Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

coolhull wrote: »
    We were all horrified (yeah, right!) when Karen lay unconscious in Wayne 's kitchen, presumably having written 'Slut', in beautiful handwriting, with the last of her dying strength on the fridge (as you do).

Karen has become the latest victim of a huge rise in knife crime throughout the city. But at least her assailant is neat and tidy, and delivers a precise stab wound, which allows blood to soak through her dress but not onto her tights or shoes...
    ("Those shoes are Leboutin Flats, they cost a fortune in Browne Thomas's, and the tights are Pretty Polly Sheer Dennier, e8.99 a pair. I'm fcuked if I'm going to let them be ruined by a bit of ould ketchup ).

Having found her, stabbed and near death on his own kitchen floor, Wayne, being the gobsh*te he is, thinks to himself, "Will I call an ambulance? Ah no, sure me phone credit is low. ... I'll just whisk a sheet off me bed, lay her down on that, and drag her along the hallway, down the fourteen front steps, onto the cold pavement, into the back seat of me car, and take her to hospital meself. Sure them ould ambulances, with the oxygen tanks, emergency equipment and safety stretchers aren't near as snug as me own ould car. Far quicker and cheaper to do it meself. "

Then, after driving frantically for twenty minutes, while assuring Karen that " we're nearly there", it turns out that he's actually only driven fifteen yards from his own house, and only got as far asoutside McCoy's, where of course Decco steps out in front of him. Despite almost becoming another sad statistic of Ireland's roads massacre Decco still has time to get into a long, rambling conversation with Wayne, regarding road safety, the life-styles of their respective wives, and, for all we know, the possible outcome of the upcoming Referendum.

Karen, meanwhile, despite losing massive amounts of Heinz 57 Varieties, decides to herself, "Fcuk this, 'tis a fine night, I'm going for a stroll in the park," slips unnoticed from the car and staggers nonchalantly through the Bank Holiday crowds, enters the park looks for a clean, dry spot, and collapses, gently and modestly, to the ground.

Luckily, Wayne is able to put his panic and fears aside, and instead goes to the pub, where he sits at ease pwith the local doctor.
    "Hmm, I wonder should I mention to the Doctor that there's a slip of a girl nearby, bleeding profusely from a stab wound,..... or should I have another drink? .... Fcuk it, gimme another pint there, and sure give Doctor Jim whatever he's having."

Over the years, with the grandkids, I've had to watch a fair few episodes of ''Bananas in Pyjamas, " Ben and Holly " and ''Daffy Duck", but for sheer entertainment and comedic value, Fair City beats them all.

You legend :D spot on as always :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I was in stitches laughing at Wayne dragging Karen across the floor. Did he put a towel over her head at one stage? Also Decco got hit by the car and then falls down 5 minutes later. Even by Fair City standards that was atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When Decco fell down after bring hit by the car it was like an ad for a false insurance claim scam!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

This is Bloody pathetic, excuse the pun, detective trench finer wasn't brought back unfortunately ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

This is Bloody pathetic, excuse the pun, detective trench finer wasn't brought back unfortunately ;).

Missing her alright! Although the new detective and his ability to just appear on demand from within a crowd is hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

Worst whodunit ever. Shifty eyes seems to be the default acting mode

Thing is...Karen wasn't even in it long enough for anyone to really give a continental about who killed her. She was a bit of a non event...a whiny moany non event..and the build up to her death was bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Aw the new detective used to buy his cigarettes from me about 20 years ago. Makes me feel old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Would the funeral occur so quickly in a case like this?

I reckon Miriam did it and she can't remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

Was the new detective Stephen Brennan's son in Glenroe?

I reckon Miriam did it and she can't remember.

I was wondering why Jim was at the funeral when he didn't know Karen. Although I still think Aoife did it. She definitely knows more than she's letting on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Front of the RTE Guide this week is hilarious, they have Orla, Wayne and Carol looking all shady and the title "Whodunnit" as the cover.
    Give me a break, we all KNOW its not going to be Carol, Wayne or Orla. Even THEY know its not them, all this crap in the interview about "ooh we cant wait until we get the scripts to see who it is", what a joke. As if its going to be a long termer. Carol even said "Who knows what will happen, interesting times ahead". No Carol, its the same old thing with you over and over again. I really wish they would just sack her, shes painful to watch.
    You read it here first, it was either:
    1. Karen herself
    2. Aoife
    3. Miriam on the drugs.

100, 000, 000% one of those 3. You can even quote me on this when its revealed in a few weeks. I am not wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Front of the RTE Guide this week is hilarious, they have Orla, Wayne and Carol looking all shady and the title "Whodunnit" as the cover.
    Give me a break, we all KNOW its not going to be Carol, Wayne or Orla. Even THEY know its not them, all this crap in the interview about "ooh we cant wait until we get the scripts to see who it is", what a joke. As if its going to be a long termer. Carol even said "Who knows what will happen, interesting times ahead". No Carol, its the same old thing with you over and over again. I really wish they would just sack her, shes painful to watch.
    You read it here first, it was either:
    1. Karen herself
    2. Aoife
    3. Miriam on the drugs.

100, 000, 000% one of those 3. You can even quote me on this when its revealed in a few weeks. I am not wrong.

Karen herself looks most likely. I think they are bringing in a corrupt Garda storyline here perhaps? That detective along with John Deegan is shifty and look how he was listening outside the door to John Deegan and Sean.

You're being rather optimistic with that reveal timeline :D

Karen herself looks most likely. I think they are bringing in a corrupt Garda storyline here perhaps? That detective along with John Deegan is shifty and look how he was listening outside the door to John Deegan and Sean.

Yeah possible a corrupt Garda to kill two storylines with one bird so to speak. I wouldn't have any faith in Deegan considering how spectacularly badly he did with the whole Katy investigation, not putting together the obvious clues that it was Ciaran.

youwould wrote: »
    You're being rather optimistic with that reveal timeline :D

The only reason I said that because it was quoted in the RTE Guide that the killer will be revealed in a few weeks!! It was probably Karen all along and the cops will find a letter or something she wrote explaining she wanted revenge on everyone. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I thought there was a bit of a spark between Carol and the detective..maybe I was way off the mark.

Maybe Barry O Hanlon shanked her.

TBH I just assumed that was because FC can't afford to have a room where the other cops can watch & listen to someone being interrogated like in the US dramas. ;)

So she was defo murdered? Not suicide

youwould wrote: »
    Was the new detective Stephen Brennan's son in Glenroe?

Yes, he (Nigel Mercier) was Des #2.

The original Des was played by somebody else.

Stephen's other son was the obnoxious David who was in a wheelchair.

Seeing as Jane and Pete were both in Glenroe, maybe they'll recognise the new DI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Once again, the pace of official action in Carrigstown is absolutely incredible.
    On Sunday, Karen found herself a nice, clean, comfortable spot in the park in which to lie down and kick the bucket.
    By Tuesday forenoon, the post-mortem has been conducted, the medical examiner's report has landed on the desk of the Murder Squad, the wake has been held , the funeral service over, and the burial been completed.
    Such efficency is a credit to the Department of Justice, the undertakers, and the grave diggers........

Aoife, to the after - funeral attendees : "Please, if any of you know anything at all about the murder of my daughter, please go and talk to Sergeant Deegan."
    Ah, Aoife, you're relatively new to Carrigstown, aren't you?
    The residents (and ourselves) know that if a crime has been committed, probably the last person to approach is Sgt Deegan.
    In the past three years, he has carved only three notches onto his belt regarding crimes solved in Carrigstown Garda District.

He was first on the scene when Charlotte, with unlawful intent and malice aforethought , kicked over a wheelbarrow, containing 2 turnips and a radish.
    To be fair, he used his discretion in that occasion to let her off, after a grim warning (and dark insinuations regarding the Women's Prison in the Joy).
    Then , there was the famous 'Case of the Missing Flower Pot', where, once again, Deegan, using his analytical mind, had the entire mystery solved before the first commercial break.
    His last case was known to crime afficianados as the 'Great Missing Tail-light Affair.'
    Once again, John Deegan, after a period of intense investigation, was able to bring the heinous, psychotic criminal to face a judge and jury and made to atone for his criminal ways.
    ( Sgt John has been on a well-deserved extended break, more or less, since then.)

It struck me tonight that the late, not- much - lamented Dan used to work in the hotel Gym, and ended up being murdered.
    The late lamented Karen worked in the very same Gym, and within a few weeks, ended up also being murdered.
    At this stage, poor Laura must be absolutely sh*tting herself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

He only murders with doors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

He only murders with doors!

447270.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

There was a powerful amount of sandwiches at the funeral after party (one plate I think). The new detective got scolded by Caddle for attempting to eat one of said sandwiches, Why make sandwiches and then not want people to eat them!

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I read too that Oisin is blamed later in the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I noticed Farrah was at the wake, she got her roots done.. :)

the new detective is hot he was in cowboys and angels tears ago

Sparko wrote: »
    Missing her alright! Although the new detective and his ability to just appear on demand from within a crowd is hilarious.

It was hilarious when dopey wayne and orla were in vino's chatting away and he just spins around out of nowhere and introduces himself, also greasy head doesn't seem all that bothered by Karen's death, I thought she was like the daughter he never had :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭leche solara

Stephen's other son was the obnoxious David who was in a wheelchair.

Who now puts the all talk into the tea with Ciaran. What a tiny little world RTE is.