Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Trainee April Intake 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭ALTHEPAL

Yeh I'm sept 16 oom 300s.. I just hope they stick to their word now and send them out this week and we all get a nice wee email. Ah stop, I'm like is ye, me nervous are gone 😂 I wouldn't panic about that, as of couple weeks ago my file wasn't touched and now it's done so you could be lucky! Fingers and toes crossed!!!

Yeah well hopefully they will, the waiting game is not fun ha ! Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Jg990

Hi guys. Just wondering does anybody know about getting time off during training? I know in templemore it is very hard and thats understandable. I might need two weeks off after the 32 weeks in college in a garda station for a wedding in OZ. Does anybody know of people getting off at this time? Is it a bit easier to get off when stationed? Im signed off and in low 100s so thinking ill be called in April. Just trying to sort out things. Thanks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭SinWin

Jg990 wrote: »
    Hi guys. Just wondering does anybody know about getting time off during training? I know in templemore it is very hard and thats understandable. I might need two weeks off after the 32 weeks in college in a garda station for a wedding in OZ. Does anybody know of people getting off at this time? Is it a bit easier to get off when stationed? Im signed off and in low 100s so thinking ill be called in April. Just trying to sort out things. Thanks...

which campaign you are? I doubt it they will let you 2 weeks off but it depends where you stationed , we do have 2 weeks I think ''reading week'' where we don't attend college...

doesn't look like it will happen today lads....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭stiimpreza1984

Sourced from:
    NOTES FOR APPLICANTS
    AND
    CONDITIONS OF SERVICE SEPTEMBER 2016

"Phase I is 32 weeks duration plus 2 weeks leave. The initial period of 34 weeks which includes two reading weeks comprises a block period at the Garda College."

The two reading weeks are at the end and I know of a previous Garda Trainee who went on holidays during these reading weeks. So I'd say you're fine.

Sorry read it wrong

This training period may be extended for longer periods as the Garda Commissioner so directs. On successful completion of Phase I training the Trainee Garda will be attested and will progress to Phase II of their training. The Trainee Garda will now be a Probationer Garda and will be appointed as a member of An Garda Síochána.

Phase II:
    Phase II is 34 weeks in total (17 weeks assisting and 17 weeks assisted)

Might be best to ask the Super when you do get that start at phase II for the time off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Donegal2018

SinWin wrote: »
    doesn't look like it will happen today lads....

Pray tomorrow! Iv been snooping through past campaign boards all day and the last few rounds of offers seemed to go out Ina Friday at around 3 or so.. probably before re the weekend so they don't have Any of us on the phone whinging lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Sjh191

Pray tomorrow! Iv been snooping through past campaign boards all day and the last few rounds of offers seemed to go out Ina Friday at around 3 or so.. probably before re the weekend so they don't have Any of us on the phone whinging lol

You would think after being in this process over 2 years I’d be a pro at the waiting game..... but nope! Il be having a bottle of rescue remedy for lunch tomorrow in anticipation for what’s to come or what might not come! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Leeroyjenkins

September 2016 oom in the 700s. I'm so fed up of waiting, people from later campaigns getting in and people with higher oom getting in and my vetting still not done so I've completely given up hope for April.... Anyone know the next intake after April??

Don't give up the hope bud, it can all change in just one day ... fingers crossed

I don't think it will be today anyway... it would be mad fire out offers before the weekend... they'd come back Monday with thousands of messages and phone calls...
    I'd recon from next week Tuesday ...

Dear applicant,

I can confirm your file has now been signed off.

Offers for the next class intake will be made in the coming days. Should we reach your place on the order of merit, you may receive an offer to attend.

Kind regards

That's the email I got back.. so hopefully this week. I got that the other day

I am hoping the offers will be out today :)

Any joy??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭diddlybo

It looks like no luck this week. This wait will be the death of me.

diddlybo wrote: »
    It looks like no luck this week. This wait will be the death of me.

That's ridiculous after them telling us offers will be out in coming days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Wigman18

Been following this thread and the other one from February for a long time . Rang today and told everything has been signed off and offers will be out in the next coming days so it will be next week now. I am from sept 2016 competition.

Any joy??

Nope no joy.

Early next week hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 MrPaudieQ

Coming days......2 to 30 days by the looks of it 😰😰

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Servo91

Are offers given out by email/ phone or post does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭twoblub

Servo91 wrote: »
    Are offers given out by email/ phone or post does anyone know?

Email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭RedDragon386

Is there anyone still waiting from the jan 2016 campaign or even before That?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭mutter_man

Is there anyone still waiting from the jan 2016 campaign or even before That?

I do believe there is a very small few remain yes, but id doubt there's too many.

I am from jan2016 with an OOM in the early 600’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Leeroyjenkins

Sjh191 wrote: »
    I am from jan2016 with an OOM in the early 600’s.

I hope you get this intake because thats a long time to be waiting.

Thanks a mill.
    I hit a few road blocks that caused the delay but I am hopeful this intake is the one!

Sjh191 wrote: »
    Thanks a mill.
    I hit a few road blocks that caused the delay but I am hopeful this intake is the one!

Are you signed off?Did you have to re do your PCT and Medical?

Best of luck to everyone this week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 NeeNawNeeNaw

Job has been advertised for the next Comissioner

https://www.publicjobs.ie/publicjobs/campaignAdvert/73715.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭mutter_man

Job has been advertised for the next Comissioner

https://www.publicjobs.ie/publicjobs/campaignAdvert/73715.htm

Im not sure I'll go for this one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 EoinM96

Hi guys just wondering if anyone knows if the April offers are out yet or how much notice they give for an intake and how they offer it. I have all stages passed since august of 2017 and no offer yet, figured as I am in college they may leave the offer til I finish this coming may but at this stage I'm really wondering if I'll get one at all any answers would be appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭diddlybo

EoinM96 wrote: »
    Hi guys just wondering if anyone knows if the April offers are out yet or how much notice they give for an intake and how they offer it. I have all stages passed since august of 2017 and no offer yet, figured as I am in college they may leave the offer til I finish this coming may but at this stage I'm really wondering if I'll get one at all any answers would be appreciated

Offers are expected to be out this week which would give you four weeks notice. As far as I know you can defer an intake if you have a reason such as finishing college.

It's worth getting your degree though as you can skip three pay scales after your first few years in the job.

EoinM96 wrote: »

If you have everything done and your vetting is clear and file signed off you will get an offer 100% but when only God knows,

I doubt they are waiting on you to finish college to offer you a place, more like you have just been lucky/unlucky you haven't got one and you may be able to finish college... If you get an offer for April it is really up to you, you can defer it if you wish to finish your college or leave college to join Templemore.