Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You'd think senior Hutch and Kinahan figures would sit down and iron it out for once and for all like men. Instead of fighting over coffins.

The war must be killing their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭Jeff2

You'd think senior Hutch and Kinahan figures would sit down and iron it out for once and for all like men. Instead of fighting over coffins.

They got look good on an international seen so......

It would have no impact on business unless garda get the drugs as they have done but it's small in the bigger scheme of things.

IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Just seen Anto Fitz walking his dog up henry street.. Not a bother on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

How would they do that? Neither would trust each other at this stage. And they're not like men. Coward scum using others to murder for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

Suckit wrote: »
    How would they do that? Neither would trust each other at this stage. And they're not like men. Coward scum using others to murder for them.

They did it already didn't they? And the hutches paid money to save one of their lives and the kinahans kill him anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

They did it already didn't they? And the hutches paid money to save one of their lives and the kinahans kill him anyway

Yeah before it all really kicked off. No way either could trust the other now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I've family living in the city , they reckon it's to cause tension and give the impression there's a grass.

Keeps people on edge.
    They can be held for 7 days so the 17th charged or the guards go back to to court to hold on to them.

Anyone know why three of them were named and the fourth wasn't even though he's held on the same charges?

Anyone remember the storyline in Love/Hate where they arrested the whole crew after the tiger kidnapping, but let Elmo off without charge and called out "Thank you very much for your assistance and co-operation sir, you're free to go" as he was leaving the station? IIRC they went as far as to spray paint "Elmo is a rat" outside his apartment balcony, and it caused the lads to sideline him for weeks.

Always wondered if that kind of thing was just for fiction or if the cops would be allowed to do anything like that - letting a known gangster off the hook albeit temporarily just so everyone would think he was a rat and sideline him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Fiction - would likely contribute towards someone's murder in reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Passed 3 armed checks tonight... One of which was on a back road outside of dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Passed 3 armed checks tonight... One of which was on a back road outside of dublin

Gardaí have seized a loaded gun and a vehicle during a search operation targeting feud-related criminal activity.

https://www.rte.ie/news/crime/2018/0316/948044-gun-car-recovered/

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

According to Michael O'Toole @mickthehack, the 2 lads who got lifted down in Gorey have been released without charge. File to the dpp.

Maybe they would be safer in custody at this stage.

One of them in particular is a Hutch friend and associate his whole life. There's very little loyalty there. Money talks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭rondog

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/fugitive-cartel-hitmen-linked-to-four-murders-arrested-in-uk-36715998.html
    The Finglas thug is the same lad involved in the Eddie hutch murder.Its funny how he has fallen,from being a big bulking boxer feared through out finglas to being a junkie and crack addict staying in crack houses.Karma eh?
    And the other lad whos picture is on the John smith twitter account has also become a junkie living on the streets.
    If the Cops can properly link them to the previous murders it will probably save their lives.At least they will have a warm cell and 3 meals a day to keepthem happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

Supposedly Ross Hutch has moved to Australia, how the hell would he get a visa!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭White lighting

shane. wrote: »
    Supposedly Ross Hutch has moved to Australia, how the hell would he get a visa!?

God only knows but not sure what major convictions he has. Would have been a nervous time going through customs though after that long flight.

shane. wrote: »

its obviously not as hard to get over there as its made out to be. i know of numerous scumbags with theft and drugs convictions that are currently living it up in Austrailia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

thebull85 wrote: »
    its obviously not as hard to get over there as its made out to be. i know of numerous scumbags with theft and drugs convictions that are currently living it up in Austrailia.

The ginger chap arrested last week was deported from Australia after his previous convictions were discovered... Perhaps you can lie on entry but get discovered if you get arrested?

• Site Banned Posts: 21 francis_begbie

pablo128 wrote: »
    According to Michael O'Toole @mickthehack, the 2 lads who got lifted down in Gorey have been released without charge. File to the dpp.

Maybe they would be safer in custody at this stage.

Have most of the previous lads caught on the way to (allegedly) kill Hutch associates with loaded firearms been charged with conspiracy to murder them, or usually just copped minor gun possession charges? I'd imagine that in the absence of either a wiretap recording or a witness prepared to testify in court that proving these people were carrying guns with the intent to murder, as opposed to carrying them to merely wound, threaten or fire a warning shot through a window/ door would be nigh on impossible. Some of these lads mightn't even cop a custodial or would get out with remand time served. With such short sentences on the table it's an easier way for them to earn a five figure sum than committing a robbery or moving an equivalent amount of drugs, which would both cop a longer jail term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Have most of the previous lads caught on the way to (allegedly) kill Hutch associates with loaded firearms been charged with conspiracy to murder them, or usually just copped minor gun possession charges? I'd imagine that in the absence of either a wiretap recording or a witness prepared to testify in court that proving these people were carrying guns with the intent to murder, as opposed to carrying them to merely wound, threaten or fire a warning shot through a window/ door would be nigh on impossible. Some of these lads mightn't even cop a custodial or would get out with remand time served. With such short sentences on the table it's an easier way for them to earn a five figure sum than committing a robbery or moving an equivalent amount of drugs, which would both cop a longer jail term.
    At least one of them was reportedly caught in a car with 2 loaded guns. Dunno about you but I don't want idiots like that roaming the streets.

• Site Banned Posts: 21 francis_begbie

pablo128 wrote: »
    At least one of them was reportedly caught in a car with 2 loaded guns. Dunno about you but I don't want idiots like that roaming the streets.

Where did I say I did? Was just wondering has anyone actually been charged with conspiring to murder X and Y or whether it was all possession charges.

Anyone know how many people have been charged after being caught en route?

The ginger chap arrested last week was deported from Australia after his previous convictions were discovered... Perhaps you can lie on entry but get discovered if you get arrested?

i thought there checks done before you enter the country as in when you apply for visa to live and work there, i could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

thebull85 wrote: »
    i thought there checks done before you enter the country as in when you apply for visa to live and work there, i could be wrong.

If you are applying for a visa they look for a police certificate of character from you but they don't have access to Garda records.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Where did I say I did? Was just wondering has anyone actually been charged with conspiring to murder X and Y or whether it was all possession charges.

Anyone know how many people have been charged after being caught en route?

I don't think they are going with murder charges but with possession of a firearm with intent. And there was a conviction for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Former crime boss Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch may flee to America.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/former-crime-boss-gerry-the-14437888

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Are we allowed discuss the ongoing regency trial? Don't wanna get the thread locked again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,924 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    Are we allowed discuss the ongoing regency trial? Don't wanna get the thread locked again

i highly doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

P.Walnuts wrote: »

You said it yourself - ongoing. So no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

You said it yourself - ongoing. So no.

Not even the reasons around the adjournement? Not being a dick here, just thought that might be open to discussion. If not no worries