If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Extreme cold weather from Feb 25th on, and now St. Patrick's Day on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Was coming home from Dublin around 12 last night and as soon as ya crossed the border into Meath twas as if it wasn’t gritted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,660 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Was coming home from Dublin around 12 last night and as soon as ya crossed the border into Meath twas as if it wasn’t gritted.

The amount of salt spread on Dublin roads the last few days was unreal

All sorts of wildlife out this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Reggie. wrote: »
    All sorts of wildlife out this morning

Are ye out on manoeuvres in Alaska by any chance ;)

gozunda wrote: »
    Are ye out on manoeuvres in Alaska by any chance ;)

I think that buck is lost

testicles wrote: »
    Seems the "air chair weathermen" were right, you twat.

Steady on there lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Reggie. wrote: »
    Steady on there lad

+1, esp as it's your first post on this forum.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Mod note; ok locals calm down, it's been dealt with.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,712 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

These snow clouds are scary stuff. It was bright and sunny here yesterday when one arrived. I was sitting watching out the window and you could see it moving across the far hills. It was like an ash cloud from a volcano eruption. It only lasted about 15 mins and brought strong winds with it. Snow was more like hail but soft...............and it passed and back to clear calm weather again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Melting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Willfarman wrote: »
    Melting here.

Did a little bit of that here now snowing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,284 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

No water coming in some of the drinkers. Hopefully sun will thaw the pipes a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,435 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

-2 here. There will be no thaw today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

whelan2 wrote: »
    No water coming in some of the drinkers. Hopefully sun will thaw the pipes a bit

Same here, surprised the troughs in milkers shed froze as I thought the cows would keep them going during the night. Obviously they don't drink that much at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Angus2018

Snow blowing in every crack, feed passage had a line of snow in the middle. Some getting into the first few feet of the pens.

I got all the drinkers working in the main shed bar one so just pushed in the tank I had filled last night a few feet and done. I won't be feeding any meal today so they won't get too thirsty if the pipes freeze again.

No hope getting another shed unthawed but I started them on water troughs last night, just needed a small top up today. Rough having to carry water buckets with snow blowing in your eyes and face.

Calves in all cuddled up in a corner. Cows unhappy with being back inside.

Today is the easy day. I'm dreading the snowstorms due on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,731 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Just finished milking at 12.
    I don't know the temperature but as soon as one part of the parlour got freed the other parts froze up.
    The transfer switches were freezing up and then pipes above the jars were freezing up. The worst mistake I made was run hot water through the machine before milking as a few minutes later it was all froze up. Then I had the job of trying to get each unit going and keep it going. Even with the cows in the shed and milking the switches were freezing up. Then I had the job of having to skip clusters when that one froze up.
    I made sure to drain every bit of water from the machine now after milking now today.
    I can't remember any days in 2010 being this much hardship.

Still snowing away here but thankfully not the volume that the Midlands got. Some eejits still turning over jeeps and cars in a few miles of here.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I don't know the temperature but as soon as one part of the parlour got freed the other parts froze up.
    The transfer switches were freezing up and then pipes above the jars were freezing up. The worst mistake I made was run hot water through the machine before milking as a few minutes later it was all froze up. Then I had the job of trying to get each unit going and keep it going. Even with the cows in the shed and milking the switches were freezing up. Then I had the job of having to skip clusters when that one froze up.
    I made sure to drain every bit of water from the machine now after milking now today.

Still snowing away here but thankfully not the volume that the Midlands got. Some eejits still turning over jeeps and cars in a few miles of here.
    Similar thing happened me i had sLt in last night ,washed that out and was a small bit delayed getting going and the was ice after form in bowl of the claw piece interfering with the stopper seal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

K.G. wrote: »
    Similar thing happened me i had sLt in last night ,washed that out and was a small bit delayed getting going and the was ice after form in bowl of the claw piece interfering with the stopper seal

I think the temperature dropped here after 8am. Bit of sun now but something is brewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just home (ncd) and there is one lane open both directions on the M3 from Virginia to where I got off at exit 7 (Skyrne/Kilmessan). The slip road/off ramp isn't salted and I was lucky to make it to the roundabout. The road from Tara post office to the N2 Ashbourne/Slane road is treacherous and wasn't salted.
    N2 is ok but closer to Ashbourne the snow is polished on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,284 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Will you milk again this evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,435 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Calving shed is very exposed to an east wind. Had to go and buy a few calf jackets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mengele

How bad is a blizzard? I presume its not like storm Ophelia where it will knock all the trees and take the roofs off sheds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Base price wrote: »
    Just home (ncd) and there is one lane open both directions on the M3 from Virginia to where I got off at exit 7 (Skyrne/Kilmessan). The slip road/off ramp isn't salted and I was lucky to make it to the roundabout. The road from Tara post office to the N2 Ashbourne/Slane road is treacherous and wasn't salted.
    N2 is ok but closer to Ashbourne the snow is polished on the road.

I was heading up the bypass by Ashbourne this morning. And one of the big tillage farmers was clearing lanes. All clear now after coming back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I was heading up the bypass by Ashbourne this morning. And one of the big tillage farmers was clearing lanes. All clear now after coming back.
    Ye can't beat us farmers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Jezz we completely missed the worst of it despite the forecast saying east Wicklow would be hit with the worst of it. Probably let the cows out for a few hours after the milking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,712 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Cow calved outside today. Had cow out a few days and the difference in her was unreal. She had got all slow and stiff during the long winter on concrete. Legs were out, so I went for a guick coffee. Came back and both up standing. Cow is quiet and let me wrestle it onto the teats. She could have broken my fingers, she was sucking that hard. God, the limousins are lively devils at birth. Question is now, do I chance them out over night. Have here there with another cow'n calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

mengele wrote: »
    How bad is a blizzard? I presume its not like storm Ophelia where it will knock all the trees and take the roofs off sheds?

Not at all.
    Snowy + blowy = blizzard.
    Tilt your cap into the wind. Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Cow calved outside today. Had cow out a few days and the difference in her was unreal. She had got all slow and stiff during the long winter on concrete. Legs were out, so I went for a guick coffee. Came back and both up standing. Cow is quiet and let me wrestle it onto the teats. She could have broken my fingers, she was sucking that hard. God, the limousins are lively devils at birth. Question is now, do I chance them out over night. Have here there with another cow'n calf.

If it was me Patsy I would stick them in for the night if possible. There's a fair cold breeze blowing out there at the minute and temp is supposed to drop a bit again tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭tanko

Better safe than sorry maybe.