Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

36 pints - the most savage drinking session I've personally heard of.

• 03-03-2018 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭pj9999

Buddy of mine knows this giant of a truck driver - ‘Paddy’, who has a savage capacity for the drink. Paddy would typically walk into a pub and arrange his gut on the counter, before lashing into copious amounts of alcohol.

Anyway my buddy goes on holiday to same place in Spain every year. In the local bar there’s always this one guy perched at the counter. Buddy asks the barman what’s the story. Barman says that’s Miguel - “I’ve never known any man to outdrink him”. Buddy says I’ll wager €500 I know a fella who could. Bet accepted. Miiguel is asked if he’d be willing to travel to Ireland - not a chance.

On arrival home, Buddy asks Paddy if he’s ever been out of Ireland - Nope - never been on a plane - no interest. Over the next few years Buddy keeps on at Paddy about the Spaniard who thinks he can outdrink anyone. Eventually his persistence pays off. Paddy agrees to an all expenses paid trip to the Costa.
    Home advantage in a contest like this is a serious matter - Paddy wasn’t delighted to be drinking Spanish beer, but he remained confident that he would triumph.

The day of the showdown arrives - there was massive interest amongst the locals and every space in the bar was taken. Ground rules are laid down - when Miguel goes for a piss, Buddy accompanies him, and when Paddy goes for a piss the bar man or whoever accompanies him. These measures are to ensure neither combatant deliberately took a puke. Drinks were paid for by the primary bettors IIRC. Speaking of betting, both combatants, supremely confident in their abilities, lay hefty wagers themselves.

The session began at around 1300. Both lads tear off at a pace that would quickly leave your typical advanced alcoholic under table in no time. 5 - 10 - 15 pints were racked up in the blink of eye. Mid afternoon, Miguel starts to feel the pace, and Paddy is delighted to surge a couple of pints ahead. It’s a false dawn though - Miguel gets his **** together, and knocks back half a gallon; the competitors are neck and neck at the 25 pint mark.

Pints continue to be traded for a while, but at the 30 mark, the matador is on the ropes - he has battled manfully against the Irish titan, but he know’s when he’s beaten. He concedes defeat, and slips off his stool.

Paddy and Buddy are naturally delighted, and collect their winnings. That should have been enough drinking for the day, but legend has it that at this point, Paddy decides to ‘have a few drinks’ to celebrate his victory. My buddy reports that by the end of this marathon session at around 8pm, Paddy had racked up about 36 pints.

The Irishman was treated like a celebrity by the locals every time he ventured onto the streets over the next few days. This tale dates from around the turn of the century, and Paddy’s off the gargle nowadays, which is probably why he's still alive.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

I had 37 last night.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

36 pints? Pfft. Oliver Reed used to have that to wash down his cornflakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

TMB;DR

Too many buddies, didn't read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

About two years all I could manage was 22 pints of Guinness and about 6 whiskeys before I walked home with the other half, haven't drank like that since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

My dad had 24 when we were on holidays one year and he was alright. In fairness, he's not really a drinker, would rarely go for a pint even. It was just a long day and his football team won :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Obi_Wan_Kenobi

My Gosh, some drinkers on here, I think the most I've ever done is 9, and it took me about 4 hours to walk home (45 min normally) after it ...
    Im such a lightweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Cool story brah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,991 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

mzungu wrote: »

Alex Higgins and Bill Werbeniuk would have that in the first session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I used to have about 10 pints before i'd start drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭gifted

Yeah..but it's 36 pints of Spanish piss...that's abouts 6 pints of Guinness...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

2 small sherries and i'm anybody's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I thought that was a joke. When there was no punch line at the end, I got upset.

**** you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭worded

I went to a party once in Dublin and drank that much I woke up in Brazil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

That’s like roddy Doyle fan fiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭BurnUp78

36? That's nothing! Andre The Giant once consumed 156 beers in one night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

His accent and casually aggressive style of talking reminds me very strongly of the labouring class from South Galway in the 1950's/60's.

Most were gentlemen behind all the bluster and wouldn't hurt a fly but could talk the talk and back it up if they had to, which was very seldom.

Bast@rds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Rootsblower

Away on a lads week in Spain watched my mate down 28 pints of tropical(lanzarote lager) absolute piss it is. He started at 11am with a full Irish and 3 pints. Steady drinking then the whole day. Finished at 3 a.m, never seen the likes of it. 4 of us during the same week managed 3 and a half bottles of Captain Morgan’s between us in about 5 hours.

Why is it on holidays you can drink like a hardened alcoholic but you would be hospitalized if you drank the same amount at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I've a hangover after reading that OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,338 ✭✭✭limnam

Why is it on holidays you can drink like a hardened alcoholic but you would be hospitalized if you drank the same amount at home?

Probably all the dilution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    That’s like roddy Doyle fan fiction.

We can't beat the feckers at football but we'll beat the hoors at something else and make a film out of it with Colm Meaney playing "Paddy" in the process

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭septictank

A buddie of mine drank 30 cans at a house party washed down with the guts of 3 bottles of vodka. off to bed at 1am. when I woke up at 9am he was at it again already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Joe Dixon

I was at an ordinary summer festival in Longford in around 2004 where some lads i knew had 'organised' a drinking tour of the town. The rule was one glass of beer in every pub in the town (around 30 at the time). The rule was you verified your drink with a barman's autograph at each stop. One lad finished it in under an hour and a half and was seen to have 4 or 5 pints while waiting for the second finisher to complete the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

You'd go far to beat this woman with her monster recovery :

1510mg/ hohoho

Laboratory respiratory ECG, and computerised tomographic scan of the head were normal.
    The admission serum ethanol was 1510 mg/dl, and three subsequent serum specimens (collection times unknown) had
    ethanol concentrations of 1407, 1217, and 371 mg/dl.
    The patient was treated with intravenous fluids, electrolyte replacement, chlordiazepoxide, and intensive care monitoring. 12 h after admission she felt well and 2 days after admission she had no symptoms and her mental status was normal except for mild anxiety. The patient then discharged herself and follow-up has not been successful.
    Not only did this patient survive a serum ethanol of 11/2<1’0 but also
    the clinical course was remarkably mild. Respiratory alkalosis is not usually seen in ethanol intoxication; respiratory depression is more common.
    Division of Family Medicine,
    Department of Medicine,
    University of California at Los Angeles
    School of Medicine,
    Los Angeles, California 90024, U.S A.
    RICHARD A. JOHNSON
    EDMOND C. NOLL
    WM. MACMILLAN RODNEY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

28 500ml cans of Heineken. We used to do this thing when the recession hit. Recession saving sessions. Pick a day of the six nations where there was 3 matches on and session on for the day in the house. One of the lads drank 28 cans between 12.30pm and 2am. I managed 19 and I couldn't fit another drop in me. Literally full to the brim. I dunno how he managed 28. Serious hollow leg.

Great days though. About 6 of us having a laugh. Couldn't do it now. I'd be dying for a week after 10 pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I've seen hardened alcoholics drink from morning until night until they conked out then get up and drink the same again. This could go on for a week. Food would be forgotten about completely. You know someone has a problem when they don't get the curry chip munchies after a few jars.
    It's not something a lot of people should have to or want to be around. Unfortunately it's a way of life for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,319 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Wade Boggs drank 50 beers on a cross-country flight and destroyed the Seattle Mariners the next day.

May he rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

pj9999 wrote: »
    Buddy of mine knows this giant of a truck driver - ‘Paddy’, who has a savage capacity for the drink. Paddy would typically walk into a pub and arrange his gut on the counter, before lashing into copious amounts of alcohol.

Anyway my buddy goes on holiday to same place in Spain every year. In the local bar there’s always this one guy perched at the counter. Buddy asks the barman what’s the story. Barman says that’s Miguel - “I’ve never known any man to outdrink him”. Buddy says I’ll wager €500 I know a fella who could. Bet accepted. Miiguel is asked if he’d be willing to travel to Ireland - not a chance.

On arrival home, Buddy asks Paddy if he’s ever been out of Ireland - Nope - never been on a plane - no interest. Over the next few years Buddy keeps on at Paddy about the Spaniard who thinks he can outdrink anyone. Eventually his persistence pays off. Paddy agrees to an all expenses paid trip to the Costa.
    Home advantage in a contest like this is a serious matter - Paddy wasn’t delighted to be drinking Spanish beer, but he remained confident that he would triumph.

The day of the showdown arrives - there was massive interest amongst the locals and every space in the bar was taken. Ground rules are laid down - when Miguel goes for a piss, Buddy accompanies him, and when Paddy goes for a piss the bar man or whoever accompanies him. These measures are to ensure neither combatant deliberately took a puke. Drinks were paid for by the primary bettors IIRC. Speaking of betting, both combatants, supremely confident in their abilities, lay hefty wagers themselves.

The session began at around 1300. Both lads tear off at a pace that would quickly leave your typical advanced alcoholic under table in no time. 5 - 10 - 15 pints were racked up in the blink of eye. Mid afternoon, Miguel starts to feel the pace, and Paddy is delighted to surge a couple of pints ahead. It’s a false dawn though - Miguel gets his **** together, and knocks back half a gallon; the competitors are neck and neck at the 25 pint mark.

Pints continue to be traded for a while, but at the 30 mark, the matador is on the ropes - he has battled manfully against the Irish titan, but he know’s when he’s beaten. He concedes defeat, and slips off his stool.

Paddy and Buddy are naturally delighted, and collect their winnings. That should have been enough drinking for the day, but legend has it that at this point, Paddy decides to ‘have a few drinks’ to celebrate his victory. My buddy reports that by the end of this marathon session at around 8pm, Paddy had racked up about 36 pints.

The Irishman was treated like a celebrity by the locals every time he ventured onto the streets over the next few days. This tale dates from around the turn of the century, and Paddy’s off the gargle nowadays, which is probably why he's still alive.

36 pints is girly drinking, i know a man that wanted to kiss the barmaid and she said when you drink one barrel you can kiss me, 99 pints later and he kissed her good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

mzungu wrote: »
    I visited Oliver Reeds grave, only because I happened to be in the vicinity at the time. It reads on his gravestone, here lies Oliver Reed he made the wind move. But the locals have a different opinion of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

worded wrote: »

You probably just woke up in Gort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Tefral wrote: »
    28 500ml cans of Heineken. We used to do this thing when the recession hit. Recession saving sessions. Pick a day of the six nations where there was 3 matches on and session on for the day in the house. One of the lads drank 28 cans between 12.30pm and 2am. I managed 19 and I couldn't fit another drop in me. Literally full to the brim. I dunno how he managed 28. Serious hollow leg.

Great days though. About 6 of us having a laugh. Couldn't do it now. I'd be dying for a week after 10 pints

I'm robbing that idea! Thank you sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,220 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I was at a wedding in China, big industrialist married off his daughter to a pal of mine. About 20 Irish at the gig, 12 lads or so. Mr local big noise has all his business associates and flunkeys at the bash (a bizarre do in itself, but I digest).

As you may know, the Chinese love a drop of the craythur, any spirit really but a good European whiskey preferably for the monied among them (never Japanese, they really hate those guys). The reception, well the whole event really, was split into two massive meals at really strange times, a brunch before midday and a dinner about 5. There were almost 500 people there and the tradition is that the happy couple have a drink at every table.

The bride ducked out, but my pal the Groom, and his best men, sank close to 30 shots of Irish in about 2 hours and only one of the groomsmen came up short in stamina.

That in itself was the damnest bit of of boozing I ever saw, but it led to consequences for the rest of us. The Chinese lads, I mean pretty much all of them, decided it was a mixture between hospitality and honour that they should challenge their visitors to drinking competitions. So we obliged, and it left us in a fairly bad way, but the there was carnage among the Chinese. Lads passed out had to be dragged out by those almost passed out themselves. We found some old guy in a flower bed hours later asleep in his own puke, lucky he hadnt died of choking on it. As for us, we got the munchies and found a McDonalds.

Forget 36 pints. 30 shots of Irish and still standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I was at a wedding in China, big industrialist married off his daughter to a pal of mine. About 20 Irish at the gig, 12 lads or so. Mr local big noise has all his business associates and flunkeys at the bash (a bizarre do in itself, but I digest).

As you may know, the Chinese love a drop of the craythur, any spirit really but a good European whiskey preferably for the monied among them (never Japanese, they really hate those guys). The reception, well the whole event really, was split into two massive meals at really strange times, a brunch before midday and a dinner about 5. There were almost 500 people there and the tradition is that the happy couple have a drink at every table.

The bride ducked out, but my pal the Groom, and his best men, sank close to 30 shots of Irish in about 2 hours and only one of the groomsmen came up short in stamina.

That in itself was the damnest bit of of boozing I ever saw, but it led to consequences for the rest of us. The Chinese lads, I mean pretty much all of them, decided it was a mixture between hospitality and honour that they should challenge their visitors to drinking competitions. So we obliged, and it left us in a fairly bad way, but the there was carnage among the Chinese. Lads passed out had to be dragged out by those almost passed out themselves. We found some old guy in a flower bed hours later asleep in his own puke, lucky he hadnt died of choking on it. As for us, we got the munchies and found a McDonalds.

Forget 36 pints. 30 shots of Irish and still standing.

Great story but FYI 36 pints is about 60 shots of whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Great story but FYI 36 pints is about 60 shots of whiskey
    Really depends on the time span of the session. The 36 pints would have been drank over a much longer time span than the 30 shots. The 36 pints might have been drank over the course of maybe 7-9 hours. The 30 shots might have been sunk over the 3-4 hours of a wedding party after all the speeches, etc. That is apocalyptic level booze sessioning by any standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,534 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

worded wrote: »
    Was she at least good looking?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭AttentionBebe

Yeah well I had 37 pints last night...of Tequila! Beat that yiz pussies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

doolox wrote: »
    His accent and casually aggressive style of talking reminds me very strongly of the labouring class from South Galway in the 1950's/60's.

Most were gentlemen behind all the bluster and wouldn't hurt a fly but could talk the talk and back it up if they had to, which was very seldom.

Sounds like Galway all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Is it even physically possible for a person to drink 36 pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I heard a guy say once about another: “he’s a great man to drink a pint” as if it was some kind of positive attribute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

seachto7 wrote: »
    I heard a guy say once about another: “he’s a great man to drink a pint” as if it was some kind of positive attribute.

Well, it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,220 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

check_six wrote: »
    Really depends on the time span of the session. The 36 pints would have been drank over a much longer time span than the 30 shots. The 36 pints might have been drank over the course of maybe 7-9 hours. The 30 shots might have been sunk over the 3-4 hours of a wedding party after all the speeches, etc. That is apocalyptic level booze sessioning by any standard.

Precisely. It was less than 3 hours in total.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I've done at least 10 plenty of times, albeit over the course of a day, plenty of food and not in the same pub, the whole notion of drinking that much in one go in one place to me is stupid.

I think so called 'snowflake' society is seeing the light as regards binge drinking and being blitzed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

2 times I have a vague way of measuring it. In a town in galway one summer there was a street festival and we went down, college students at the time. Running out of money on last day but I bought a crate of Heineken, 24 cans. Drank from about lunchtime had them in a cooler box and just bought bags of ice from the centra beside the green we were drinking in. We were outside a pub too so had a jacks at least. Drank all 24 cans, might have given a couple away though, and was buying pints in the pub later that evening.

Another time was a 12 pubs crawl before it got popular with big groups wearing flashy Christmas jumpers singing songs. 30 mins per pub and had 2 pints in a few of them, so maybe 16 pints or so. There were about 7 of us, lads dropping for food and just general drunkenness from about pub 8 onwards. We finished the 12 pubs at about 6 o clock so we were at a loss as to what to do. 2 of us went back to our home suburb and met up with lads going out for the evening. So 25 odd pints I'd say. Moving around and having a 5 minute break between pubs and pints definitely helps though rather than having a fresh pint put in front of you as soon as you have 1/3 of a pint left, necking it and starting straight into new pint.

I don't think I've ever hit paddy lotsy magic numbers of 30 pints or more but I'm only mid 30s so I might some day!

No problem routinely drinking 15 or so on a 6 nations day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    I visited Oliver Reeds grave, only because I happened to be in the vicinity at the time. It reads on his gravestone, here lies Oliver Reed he made the wind move. But the locals have a different opinion of him.

Seriously? Like what if you don't mind me asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

36 pints is a little excessive, but it's not gonna kill you. I've often seen people* drink far more than that. OP, Google 'going on a bender'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭kingtiger

gifted wrote: »
    Yeah..but it's 36 pints of Spanish piss...that's abouts 6 pints of Guinness...

Spanish larger is @ 5.5%

Guinness 4.3%

can't see your logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

I drank a litre of Jameson before in one night and had a 2 day hangover. Never again.

bleugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

Charlie Sheen thinks your mate is a lightweight.