If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Extreme cold weather from Feb 25th on, and now St. Patrick's Day on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,766 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Janey Mac.
    Just looking at the weather forum and the various models posted. Wexford is going to get a lot of snow.

It was bad enough replacing the gutters on sheds after 2010 without doing it all over again. I have more brackets on gutters now but still..
    Starting to wonder should I get some ropes and straps thrown over some of the shallower roofs now before it starts. To be able to pull down a build up???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

Here's a calculator that many if us haven't used before...

https://www.vcalc.com/wiki/KurtHeckman/Roof+-+Weight+of+Snow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Pretty serious alright
    Snowing here already and as I drove into tesco in Arklow road was white,roofs and gardens
    It’s a very dry powder like a white Saharan dust

Current guidance has all precipitation snow over Ireland with a definite blizzard Thursday Friday
    Siobhán Ryan on RTÉ at 755am delivered a forecast that was scared frankly

Some parts of the east could have several inches from the showers alone tonight tomorrow and into Thursday

Then the blizzard conditions set in which could be worst up across east Munster Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Pretty serious alright
    Snowing here already and as I drove into tesco in Arklow road was white,roofs and gardens
    It’s a very dry powder like a white Saharan dust

Current guidance has all precipitation snow over Ireland with a definite blizzard Thursday Friday
    Siobhán Ryan on RTÉ at 755am delivered a forecast that was scared frankly

Some parts of the east could have several inches from the showers alone tonight tomorrow and into Thursday

Then the blizzard conditions set in which could be worst up across east Munster Leinster
    Where will there be red warnings country wide?

Red warnings go out 24 hrs or so beforehand
    To my eye many counties in Leinster and east Munster could have a red warning on current guidance

In the short term here’s the latest hirlam model
    It’s a gif so zoom in
    The greens are the heavy snow showers

This part affecting the east mainly but the showers getting into other areas
    It’s a different type of snow,unlike the wetter Atlantic snow this all settles

tempresult_dre4.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Abit uneasy about the words “ possible blizzard “ for Thursday night, Friday morning . Have a field that’s the opposite of the ditch from the east wind. Thinking it’s the best place for sheep to be stored.

Edit.

Any advice on how to avoid animals getting caught in drifting snow ? Does it just build up at one side of a ditch that’s facing the wind ? How much snow would we need to get to cause it ? Still hopeful weather won’t be too bad, but if there’s any sensible things I can do, why not do them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

kowtow wrote: »
    did you get what you were looking for?

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Odelay

Reggie. wrote: »
    Not sure if I can say but it's strange what happens in the country that is never reported. Esp when 70 armed soldiers are involved

Did someone run away and ye had to run after them? Think he also had a phone? Read it somewhere earlier.

Odelay wrote: »
    Did someone run away and ye had to run after them? Think he also had a phone? Read it somewhere earlier.

More than a phone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 96 ✭✭BigSteaks

More than a phone

Was he not on the phone to garda from the pub? You can't make this stuff up and it took 50 army guys to find him. He broke out and went to the local for a few :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Abit uneasy about the words “ possible blizzard “ for Thursday night, Friday morning . Have a field that’s the opposite of the ditch from the east wind. Thinking it’s the best place for sheep to be stored.

Edit.

Any advice on how to avoid animals getting caught in drifting snow ? Does it just build up at one side of a ditch that’s facing the wind ? How much snow would we need to get to cause it ? Still hopeful weather won’t be too bad, but if there’s any sensible things I can do, why not do them.
    Remembering back to '82 when there wasn't a huge amount of snowfall relative to the chaos that it caused on the roads. The very dry snow was blown off the fields, over the hedges and settle on the roadways that were perpendicular to the wind. Roads that in the line of the wind remained clear, iykwim.

Edit.

In jan 1982 here on low ground in South Wicklow just 2 miles from the sea the drifts were up over the ditches about 8 to 10 feet filling dykes
    You could walk across
    Up on Croghan mtn on the Wicklow Wexford border one farmer lost his entire flock because he didn’t bring them in
    Drifts there reached the tree tops
    I remember the collection to get him going he was wiped out

Drifting snow will be on the windward side of anything in its way
    Near Aughrim in co Wicklow after that storm I had an aunt and uncle on high ground who could only get out an upstairs window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

George, what's your reading for Saturday. Most observers are fairly sure what's gonna happen Wed, Thur and Fri but what way do you see Saturday turning out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I remember on the Saturday ('82) after the snow we walked to a neighbour who is a dairy farmer to get milk. There was some serious drifts on the roads and at one point we were walking over the tops of two rigid lorries that got stuck the previous Thursday night and we didn't even know they were under us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Base price wrote: »
    Remembering back to '82 when there wasn't a huge amount of snowfall relative to the chaos that it caused on the roads. The very dry snow was blown off the fields, over the hedges and settle on the roadways that were perpendicular to the wind. Roads that in the line of the wind remained clear, iykwim.

Spot on. My memory is the very same. I remember there wasn't enough snow in the field beside us to make a snowman but it had drifted and the lane was absolutely impassable. I remember digging a cave in a drift and walking into it. Great time to be chap :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,662 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Base price wrote: »
    I remember on the Saturday ('82) after the snow we walked to a neighbour who is a dairy farmer to get milk. There was some serious drifts on the roads and at one point we were walking over the tops of two rigid lorries that got stuck the previous Thursday night and we didn't even know they were under us.

Farmers are better set up now, a lot more four wheel drives both tractors and jeeps.......the neighbours that brought the guards on me on saturday might be glad to see me now. They live on the end of a glorified lane, snow will cause havoc :D
    He finished spreading last night at 10 oclock

George, what's your reading for Saturday. Most observers are fairly sure what's gonna happen Wed, Thur and Fri but what way do you see Saturday turning out?

At the moment Saturday looks like a Munster thaw but not in Leinster
    More later from me
    Will try and detail but it’s fast evolving sinnobcertainties on where and extent yet
    Snowing cats and dogs here at the moment :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭roosterman71

wrangler wrote: »
    the neighbours that brought the guards on me on saturday might be glad to see me now.

I must have missed this, or did you share? Why were the guards called on you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

In jan 1982 here on low ground in South Wicklow just 2 miles from the sea the drifts were up over the ditches about 8 to 10 feet filling dykes
    You could walk across

Drifting snow will be on the windward side of anything in its way

Can you explain that further? The wind is meant to be coming from the east. Does that mean there will be a build up of snow at the side of the ditch facing the wind or will the build up be blown over the ditch and onto the opposite side away from the wind ie the sheltered side ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Sun is out, cows are out. Just got generator set up. Bring it on....

At the moment Saturday looks like a Munster thaw but not in Leinster
    More later from me
    Will try and detail but it’s fast evolving sinnobcertainties on where and extent yet
    Snowing cats and dogs here at the moment :O

Where are you? Nothing here yet in westmeath only blue skies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Where are you? Nothing here yet in westmeath only blue skies

He's in wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Light snow just started here. A mile from the coast in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Sun shining here in Athlone too
    Here's a live webcam of Wicklow Town - http://www.wicklowcam.com/
    At 10 ya could see the town fine, but not anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭memorystick

Light snow just started here. A mile from the coast in Waterford.

On land or in the sea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,662 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I must have missed this, or did you share? Why were the guards called on you?

Drawing slurry, despite brushing the road they didn't think it was good enough and called the guards to stop me.
    Guards were OK about it though.
    People build houses on farmland and then expect farming to stop

wrangler wrote: »
    Drawing slurry, despite brushing the road they didn't think it was good enough and called the guards to stop me.
    Guards were OK about it though.
    People build houses on farmland and then expect farming to stop

People are retarded. A couple bought a house in an estate that backs onto a field we had. We were outwintering cattle on it and feeding them silage. The feeder was a good 100m from the houses. They used to come out whenever I'd pull up with my bale of silage and say I wasn't allowed into the field, and the smell was terrible and the cattle were ****ting behind their wall and they used to moo if they were hungry. Done my nut in. The guards were there one day, and the council after I got reported for feeding the cattle. They just told me to ignore them and carry on. So I did. And moved the feeder closer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Sun shining here in Athlone too
    Here's a live webcam of Wicklow Town - http://www.wicklowcam.com/
    At 10 ya could see the town fine, but not anymore

4miles outside Wicklow town here, don't think it's as bad as that camera makes it out to be, a few light blizzards but nothing stuck so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,375 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭croot

_Brian wrote: »

Or round here ........... 443063.JPG