Have you ever had an unwanted sexual experience? Mod warning in op - updated 6/3/18

Jesus this has turned into some clusterfcuk of a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Omackeral wrote: »
    Jesus this has turned into some clusterfcuk of a thread.

Considering the revelations early on, it was only ever going one way. I won't be surprised if the thread is locked if it continues to spiral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Who's calling for any heads though? I saw a few "that's a disgrace, shame on boards" and "ever tempted to out him?" posts, followed by a "no" from Whoopsie - does that really warrant an ongoing spiel about with-hunts and mob rule?

Honestly Wibbs you've been singing this tune for many a year now and will weigh in with the same exhaustive rhetoric at any opportunity where the subject of sexual assault or rape or #metoo crops up. I enjoy your posts generally and you're very insightful on many matters but there comes a point where it's just not only inappropriately placed, likely to derail the subject matter but just downright offensive to the people recalling deeply traumatic events only to be told there's three sides to every argument and because of the so-called "culture of victimhood" you might in fact be wrong. Or would do well enough to keep a low profile about it all. We're talking about THE most underreported and under-convicted crime here, what you're doing is quite detrimental and I find it hard to maintain respect for you as a poster as you've become something of a Groundhog Day fallacy with it.

As to the question of the thread. Yes I've had unwanted sexual experiences, from stupid gropes on nights out to people I was not remotely interested in lobbing the gob to more physically intimidating acts where I genuinely feared for my safety and did the maths of "is it better to put up and shut up or try to escape and run the risk of things getting quite dangerous here?" in my head that many of us will be familiar with. From lads I hooked up with that suddenly were a lot more forceful and aggressive when we were in the act despite my protest and obvious discomfort, but which I'd just clock down to "bad sex with the wrong people" that again most of us will be familiar with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

B0jangles wrote: »
    Neither she, nor any other person describing their own experiences needs to know whether or not you believe them
    but they need you to champion them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=106192862&postcount=228

Whether you intended to or not, you felt it was necessary to offer your opinion on whether or not Anna's post was credible. Neither she, nor any other person describing their own experiences needs to know whether or not you believe them

To be fair to wibbs I really don't think he was doing that, or at least I personally didn't interpret it that way.
    TBH I don't give two hoots who believes me and who doesn't. Like why would I even make that story up? It's not even juicy :D
    I know by the tone of a few of the responses that they were deriding in tone but I couldn't give two fcuks, I wasn't looking for approval! Just sharing me sceal.
    For what it's worth I've respected wibbs' contributions to this thread as much as I have everyone else's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    How dare he talk with a level head and sense in a thread where somebody can get thanks by demanding somebodies life is ruined when they haven’t all the facts.

we have a post from a witness that confirmed what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Zulu wrote: »
    but they need you to champion them?

Is this some kind of meta thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Ha! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I think we really need to consider this. You cannot be suggesting that posts on an anonymous platform is sufficient evidence even if those posting are known to some others here?

I don't doubt Whoops or Pat but I don't know them in real life and so I can hear their stories here and discuss them but would not be taking action purely on the basis of those posts alone.

Say it was less popular posters who made and seconded the accusation, should the same course of action be taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Hows about we all stfu and give this thread get back to its original purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I don't know if this is the place, but I have this memory when I was in playschool (I was about 4) and the woman who ran it - her husband was a bit of a prick.

two moments - nothing else.

* 1 her husband shouting at me cos I was crying - saying "Would your older brother XXXXX be crying would he????" - getting down into my face and shouting
    this ...
    * 2 Been thrown onto the bed with my pants around my ankles.

I've always remembered this - never told anyone, and don't feel it's affected my relationships much - I know this sounds naive maybe, but I really think thats all that happened.

Dunno, don't wanna dig too deep, I'm 39 now.

If people aren't put off, it would be good if the thread could continue to be about peoples experiences as they lived them. I'm sure there are many who would welcome the opportunity to articulate something that may have troubled them for some time, but if they feel they may be called upon to defend their or justify their actions they would likely be deterred from posting at all. It would be great if we could just let them offload their burdens.

It would be good to let people post for the sake of it and leave the analysis aside as so many are obviously traumatized or worried about being judged at fault after suffering any kind of unwanted experience. Not everything has to be picked apart or examined, sometimes it's good to let people just say what's on their mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

kylith wrote: »
    An attitude which isn’t helped by the first couple of replies in this thread; ostensibly men claiming that there is no such thing as unwanted sexual contact for men. Attitudes like that lead to men who have been molested and feel negatively about it thinking that there’s something wronb with them because ‘men’ should always be up for it

I went back and read the first few posts in the thread just to be sure, and to try and see where you were coming from, but I think you may have taken those posts up wrong. The way I read the posts was those men saying that for them, there was no such thing as a woman sexually assaulting them. I don't think they intended for their posts to be extrapolated out as a representative opinion of how all men are supposed to think or feel about the issue.

I also think your conclusion is a bit simplistic if I'm being honest, and doesn't take account of the fact that if someone, regardless of their sex, doesn't imagine or doesn't feel they were sexually assaulted, or doesn't feel traumatised by having been sexually assaulted, then that too provides another perspective of an experience from their point of view that again I don't think is intended to be extrapolated out to anyone else, but is a legitimate perspective of their experience.

I don't think that the attitude you're describing actually has the effect you imagine it does. I think it's a lot more complex than that tbh. I think it has a lot more to do with the shame of the act itself, and the knowledge that they aren't invulnerable.

I think men need to stop excusing women hitting or assaulting them as it not being a big deal. It enables and excuses women to keep doing it. I am a firm believer of hitting a woman back if she hits you first. If she wants to act like billy big balls then she can’t be surprised when people treat her like billy big Balls

I'm only speaking for myself, but I just wouldn't ever be able to see me being hit by a woman as a big deal. I don't care what a woman thinks of herself if she thinks she's billy bigballs, it's not about her. It's about whether or not I feel threatened by being hit by a woman, and I can't pretend to feel something I don't, so I wouldn't see it as a big deal. I don't see that as enabling or excusing a woman if it's something she was going to do anyway, and I wouldn't see it as teaching her a lesson or that I have bigger balls because I have the knowledge that I'd be easily able to give her a receipt as Omackerel says* :D

*I don't like the idea, but I love that phrase :pac:

Candie wrote: »
    It would be good to let people post for the sake of it and leave the analysis aside as so many are obviously traumatized or worried about being judged at fault after suffering any kind of unwanted experience. Not everything has to be picked apart or examined, sometimes it's good to let people just say what's on their mind.

But we need people to multi-quote like fcuk so we know they're smarter and more informed than we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Not really. We have an anonymous post on an Internet forum that something happened. We weren’t told what exactly happened. I’m not disputing something happened.
    He could have thought they were jokey friends and it’d all be funny and it blew all out of proportion which you can kinda say look lad have a word with yourself or he could have been some freak secretly filming someone for **** material which is indefensible.
    We haven’t been told.

Some of the mods take these unpaid jobs very serious which isn’t my thing but it makes them happy and I’m sure a lot of people will be able to name him in real life if they want.
    I don’t know either party but Internet mobs are becoming a bit of a thing.

I was shocked there was so many gropers out there and am in no way defending them.

Now wibbs who I don’t know either is being attacked by people who seem to think they are champions of the Internet and who believe if a person is uncomfortable it means they should be comforted by the angry Internet knight who will demand the blood of their attacker.

People are using jokes people made about one girls situation to show that they are being accused of telling lies. They are jokes about the situation.
    Somebody will now quote my post and say “there are no jokes about sexual assault” and 3 people will thank it and they will feel good until another chance to Jeremy Kyle the thread comes up.

Maybe the jokes were misplaced but they were in good intention.

Thank you for reading my take on the thread.

I think we really need to consider this. You cannot be suggesting that posts on an anonymous platform is sufficient evidence even if those posting are known to some others here?

Sufficient evidence that it happened as described? Yes i do. I've been around here a lot longer than my join date suggests. If those two say something happened i have no reason to believe they are being anything less than truthful.

I don't doubt Whoops or Pat but I don't know them in real life and so I can hear their stories here and discuss them but would not be taking action purely on the basis of those posts alone.

Say it was less popular posters who made and seconded the accusation, should the same course of action be taken?

no action has been taken. no action will be taken.

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    Not really. We have an anonymous post on an Internet forum that something happened. We weren’t told what exactly happened. I’m not disputing something happened.
    He could have thought they were jokey friends and it’d all be funny and it blew all out of proportion which you can kinda say look lad have a word with yourself or he could have been some freak secretly filming someone for **** material which is indefensible.
    We haven’t been told.

We were told what happened. Did you not read it?
    This is not an internet mob. These people have met in real life.

But we need people to multi-quote like fcuk so we know they're smarter and more informed than we are.

Like a change of weather tells the birds to migrate, so a multi-quote marathon is my signal to unfollow. It's no fun for anyone to read. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭georgina toadbum

An ex-colleague of mine attempted to motorboat me at a Christmas party. I smashed a glass over his head. I was called to HR the following day and given an official warning. I asked would he be given one and I told it was none of my concern. He wasn't. Took 6 weeks sick leave and handed in my notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

It's mad how nobody is questioning any other stories except for the one where someone people may know, or boards itself, may be implicated. Like everything else is grand, but as soon as it gets close to home it's all "I think you'll find that the Iranians understood mob mentality better than most..."

An ex-colleague of mine attempted to motorboat me at a Christmas party. I smashed a glass over his head. I was called to HR the following day and given an official warning. I asked would he be given one and I told it was none of my concern. He wasn't. Took 6 weeks sick leave and handed in my notice.

What a creepy b*stard. God forgive me but imagine that went to court and you were on the stand and said ''Judge, he then proceeded to motorboat me.'' And the Judge is all like motorboat you? Sounds like a sitcom.

Hope you moved on to a better workplace with better people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,345 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Smashing a glass over someones head, in anything other than a life threatening situation is an extreme over reaction and tbh I'm shocked that an assault of that level was met with a HR reprimand rather than dismissal for gross misconduct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭nikkibikki

* 1 her husband shouting at me cos I was crying - saying "Would your older brother XXXXX be crying would he????" - getting down into my face and shouting this ... * 2 Been thrown onto the bed with my pants around my ankles.

Please tell me this person is no longer working or around children......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭georgina toadbum

banie01 wrote: »
    Smashing a glass over someones head, in anything other than a life threatening situation is an extreme over reaction and tbh I'm shocked that an assault of that level was met with a HR reprimand rather than dismissal for gross misconduct.

I had a drink in each hand. I panicked and used one of them to try and get him away.

What do you think I should have done instead?

But sticking his head in my chest and motorboating me is acceptable, yeh? No gross misconduct there, eh?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Good to know I didn't have to come out and state it directly.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Well, it might make him think twice the next time he decides to stick his perverted head where it's not wanted.
    I say touché!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

Does getting a boner in class and then getting asked to go up to the blackboard count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭secondrowgal

And this, friends, is why people don't report sexual assault! How dare she retaliate when someone sticks their head between her breasts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,066 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

I was going to, but fcuk it, I wont bother.
    The place is full of victims, victim blamers, the outraged, and the pi$$takers,.

NEXT ...............
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I had a drink in each hand. I panicked and used one of them to try and get him away.

What do you think I should have done instead?
    Understandable reaction GT. Sure, pouring them over his head would be the better thing upon mature recollection, but in the moment I'd have likely done similar TBH.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.