Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

36 pints - the most savage drinking session I've personally heard of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,344 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

All these famous people who were able to drink huge quantities of the stuff died fairly young I think.

Their livers must have been like a swiss cheese.

Then you have tossers like George Best who was given a new liver and he continued to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭FCIM

All these famous people who were able to drink huge quantities of the stuff died fairly young I think.

Their livers must have been like a swiss cheese.

Then you have tossers like George Best who was given a new liver and he continued to drink.

And Phil Mitchell, the tw@t!

There's the odd case of those who drank like fish and who it did no harm to or at least no harm to until late in life. John Le Mesurier, Winston Churchill and Oskar Schindler being examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭endacl

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Andre the giant probably has the most famous drinking stories in human history https://www.foxsports.com/wwe/gallery/best-andre-the-giant-drinking-stories-072516

Imagine sharing a plane ride with him after 100 bottles of beer https://m.imgur.com/gallery/wAjClWVj
    mfceiling wrote: »
    Imagine having to share the same toilet.
    I'd have that for brekkie

When you see used teabags drying on a washing line it's a good indicator you've crossed County lines into Cavan. Make of that what you will.

I'm from Wales, if we're going by stereotype ye're all stupid (whether ye come from Cavan or not) and we're all up to mischief with sheep.

The horrors after 36 pints must be level 10.

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    The horrors after 36 pints must be level 10.

Age is usually a major defining factor. 25 pints used to be usual for me when I lived in Cardiff on 6N weekends getting on for 20 years ago. I'm sure I hit 30 on occasions though don't remember getting to 36. I was never particularly messy though. Now, a full day session would hit about 15/16 (a Christmas party for example when you're on it all day) and then I'd need the bed. If I go out I can do 8 pints easy, 10 and I'm pushing it a bit, possibly 12 is the most I could go to on a normal going out night; a far cry from the 25+ when I was a chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭yogi37

J. Marston wrote: »
    Wade Boggs drank 50 beers on a cross-country flight and destroyed the Seattle Mariners the next day.

May he rest in peace.

Whoa, that is some serious drinking. Boss Hoggs is some legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I worked in a bar a few years ago where two farmers would drink 60 pint bottles of Bulmers between them almost every day.

Personally I'm not a big drinker, if I go out for a beer then 4 or 5 does me grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭muckbrien

There was a cricketer drank 50 cans on a flight from Australia to uk

I worked in a bar a few years ago where two farmers would drink 60 pint bottles of Bulmers between them almost every day.

Personally I'm not a big drinker, if I go out for a beer then 4 or 5 does me grand.

€5 a pint bottle of cider now where I live. Give the grace of a few years ago and take it down to €4.50, that €945 a week. They must have been good farmers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

mfceiling wrote: »
    Imagine having to share the same toilet.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

FCIM wrote: »
    I'm from Wales, if we're going by stereotype ye're all stupid (whether ye come from Cavan or not) and we're all up to mischief with sheep.

We are stupid, surely you read the thread title. No smoke without fire boyo. Anyways I bet you're not even Welsh, you're reply was almost flawless in spelling and punctuation :D
    I wonder though why sheep? Are sheep the Jenna Jamesons of the bestiality world?

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,805 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I thought that was a joke. When there was no punch line at the end, I got upset.

**** you.

Relevant to this discussion.

A fella walks into a bar and orders a fruit punch.
    Bartender says "if you want a punch you'll have to stand in line"
    The fella looks around, but there is no punch line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭pj9999

OP here.
    mzungu wrote: »
    36 pints? Pfft. Oliver Reed used to have that to wash down his cornflakes.
    Lot of talk about Oliver Reed - I wonder how many pints he's actually drank in a session.
    Agricola wrote: »
    TMB;DR
    Too many buddies, didn't read
    There's only one buddy in the story.
    gifted wrote: »
    Yeah..but it's 36 pints of Spanish piss...that's abouts 6 pints of Guinness...
    Personally I'd be under the table after 5 - so whether it's 36 pints of Spanish or 36 pints of stout, it's still a mind boggling feat to me.
    36 pints is a little excessive, but it's not gonna kill you. I've often seen people* drink far more than that. OP, Google 'going on a bender'
    "36 pints is a little excessive" Jesus - I'd love to see what constitutes excessive...I'd probably be dead after a quarter of that.

I only heard the story myself in the past couple of weeks. What appeals to me is the head to head meeting of two unbeaten drinking 'champions', the strict rules laid down, and the fact that it's rare to find a reliable Irish story of actual pint numbers in a session.

I'd have loved to see Andre the Giant et al, sat down under the same conditions, to see how much he could imbibe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

In my experience the fellas who brag about drink are all talk. I remember a lad in college who was at it the whole time. "I drank 20 pints and 12 shots and I was grand". Yeah, you may have bought 20 pints and 12 shots, but you didn't drink them. He came over one night to drink cans in the house, brought 12 cans. Doing the clean up the morning after, was gathering up the cans, the ones he was drinking were all over half full. Fcuking eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

€5 a pint bottle of cider now where I live. Give the grace of a few years ago and take it down to €4.50, that €945 a week. They must have been good farmers!

No idea, back in 2001'ish.

Just going by what the manager used to say, I wasn't buying the stuff for them.

Either way the lads were legends.

We are stupid, surely you read the thread title. No smoke without fire boyo. Anyways I bet you're not even Welsh, you're reply was almost flawless in spelling and punctuation :D
    I wonder though why sheep? Are sheep the Jenna Jamesons of the bestiality world?

Of course the punctuation was flawless, I was having a post-coital cigarette after canalling a ewe so I could take my time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I would have done 25 pints of Guinness a few times as you younger fitter man ,and once as a challenge but if i tried it now id need a week to recover and a autopsy afterwards

the height of my tiger excesses have known people to drink more but not regularly ,

most hard core alcos are usually just topping up day to day and the twat who boasts about it in the pub cant do it

• Site Banned Posts: 8 Its Purge Time

How the hell can you drink more than, say, 8 pints?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Self belief, determination and years of practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,471 ✭✭✭vandriver

You piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

I wonder what anything over 10 pints does to your body short term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

i drank a terrible concoction of whiskey and coke in Sandbuckets X2 in Thailand, i was legless, fell next to a pit viper snake on the way home(bungalow) at around 6am, it didn't strike, clearly confused by the stumbling clown. No Whiskey since! Going on 15 years now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Winston Churchill
    Oliver Reed
    Richard Harris
    Peter O’Toole

All lived to a ripe old age :)

FutureGuy wrote: »
    I had 37 last night.

Someone did nae get there roond in, and nobody is leaving this place til' we find the c*nt that did it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I think Paddy might have a drug addiction. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,956 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I wonder what anything over 10 pints does to your body short term.

create terrible noxious emissions. especially if it is guinness.

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Winston Churchill
    Oliver Reed
    Richard Harris
    Peter O’Toole

All lived to a ripe old age :)

John Le Mesurier
    Oskar Schindler
    Frank Sinatra
    (Allegedly) Dean Martin
    (Allegedly) Joseph Stalin

can all be added to that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    I visited Oliver Reeds grave, only because I happened to be in the vicinity at the time. It reads on his gravestone, here lies Oliver Reed he made the wind move. But the locals have a different opinion of him.

That's the oul' Guinness farts for ya

(Allegedly) Dean Martin.

Apparently he used to pour drinks into plant pots on the sly to make it appear he was putting more away than he actually was. Probably bollocks though, can't convict a man on hearsay.