Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Anyone have that saber draft setup from LIC? Or install any drafting recently. My yard is kind square to the side and behind the parlour so don't have much length for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

My water heater finally died yesterday so on the lookout for a new heater for instillation yesterday:rolleyes:

Anyone know the crowd who used advertise on Donedeal with gas water heaters supplied by cylinders rather than a tank by Bord Gas?

Or indeed any info at all about any of them at all. Looking at a 66gal stainless steel atm but continuous hot water for washing would be attractive too.

Probably have to install water softener as well so I reckon I won't be able to use the softened water for feeding calves, iirc?

Things moving a bit here now. Shed roofed and half the stub wall up.
    ETL3oak.jpg
    5eTiEB4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

My water heater finally died yesterday so on the lookout for a new heater for instillation yesterday:rolleyes:

Anyone know the crowd who used advertise on Donedeal with gas water heaters supplied by cylinders rather than a tank by Bord Gas?

Or indeed any info at all about any of them at all. Looking at a 66gal stainless steel atm but continuous hot water for washing would be attractive too.

Probably have to install water softener as well so I reckon I won't be able to use the softened water for feeding calves, iirc?

You won't need a water softener with a stainless heater.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

ETL3oak.jpg
    5eTiEB4.jpg
    When i looked first i didnt cop it was two pictures and my initial thoughts were that shed is crocked

K.G. wrote: »
    When i looked first i didnt cop it was two pictures and my initial thoughts were that shed is crocked
    I'll probably drive into it with the tractor the first day and straighten it:pac:

I did a double take myself too when I saw it first:)

You won't need a water softener with a stainless heater.
    We have very bad limescale here, free, I'll open the heater when it's taken out and show you. Probably a foot of lime in the base if it's anything like the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

ETL3oak.jpg
    5eTiEB4.jpg
    What height are you putting in stub wall, 18" or 2' above cow standing? And I presume they are 8" pillars, do you think this is a bit wide for a stub wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

ETL3oak.jpg
    5eTiEB4.jpg

Nice job! How many extra feeding spaces wil you get with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

We have very bad limescale here, free, I'll open the heater when it's taken out and show you. Probably a foot of lime in the base if it's anything like the last one.

Same here, and the stainless water heaters would only last about 2yrs, after spending 700e on 2 of them I went back to the normal immersion and changed the element every 6 months, only cost 40e. Eventually put in a water softener, got a 300l heater under the grand and that's been working grand 4yrs now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,404 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ours are our day and night with a week. They could be in for 2 weeks if this weather everyone is talking about comes so I'm just grazing as much as I can. Still have plenty of silage

Did you notice any milk yield increase when they went out fulltime?

There's a difference here in yield when they stay out from morning milking to evening milking as opposed to out for three hours during bad weather.
    Haven't been brave enough here to have them out at night yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Did you notice any milk yield increase when they went out fulltime?

There's a difference here in yield when they stay out from morning milking to evening milking as opposed to out for three hours during bad weather.
    Haven't been brave enough here to have them out at night yet.

whats your protein like since going out, hoping to go out sunday here, rocket fuel they called the grass in the comic this week.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,404 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

leg wax wrote: »
    whats your protein like since going out, hoping to go out sunday here, rocket fuel they called the grass in the comic this week.:confused:

3.44% MU 23.
    On 5 kgs 15% pr nut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭straight

Did you look into the dairy geyser. Hot water on demand. Runs on diesel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Left them out tonight, figure when's is dry enough they might aswell get through as much grass as possible cos if this snow comes they'll be back in and god knows when back out again, get some slurry out after them then too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,671 ✭✭✭✭Base price

straight wrote: »
    Any figures on its efficiency - btu's needed per litre of heated water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

ETL3oak.jpg
    5eTiEB4.jpg

Fine job, looks like you got yer man having a wee. You can do nothing now without someone taking a picture!!!

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    What height are you putting in stub wall, 18" or 2' above cow standing? And I presume they are 8" pillars, do you think this is a bit wide for a stub wall?
    Yeah, a bit wide alright but flush with the pillars so needs must. Went 18 inches high and will raise the outside by 4 inches too. I was only going 2 inches but the contractor said nearly every one he's done in the last year is raised 4 inches so I'll go with him on that I think.
    Nice job! How many extra feeding spaces wil you get with that?
    No extra feeding spaces at all, just replacing the spaces lost when taking out the stub wall to put down the pillars. The near two blocks will return to the cows, the next 3 for dry cattle and the last 3, the collecting yard and about 15 feet more outwards for the weanlings.
    straight wrote: »
    I gave a quick look on Donedeal today but I must get onto their websites tomorrow. But I'm caught for time too as it's needed for washing now. I priced a 44 gallon stainless steel heater from DeLaval and it's coming in at 1200 so I'll have to do a bit of searching and quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Waterboy.ie

Gas water heaters....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

alps wrote: »
    Waterboy.ie

Gas water heaters....

I’d à waterboy in the horse box for washing down horses. Same manufacturer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Just read mts forecast ,next week from Wednesday looking bleak .may stock up on a few essentials and check meal bins .my man with me for spring from Moldova tells me it’s currently -25 there atm which is very cold for time of year .no growth worth talking about either for next 10 days at least .second half March and early April gonna be some famine for grass .thank god ive a big bank of feed in yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Just read mts forecast ,next week from Wednesday looking bleak .may stock up on a few essentials and check meal bins .my man with me for spring from Moldova tells me it’s currently -25 there atm which is very cold for time of year .no growth worth talking about either for next 10 days at least .second half March and early April gonna be some famine for grass .thank god ive a big bank of feed in yard

The playbook re spring rotation planner, early fert and all the rest is going out the window it looks like, its gas the journal never even alluded to it this week still the same ole party line get fert out, cows out, grass is king and spring has landed, looking forward to what they ramble out next week, maybe hire in a snowplough to clear of fields and get those cows out haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

jaymla627 wrote: »
    The playbook re spring rotation planner, early fert and all the rest is going out the window it looks like, its gas the journal never even alluded to it this week still the same ole party line get fert out, cows out, grass is king and spring has landed, looking forward to what they ramble out next week, maybe hire in a snowplough to clear of fields and get those cows out haha

Cows out the last few weeks if lads were able to would have saved feed for this type of period

jaymla627 wrote: »

Still crucial to get 35/40% grazed by March 1 then start rationing grass .well worth effort getting some grass in when u can spring plan def needs adjusting but better do it sooner than later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Mooooo wrote: »
    Cows out the last few weeks if lads were able to would have saved feed for this type of period

Agreed fully, this is a 1 in 5yr extreme, I have the fodder for the cows for another 6wks but only about 20 days full time for milkers, that's grand with me, soya hulls or some simular nut are a far more cost effective way of filling the hole rather than making far too much milker silage and rolling it over and over from one yr to next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Filled the meal bin this morning here and will get a few other things sorted today for worst case scenario. It's going to be bloody cold if nothing else at least but it's better than rain I suppose.
    Cows grazing here full time and it's saved a lot if silage which I'll probably be feeding by this time next week. Glad I have the urea out too.

Filled the meal bin this morning here and will get a few other things sorted today for worst case scenario. It's going to be bloody cold if nothing else at least but it's better than rain I suppose.
    Cows grazing here full time and it's saved a lot if silage which I'll probably be feeding by this time next week. Glad I have the urea out too.

Glad gave it out here too place covered Thursday /Friday will grow nothing for next 10 days tho .inly reason I went was to get job out of way ,at least it won’t be washed away anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

mahoney_j wrote:

Is that lads name start with a g, he's slow but good at milkings. He milked a few of my auld lads neighbours cows v reliable.

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Is that lads name start with a g, he's slow but good at milkings. He milked a few of my auld lads neighbours cows v reliable.

That’s him Kev ,reliable as you’ll get and has a brain unlike some .always on time or well before it and only needs showing how to do something once .fierce lucky to have him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Let cows out there now