Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

36 pints - the most savage drinking session I've personally heard of.

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Apparently he used to pour drinks into plant pots on the sly to make it appear he was putting more away than he actually was. Probably bollocks though, can't convict a man on hearsay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Winston Churchill
    Oliver Reed
    Richard Harris
    Peter O’Toole

All lived to a ripe old age :)

Oliver reed died at 63, I dunno about you but I'm hoping for a bit more than that myself.

Shane McGowan is who I don't understand, plus the rolling stones. I was at the Billy Connolly gig in the point recently, he was telling people not to smoke as smoking takes one minute off your life & gives it to Ronnie Wood :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Ah good man Don, on the ball. As per. Hearsay/fake news. Six of one, half a dozen of the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I've certainly had sessions involving 15/16 pints without getting into any trouble but it'd tend to be weddings / stags / rugby weekends where you're starting early and drinking steadily throughout the day and into the early hours. I can't remember the last time I actually *counted* the number of drinks though, probably back when I was in college tbh Like most though, I was able for far more booze then and recovered from it *FAR* faster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,728 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Oliver reed died at 63, I dunno about you but I'm hoping for a bit more than that myself.

Shane McGowan is who I don't understand,

Shane's only 60, in a wheelchair and barely comprehensible. He also hasn't released a record in 20 years or so - he's not a good advertisement for The Drink.

The Stones have made arrangements with Beelzebub, they'll be fine as long as they're above ground :pac:

Ah good man Don, on the ball. As per. Hearsay/fake news. Six of one, half a dozen of the other

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

36 pints is roughly 20.5 litres of beer.

Say the beer is 4.5%, that equates to roughly 920 ml of alcohol.

My as well drink a litre of pure ethanol and get it over with.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Dang. I've been trumped once again hi-five....

I think you're purposely making it too easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,362 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

These boyos would probably love a game of drunk darts ... courtesy of Smith & Jones:

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I think you're purposely making it too easy

Haha you took the bait :D
    Seriously though your my hero, and there's no more heroes anymore. Whatever happened them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Liam28

International drinking contest story: During the World Cup in 1990 I was staying in the same place in Rome as a bunch of Irish lads who basically drank all day, every day. In fairness most people did, but some at least went to see some sights. Anyhoo, an Aussie bloke met the boys and got to arguing about whether the Irish or Aussies were better drinkers. So they arranged a drinking contest the at 9 following day. So 9pm the evening after the Aussie walked into the pub and finds the Paddies in great form after drinking since 9am that morning. They assumed any drinking contest worthy of the name should start in the morning, whereas the Aussie assumed 9pm was fine. Basically he lost the drinking contest for Australia without even having a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Liam28 wrote: »
    International drinking contest story: During the World Cup in 1990 I was staying in the same place in Rome as a bunch of Irish lads who basically drank all day, every day. In fairness most people did, but some at least went to see some sights. Anyhoo, an Aussie bloke met the boys and got to arguing about whether the Irish or Aussies were better drinkers. So they arranged a drinking contest the at 9 following day. So 9pm the evening after the Aussie walked into the pub and finds the Paddies in great form after drinking since 9am that morning. They assumed any drinking contest worthy of the name should start in the morning, whereas the Aussie assumed 9pm was fine. Basically he lost the drinking contest for Australia without even having a drink.

While it was probably good craic, it's f*king pathetic at the same time.

I remember working in a pub during the £ era. Pints were £2, and went up £0.05 one weekend.
    I remember one guy used to come in, and he'd always have his £2 on the counter while the Guinness was settling.
    I took it for his first one and said "just to remind you, the pint is gone up 5 pence tonight."

He said "ah that's grand, that's only 40 pence in the gallon", and everyone started laughing. He must have had at least 10 pints...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭DuMorph

Haha you took the bait :D
    Seriously though your my hero, and there's no more heroes anymore. Whatever happened them?
    They got an ice pick, like Leon Trotsky-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Apparently he used to pour drinks into plant pots on the sly to make it appear he was putting more away than he actually was. Probably bollocks though, can't convict a man on hearsay.

My father is a Dean Martin diehard, I'd say he has every song the man ever sang and more than a library's worth of books on the bloke as well as other memorabilia. Think a slightly, but only slightly, toned down version of Miles 'Elvis' Kavanagh from Kilkenny but for Dino. He swears blind that the drinking and womanising was all a front and that he rarely drank any substantial amount and was very faithful to his wives (though the fact he got remarried twice just months after he got divorced might put a question mark on that last part).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Shane McGowan is who I don't understand, plus the rolling stones. I was at the Billy Connolly gig in the point recently, he was telling people not to smoke as smoking takes one minute off your life & gives it to Ronnie Wood :)

Now there's a man who could hold his drink... Billy Connolly... until Pamela Stephenson put the ball and chain onto him :D.