Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Pelvis wrote: »
    Why would I be embarrassed? What has it got to do with me that I personally would feel embarrassed about it?

Get a grip.

Do you never have a genuine feeling which isnt merely personal? A feeling of pride or happiness unrelated to anything you ve done personally but grounded in the efforts of Sonia O'Sullivan, or Katie Taylor or Conor McGregor, or the national rugby team winning the slam, or one of the provincial teams winning the European cup, or indeed reading about efforts of people pulling people out of ditches or helping out the elderly or needy in their local areas? Congrats if not, that's quite a fair outlook on a personal level. If it were otherwise you would of course be something of a hypocrite to celebrate the highs of your fellow countrymen while dissociating yourself from the lows of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Exactly ., The vast majority of people in Tallaght are shocked to the core about this feral lawlessness and they were frightened and scared and shocked .This is a huge wake up call for the powers that be to be aware of lawlessness and its effect on decent people .Texts and Whatsapps were flying around Tallaght last night from people frightened and scared and horrified at this event unfolding and seemed like it was out of control .Looting is a breakdown of society and is much more frightening than a robbery because it effects us all .

Maybe measured communal justice is the only way here. community comes together in force - identifies the culprits then their families and make it clear this will not be tolerated. (in a non violent manner). power in numbers & no fear

when you literally take food off someones table you have crossed a serious line and must be reprimanded one way or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,679 ✭✭✭✭rob316

limnam wrote: »
    Having a child to get 31.80 a week.

You'v not rared many kids.

single parent, HAP etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Any proof to suggest that it would? Other countries have had abortion for decades, so, I'm guessing you'll be able to provide research that shows abortion reduces crime?

These kinds of statements are retarded. Unless you can provide some evidence?

Some studies in the USA suggest that the inter-generational effect of the Roe-v-Wade ruling created a drop in violent crime and general anti-social elements by the 90s. Obviously this was controversial and challenged.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Legalized_abortion_and_crime_effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Still people who wouldn't be able to afford that.

Along with quite a few "middle class" who can't afford a house. Not being able to buy a house isn't an indication of being poor. Unable to afford to rent an apartment in a low economic area would be an indication of being poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Unfortunately I don’t think this will destroy his career. Rte will still lap him up.

However his horrendous performance in the cliche ridden cardboard gangsters might be enough. What producer thought he could pull off the sexy leading man status who can pull the local hot bird. He has bigger tits than the female lead ffs

Will his tweet make it to the more national publication, like The Journal.ie?

If a man tweeted pretty much anything innocuous about a female, its blue murder, yet John Connors condoning looting and calling a major employer in the state Cnuts will probably get a pass. Can't appear to be racist now calling out a traveller for being an arse.

If there is a lawsuit, it should be Lidl taking him on over his comment.

What ****ing twat he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Maybe measured communal justice is the only way here. community comes together in force - identifies the culprits then their families and make it clear this will not be tolerated. (in a non violent manner). power in numbers & no fear

when you literally take food off someones table you have crossed a serious line and must be reprimanded one way or the other.

Agree. If Sicilians could stand up to the mafia then the good people of Tallaght, Jobstown, Fortunestown, City West, etc., can stand up to the troublemakers. Although I don't blame them for their fear, it will not change until the decent people say 'We will not take it any more".

Any reason to get a bit of Twisted Sister in....stripped down version:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,343 ✭✭✭limnam

rob316 wrote: »
    single parent, HAP etc

You don't need to have kids to get HAP.

You can be working and get HAP.

Like I said if you think you can rare a child with 32 quid.

You haven't rared one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭zeebre12

But sure they are disadvantaged. We can't say anything bad about them. Free legal aid no doubt as well. This is a great little country.

Patww79 wrote: »

But assuming people are having kids to earn money.

That's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

markodaly wrote: »
    Will his tweet make it to the more national publication, like The Journal.ie?

If a man tweeted pretty much anything innocuous about a female, its blue murder, yet John Connors condoning looting and calling a major employer in the state Cnuts will probably get a pass. Can't appear to be racist now calling out a traveller for being an arse.

If there is a lawsuit, it should be Lidl taking him on over his comment.

What ****ing twat he is.

And that is why young people are deserting the MSM in their droves. The media follow a particular progressive narrative. Anything counter is ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

You're asking if it's ok to go and rubberneck?

I suppose you would call it that. Just being nosey. I'm not living in Dublin that long so never saw things like this happen where I grew up. Bit fascinated that there are areas like where this happened that exist in Ireland in 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,766 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Peter File wrote: »
    Paul Murphy condemned them

Paul Murphy

Verified account

@paulmurphy_TD
    14h14 hours ago
    More
    Horrific scenes at Lidl. Those involved are putting emergency services personnel and others' lives at risk. This tiny minority obviously don't represent Jobstown. In fact, those involved are likely the same people who have terrorised people in the community for years.

133 replies 233 retweets 778 likes
    Reply 133 Retweet 233 Like 778 Direct message

What was needed was a community leader with a megaphone to tell the mob when they should stop the looting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

No one has kids for the money - you have no kids to be richer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

You don't need to have kids to get HAP.

You can be working and get HAP.

Like I said if you think you can rare a child with 32 quid.

You haven't rared one.

I rared my first while on the dole. You make it sound like all they get is 32 quid.

Total pay per week was 220. +20 fuel allowance in winter + 120 per month child allowance

Rent to council 27:50

Shopping 60 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

All of which should be considered in any review of sentencing guidelines. I don't disagree with any of that. We need to drop the softly softly approach in this country and start coming down hard on those who will simply not behave themselves. If that's all your saying then we're in agreement.

I just don't think a sentence of at least a quarter of a century is appropriate for what we seen last night. I don't know how anyone could seriously argue for that.

Because it is known that those who engage in that type of violent criminality frequently reoffend again and and again.

Few if any of that mindset can be properly 'rehabilitated' imo. So first approach requires zero tolerance and the second is to remove those who not just commit a crime but whose crimanility effects thousands of citizens for the benefit of society as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,080 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The way some people are going in this thread youd swear Tallaght needs Batman to save them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Having a child to get 31.80 a week.

You'v not rared many kids.

Is that the only payment...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

pjohnson wrote: »
    The way some people are going in this thread youd swear Tallaght needs Batman to save them.

Nope, the people need to save themselves and the justice system to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

IMPAT wrote: »
    I'm assuming you don't stream TV programmes from nefarious websites or download movies.

You wouldn't steal a loaf of bread, would you?

I don’t stream anything. So let’s see. Some people steal films so that means it’s ok to take a bulldozer to a supermarket?

I rared my first while on the dole. You make it sound like all they get is 32 quid.

Total pay per week was 220. +20 fuel allowance in winter + 120 per month child allowance

Rent to council 27:50

Shopping 60 quid

I was referring to the extra part they get for the child.

Everyone that has a child gets the 120 benefit, dole or no dole.

They'd pay the rent child or no child.

Fuel, child or no child.

Hardly a way to try and make a profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

So there's no community groups or such? Can't you gather all the people from your neighborhood and talk the subject over?

I'm extremely skeptical that these people are completely unknown. In my own small estate, there are three different women famous for peering out their windows at night watching what everyone does and gossiping to whoever will listen to them. Doesn't Tallaght have these kinds of people?

I am not close enough to know anything nor are my neighbours .Its Jobstown and we are in Tallaght but no where near the scum to know them .I am fighting the cause because posters are mentioning the whole of Tallaght as being somehow at fault . We are not , some may know them most of us dont . I could twitch my curtains day and night and still would not see as far as Jobstown .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Peter File wrote: »
    Paul Murphy condemned them
    Paul Murphy

Verified account

@paulmurphy_TD
    14h14 hours ago
    More
    Horrific scenes at Lidl. Those involved are putting emergency services personnel and others' lives at risk. This tiny minority obviously don't represent Jobstown. In fact, those involved are likely the same people who have terrorised people in the community for years.

133 replies 233 retweets 778 likes
    Reply 133 Retweet 233 Like 778 Direct message

And there is the problem. How come they are still free to roam the streets and cause havoc and misery for everyone around them.
    Why are they not locked up.
    Revolving door judicial system = No deterrent / no fear of consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Is that the only payment...?

No. A single mother recieves just over 1k per month. Rent to council just over 100euro per month. I've done it myself and find I'm struggling more since I went back to work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

No one has kids for the money - you have no kids to be richer!

If you're funding them and working to provide for them, you'll think longer and harder about having them/more of them.
    Theres no magic office for mr PAYE man to go to, to get a bigger house from the house fairies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,477 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

pjohnson wrote: »

No...I'd prefer Bain to nuke them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

joey1111 wrote: »
    Its all part of the divilment.

Still imagining in my head a group of lads getting hammered and nicking a jcb, going for a spin around the area. Mad yokes. No fear at all.

Devilment me arse. Pure criminality. No fear no morals no concern for others - thick violent criminal degenerates...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭SteM

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I suppose you would call it that. Just being nosey. I'm not living in Dublin that long so never saw things like this happen where I grew up. Bit fascinated that there are areas like where this happened that exist in Ireland in 2018

What do you want to see? It's just a damaged building opposite a school with lots of houses and apartments around it. It's not like your going on safari or anything. If you want to see lots of compact snow and greyness then go by all means.

No. A single mother recieves just over 1k per month. Rent to council just over 100euro per month. I've done it myself and find I'm struggling more since I went back to work!

They don't get rent allowance if they've no kids?

You sure there's no single childless people getting payments?