Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Severe Winter Weather: ESSENTIAL PREPARATIONS, TRAVEL ADVICE, DRIVING TIPS & CLOSURES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Caff Caff

Whispered wrote: »
    Any nature boffins with tips for helping the birds. We have a few that visit the garden regularly. Most notably 3 robins who rule with iron beaks :D

Also would the likes of crows and magpies be as vulnerable as the smaller birds in weather like this?

Enclosed back garden with (indoor) dogs so I'm assuming we don't need to think about hedgehogs and urban foxes?

Believe it or not, they love red chedder and brown bread. The fat in the cheese is great for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭pauldry

Bought 100 loaves of bread today and ive eaten 99 already!

Its too late now!

Too late!

Theres no escape. The end is nigh.

Can you eat snow sandwiches?

Aha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

What are the chances of disruptions out of cork airport on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

BIG SHOUT OUT TO BRENNANS BREAD BAKERS..
    Who I'm sure had to go in 3hrs earlier this morning.
    Fair play lads/lassies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭tiegan

28277122_1663513430354277_2396876986781219867_n.jpg?oh=a1e641791a5a410bc4528d69b75faf63&oe=5B448DA2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

I'm starting to feel less prepared than I thought I was.

Need more bread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭squarecircles

I haven't bought any bread yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

I haven't bought any bread yet.

You're already dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭squarecircles

I wonder what are the chances of power outages with storm Emma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Casualsingby

I wonder what are the chances of power outages with storm Emma.

If it's a nationwide blizzard it would probably be the highest number without power in the history of the state. Weight of snow on power lines coupled with 50 to 60 mph gusts would be carnage to the grid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Rougies

If it's a nationwide blizzard it would probably be the highest number without power in the history of the state. Weight of snow on power lines coupled with 50 to 60 mph gusts would be carnage to the grid.

The weight of snow on trees coupled with high winds would be a major factor too, probably more so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

Guys, is anyone else here worried about the prospect of looting. With the Guards unable to respond during the height of the storm would it be a good idea to band together with the neighbours and set up a barricade or checkpoint ?

Yeh and i'd recommend if anyone gets through the barricade beat them to death and display the body at the entrance to your area, just to ward off any other threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭m17

Ballymun dublin 07/01/82
    IMAG11000_zpszgmmo5hw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,834 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Guys, is anyone else here worried about the prospect of looting. With the Guards unable to respond during the height of the storm would it be a good idea to band together with the neighbours and set up a barricade or checkpoint ?

Where are you...Iraq?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Deedsie wrote: »
    Really, staples of the Irish diet I would have thought? Bread will be ok if the electricity goes too so you can rely that you will definitely have some food if the **** hits the fan for a few days.

Actually bought some bread and milk this morning, fresh batch :) Irarely eat white bread and never drink milk, however if the elec goes, it is a survival food. This cold front has the potential to last until next week, with the depths of snow possible and more crucial, the wind chill factor, people are fools not to prepare. We as a nation are simply not used to these conditions. Please keep in my mind your elderly, disabled, ill neighbours. Unfortuantely there is a significant threat to life if the worst does hit us. Stay safe everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭JKerova1

I'm looking out the window now and see clear skies, sunshine and not even a hint of frost this morning. Reading these posts about setting up barricades to prevent looters and stocking up on bread, etc just seems bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Probably (definitely) a stupid question, but would the anticipated snowfall have much impact on electricity, WiFi etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭jdcv94

Paully D wrote: »
    Probably (definitely) a stupid question, but would the anticipated snowfall have much impact on electricity, WiFi etc?

Pretty much the same threat as any other high wind storm in terms of power lines etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Leo and the lads gave some clarification on a possible red alert and the effects on businesses. The clarification seems as clear as mud, "we learned lessons from Ophelia but still aren't sure what to do regarding workers" is the gist of it.

My lovely employer wants us to work in time ahead just in case they have to close on Thursday or Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Jane_Dough

Usually I'd welcome these times of obscene drama but I have a flight to catch on Friday and if it is cancelled I will lose out on a lot of money and potentially, a job. I pray the flight isn't cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭javagal

I havent done too much panic buying, which makes me panic !
    We have the usual food here, extra bread in freezer..
    If our electricity goes, were fecked as we are all gas heating.

Prob a silly question but how does one barricade the house against mice in this weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

jdcv94 wrote: »
    Paully D wrote: »

Pretty much the same threat as any other high wind storm in terms of power lines etc.
    Wouldn't the added weight of snow make things worse??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭bren2001

Was speaking with some people in EirGrid yesterday, they are not worried about snow on lines. Its quite hard to accumulate on them to significant levels.

We also have an incredibly meshed networks, they had something like 70 faults during Ophelia and the impact was quite minimal. I run power system simulations and would typically assume 1 or 2 faults to collapse a system. 70 is insane. They can reroute power if needs be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Jane_Dough wrote: »
    Usually I'd welcome these times of obscene drama but I have a flight to catch on Friday and if it is cancelled I will lose out on a lot of money and potentially, a job. I pray the flight isn't cancelled.

Fly over today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭sudzs

javagal wrote: »
    I havent done too much panic buying, which makes me panic !
    We have the usual food here, extra bread in freezer..
    If our electricity goes, were fecked as we are all gas heating.

Prob a silly question but how does one barricade the house against mice in this weather

Cats??

Also, I've heard those sonic detergents are quite good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

Leo and the lads gave some clarification on a possible red alert and the effects on businesses. The clarification seems as clear as mud, "we learned lessons from Ophelia but still aren't sure what to do regarding workers" is the gist of it.

My lovely employer wants us to work in time ahead just in case they have to close on Thursday or Friday.

Sounds like a great employer.

If there's any sniff of the roads being potentially dangerous I'm out the gap and heading home.

Lol a good captain is usually the last off the ship....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Sounds like a great employer.

If there's any sniff of the roads being potentially dangerous I'm out the gap and heading home.

Lol a good captain is usually the last off the ship....

Put it this way,they sent employees home in the middle of storm Ophelia, I got the call not to turn up for the afternoon and then they wanted me to take a days holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Popoutman

A note for people that have parked in common or public spaces.

Please do not use kettles of water to clear frozen windscreens when the daytime temperatures are forecast to stay below freezing all day. That water will turn to ice on the ground and make life difficult for everyone else. Do the same as the Europeans that live with cold temperatures, and simply scrape the ice off.

There's much less chance of cracking your windscreen as well. You get a cleaner windscreen too..

It was literally painful in my estate in 2010 with inches of ice where people parked, and drivers fell over getting out of the car when they stepped on the ice they and others had left that morning.

Be nice to yourself and your neighbours in the really cold weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I remember some sort of PDF during Ophelia doing the rounds. I think it had emergency numbers and other helpful information. Don't suppose anybody else has it ?

Also, did I hear that there is a website where people can check updates from our government ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I am thinking most of us have the solid fuel stoves, now is a time that I am glad mine does not have a back boiler, because if power outages and water freezes, we still have somewhere to heat beverages and stay warm