very different position from a random American though, no matter how many abortions he himself has carried out - they ar after all providing a health service that I have heard (and read on here) prolifers use as an explanation for why the law in Ireland doesnt need to change!

A doctor with experience in carrying out abortions is hardly a random person.

Numerous doctors have given addresses to both the Citizens Assembly and Oireachtas Committee detailing their perspectives, on the issues related to abortion.

Do you consider them randomers?

Do you consider Dr Peter McParland, of the National Maternity Hospital, who addressed the Citizens' Assembly on 7th January 2017, a random Irish man?

Here is the report he prepared and submitted, to the Citizens' Assembly for consideration:

https://www.citizensassembly.ie/en/Meetings/Dr-Peter-McParland-Paper.pdf

https://www.citizensassembly.ie/en/Meetings/Dr-Peter-McParland-Powerpoint-Presentation.pdf

Is Dr. Peter Thompson, Consultant in Maternal Fetal Medicine, Birmingham Women’s and Children’s Hospital, NHS Foundation Trust, who addressed the Oireachtas Committee, on 29th November 2017, a random English man?

http://www.oireachtas.ie/viewdoc.asp?DocID=37383&&CatID=127&StartDate=01 January 2017&OrderAscending=0

https://media.heanet.ie/p/20171129+Joint+Committee+on+Eighth+Amendment+of+the+Constitution/psshOJ

http://oireachtasdebates.oireachtas.ie/Debates%20Authoring/DebatesWebPack.nsf/committeetakes/EAJ2017112900002?opendocument#C02250

https://beta.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/joint_committee_on_the_eighth_amendment_of_the_constitution/2017-11-29/3/

A doctor with experience in carrying out abortions is hardly a random person.

That one used to perform abortions, then his child got hit by a car outside the house and died

While terribly tragic, there is nothing worse than a reformed whore

Why should his tragic event affect the health and safety of Irish Women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Do you consider Dr Peter McParland, of the National Maternity Hospital, who addressed the Citizens' Assembly, a random Irish man?

Here is the report he prepared and submitted, to the Citizens' Assembly for consideration:

https://www.citizensassembly.ie/en/Meetings/Dr-Peter-McParland-Paper.pdf

And it seems it would be better if it was available here :

We as health professionals are not allowed to refer, promote or advocate termination of pregnancy but we are allowed to provide all ofthe information to the relevant unit in the UK.

One of the difficulties with travelling abroad is the frequent lack of a post-mortem.

Thus it is not possible in a number of cases to pinpoint the diagnosis and thus give appropriate counselling for a future pregnancy.

That's an angle you wouldn't think of readily

Actually he did make it illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

funnily enough its the complete lack of any social media posts about destroying pro-life posters that makes this look even less credible.

I don't see anyone destroying posters, it doesn't appear on social media, and the Sherlock family newspaper contains exactly zero links to social media posts where it's taking place.

Which all indicates that it's a fabrication. Another example of the Christian victimisation complex.

gctest50 wrote: »
    That one used to perform abortions, then his child got hit by a car outside the house and died

While terribly tragic, there is nothing worse than a reformed whore

Why should his tragic event affect the health and safety of Irish Women

I think what he was doing was relating the death he experienced of his child, to the death that occurs in abortion.

Perhaps he changed his perspective on abortion when he experienced the death of his own child, and perhaps he related that to the idea that when a doctor carries out an abortion, that they are engaging in a procedure that involves the ending the life of a human foetus/baby that is biologically linked to someone else.

Maybe the death of his own child made the issue of abortion a more personal issue for him?

Did you see Declan Ganley being interviewed by Sarah McInterney recently on TV3?

He was talking about the issue of the option of abortion that was available to him and wife Delia, in New York.

https://www.tv3.ie/3player/show/1313/141024/0/The-Sunday-Show