Criminals that you went to school with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭muckbrien

anewme wrote: »
    Went to school with someone who is now very well known, and high profile,CAB, Sunday World etc.

Back in the day, he was a nice guy, quiet, unassuming and very good looking.

Paul Williams ya ,but he's with Newstalk not Cab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

A barber in my area when I was a teenager got arrested and jailed for possession and supply of weed.

I remember being astonished , I had no idea he was a barber.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

A barber in my area when I was a teenager got arrested and jailed for possession and supply of weed.

I remember being astonished , I had no idea he was a barber.

Haha yeah the amount of labourers and tradesmen that never actually worked a day in their life is weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭ifElseThen

Played football about 17 years ago with a few of the Freddie Thompson gang. Separately my best mate from school is a nephew by marriage to John Gilligan.
    In primary school, Joe Rafferty was in my class. The dude who went bananas in citywest last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Only one murderer in my class that I know of. He kicked his friend to death on a night out. He was always bad news and constantly bullying and fighting in school.
    A few classmates seem to be on a merry go round of drugs offences and shoplifting and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 aLou991

Went to school with a guy who stabbed someone to death. To be fair, it was total self defence.

The guy who was stabbed was well known to Gardaí, and had been arrested shortly before for dragging some guy out a car and beating the ****e out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

By the way the guy I mentioned in the opening article was in my class. My earliest memory of him was when I was in Junior infants I used have a few stickers on my bag and he used take them I suppose he never grew out of it.

I presume most of us are or know someone who's big into illegal downloading but of course that doesn't really count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I don't know anyone from my own time in school.

A few parents of kids I've taught have ended up in prison for things like drugs, possession of guns and a serious shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Not famous but one girl I went to primary school with tried to attack us walking home from school, a few years later she attacked my friend again after a teenage disco. About 10 years later I was walking through town and saw her across the street clearly on drugs. She was in and out of jail for robbery, assault throughout the years but about 2 years ago I saw her in the local paper involved in an unprovoked attack, she smashed a pint class in some girls face, physically attacked her and had to be dragged away, damaged the girls eyesight and caused her some pretty severe damage. Apparently the girl who attacked her thought she looked at her the wrong way which triggered the attack.
    She's been locked up ever since, its really sad as it said in the paper she was molested from the age of 6 and had a really tough upbringing.

Another girl from primary school got addicted to heroin in her teens and was arrested for armed robbery in her early 20's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Crouchy92

So a lad I went to school with is in prison in Spain now for stabbing a local to death in a drugged frenzy, when we were in school I thought I had put ice down his back but it was actually a small shard of glass (I probably wasn’t wearing my glasses).. anyway he went ape**** and attacked me but I laughed it off somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Ocaomh8791

I think my area breads criminals lol.
    Have 'friends' that went on to be gaurds too. It's a nice little setup between them now, the crims and the lads that went to serve for the gaurds. All lining each others pockets through collision and drugs and paying off anyone that raises an eyebrow, or possibly worse.
    One of the crims that forms a gang got jail in 2015 for 10 yrs for being involved in a murder, he's out in about 3 years I was told not to long ago.
    I don't condone nor take part in these activities, as IV morals and tbh find it disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭manonboard

I went to mourne road in drimnagh.

Fair few of class ended up in prison for drugs, dead, or prison for making other people involved with drugs dead.

One was terrible. Witnessed his gang mates killing someone, was given a horrible death in payment. He didnt even mean to witness it, just happened to be there at the time it took place. Torture before death, terrible way to go.

The school was becoming infested with such as i was leaving. I always wondered how it it went after that.
    The Teachers were pretty decent, even if they had some of their own little issues. The troubles really did come from ****ty parenting, which was obvious from a very young age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

Not famous but went to school with a lad who killed his father by gouging the leg of a chair through the fathers eyeball - he did 10 years. He was abused as a youngster. He had over 100 convictions for assault, robbery, armed robbery, GBH, ABH etc. etc. Was strange to see him sitting outside of a cafe on a cold autumn evening.

Two brothers, one who stabbed the other to death while drunk and high. Both were in 'the game'. Daughter of one of the brothers was considered Ireland's worst female prisoner in the mid '00's. She was present at the killing. Remember when she was really young and a lovely little girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭CarefulNow!

Went to school with a lot of people in this feud, genuinely intrigued by what is happening. When I knew some of them they were genuinely nice but obviously I wasn't in the game so unaware of the life. It's beyond crazy when you associate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Ocaomh8791 wrote: »
    I think my area breads criminals lol.
    Have 'friends' that went on to be gaurds too. It's a nice little setup between them now, the crims and the lads that went to serve for the gaurds. All lining each others pockets through collision and drugs and paying off anyone that raises an eyebrow, or possibly worse.
    One of the crims that forms a gang got jail in 2015 for 10 yrs for being involved in a murder, he's out in about 3 years I was told not to long ago.
    I don't condone nor take part in these activities, as IV morals and tbh find it disgusting.

That's fascinating, please tell us more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭nirvana78

I went to school with a girl who got caught bringing drugs back from Grenada in a load of sandals. I remember having to look at a map to find out where Grenada was. I'm pretty sure she went to prison for that... Separately from a different class, there was a guy who murdered his girlfriend in Spain. It was weird watching him in the news on the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Paullimerick

Went to school with a fella who you'd say was a grand fella. Until a few years ago he lost the plot and stabbed to death his gf, her friend and 2 children one of them was his own child / baby with a screwdriver. Really makes a person wonder what clicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    Brother Murphy.

I was about to ask if teachers counted... One of my primary school teachers got sacked for cruelty. She was a great hand with the verbal abuse and ruler. This was the UK in the 40s..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭John.Icy

A childhood friend of mine from my small village ended up in jail for murder. He was a nuisance in his teenage years at school but pre-secondary school he was a decent lad and taught me lots (to a young person) about nature and so on. Also helped me learn how to ride without stabilisers on my bike.

Funny I saw him the day after it happened before he was arrested but rumours were rife. Was kind of surreal when he greeted me I managed to return the the hello. Few hours later he was taken in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,730 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Went to school in a disadvantaged area, many probably ended up in the world of criminality, some committed suicide, many had undiagnosed problems that caused things such as impulsive behavioural issues, most got on with life though. life can throw serious curve balls, it's important for us all not to be too judgemental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Went to school with a guy who joined a loyalist paramilitary terrorist grouping. He ended up in pokey for murder. Wasn’t a bad guy at school. Got on with him quite well. Bit gullible but not bad.

He got out with all the other terrorists per the GFA. Met him in a bar. He still looked like a schoolboy which I thought was a bit surreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Went to school with a guy who joined a loyalist paramilitary terrorist grouping. He ended up in pokey for murder. Wasn’t a bad guy at school. Got on with him quite well. Bit gullible but not bad.

He got out with all the other terrorists per the GFA. Met him in a bar. He still looked like a schoolboy which I thought was a bit surreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Went to school in a disadvantaged area, many probably ended up in the world of criminality, some committed suicide, many had undiagnosed problems that caused things such as impulsive behavioural issues, most got on with life though. life can throw serious curve balls, it's important for us all not to be too judgemental

I also went to school in a disadvantaged area, in fact growing up most of the families here barely had a pot to piss in but most of us turned out to be decent productive members of society.

Stop making excuses for scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭air assault

Stop making excuses for scumbags.

Research is critical here, I've been surrounded by it all my life, still am, it's highly complex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Went to school with Brian Meehan, convicted killer of Veronica Guerin and was in the scouts with Sean Courtney, another convicted murderer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Used to hang around with a fella who's family were involved. His uncle was involved in a very high profile murder. He was always a bit crazy but we generally considered him harmless. Then he was involved in a murder himself, never forget sitting in a house with him and our mates and the special branch kicking in the door and pointing guns us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Research is critical here, I've been surrounded by it all my life, still am, it's highly complex

Not really, they want easy money that they don't have to work for.

A person can become a millionaire in their early 20s from the drugs trade or something even worse like trafficking young women into the country as sex workers. These people are scum.

The people I would have sympathy for would be someone who kills the nonce who abused them as a child or a homeowner defending their property who kills an intruder.

Not really, they want easy money that they don't have to work for.

Disagree, it's highly complex, I know lads that were drug dealers, made a fortune, even got arrested with them, stripped searched and questioned for a couple of hours. Criminality is highly complex, I actually know a long time drug dealer who now is a social worker, delighted for him, I'd say he's doing a great job