Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

RedPeppers wrote: »
    Your going well. Did I not see you say cows started calving few weeks ago?

We had 3 or 4 in early Feb.
    If you know me perhaps you'd identify yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

You posted it on here few weeks back that 7 had calved in couple of hours thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

If you want to really feel good for the day, ring Mairead in Agrinet support, even if you don't have a problem..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

We'll stay wit you till the shed is finished, they said.
    4HHOcud.jpg
    Not too keen on the finish of the sheeting tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

dar31 wrote: »
    Serious run of heifers here as well.
    73% hfs so far.
    Tide will have to turn at some stage though.
    ☹☹☹

were on 27% heifers. half calved, all friesian. ill be getting rid of two stock bulls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

whelan2 wrote: »
    Can't answer your question but ai man was here today. He said alot of the big lads around here have had a desperate run of bulls this year. I have had a great run of heifers but will hold on to them as I am increasing numbers
    Jinxed myself. 4 fr bulls today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Jinxed myself. 4 fr bulls today

Ahhh karma

She's a bitch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,405 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

4HHOcud.jpg

It's one job I wouldn't like to be doing is sheeting a shed and a breeze blowing.
    I wouldn't do it myself and any lads working here on sheds wouldn't do it either.
    If it's any consolation today looks to be the windiest day for a few days.

It's one job I wouldn't like to be doing is sheeting a shed and a breeze blowing.
    I wouldn't do it myself and any lads working here on sheds wouldn't do it either.

Agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Fcuking rain

Don't mind me, I'm just pi$$ed off the whole thing is 10 weeks late.

Well, that and the fact they were sheeting another shed a few miles away:(

Ah now that's a different story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,405 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ah that was only side sheeting. ;)

It'll be a fine job when it's done. It should give a bit of shelter to the milking parlour.

Tell me though by covering the tank, will that have to be called slurry instead of soiled water? This is assuming that tank only does the collecting yard.

Edit: I've a slatted tank here just for the parlour and I've been told if I roof it, it could be classified as slurry.

Ah that was only side sheeting. ;)

It'll be a fine job when it's done. It should give a bit of shelter to the milking parlour.

Tell me though by covering the tank, will that have to be called slurry instead of soiled water? This is assuming that tank only does the collecting yard.
    The tank is the whole length of the shed, about 110ft long and the collecting yard is about 45ft+15ft for the tank and all that was 'collecting' 4ft of water every winter so I will have increased storage by about 15% just by covering the tank and yard.

I would always treat anything in the tank as slurry as it's collecting the cubicle slurry as well so I could never have moved it into the soiled water category. And derogation rules now would have forced me into doing it to minimise slurry spreading volumes over the year sooner rather than later.

Afaik a collecting yard for milking can be soiled water but if same yard is used for buffer feeding etc it will be slurry as cows will be in there longer

I see on Twitter there, I think twas the aurivo farm programme account, can't quite remember as was a few days ago, but they were saying about on off grazing letting the cows out hungry to get the grass in etc but when I totted up the hours it came to 7 out of 24 hours with no feed, not including milking time either. Thought it was a bit extreme. Now maybe because I have autumn calvers which would be at peak appetite I wouldn't see as much grass left in the field but those of ye managing to get the cows out would ye leave the cows without feed that long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

The tank is the whole length of the shed, about 110ft long and the collecting yard is about 45ft+15ft for the tank and all that was 'collecting' 4ft of water every winter so I will have increased storage by about 15% just by covering the tank and yard.

I would always treat anything in the tank as slurry as it's collecting the cubicle slurry as well so I could never have moved it into the soiled water category. And derogation rules now would have forced me into doing it to minimise slurry spreading volumes over the year sooner rather than later.

Will you say to the lads when they go sheeting... That you want them to do a better job of roofing your shed than they did roofing ours......!! Would like to see to see There response......!!

I'll drag it into the conversation, just for the laughs :D

I was up on the roof this morning trying to divert the water from the downpipes running into the tanks. It's not like it's the middle of Summer with no water but they head off for 4 or 5 days with the tank filling with every shower.

I could say a lot more but the only think I know at this stage is they won't enter my yard again. The boss won't have a business to come back to if he doesn't come back soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,671 ✭✭✭✭Base price

4HHOcud.jpg
    Neighbours son is getting a house built near us. The roofing guys were putting on the roof tiles/slates last week during the snow and sleet. My heart went out to them when I saw them working in such bad conditions.

May calvers going on maternity leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Small price to get access to 7 dry acres!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Mooooo wrote: »

The M is a very good idea, does it stay on for long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dried off the last of my spring calvers this morning. Calving end of April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Dried off the last of my spring calvers this morning. Calving end of April.

Timmaay wrote: »
    The M is a very good idea, does it stay on for long?

That particular one only lasts a week or so depending on the cow, there is another brand that would last 2 months cant think of it at the min. I like the one that comes off easy if treating milking cows as no confusion 2 weeks later with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

They'll be mud fat by the time they get around to calving. I'd give them their P45 if I were you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    They'll be mud fat by the time they get around to calving. I'd give them their P45 if I were you.

They will be fine it’s all down to good management in dry period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Anyone order the moocall heat sensor, thinking of one for heifers a bit away, had a bull with them last year but want to start ai them as want to give fr straws, don't want to buy a bull for them as there's only going to be 10-15 of them

Wildsurfer wrote: »

They'll be grand, silage only mid 60s dmd, I'm inclined to feed them while they milk and and just silage when dry., at least get a direct return for the meal then. In calf to aa stock bull who's been here a few years now so know what to expect with calves. Can't afford to let anything go this year that will milk as lost 22 to tb last year

simx wrote: »
    Anyone order the moocall heat sensor, thinking of one for heifers a bit away, had a bull with them last year but want to start ai them as want to give fr straws, don't want to buy a bull for them as there's only going to be 10-15 of them

Have you a teaser and chinball you could Use? Or you could synchronise them and keep the paint topped up, at least then they would be in heat the same time