Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast rape trial - all 4 found not guilty Mod Note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭RuMan

Faugheen wrote: »
    I've already answered the question by saying him and his partner clearly enjoy it. Why would he report something he enjoyed? That's a stupid suggestion.

But in the eyes of the law, it's sexual assault. The same OP said that just because he liked it means there's nothing wrong with it. There absolutely is something wrong with it.

You can answer my question now, if you don't mind.

For the record she wasnt a "partner".
    We werent in any sort of relationship at the time of my eh " assault"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,929 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

When the men that should be there are typically the sweaty glass eyed alcohol smelling legends!!

Very revealing of the attitudes here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

irishrebe wrote: »
    How are a few muppets with banners 'showing up Irish males in general?' Yes, we all know it happened in Northern Ireland, well done you for remembering that. The protests are happening in Ireland, the hashtag started in Ireland and Boards.ie is an Irish website.

Too many easter eggs for you today obviously. Step away, maybe go for a walk or call a friend.

Tell that to our US brethern who think its here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

There very much is, oddly though it seems the responsibility for this these days is being put very squarely on men and men alone. Suggesting that it takes two to do the horizontal mambo seems to immediately lead to hysterics and screaming of victim blaming.

Many many moons ago in my college days I once woke up next to a butt nekid young lady who started getting somewhat upset with me...

Until I pointed out to her that the night before as far as I was concerned (corroborated by housemates) I went to bed in my room as did she in hers...

However when I woke up we were both in my room (and bed) (and, important detail, her jammies were still in her room)...

Now we were both equally pisht (more or less) yet she decided to got undressed, walk across the hall and get into my bed...as far as I was concerned that more or less implied consent...

Hate to think what might happen to the poor fella this might happen to this day and age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭RuMan

<SNIP>
    Pretty much sums up my late teens and twenties. Similar for most of my friends male and female.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I've already answered the question by saying him and his partner clearly enjoy it. Why would he report something he enjoyed? That's a stupid suggestion.

But in the eyes of the law, it's sexual assault. The same OP said that just because he liked it means there's nothing wrong with it. There absolutely is something wrong with it.

You can answer my question now, if you don't mind.

So there is no problem then.

My point from the start. :rolleyes:

You went on to say that you would have no problem telling the guards YOU did it if someone made a complaint against you because you see no issue with it.

That's my problem. You don't see an issue with it as a whole, because some couples like it.

Educate yourself. You really need it pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭irishrebe

Flipper22 wrote: »
    You think a few college students with silly banners are showing us up abroad? I think those posting here calling any woman who recounts a sexual assault a liar and claiming it's grand to have sex with a sleeping person (and these are far from the most shocking remarks posted here) are doing a MUCH better job. I've sent the link to various friends around the world and every one of them is appalled. "Total lack of perspective", one friend said. Worrying about a few saps with banners and not about the fact people on this thread are arguing that a legally defined example of rape is grand.

Calm down a bit.

Those with the ridiculous banners are morons.

Anyone who said that all women who give an account of a sexual assault are lying or that it's ok to have sex with a sleeping person (!!) is also a moron.

Better not to take morons of any persuasion too seriously!
    I am calm. No need to patronise me. I just think it's incredible that people on this thread think that the hashtag crew are doing more to damage Ireland's reputation than some of the posters on this thread. In the last few pages alone, there is someone insinuating that you should expect to be raped if you go to fetch your bag from a room you were kissing a guy in, several people mocking the idea that having sex with a sleeping person is illegal and men who support consent classes are being called pathetic creeps. You don't think all of this is a million times darker than some sap with a MEN R TRASH sign? Some of the men posting here have done a far better job of making men seem like monsters than any 'snowflake green haired feminist' could have. Yet nobody on here seems to see what is so astoundingly obvious to the rest of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I am calm. No need to patronise me. I just think it's incredible that people on this thread think that the hashtag crew are doing more to damage Ireland's reputation than some of the posters on this thread. In the last few pages alone, there is someone insinuating that you should expect to be raped if you go to fetch your bag from a room you were kissing a guy in, several people mocking the idea that having sex with a sleeping person is illegal and men who support consent classes are being called pathetic creeps. You don't think all of this is a million times darker than some sap with a MEN R TRASH sign? Some of the men posting here have done a far better job of making men seem like monsters than any 'snowflake green haired feminist' could have. Yet nobody on here seems to see what is so astoundingly obvious to the rest of the world.

Honestly you're giving way, way, WAY too much weight to an anonymous internet board.

You went on to say that you would have no problem telling the guards YOU did it if someone made a complaint against you because you see no issue with it.

That's my problem. You don't see an issue with it as a whole, because some couples like it.

If I didn't stop when asked to it is a crime.

The ridiculous notion that the simple act of initiating something between two adults who have already consented to be in a bed together is decided to be a crime (regardless of how they react to it) is what is ridiculous. Evidenced by the fact that you cannot present a single case history of a court case over the situation the original poster found himself in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Turns out there were similar protests in Canada about this case today.

I'm joking! The incident didn't happen in Canada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,897 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Could someone please get rid of this thread, I'm bloody sick of it.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

The ridiculous notion that the simple act of initiating something between two adults who have already consented to be in a bed together is decided to be a crime (regardless of how they react to it) is what is ridiculous. Evidenced by the fact that you cannot present a single case history of a court case over the situation the original poster found himself in.

It is illegal to perform a sex act to perform a sex act on someone when they are sleeping, because there is no consent given from one partner.

How do you not get this? A woman being in your bed doesn't give you consent to do whatever you please.

Get that into your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,815 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

They have read all the press coverage. They know of the hashtag, but they haven't followed it at all. They have been following this thread, though and are in total disbelief.  I honestly don't think most people posting here have any idea how truly sickening and controversial many of these viewpoints are. Yous are truly deluded if you think the muppets with silly signs are the problem here.

The people I know who are into the movement.
    They made there minds up about the case from snip-its or headlines weeks ago.
    So no matter what was said in court the hashtag was right.
    I do think it's scary that these people could end up on a jury.
    Some people would lead you to believe that Paddy Jackson sent loads of message
    and I've seen posts on social media saying a woman would never take part in group sex/etc. This isn't reality in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

Sorry not trying to be patronising, just don't know why you'd be bothered with any of the silly views.

And, no I don't! I think carrying around a placard with men r trash is as darkly moronic as anything.

What would you think of someone posting that women are trash in this forum?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

It is illegal to perform a sex act to perform a sex act on someone when they are sleeping, because there is no consent given from one partner.

How do you not get this? A woman being in your bed doesn't give you consent to do whatever you please.

Get that into your head.

You mean PRESUMING that there is no consent given from one partner. It could be given in advance of falling asleep. ..

Playing devils advocate here..

Flipper22 wrote: »
    You mean PRESUMING that there is no consent given from one partner. It could be given in advance of falling asleep. ..

Playing devils advocate here..

Nope, it's written in law. You can not perform a sex act on someone when they are sleeping.

As I have said, some couples enjoy that. It doesn't make it legal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

They have read all the press coverage. They know of the hashtag, but they haven't followed it at all. They have been following this thread, though and are in total disbelief.  I honestly don't think most people posting here have any idea how truly sickening and controversial many of these viewpoints are. Yous are truly deluded if you think the muppets with silly signs are the problem here.

Wow your still going strong. Any chance people just agree with you because you go on and on and on till they just get a head ache and let is slide
    Disbelief from this thread lol, you are easily shocked if thats the case
    I feel your viewpoints are utterly horrible and warped and have been since i noticed your posts
    Its got to the stage where its what nonsense are you going to post next about how your "friends" view us outside Ireland
    Ignoring off course that nobody actually thinks anything you said

Nope, it's written in law. You can not perform a sex act on someone when they are sleeping.

The complete absurdity of a third party in a bedroom.

Men or women cannot initiate a sex act in a consensual realtionship. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

here is the law http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2017/act/2/section/48/enacted/en/html

Amendment of Act of 1990

(2) A person does not consent to a sexual act if—

(a) he or she permits the act to take place or submits to it because of the application of force to him or her or to some other person, or because of the threat of the application of force to him or her or to some other person, or because of a well-founded fear that force may be applied to him or her or to some other person,

(b) he or she is asleep or unconscious,

(c) he or she is incapable of consenting because of the effect of alcohol or some other drug,

(d) he or she is suffering from a physical disability which prevents him or her from communicating whether he or she agrees to the act,

(e) he or she is mistaken as to the nature and purpose of the act,

(f) he or she is mistaken as to the identity of any other person involved in the act,

(g) he or she is being unlawfully detained at the time at which the act takes place,

(h) the only expression or indication of consent or agreement to the act comes from somebody other than the person himself or herself.

(3) This section does not limit the circumstances in which it may be established that a person did not consent to a sexual act.

(4) Consent to a sexual act may be withdrawn at any time before the act begins, or in the case of a continuing act, while the act is taking place.

(5) Any failure or omission on the part of a person to offer resistance to an act does not of itself constitute consent to that act.

IF

THEY

ARE

ASLEEP

THEY

CAN

NOT

CONSENT

Stop ignoring this before you find yourself on trial for rape because you presumed you could do anything you want with a female in your bed.

You keep bringing it back to the original OP. The OP also said that this is ok in general because he had no problem with it when it was done to him.

Stop promoting sexual assault and rape please. That is exactly what you're doing by completely ignoring what I'm saying and continue to argue a toss with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

You really are dangerously ignorant. It is one thing initiating a sexual act on someone, in bed or not and assuming consent but in your world just because you went into bed with her, it essentially gives you full consent until she gets out!! Awake, asleep, intoxicated or not!

To be honest with you I am starting to doubt you have any sexual experience going by your colourful approach to it. You sound like a frustrated teenager!

IF

THEY

ARE

ASLEEP

THEY

CAN

NOT

CONSENT

Stop ignoring this before you find yourself on trial for rape because you presumed you could do anything you want with a female in your bed.

You keep bringing it back to the original OP. The OP also said that this is ok in general because he had no problem with it when it was done to him.

Stop promoting sexual assault and rape please. That is exactly what you're doing by completely ignoring what I'm saying and continue to argue a toss with it.

You are in this situation because you went off on one.

There is no case where somebody was sanctioned for doing what the OP outlined.

You tried to infer it was something else and failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

spookwoman wrote: »
    here is the law http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2017/act/2/section/48/enacted/en/html

Amendment of Act of 1990

(2) A person does not consent to a sexual act if—

(a) he or she permits the act to take place or submits to it because of the application of force to him or her or to some other person, or because of the threat of the application of force to him or her or to some other person, or because of a well-founded fear that force may be applied to him or her or to some other person,

(b) he or she is asleep or unconscious,

(c) he or she is incapable of consenting because of the effect of alcohol or some other drug,

(d) he or she is suffering from a physical disability which prevents him or her from communicating whether he or she agrees to the act,

(e) he or she is mistaken as to the nature and purpose of the act,

(f) he or she is mistaken as to the identity of any other person involved in the act,

(g) he or she is being unlawfully detained at the time at which the act takes place,

(h) the only expression or indication of consent or agreement to the act comes from somebody other than the person himself or herself.

(3) This section does not limit the circumstances in which it may be established that a person did not consent to a sexual act.

(4) Consent to a sexual act may be withdrawn at any time before the act begins, or in the case of a continuing act, while the act is taking place.

(5) Any failure or omission on the part of a person to offer resistance to an act does not of itself constitute consent to that act.

it says there that you cannot consent with drink taken.
    in this case the woman had 6 unts and the defendants had 22 ( i think someone posted that a few thousand posts ago)
    surely that means that they didnt consent either . if it applies one way then it applies the other too.

You really are dangerously ignorant. It is one thing initiating a sexual act on someone, in bed or not and assuming consent but in your world just because you went into bed with her, it essentially gives you full consent until she gets out!! Awake, asleep, intoxicated or not!

To be honest with you I am starting to doubt you have any sexual experience going by your colourful approach to it. You sound like a frustrated teenager!

Colourful approach??? Jesus, as I said, 'hysterical'.

Every single thing that people have tried to say is actually normal behaviour has been treated to the same hysterical reaction.

I will leave youse to it. Headwrecking stuff.

irishman86 wrote: »

Wow your still going strong. Any chance people just agree with you because you go on and on and on till they just get a head ache and let is slide
    Disbelief from this thread lol, you are easily shocked if thats the case
    I feel your viewpoints are utterly horrible and warped and have been since i noticed your posts
    Its got to the stage where its what nonsense are you going to post next about how your "friends" view us outside Ireland
    Ignoring off course that nobody actually thinks anything you said
    Whatever you think there, sweetheart. I'm not in disbelief, I unfortunately grew up in Ireland. My Canadian friends actually grew up somewhere where a woman recounting a rape or an assault wasn't immediately disbelieved and mocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

It isn't initiating a sex act! It is carrying out a sex act! Initiating insinuates that there is an ability of the other party to respond consciously!

And the OP boasted that it was just a One night stand anyway!

Just because they enjoyed it and he or she woke up and had no complaints doesn't make a difference!

Eegit.

God forbid you think this is a normal thing to do on a ONS or even with someone who have some sort of familiarity with. Enjoyable does not mean normal and it definitely doesn't mean legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

why did only a couple of hundred march in Belfast, the jusidstriction where court place took place , and in Dublin 4,000 took to the streets to protest at the alleged misscarriage of justice ?
    I'm puzzled - if the case had taken place in Republic , I could understand somewhat.

Also why all the protesting about this case , why not protest at some of the leniant sentencing for violent rape crimes that were actially convicted here in the Republic of Ireland ?? That I could totally understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Colourful approach??? Jesus, as I said, 'hysterical'.

Every single thing that people have tried to say is actually normal behaviour has been treated to the same hysterical reaction.

I will leave youse to it. Headwrecking stuff.

To be fair Franci...you've being struggling for a while...

<SNIP>

Where are these friends from and why should I care if they think Ireland is ****?[/quote]
    Various countries. Some people seem to be very concerned at how Ireland is viewed based on the hashtag. I'm telling you the hashtag is the least of your problems.

You are in this situation because you went off on one.

There is no case where somebody was sanctioned for doing what the OP outlined.

You tried to infer it was something else and failed.

What happened to the OP, in the eyes of the law, was sexual assault.

Whether the OP considered it assault or not is up to him, but legally he is wrong in this instance.

The OP also implied that because they were in bed then it's fair game.

Say this 10 times:

A person does not consent to sexual activity if they are asleep or unconscious, as per section 9 of the Criminal Law (Rape) (Amendment) Act 1990 as amended in the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act 2017

If it doesn't work, say it 100 times