Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

How poor are they though? SW with benefits along with part-time jobs can bring in easily enough to live on, with some extras. Calling people "poor" seems to be a common way of excusing their behavior. It's not as if they're poor like in a 3rd world nation without any support.

Poor enough not to be able to purchase their own home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

While there was a short mention of Fortunestown on RTE News Now, there was no mention of Lidl being demolished. Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Like many working full time and contributing positively to society then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭IE 222

Im sure we will be hearing most of the 9 have a string of previous convictions as well. Surely every 10 convictions should come with a 2 year sentence on top of what your been sentenced for.

The state needs to start moving these disruptive people/families into rural areas where they can cause less damage and live in whatever type of sh1t hole they want without the rest of us having to put up and witness it. Let them see what a lack of facilities and services really looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Poor as me and the wife so. Both working full time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭mikemac2

IE 222 wrote: »

The state needs to start moving these disruptive people/families into rural areas where they can cause less damage and live in whatever type of sh1t hole they want without the rest of us having to put up and witness it. Let them see what a lack of facilities and services really looks like.

No thanks

Limerick already did that as part of their regeneration project with predictable results

Fortunestown.. Jobstown...

It's clear we need a new approach to naming areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Then go on a housing list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Tzardine wrote: »
    Its grand, he is going to sue his way out of it apparently.

He's suing Alison Spittle even though she was defending him. It's the funniest thing she's ever been involved in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,753 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

bring back the public pillory, these lads won't be too cool after a few hours being jeered in the town square
    421_1024x1024.jpeg?1452525287

At live steam it online!

Im sure we will be hearing most of the 9 have a string of previous convictions as well. Surely every 10 convictions should come with a 2 year sentence on top of what your been sentenced for.

**** that.

Keep all the rats in the same sewer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

#Metoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Omackeral wrote: »
    It’s probably because they’re sick to death of scumbags racking up dozens, scores and even hundreds of convictions and not being deterred. People are sick of these dirtbags, sick of the “justice” system and sick of apologists and deflectors.

That’s besides the point. Every time an incident like this occurs some dope comes out with ‘everyone in council housing should be rounded up and...” all of this bollix. It’s lazy generalising nonsense rooted in a po-faced sense of superiority to others - often engaged in by people who’ve never even been on a council estate in their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Then go on a housing list.
    We're grown adults and in good health. We provide for ourselves and don't seek handouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭boombang

I think it would be interesting to say that free legal aid runs out after your fourth conviction. It could be offered to you again if you were on changed with something serious: just to ensure no gross miscarriages of. However, for more minor crimes you'd be on your own after a while. Now the biggest objections to this would be from the lawyers bit the scumbags, but I don't think it would be that unfair a proposal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

They need to move them into the ****ing sea.

The scumbags with the jcb are worse, don’t get me wrong but people are trying to normalise the others who “just” took advantage of an open door in a shop and took what they wanted. This is not normal behaviour. It is looting in a time of a semi crisis and weather event in the country. It makes me realise how fragile our society is if there was a real crisis.

Please do not normalise this as if it were “just” stealing a few groceries. It is not the act. It is the opportunistic mentality behind the act

What crisis? A day or two of snow? Seemed to be electricity on nearby. Couldn't they wait until the morning to walk to a supermarket to buy food? Or walk a little further if that one was lacking?

If this snowstorm had been going on for an actual week, with power/water gone, and no food stocked anywhere, then I could see a possible reason to excuse this behavior... but... under the real circumstances? nope. I don't feel the need to break this down looking for excuses/reasons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Ultimanemo

What The Feck, Those lads need fast broadband, you have it in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭manonboard

The state needs to start moving these disruptive people/families into rural areas where they can cause less damage and live in whatever type of sh1t hole they want without the rest of us having to put up and witness it.

So you want the nice, decent people building a community in rural ireland, who already have it very tough with far less services... To now have to deal with a major influx of anti social people who will ruin the communities they have already built?

You can't just export a problem like this. It's not a matter of remove them, and it stops. We as a society created them, we are still creating more. They didnt magically appear out of nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

Family in the UK contacting me about this disgrace. Usually I'd mind my own business but let's be honest this is fairly embarrassing.

People out of jobs and cheap food out of an area that needs this shop, complete brainless lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Stealing is one thing, honestly can't fathom the reasoning behind destroying and torching the place... seriously, just why? One less I]cheap[/I supermarket for their town (The culprits are bound to be locals), and a whole bunch of people are out of a job now.

Thoughtless MORONS...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

The laughable thing is that Dubs go on about Limerick when they should be sorting out their ghetto. And people still want to defend these sub humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Ultimanemo

While there was a short mention of Fortunestown on RTE News Now, there was no mention of Lidl being demolished. Why?
    I guess they don't want to make it a big event, they are afraid that it will open cans of worms of public unrest and xenophobia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Is that all you think lives in council estates? And how are they forgotten about? They have access to the most amenities and get the most Garda coverage.

Yeah and the place is still a **** hole. Speaking from experience from actually living in Mac Ulliam.

Schwanz wrote: »
    Family in the UK contacting me about this disgrace. Usually I'd mind my own business but let's be honest this is fairly embarrassing.

People out of jobs and cheap food out of an area that needs this shop, complete brainless lunacy.

Do people really get embarressed about the actions of scumbags? :confused:

You'd swear they were representing the nation in the Olympics or something.

Bloody hell. Back to this rubbish?

Plenty of homes in the countryside for sale.

The laughable thing is that Dubs go on about Limerick when they should be sorting out their ghetto. And people still want to defend these sub humans.

They do?

All I'm reading is people condemning them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    They do?

All I'm reading is people condemning them.

That lovely example of reproduction that is John Connors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Pelvis

darlett wrote: »
    If you are not embarrassed by a community ransacking and then later destroying a shop, (or two) then you have no standards.

Why would I be embarrassed? What has it got to do with me that I personally would feel embarrassed about it?

Get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Stealing is one thing, honestly can't fathom the reasoning behind destroying and torching the place... seriously, just why? One less I]cheap[/I supermarket for their town (The culprits are bound to be locals), and a whole bunch of people are out of a job now.

Thoughtless MORONS...

Same people who engage in throwing rocks at buses and attack emergency workers putting out a house fire/trying to get someone to hospital!

Generally not a lot goes on up top for them apart from the most basic shape and sound recognition "I threw de rock...it make smashy sound...hurhurhur"