Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I usually find the Neighbourhood Watch Pages spot on with what is happening locally in reality as they are the people living there. So there seems to be a number of differing scumbaggy elements at play here.

All need to be stamped out.

1z3wl0x.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Imagine the board of Lidl in Germany getting news that one of their stores in Dublin has been looted and almost destroyed. Shameful.

Discussion would go: Ratio of profits for said store to cost of rebuilding plus insurance for likelikess of happening again? Lets rebuild.

Next item on the agenda please. All done in less than a minute.

Thats not condoning it btw, just how the Lidl exec would prob frame the situation.

touts wrote: »
    Well after this little fiasco lawsuits will be his only source of income. This will be a case study in how a momentary mistake social media can destroy a career. Apart from the now unemployed staff of Lidl I suspect Connors will be the one who suffers most from this incident. The Criminal Justice Industry will take care of the "poor, socially disadvantaged" lads who did the actual looting and make sure they don't see the inside of prison.

John Connors. Terminated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭secman

Imagine the board of Lidl in Germany getting news that one of their stores in Dublin has been looted and almost destroyed. Shameful.

I'm pretty sure it has actually happened in Germany too, which by the way no way condones or justifies whst happened in Dublin,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,055 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Years of champagne socialists telling these people, its not your fault, its not your fault, like a scene from goodwill hunting is now coming back to bite society.

Paul murphy telling people hes elected to break the law and encourage civil disobedience.

Constant anti government dribble propaganda everyday about how leo wants everyone to die while he rips up 50 euro notes.

It's all coming back now and will get worst before it gets better.

Regina has said she'll flout the laws also and will encourage disobedience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 IMPAT

Patww79 wrote: »
    He condoned stealing, that can't be disputed and is the only point that really matters.

That's before you get on to that his reasoning for stealing were that it's ok if you think the price is too high.

And that's even before you get on to that it was drink and not bread they were robbing.

I'm assuming you don't stream TV programmes from nefarious websites or download movies.

You wouldn't steal a loaf of bread, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

John Connors was wrong.

He was called out on it.

He twists it and calls anyone disagreeing with him as being racist.

His followers that agree with him are fcuking idiots.

The area where the looting happened has a scumbag element. If it didnt, it wouldnt have happened.

The good people of that area are the big losers in this. They need to start pointing fingers at the d1ckheads otherwise nothing will change.

If they dont, then I hope they enjoy living among the animals.

Pillow cases full of door knobs can sort that out.

Agree with you. But catching the scumbags is of no use unless there are sanctions. Need the justice system to also stand up and dish out proper sentences to those convicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

They should definitely bring out legislation to put fencing around Council estates and impose curfews, these people are absolute filth.

It’s gas how when a crime gets committed some people’s answer to that is to resort to Nazi tactics. (And I don’t say that lightly either, they were great fans of the contained and curfewed ghetto.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Those safes normally only have change and floats, and I'd imagine they wouldn't have gotten a change delivery because of the weather, so realistically there was probably less than 5 grand in the till.

That's it? That's it? There is only about 5 grand in there.

They should definitely bring out legislation to put fencing around Council estates and impose curfews, these people are absolute filth.

Do you really believe that everyone living in a council estate is a cnut?

Even worse is it appearing in the Daily Mail and BBC news reports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Unfortunately I don’t think this will destroy his career. Rte will still lap him up.

However his horrendous performance in the cliche ridden cardboard gangsters might be enough. What producer thought he could pull off the sexy leading man status who can pull the local hot bird. He has bigger tits than the female lead ffs

The fathead has proven that he has a cardboard brain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

IMPAT wrote: »
    I'm assuming you don't stream TV programmes from nefarious websites or download movies.

You wouldn't steal a loaf of bread, would you?

Yeah, that's the same thing alright. Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

scopper wrote: »
    Tallaght has always has an edge, indeed it is one of its defining associations, but it's not like this is ultra chaos, it's closer to an incident that can explode in an area like that, anything out of the ordinary encourages a kind of lawless atmosphere for a little bit, you should see Halloween.

A bit of an edge, I’m not sure the point your trying to make here but it seems like your trying to justify it as normality in Tallaght? Let me assure you, it wouldn’t occur to most ordinary decent people to steal a digger and other plant machinery to, with motive, extract a safe and in the process destroy a Lidl Store. Nor would most people look at a Centra Store and think I could break in there and set it on fire so there is no evidence the Guards wouldn’t be able to get here to stop me. It’s animalistic, and animals that bite should be put down.
    scopper wrote: »
    for me a year in PRISON seems quite fine, I mean that's a year in PRISON, not a year in Costa del Sol.

I fear that prison in Ireland is closer to a year in the Costa Del Sol. It’s comfortable, warm and full of TV and entertainment. No prisoner should be rewarded behind bars. We should make an arrangement with Thailand or Peru and ship all prisoners to serve their time there and see if they want to reoffend when they come home. There is no disincentive to not carry out crime here as the legal system is too lenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Its is shameful but we also saw the riots and looting in England and we dont tar them all with the same brush .The UK has its own feral gangs /.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭secman

You my friend haven't a clue with a statement like that, 99 % of people from " council estates" are decent law abiding people and that is a fact. Unfortunately it's the 1 % that drag the name of the area down.

Seriously ! Put fencing around every council estate... Jesus wept !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭MactheKnife90

Yeah because everyone who came out of a council estate is in the same category as these Scumbags. Plenty of good decent people live/have lived in council estates. People like you don't help the problem. Take your nose out of the air and stop being a T*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭Patser

Radio news just said 8 people in court today aged 24 to 47.

47!!!!!! Not exactly bored, deprived youth.

None of them are young teens, 'where are the parents' territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭pah

DrumSteve wrote: »
    ...this weird fixation that people on this site have with people on welfare... less said about that the better.

Not everyone on welfare is a scrote, of course not but I would be confident that nearly everyone involved in the looting and damage last night are on welfare

FTA69 wrote: »
    It’s gas how when a crime gets committed some people’s answer to that is to resort to Nazi tactics. (And I don’t say that lightly either, they were great fans of the contained and curfewed ghetto.)

It’s probably because they’re sick to death of scumbags racking up dozens, scores and even hundreds of convictions and not being deterred. People are sick of these dirtbags, sick of the “justice” system and sick of apologists and deflectors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

anewme wrote: »
    I usually find the Neighbourhood Watch Pages spot on with what is happening locally in reality as they are the people living there. So there seems to be a number of differing scumbaggy elements at play here.

All need to be stamped out.

1z3wl0x.jpg

Because this is the reality of it, the Government is creating Ghetto estates by putting all these people in 1 out of the spot and ignoring the situation, and this is what you end up with. Its only going to become worse with each generation. It happened before in this country with the likes of Ballymun flats etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

A bit of an edge, I’m not sure the point your trying to make here but it seems like your trying to justify it as normality in Tallaght? Let me assure you, it wouldn’t occur to most ordinary decent people to steal a digger and other plant machinery to, with motive, extract a safe and in the process destroy a Lidl Store. Nor would most people look at a Centra Store and think I could break in there and set it on fire so there is no evidence the Guards wouldn’t be able to get here to stop me. It’s animalistic, and animals that bite should be put down.

t.

Absolutely agree , the vast majority in Tallaght are horrified at this crime and shocked it was happening . Texts and Whatsapps were flying with people terrified and crying and scared yesterday .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭jones 19

secman wrote: »
    Unfortunately these low life's are dragging the good name of 99% of the good decent people who live in the Dublin 24 region into the mud. I sincerely hope the justice system treat them with a heavy hand.

On John Connors.... cop on John.... there hasn't been a loaf of bread on a shelf for the last week ! You cannot condone this thuggery in the conditions that prevailed , when decent people came to the fore helping one another.

99%, my hole, half that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

You’d prefer it swept under the carpet?

Do you happen to have timber flooring and/or tiling with lots of carpets on top at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Do you really believe that everyone living in a council estate is a cnut?

Definitely not, it's the 80% that give the other 20% a bad name. You have to feel sorry for them as they are all tarred with the same brush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

The videos and pictures are disgusting.

Some of the comments in this thread though are disgusting too - calling for sterilisation, etc. As far as i can make out this whole bad affair is a combination of at least two types of people - the fcuking eegits and the real scumbags. The fcuking eegits -with too much time on their hands, possibly stoned and drunk and wired - saw a stupid opportunity, an open door into a store and they ran around the place like gob****es, stealing stuff, and running away, and then posting their hauls like mupperts on social media. It's bad that they did this - very bad - but ask any shop-keeper in any town or village about the amount of fleecing that goes on in their shops during lunch break when the local kids from the local schools descend upon them. So, it's more about idiocy and being a stupid gob****e and the feral rush of the gang. I bet most of that type are crapping themselves now that they are going to be caught. Good enough for them, and I hope they get a conviction, but not like some of the horrible stuff written in this thread.
    The other type is the scumbag who will engage in the organised destruction of property costing millions of pounds of damage, careless of the dangers they might cause to others, and completely disrespectful of the order of society and state institutions and the civilised rule of law. Those ones - who seem to be older people from what i can make out - will hopefully sit out a very long spell in prison as a result of their actions.

Omackeral wrote: »
    It’s probably because they’re sick to death of scumbags racking up dozens, scores and even hundreds of convictions and not being deterred. People are sick of these dirtbags, sick of the “justice” system and sick of apologists and deflectors.

The problems with the courts and sentencing is a matter for the State to rectify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

The mobile network providers should be aloud to give GPS location data freely to the Gardai in an event like this.

If their phone was in these locations at the time - Questions should be asked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Wow, followed it on here last night. I'm stranded in London and at breakfast this morning was embarrassed as people asking about the riots in Dublin and the looting. Looting is far worse than stealing a loaf of bread, only low life scum take advantage in the face of adversity. Not sure what the maximum sentence is but throw the book at them.