Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

The blue and maroon on the jersey would have been nice without the stupid camouflage effect. It's ruined what could've been a much nicer jersey.

Kerrys kickouts are just as bad as ours.... once we don't start conceding them here we should be in with a shout.

We're very good defensively this year... probably wouldn't be too often you'd hear a Kerry crowd moaning and groaning about the lateral and backwards play but that's based on our set up more than a one off.

If we win this game and beat Monaghan that should be enough for a league final.

Kerrys kickouts are just as bad as ours.... once we don't start conceding them here we should be in with a shout.

We're very good defensively this year... probably wouldn't be too often you'd hear a Kerry crowd moaning and groaning about the lateral and backwards play but that's based on our set up more than a one off.

If we win this game and beat Monaghan that should be enough for a league final.

Listening to the radio they said galway had 15 back defending so they'd need to be good defensively with those numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Well done to the Galway footballers.great to see.up the tribes

Very lucky in the end.

Kerry had two point blank shots to draw the game.

Its like KW never learns.

When we lead late in games we just play a game of dwindling margins.

We do things slow and ponderously and let the opposition win their kick outs and work the ball into scoring positions.

It obviously doesn't help when lads like Walsh/McHugh are messing up counter attacks which should be easy scores but we just set ourselves up for a fall by playing like this at the end of games.

We generally get lucky at this time of year as we won similar games last year (like Kildare at home) but i just don't understand why we're constantly putting ourselves into losing positions(Donegal missed a kick to draw, Tyrone with 14 closed to 1) when we've been dominant playing the game as should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,478 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Big melee v Kerry today

Big melee v Mayo last time.

No melee in Castlebar last night

No melee in Mayo v Kerry.

Spot the common denominator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Kerry had two point blank shots to draw the game.

Point blank? Clifford shot from outside the 21 in a shot that I'd say has a 1 in 1000 chance of scoring. Rebound maybe had a chance. Kevin Walsh can do little about the numerous break aways we didn't convert. Sometime you may expect the players on the pitch to take responsibility rather than always blaming the sideline. Fantastic defensively. Still no goal conceded. Need to be converting more of our chances.

Mayo losing is the common denominator? Or Galway winning? And there was no melee today. Only the ref can explain what he saw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Big melee v Kerry today

Kerry fans not being massive whingers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Good win. Looking more likely that it will be first Dublin/Galway league final since Home final in 1967.

Dublin should win at least one of next three games as should Galway and that ought to be enough.

I suppose a Kerry relegation is too much to hope for ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Big melee v Kerry today

A worried Mayo man, they are like wasps in November!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

If Dublin beat Kerry on Saturday then the Galway-Monaghan match next week is practically a playoff for a place in the league final.

Add that to the Galway-Limerick hurling match being a promotion playoff and there should be a very good crowd at Pearse Stadium next weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

The second half performance in particular was fantastic into that wind, we had two great goal chances missed also and could have won by more.

Big melee v Kerry today

Great win for Galway today and not one sneaky weasel elbow thrown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭mjp

We sure make things hard for ourselves. Got wiped out of it in midfield in 2nd half again and don't see who we can bring into there that I'll strengthen us. Two black cards for heaney and Sean Andy seem puzzling as cameras didn't show anything. Know we have had to up intensity with step upto Division 1 but getting a poor disciplinary record with all the black and yellow cards building up. Would be worried that some of our backs could pick up a match suspension come business end of championship with accumulation of 3 black cards in a season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

No idea what the two black cards were for. Linesmans call.

Pulling from both sides at the kickouts was ugly.

Galway more composed, better organized, fitter and great scoring. It wouls have been robbery if we had snatched a draw.

We won an amount of ball around the middle but couldn't break ye down.

Not sure what the comment about a melee is about. Lots of lads milling around today but no punches thrown. Far from a melee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Green Peter

mjp wrote:
    We sure make things hard for ourselves. Got wiped out of it in midfield in 2nd half again and don't see who we can bring into there that I'll strengthen us. Two black cards for heaney and Sean Andy seem puzzling as cameras didn't show anything. Know we have had to up intensity with step upto Division 1 but getting a poor disciplinary record with all the black and yellow cards building up. Would be worried that some of our backs could pick up a match suspension come business end of championship with accumulation of 3 black cards in a season.

You are definitely a glass half empty person!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again but Galway football is on the way up and it’s a great time to be alive thank god.cheer up folks.we may not be pulling up trees just yet but small steps in the right direction.fair play to the lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

DDC1990 wrote: »

Galway more composed, better organized, fitter and great scoring. It wouls have been robbery if we had snatched a draw.

Not sure what the comment about a melee is about. Lots of lads milling around today but no punches thrown. Far from a melee.

Truly bizarre,up there with Derek O Mahony's red card in the Corofin game.

Here is one worried Mayo man,Galway were very impressive again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,478 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

DDC1990 wrote: »

On Radio Kerry after the game the sudio host asked Billy O' Shea about the melee.

Billy said that it was the other side of the field and he did not see when on isdide in it.

That's what I'm basing my post about a melee.

I heard there was a melee so that's what I posted on, Galway involved in another melee, who would have guessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I have no idea how Galway managed to get 2 players black carded and one yellow carded in the same phase of play. I couldn't see anything untoward on replay anyway. The only obvious foul was Geaney on Cooke and he didn't pick up any card for that. Was baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭Gael85

I have no idea how Galway managed to get 2 players black carded and one yellow carded in the same phase of play. I couldn't see anything untoward on replay anyway. The only obvious foul was Geaney on Cooke and he didn't pick up any card for that. Was baffling.

Was strange as referee gave a hop ball in that incident. Geaney should have been black carded for tripping Cooke

Galway get a free out. Then Kyne gets a yellow for something off the ball with Clifford. Then Sean Andy and Johnny Heaney get black cards for what can only be dissent. Strange indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭Gael85

Big melee v Kerry today

In fairness no major rows today. There was a lot more niggle in Kerry/Mayo.

Great win. Brilliant to best Kerry and have 4 wins. What back up is there in the full back line? Mulkerrin, anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

jam83 wrote: »
    Great win. Brilliant to best Kerry and have 4 wins. What back up is there in the full back line? Mulkerrin, anyone else?

Duane and Wynne came on there today. Liam silke has played corner back for coordinating.
    Evan Wynne was a sub today as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Galway get a free out. Then Kyne gets a yellow for something off the ball with Clifford. Then Sean Andy and Johnny Heaney get black cards for what can only be dissent. Strange indeed.

Was wondering if it was for dissent. But they were hardly complaining after he gave Galway a free!!

From looking at it all the Galway lads seem peeved by Kynes yellow. So I think it was him they were sticking up for. But ya two for dissent is not something we'll see in May or there won't be a player left on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LoveMeSexy

Big melee v Kerry today

1) You're really pushing the meaning of melee if the shouting match today counts as one.

2) Correlation does not equal causation
    Here's an example (because you're from Mayo); I bought an ice cream and won a raffle, I then didn't buy an ice cream and lost a raffle. An idiot might say that I didn't win the raffle because I didn't buy an ice cream

3) Cillian O'Connor didn't play for most of the Kerry Mayo game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

From looking at it all the Galway lads seem peeved by Kynes yellow. So I think it was him they were sticking up for. But ya two for dissent is not something we'll see in May or there won't be a player left on the pitch.

Dissent isn't publishable by black card. Only abuse of officials. Didn't look too abusive.

There was one incident at the kickout before the black cards which was a minute or two previous where Paul Geaney was tripped up trying to cover a free Galway man who ended up getting the ball. Perhaps that was one of the incidents. No idea who tripped him though.

Would be weird though considering how much pulling he was allowing at the kickouts especially from Kerry. Bizzare that he would give several frees for hands on the back but totally ignored jerseys being pulled till they are threadbare.

Kyne's yellow was for pulling Clifford off the ball.