Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Trainee April Intake 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭stripmymind

SinWin wrote: »
    Well done! What happens those who fail repeat? No 3rd chance? Personally, I think PCT was super easy. I'm not super fit but wasn't hard at all. There was a girl who failed too but she had like 5 cigarettes before entering the beep test. Nerves? I don't know I don't have them I guess!

I loved the number on PCT about 25 people, we got to know each other. I was expecting much more people on that day there.

Also I know a guy who got Feb intake and he is telling me life in Templemore isn't easy - very strict!!! You aren't treated like a child nor like a student. Curfew after 12, no pictures, gone from social media, not to leave campus while in your uniform. Very army like!!!

PARKING - nightmare!

Those who have children can request for special leave (night for going home) but not guaranteed you will get it. College from 9-5 after 5pm there's nothing to do!

No not army like believe me haha ... try sitting in a hole you dug in the snow for 96 hours on the top of flag staff in kilworth. Then being told your prize is to work for €1.90 an hour doing duties. Believe me the army training is hell. We hadn’t even heating in our 8 man rooms during training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Leeroyjenkins

Hey guys anyone still waiting on their vetting to come back that's from the September 2016 campaign? I rang in January and was told its awaiting the final check and I rang today and was told there's still part of my vetting outstanding so I feel like I'm been giving the run around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Sjh191

Hey guys anyone still waiting on their vetting to come back that's from the September 2016 campaign? I rang in January and was told its awaiting the final check and I rang today and was told there's still part of my vetting outstanding so I feel like I'm been giving the run around here.

Your not alone, I am from January 2016 campaign.
    Rang 2 weeks ago and still not cleared...
    Feeling extremely helpless and frustrated at this stage.

Sjh191 wrote: »
    Your not alone, I am from January 2016 campaign.
    Rang 2 weeks ago and still not cleared...
    Feeling extremely helpless and frustrated at this stage.

That's outrageous how come it's been so long? Did you defer any stage or anything? I lived in England for 6 years because I was in the British army so I'm assuming that's what is keeping me but I didn't think it'd take this long. Really starting to lose hope now. Been told different things when I ring up doesn't help either.

I know:( I only completed my pct in July 2017 so that’s why it’s been so long.
    Iv done everything I can in my control to try and figure out what the story is with my file but nobody can tell me anything.
    Had to re do half of the process after Xmas because the time lapsed.
    If I don’t get April I think i will have to draw a line under it and move on. I can’t continue to live in limbo anymore .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭jimmythedivil

Iv done everything I can in my control to try and figure out what the story is with my file but nobody can tell me anything.
    If I don’t get April I think i will have to draw a line under it and move on. I can’t continue to live in limbo anymore .

Hopefully offers will be out soon anyway

What did you have to repeat? I'd no idea we'd have to repeat anything that's hardly fair considering we're the ones waiting to hear what's going on. I understand there's loads of people in the campaigns but I don't understand why people from later campaigns have gotten places when there is still people from 2016 waiting. Fair play to them all the same and good luck to them but it's a messed up process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭wlynch1984

No not army like believe me haha ... try sitting in a hole you dug in the snow for 96 hours on the top of flag staff in kilworth. Then being told your prize is to work for €1.90 an hour doing duties. Believe me the army training is hell. We hadn’t even heating in our 8 man rooms during training.

Flagstaff mountain in kilworth in double time! All the memories are coming back ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Alberto17

Hi all, just wondering would it be unusual for your references to be contacted before meeting with Sergeant?

Mine have been contacted but haven’t received a call to go for a meeting…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Deedee27

Got sent this message they don't know what to do with my certs any information most greatful

I am just writing in relation to your qualification documents which we received today. We are going to need more information regarding these documents. It is not clear how these qualifications prove your eligibility for the role of Garda Trainee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭diddlybo

Deedee27 wrote: »
    Got sent this message they don't know what to do with my certs any information most greatful

I am just writing in relation to your qualification documents which we received today. We are going to need more information regarding these documents. It is not clear how these qualifications prove your eligibility for the role of Garda Trainee.

I'd hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I don't think your G.C.S.E results will be enough to qualify for entry for the guards. It's worth ringing H.R.M for clarification though as they will be able to give you more information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Deedee27

I know just the application form states either GCSE or gnvq there still looking into it for me so I'm only hoping

Deedee27 wrote: »
    I know just the application form states either GCSE or gnvq there still looking into it for me so I'm only hoping

Oh you might be alright so, it just may take a bit longer for your vetting to go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Offalynice

From September 16 campaign and vetting is still outstanding. I lived abroad for 10 years, would this be the hold up ? Anyone else in the same boat or be in the know as to why it takes so long? Was hoping for April intake but looking unlikely now 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭mutter_man

Offalynice wrote: »
    From September 16 campaign and vetting is still outstanding. I lived abroad for 10 years, would this be the hold up ? Anyone else in the same boat or be in the know as to why it takes so long? Was hoping for April intake but looking unlikely now 😬

Vetting timescales apart to be getting worse. I'm guessing it's because they have only so many people in crime and security and the heavy recruitment drive over last 2 years is finally starting to bite. Basically anything that adds complications or extra work make it take longer. Living abroad 10 years will of course add extra work but depending where it was that country could be very quick to reply and other avenues of vetting could be holding you up. Plenty from sept16 waiting the big V mate.

Does anyone know if we'd qualify for bike to work while in Templemore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Stesshead

Hi All,

Hope you can all help us.

My partner wants to join the guards and heard there will be a recruitment drive in 2018 and to keep an eye out for it on publicjobs.ie

I have been reading your conversations and was wondering based on all of your experiences the following:

A) what are his chances of getting to even apply for the guards this year if they are calling people back as far as Sept 2016 & June 2017?

B) what is this OOM you all refer to?

C) how can he apply or is there anything he can do to be best prepared

Thanks a million!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭shaunerz

Stesshead wrote: »
    Hi All,

Hope you can all help us.

My partner wants to join the guards and heard there will be a recruitment drive in 2018 and to keep an eye out for it on publicjobs.ie

I have been reading your conversations and was wondering based on all of your experiences the following:

A) what are his chances of getting to even apply for the guards this year if they are calling people back as far as Sept 2016 & June 2017?

B) what is this OOM you all refer to?

C) how can he apply or is there anything he can do to be best prepared

Thanks a million!

A) The chances are there will be another recruitment drive soon. It doesn't matter how many people are waiting from previous.

B) Order of merit. The number you have placed after each stage. You get a new number after every stage up until interview.

C) Apply through public jobs.ie. Community/ Voluntary work would be a massive advantage to be able to talk about it at interview stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Shane3321

Have everything passed emailed hrm about my Vetting. Got an email back saying it has been signed off by senior management I've am oom of mid 600 for sept 16 campaign what are my chances for April ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 spara83

Shane3321 wrote: »
    Have everything passed emailed hrm about my Vetting. Got an email back saying it has been signed off by senior management I've am oom of mid 600 for sept 16 campaign what are my chances for April ?

strong chance you would imagine - best of luck pal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 pedrigo

I'm hoping to apply to join An Garda Síochana in the next recruitment drive but just have a few questions surrounding payscale and allowances. On attestation I will be elligible for a basic salary of €28,405 plus whatever O.T. and unsociable hours allowances. It says that as I have a 3rd level degree after 2 years I can apply for an additional 2/3 increments.

So my first question is, in addition to the basic salary, on average how much is O.T. and unsociable hours worth per year? (Roughly)

Secondly, does a 3rd level degree qualify you for 2 or 3 increments?

And finally, will you always be 2/3 increments ahead of somone who does not have a 3rd level degree or is this a once off payment?

Any info/ advice would be greatly appreciated.

Shane3321 wrote: »

What email address did you use? I've rang them and I've been told so many different things.

I emailed hrm and got a response along the lines of my file is awaiting decision regarding suitability for the position of garda Trainee.
    Anyone else get a response like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭SinWin

Wonder when will offers be out... I'd say next week before Paddy's day

SinWin wrote: »
    Wonder when will offers be out... I'd say next week before Paddy's day

It would make for some party Paddy's weekend alright.

“Offers due out in the coming week or so”
    What I was told this morning by HRM.

Best of luck all... may the odds forever be in your favour LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭SinWin

Fingers crossed for ALL of us who are running low on patience :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Morgan09

I emailed hrm and got a response along the lines of my file is awaiting decision regarding suitability for the position of garda Trainee.
    Anyone else get a response like this?

I got the same one,not sure what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Mowley

Hi I'm from the june 17 campaign and have everything passed. Met sergeant and superintendent. What should I be doing now? Just sit and wait or should I contact hr for information? Any info will be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭RedDragon386

I have a feeling if I emailed them that would be the response I would get too. I have everything passed from sept 2016 but the super meeting didn't go to well due to having my name taking for petty stuff over a decade ago. Some stuff I didn't even remember! So I couldn't even respond to it. I'm actually afraid to email them tbh. As far I know if you get an email it's good news and a letter is bad. Sorry to say this but I wouldn't be too optimistic by that response but keep the faith!