Criminals that you went to school with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Ocaomh8791 wrote:
    I think my area breads criminals lol. Have 'friends' that went on to be gaurds too. It's a nice little setup between them now, the crims and the lads that went to serve for the gaurds. All lining each others pockets through collision and drugs and paying off anyone that raises an eyebrow, or possibly worse. One of the crims that forms a gang got jail in 2015 for 10 yrs for being involved in a murder, he's out in about 3 years I was told not to long ago. I don't condone nor take part in these activities, as IV morals and tbh find it disgusting.

This type of behavior is increasing our insurance premiums! Shocking stuff.

Also, are morals something that can be administered intravenously? Courts should look in to that as part of sentencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I presume most of us are or know someone who's big into illegal downloading but of course that doesn't really count

Keep quiet you.
    I've been downloading for about 25 years and never been caught. The accumulated total theft must be about 30k if I was to buy the movies, shows and music in the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,910 ✭✭✭Nollog

I had to excuse myself from being on a past classmates jury a few years back.

Drunken fisticuffs if I remember right, I think he bottled someone and did some serious damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,337 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I grew up in a council estate on the Northside of Limerick city in the 80s/90s.

Was lucky enough to go to school outside the area but of my actual friends round home...
    Murderers and murder victims, Gangs, Dealers, Burglars, Thieves, Fraudsters and every level of crime in between.

Suicide, murder/manslaughter and prison have wiped out a scarily large proportion of the peer group I had until I was @18.

TBH I'm very glad my mother always pushed me towards broadening my horizons and pushed me to leave Limerick when I was @18.

I'm back now and have been for quite a while but my family have left Limerick and aside fron knowing and being saluted by every head in the town ;) I have no links to that particular part of my past anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Disagree, it's highly complex, I know lads that were drug dealers, made a fortune, even got arrested with them, stripped searched and questioned for a couple of hours. Criminality is highly complex, I actually know a long time drug dealer who now is a social worker, delighted for him, I'd say he's doing a great job

I'm a social care worker , one of my colleagues was convicted of murder in his early twenties , served a long sentence and educated himself .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Ocaomh8791 wrote: »
    I think my area breads criminals lol.
    Have 'friends' that went on to be gaurds too. It's a nice little setup between them now, the crims and the lads that went to serve for the gaurds. All lining each others pockets through collision and drugs and paying off anyone that raises an eyebrow, or possibly worse.
    One of the crims that forms a gang got jail in 2015 for 10 yrs for being involved in a murder, he's out in about 3 years I was told not to long ago.
    I don't condone nor take part in these activities, as IV morals and tbh find it disgusting.

I'm not saying this doesn't happen, as I'm pretty sure it does, albeit it wouldn't be widespread, but how can what you say in particular happen when Gardai aren't allowed work in the area that they're from?

EDIT: Reflecting on this, I know of a good few Gardai from Dublin, living in Dublin, who are stationed in Dublin, so I suppose it'd be the same for other cities around Ireland. Maybe the rule I was thinking of was for small villages.

fatbhoy wrote: »
    I'm not saying this doesn't happen, as I'm pretty sure it does, albeit it wouldn't be widespread, but how can what you say in particular happen when Gardai aren't allowed work in the area that they're from?

He's mixing up GTA with real life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

There was a chap I knew in school, his family were travellers and he was always used to stink ****ing putrid so everyone took the piss out of him (Like I was bullied, and I know I played at least a small part in bullying him which I feel awful about) and he was always massively reacted to it. Found out a few years ago he murdered his girlfriend and her sister and her mother, then cut them up and put them in bin bags, left them in his car for weeks and weeks. In prison now.

Where did this happen? Doesn't ring a bell and that's the kind of case that would be a major news story, in this country at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Two lads I went to school committed murders.
    One murdered his child. The other shot his wife dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Graces7 wrote: »
    I was about to ask if teachers counted... One of my primary school teachers got sacked for cruelty. She was a great hand with the verbal abuse and ruler. This was the UK in the 40s..

She wasn't a criminal though - just a typical teacher in the 40s. No different in the Ireland of the 40s.

One old classmate did 2 years for fraud. No surprise to anybody who went to school with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,728 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

portraying it as complex is a handy way to create jobs for liberal do gooders , beit social workers or common sense free academics who like to blame the rest of us for individual lack of responsbility

its like the old saying about a murder

" its usually the person you most suspect "

i.e , things are a lot less complex than many like to believe

id highly recommend talking to criminals and those that work with them or have worked with them, theres obviously some here! you d learn a thing or ten about life by doing so. talk to people that have complex disorders that cause things such as 'impulsiveness' etc

those doing the research on these matters are almost always of an idealogical left wing persuasion

ive yet to hear any of them ever say anything bar mumbling about " inequality " etc

inequality is a critical cause of criminality, amongst other things of course, the work of people such as thomas piketty and joe stiglitz come to mind here

both those guys are left wing idealogues

if someone from africa or eastern europe can come to ireland , get a job, work hard and stay out of trouble ( as thousands have done from these places )

then someone who grew up in jobstown can too

the indulging of these people by the left wing dominated media and social services does far more harm than good , most people were poorer than these people fifty years ago in ireland

proudly a lefty myself, with no affiliation to any politician or political party, all more or less useless in my eyes, including the left leaning ones.

id class many people as much poorer nowadays than ever before, its all relative of course, we have deluded ourselves that we ve become wealth, but in fact, we re drowning in debt

you maybe right about the authoritarian right winged leader but we already have a type of authoritarian leadership, but ireland tends to stay in the middle of the road, we havent seen extremism in our political leadership for a very long time, and we may never see it again, hard to tell

those who dont work , be socially responsible and law abiding , have never had it better

the middle class are worse off nowadays , agree with you there

the welfare class have it great , what else would explain the explosion in the traveller population ?

jaysis, we ve a lot of work to be doing here, id say our resident social workers would fill in many blanks for both of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

those who dont work , be socially responsible and law abiding , have never had it better

the middle class are worse off nowadays , agree with you there

the welfare class have it great , what else would explain the explosion in the traveller population ?

You wouldn't be a fan of Trump and Brexit by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

And of course, Trump gets dragged into this thread for no relevant reason.

Discrimination is very subtle about a month ago in a radio interview a young guy in his twenties from the north inner city who went to Trinity was talking of how he was given proof positive that he had been discriminated against because of his accent when he went for a job.

It consisted of the slightly thick slagging with a nasty undertone that you often get on AH, because of his Dublin accent and presumed background.

That should not be used as an excuse for not trying but it is an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

A guy I was in school with, was a chess champion. A model student.
    He ended up doing time in HMP Wormwood Scrubs.
    Was taking part in a chess competition in UK - he clubbed someone over the head with a chess trophy.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    jaysis, we ve a lot of work to be doing here, id say our resident social workers would fill in many blanks for both of us

There's no significant explosion in traveller population , What's happening is their quality of life is improving , they're are beginning to access supports i.e healthcare , education and so on, seek constructive employment , I believe there's now a couple of travellers in the Gardai and always was a few in the army.More and more are starting very obviously to appear in public life too

All this adds to quality of life , I think the population is around 32 thousand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,254 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

A few actually, one is gone down for murder, one was on 'Ireland's Dumbest Criminals' and a son of one of The General's henchmen who is well known, he was an absolute bastard in school, he used to kick the sh1t out of people for nothing and everybody, including school staff were too terrified to do anything about him, funny thing is he seemed to cop himself on and is very much on the straight and narrow.
    They are just the ones I can think of that were in my year

I'm a social care worker , one of my colleagues was convicted of murder in his early twenties , served a long sentence and educated himself .

That's interesting but how did they pass the Garda Vetting
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/employment/employment_rights_and_conditions/monitoring_and_surveillance_at_work/garda_clearance_for_employees.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

mariaalice wrote: »

I am unsure but I have heard of other guys ending up doing work with youth services/etc after spending a long period of time in prison. So they must be some way around it because they needed to be vetted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

And of course, Trump gets dragged into this thread for no relevant reason.
    Trump rubbed shoulders with a lot of wiseguys in his time. Of course it was nearly impossible to do high end business in New York back in the day without coming into contact with the mob.

Salvie Testa screwed him on property deals for his casinos in Altlantic City back in the 80s. Extorted millions out of the Donald.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Nobody I knew from school has been involved in crime so far as I know. Some past pupils I didn't know have been in court for minor offences. But lots of people I grew up with or knew from my area have become serious criminals, several jailed for murder, manslaughter, drug dealing, several well known hitmen. Not one of them a surprise, even the ones who still have no convictions and portray a "respectable" facade - it was always obvious that they were going the wrong way. I have also taught a number of people who are now involved in serious criminality and many parents of my students are serious criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

I don't think I went to school with a criminal but.....in First Year we got a talk on make up, deportment etc from Catherine Nevin.

At the time I remember thinking she was a horrible person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

broadly speaking i agree with most of this persons post,

I think Trump is mildly retarded and america will pay the price in the future

Brexit is also a huge mistake which will be shown that way soner or later ,

Is anyone who doesnt agree with your left wing views a right wing nutter to you ?
    You didnt go to collage in galway by anychance did you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

Went to school with a few bankers ...

mariaalice wrote: »

I think and this would be from my own experience when you fill out a vetting form and give details of addresses , convictions , identity the Garda are just confirming everything .

If a conviction or risk turns up that would make a threat to vulnerable individuals your potential employer just wouldn't offer you a position.

Vetting is done every couple of years.

I work in low threshold services and some employees are former service users/clients with jail time served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

The real question is why are so many people making up stories for this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Stoner wrote: »
    Turns out we produced

Johnny Giles

Steve Collins

Eamonn the Don Dunne

Kinnahans

My da was also an 'Alma Mater' of Christ the King in Cabra, as was Brendan o Carroll so it wasn't all that bad. I went to Larkins in town so I wouldn't know where to begin hehe