London murder rate overtakes New York for the first time ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭AlphabetCards

Yamanoto wrote: »
    A Gallup poll, taken some weeks after Powell's speech, showed 74% of respondents in agreement with his position. He was scoffed at by the political classes for sure, but even steadfast Labour supporters in blue collar trades endorsed his calls to put an end to mass immigration.

People seem to forget that allowing unhindered immigration increases the availability of potential employees for businesses, thus allowing them to drop wages. Years ago, no minimum wage was necessary - now we have one and it barely allows people to get by. The 'boost to the economy' does nothing but increase wealth inequality, as seen by the increase in people beneath the poverty line. If you are rich, you'll get richer but if you are unlucky to be born poor then good luck, you won't be living off the earnings from land, shares or inheritance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Context matters.

If you're talking about traffic, "Londoners despair at the increased toll fees.", is fine to describe the inhabitants of a city.

The people you know from other countries simply shouldn't say they're from Dublin if they're asked where they're from, since place of birth is the actual context, just like the stats here.
    They have every right to say they're from Dublin when they've lived here for the majority of their lives. 'Where are you from' is an extremely broad question, depending on where in the world you live people will tell you where they live, where they were born, or even where there parents/grandparents were from.

I don't see any issue with RayCun's statement that "About 36% of Londoners are foreign born (2011), exactly the same as New York (2009)" as it very much provides context around 'Londoner' to be inhabitants and 'foreign born' to be those inhabitants who were not born in (correction) the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

People seem to forget that allowing unhindered immigration increases the availability of potential employees for businesses, thus allowing them to drop wages. Years ago, no minimum wage was necessary - now we have one and it barely allows people to get by. The 'boost to the economy' does nothing but increase wealth inequality, as seen by the increase in people beneath the poverty line. If you are rich, you'll get richer but if you are unlucky to be born poor then good luck, you won't be living off the earnings from land, shares or inheritance.

This is why I laugh at Liberals now. They claim to support the working class, but their policies have been destructive to them. They claim to support a higher minimum wage, but support unchecked border and immigration control which leads to a flood of unskilled,cheaper workers that have made wages stagnate or decrease. Their open border polices are completely destructive full stop. Its the reason why the rents have skyrocketed and our taxes are increasing. Plus food prices are going up. This is basic economics. As resources become scarcer the value increase. Especially as the demand increases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

ah, the classic "it's all the fault of people worse off than you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

quintana76 wrote: »
    London has a Mayor who says that terrorism is just a normal part of modern urban life just like parking charges and that everyone should just get used to it. Most stabbing murders are acknowledged to be black on black. Very inconvenient that as it doesn't fit in with the liberal diversity agenda as espoused by the said Mayor. It also means that the Police are wasting time and effort searching elsewhere so as not be seen to focus on one particular community. It will only get worse.

He used it in reference to being prepared for it in all major cities. It was latched onto by the far right as him saying it was fine. It was a pretty realistic statement that fools got outraged by.

“Part and parcel of living in a great global city is you’ve got to be prepared for these things, you’ve got to be vigilant, you’ve got to support the police doing an incredibly hard job. We must never accept terrorists being successful, we must never accept that terrorists can destroy our life or destroy the way we lead our lives.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The last time I was in London I was beheaded for eating a banana during Ramadan. The time before that I flew in to Heathrow with a jumbo jet full of Biafran teenagers, and they just tipped their hats and waved us through passport control.

It's really as bad as not worse as some of the posters here believe. Really.

RayCun wrote: »
    ah, the classic "it's all the fault of people worse off than you"

Ah, the classic "I can't dispute anything said. So I'll just accuse them of being racist even though there was nothing racist in what was said."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

The last time I was in London I was beheaded for eating a banana during Ramadan. The time before that I flew in to Heathrow with a jumbo jet full of Biafran teenagers, and they just tipped their hats and waved us through passport control.

It's really as bad as not worse as some of the posters here believe. Really.

The biafrans are fuckers for the e-mail scams, tis true. They print them out and chase ye down the street with the poxy things.

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Ah, the classic "I can't dispute anything said. So I'll just accuse them of being racist even though there was nothing racist in what was said."

I didn't say you were racist.

Maybe you just expect it because you are so used to hearing it

I didn't say you were racist.

Maybe you just expect it because you are so used to hearing it

Ah the classic. " I didn't say you were racist" while overtly hinting at it.

If you're going to make accusations like that thinly veiled or otherwise atleast have the balls to stand behind them. Don't be a coward soy boy.

Everytime I see that soy boy 'insult' I think of the Sinitta song! :D

Everybody's talking, when they see me walking, with this little boy of mine. . .

It makes me think of the wackos selling drinks on infowars.

"Don't be a soy boy! Drink our Caveman True Paleo Formula!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

It's crazy, but morons buy into that stuff. What a fowl human being Alex jones is.

Its not my fault David Hogg is more masculine than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

It's crazy, but morons buy into that stuff. What a fowl human being Alex jones is.

Though it is pretty hilarious to see him publicly throw his own followers under the bus and mock them for believing what he himself labels performance art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Ah the classic. " I didn't say you were racist" while overtly hinting at it.

If you're going to make accusations like that thinly veiled or otherwise atleast have the balls to stand behind them. Don't be a coward soy boy.

You tell 'em. Don't listen to those soy boys.

AVmyV_s-200x150.gif

Its not my fault David Hogg is more masculine than you.

So macho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Belfast and Derry must have been high on the list when the IRA and UVF were murdering loads of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Lord Glentoran

It's very simple.

People talk about the London murder rate when they want to suggest war with Muslims.

But you can't forget your ordinary, everyday racism either, so you have to call back to 'black on black' crime every now and again.

Some people will always be ready with a reason to hate and fear non-white people.

Even now, we live in arguably the most monocultural society in the West. Try finding diversity outside the cities and larger towns. And yet we have clowns dancing to the tune of isolationists and fascists. Big clap. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

dav3 wrote: »
    You tell 'em. Don't listen to those soy boys.

AVmyV_s-200x150.gif

I REFUSE to go along with this and I see through all of your lies dav3..you wicked, wicked Devil!!!!

alex-jones-super-saiyan-gif-4.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I REFUSE to go along with this and I see through all of your lies dav3..you wicked, wicked Devil!!!!

Typical soy lobyist space frog alien agenda.

Do you really think this beautiful specimen of a man could achieve such a manly, muscular, masculine body in just 45 days by eating soy?

l5limm1eavzy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Here's a graph of murder rates. Pretty much static for London. New York still has a higher rate but declined substantially since 90s. So we can conclude that the article is rubbished.
    https://twitter.com/pgreenfielduk/status/980774865333637120?s=19

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

NY murder rate for the past 200 years,

ny-murder-rates-2.png?w=640

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭2 Scoops

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Year%27s_Eve_sexual_assaults_in_Germany

Examples of societal problems are all make believe lads, some of you should be ashamed of yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

People didn't laugh, they told that racist ****head to **** off.

Can you point to anything Enoch Powell said that was "racist" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,434 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

FTA69 wrote: »

True, yet Blacks or Afro-Caribbean come out worst here, 38% of acid attacks are attributed to them, while white europeans come out as the majority of victims at 45%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Another young victim this morning (caught in crossfire). And two boys critically injured, in separate incident...
    Brings Ldn's total to 37 this year (not to mention the hundreds injured).

Imagine if the spent the tens of billions on communities, health and policing, instead of those recent two big slow boats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,434 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Another young victim this morning (caught in crossfire). And two boys critically injured, in separate incident...
    Brings Ldn's total to 37 this year (not to mention the hundreds injured).

Imagine if the spent the tens of billions on communities, health and policing, instead of those recent two big slow boats.

What slow boats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

markodaly wrote: »
    What slow boats?

Didn't they spend about £5bn each on a couple of fancy warships, that have no aircraft as yet, and tendency to breakdown. Also hard to see them compete up against Vlads new range of (7,000mph) throwing sticks.

How many community centers or street bobbies would £10bn get these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Didn't they spend about £5bn each on a couple of fancy warships, that have no aircraft as yet, and tendency to breakdown. Also hard to see them compete up against Vlads new range of (7,000mph) throwing sticks.

How many community centers or street bobbies would £10bn get these days?

And they've spent billions buying that White Elephant the F-35 from the Yanks.

The aircraft that has cost almost a trillion dollars to design and build.....and still doesn't work!!

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-04-02/why-america-s-two-top-fighter-jets-can-t-talk-to-each-other

https://www.extremetech.com/extreme/266746-us-air-force-considers-cutting-f-35-orders-third-pay-fighters-support-costs

https://breakingdefense.com/2018/01/f-35-problems-late-iote-f-35a-gun-inaccurate-f-35b-tires-threat-data-cyber/