Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

John Connors having a meltdown, threatening to sue people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Can we all go up and rob John Connor's place now? Sure he won't mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    John Connors having a meltdown, threatening to sue people.

Yup, digging himself a nice little hole there all night and looking like a right sap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Plague Maiden

gozunda wrote: »
    Is that you John?

Ridiculous? "Locking up those lads for what they done last night" Yeah that's ridiculous yeah right!

No they were not just 'looting a supermarket" : :rolleyes:

They tore the fracking place down with a digger - after breaking into it - after robbing it - and stealing the safe and contents!!

Oh and going up to 30 people out of a job and then attack a Centre supermarket as well!

In the UK the average length of sentence was almost four times as long as thay given for similar offences. That trend has continued and imo should be implemented here for scrotes that get involved in serious law and disorder incidents like that to send out a message for others and to stop those who choose to get involved ever reoffending again.

You're either mistakenly or deliberately misrepresenting my remarks.

I never said that a prison sentence for last night's events was ridiculous.

I said that a mandatory life sentence, which would be 25-30 years, for last night's events was a ridiculous suggestion.

By all means disagree with me but don't put words in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,250 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I'm as left wing as they come but there was absolutely zero justification for what happened last night. We had one day when the shops were closed, nobody was starving. There isn't a political motivation behind targeting lidl, it was just a$sh0les

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I'm not overanalysing it; it's very simple. LIDL is a discount retailer but he thinks they charge too much. Interesting insight into his mindset.

They even pay the living wage. If these folk lose their jobs and go to work for another retailer they'll be down around €80 a week, 4k a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,079 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

pc7 wrote: »
    That also pays their staff a living wage.
    I am beyond shocked at the carry on in Tallaght, absolutely disgusting. You’ll have the bleeding hearts on Joe Duffy Monday ‘aw joe ders nuthin for de kids round here anal’

Anal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭joey1111

You're either mistakenly or deliberately misrepresenting my remarks.

I never said that a prison sentence for last night's events was ridiculous.

I said that a mandatory life sentence, which would be 25-30 years, for last night's events was a ridiculous suggestion.

By all means disagree with me but don't put words in my mouth.

You're right about your previous comments, people are just venting.
    I wouldn't take the comments too literally at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Anal?

And all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I don't have a soft attitude. I work in the legal system and the lack of consistency in sentencing sickens me, particularly in the District Court (although, admittedly, the perpetrator's of last night's events will be put forward for trial at Circuit where they'll get more of what they deserve). I want to see people get stiffer penalties where appropriate. But 'appropriate' is the key word.
    Should last night's events lead to mandatory life sentences? Should the punishment for the destruction of private property be the same as that for murder? I think that's an utterly ridiculous suggestion. Worse, even. It's dangerous.
    Anyway, I came across this thread earlier this morning but it's only in the last few minutes I've realised the tenor of the arguments being put forward. People are just venting, and that's fine. But I'm not wasting my morning discussing penology with people that are suggesting slitting throats as an appropriate penalty.
    Good luck.

There were residents on Facebook etc in that area last night who were in fear of their and their familie safety last when that shyte was going on.

Rioting and looting are significant public order and endangerment issues for ordinary people. How long before the same scrotes if decide that Joe down the road who bought his own house/ has a job is a valid target cos he might have some money at etc

It's not just robbing- it's not just a simple crime - it's organised criminality against ordinery people - law and order and society as a whole.

Patww79 wrote: »
    So, you don't agree then? Tip top argument there.

The suggestion that the State should systematically slit the throats of those convicted of criminal behaviour isn't an argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

pc7 wrote: »
    That also pays their staff a living wage.
    I am beyond shocked at the carry on in Tallaght, absolutely disgusting. You’ll have the bleeding hearts on Joe Duffy Monday ‘aw joe ders nuthin for de kids round here anal’

I think this is a worse problem than looting lidl to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The suggestion that the State should systematically slit the throats of those convicted of criminal behaviour isn't an argument.

Neither is stealing and looting somehow ok because corporations etc "are robbing all of us everyday" ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,080 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Anal for some minature flags for others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Ultimanemo

I'm really dismayed now that my part of the country got barely any snow. Aldi had all the lovely Mothers Day stuff in today and there's plenty of diggers lying about idle.

If capitalism was a fair system, we wouldn't have looting. It's not, so some members of the poor are going to take these opportunities when they come along. I wouldn't like to see it happen to a small business, but big greedy German companies that treat their employees like non-humans, timing their every move, spying on them (google it), fine by me.

What I'd really love to see is some looting and destruction of an Apple building. They owe billions and we can't even give sick or injured OAPs a bed in hospital when they need one.
    This kind of looting and vandalism would never happen in a communist country, because they would either shoot them on the spot or torture them to death, no political correctness no bullsh1t

The state? Where did I say that?

Great idea, stop roving bands of looters by establishing a roving band of vigilante throat slitters

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Anal?

Ah it’s always on the dumb Facebook thread, instead of ‘and all’ scrotes use ‘anal’ at the end of lots of sentences, ends up in some funny posts.
    Telpis!

gozunda wrote: »
    There were residents on Facebook etc in that area last night who were in fear of their and their familie safety last when that shyte was going on.

Rioting and looting are significant public order and endangerment issues for ordinary people. How long before the same scrotes if decide that Joe down the road who bought his own house/ has a job is a valid target cos he might have some money at etc

It's not just robbing- it's not just a simple crime - it's organised criminality against ordinery people - law and order and society as a whole.

All of which should be considered in any review of sentencing guidelines. I don't disagree with any of that. We need to drop the softly softly approach in this country and start coming down hard on those who will simply not behave themselves. If that's all your saying then we're in agreement.

I just don't think a sentence of at least a quarter of a century is appropriate for what we seen last night. I don't know how anyone could seriously argue for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

They even pay the living wage. If these folk lose their jobs and go to work for another retailer they'll be down around €80 a week, 4k a year.

Not to mention that Lidl Ireland have their head office in Tallaght.......doubtless they went there for cheap office space, but it's still a bit of a kick in the arse for them to have their vote of confidence in the area responded to like this.

Lidl were also the first chain to sign up to paying the living wage and recently committed to matching their pay to any retailer who came in with higher starting salaries.

Hopefully the staff can be redeployed.

If it works it works. Sadly it won't go that far and this will only be the start of their 'careers'.

You do realise that roving bands of murderers are worse than roving bands of thieves?

You don't solve a problem by escalating it to a cartoon (manga obviously) level of violence

The state? Where did I say that?

I'd assumed you were suggesting that the State do the throat slitting, but it seems you want to put it out to tender. Perhaps the Office of Public Works could oversee the nomination?

My inexperience with After Hours has really been exposed this morning. I think I'll take a previous poster's advice, file this whole forum under 'not to be taken seriously' and go back to bed, before I have my throat slit by the private sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,296 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I have to say, I have never heard of this John Connors person before today (I thought he was a Terminator character?). If nothing else, at least it's publicity.

As for the shooting looters thing... I don't think so.

Sure, back in my neck of the woods, Mayor Smitz proclaimed
    "The Federal Troops, the members of the Regular Police Force and all Special Police Officers have been authorized by me to KILL any and all persons found engaged in Looting or in the Commission of Any Other Crime."

And it worked.

But that was in a total breakdown of the city. This isn't a breakdown, it was an opportunistic one-off by idiots who filmed themselves. I would think the Gardai are going to have a few clues to work with.
    In your neck of the woods kids walk into schools and kill other kids, I wouldn’t be paying to much attention to what goes on over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

doylefe wrote: »
    One article says 'A source said: "A large, violent gang of well known criminals targeted the Lidl earlier in the day and then stole the JCB excavator that was being used to clear ice."'

Also mentions barricades the army had to smash through.

The digger and safe aspect sound very organized. Well known criminals...

It seems like a lot of effort to get some change and a few fifties. I can't imagine a dirt cheap shop in a poor area is going to have much cash on site (even if there hasn't been a drop off to the bank in a while).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭jones 19

I think this could have happened in many areas in the country with a high levels of degenerates. This area seems to have a load of them. Watching the kids in the clips is awful. What will they grow up to be. Judicial system is the problem in this country, the penalties of crime here are not harsh enough, prison to these scobes his a respite camp. Where that improve on they criminal activitys not regret them. This is totally unfair to the average normal working ordinary people of this country. I'd welcome and vote for a politician or party who'd promise to punish criminals and punish people who don't make an honest effort to work. Again the system is arseways and low life's will suck this dry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭joey1111

McGaggs wrote: »
    It seems like a lot of effort to get some change and a few fifties. I can't imagine a dirt cheap shop in a poor area is going to have much cash on site (even if there hasn't been a drop off to the bank in a while).

Its all part of the divilment.

Still imagining in my head a group of lads getting hammered and nicking a jcb, going for a spin around the area. Mad yokes. No fear at all.