Have you ever had an unwanted sexual experience? Mod warning in op - updated 6/3/18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Another time I was at a boards beers, a fellow mod was filming my legs. When caught, he informed me that I wasn't to worry, that he wouldn't post it in After hours and it was only for him. He was removed by security. There had been a few witnesses. Absolute creep of the highest order. Sickened that he still posts here from his promoted position. Scumbag.

Can you narrow it down? There are just too many potential suspects!

wexie wrote: »
    I wonder, if a young waiter punched some aul one in the face for groping him would he get the same kind of support his female colleagues might get??

Do you really wonder that or are you saying that facetiously? I think we all know that he'd probably be dealt with a lot more severely than if a girl did the same. Is it right? Is it wrong? All I'm saying is he'd more likely receive a kicking (from punters) and a firing (from the boss) than a girl would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I'm actually shocked by some of the stories here. It's really changing my views.

I'm no saint, no one is, but some of the behaviour described here is utterly reprehensible. It is even more unsettling when it has involved a young person, it's really sinister.

Why the f#ck do people do this and seek to violate people like that? Any psychologists or sociologists on here that could comment? It is just unreal, seriously boils your blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭ibstar

Very tempted, yes.

However I decided it against it because it had been a beers that boards.ie had invited mods to, the company ran it themselves rather than your regular public meetup. I informed boards HO of the incident (there were witnesses remember) and a few weeks later he was promoted to Cmod, so I figured it was more likely that I'd get banned if I named him and someone that pathetic isn't worth getting banned for :)

you fear being banned for outing a creep?
    This is just an online forum. You can't hold somebody like that above you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Yep, had a few. I suspect most posters male or female who have worked as teenagers in pubs and clubs or have gone to nightclubs would have some. Thankfully most of mine while genuinely unpleasant were not on the scale of what others here have experienced. One truly disgusting one that’s more personal.

Re one posters comment on double standards. While I get the physical element I think there’s also a social side. Oddly I find men far more willing to tell their friends to stop being a **** when they think they’re doing it. Imho there’s often (not always) an ‘a sure he’d be up for it’ element if roles are reversed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

tritium wrote: »

Re one posters comment on double standards. While I get the physical element I think there’s also a social side. Oddly I find men far more willing to tell their friends to stop being a **** when they think they’re doing it. Imho there’s often (not always) an ‘a sure he’d be up for it’ element if roles are reversed.

An attitude which isn’t helped by the first couple of replies in this thread; ostensibly men claiming that there is no such thing as unwanted sexual contact for men. Attitudes like that lead to men who have been molested and feel negatively about it thinking that there’s something wronb with them because ‘men’ should always be up for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I think men need to stop excusing women hitting or assaulting them as it not being a big deal. It enables and excuses women to keep doing it. I am a firm believer of hitting a woman back if she hits you first. If she wants to act like billy big balls then she can’t be surprised when people treat her like billy big Balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I think men need to stop excusing women hitting or assaulting them as it not being a big deal. It enables and excuses women to keep doing it. I am a firm believer of hitting a woman back if she hits you first. If she wants to act like billy big balls then she can’t be surprised when people treat her like billy big Balls

While I wholly agree in principle, it would usually be more trouble than it's worth. You retaliate in any physical way towards a woman in some of these scenarios and you could be in worse trouble, whether from random white knight males, boyfriends or door staff that might not have seen the original incident and would (probably) understandably side with the female.

Not saying it's right to excuse the groping and what not, but for men, there usually won't be the physical intimidation aspect so it's often easier to just walk away or ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Omackeral wrote: »
    Do you really wonder that or are you saying that facetiously? I think we all know that he'd probably be dealt with a lot more severely than if a girl did the same. Is it right? Is it wrong? All I'm saying is he'd more likely receive a kicking (from punters) and a firing (from the boss) than a girl would.

Oh absolutely, I just find it odd the double standard that everybody (including myself) somehow seems to just accept.

I agree on the whole physical part of it insofar that most men would be more of a threat to most women than vice versa.

I dunno, it's a pretty complicated and emotionally laden subject at the moment I guess.

I do have to say I'm glad to see more people thinking that acting like an inappropriate dickhead doesn't necessarily constitute sexual assault though.

Ah yes, the equal rights deserves equal lefts argument. I know some don't agree with that but I wouldn't lose any sleep if I saw a woman hit a man as hard as she could and got a receipt for it. She might think twice next time.

Basically, nobody hit anybody. Nobody touch anybody inappropriately and then we won't need these arguments. In short, keep yo' filthy paws to yourself errrbody!

kylith wrote: »
    An attitude which isn’t helped by the first couple of replies in this thread; ostensibly men claiming that there is no such thing as unwanted sexual contact for men. Attitudes like that lead to men who have been molested and feel negatively about it thinking that there’s something wronb with them because ‘men’ should always be up for it

I agree. Sadly there’s a social conditioning thing going on. It’s particularly sad when you see (often men) doing the “,niiiccceee” crap when this comes up not because they actually believe it but because they think that’s what expected of them. My comment was more about groups of women not calling each other out when they see this but there’s likely a similar dynamic going on, with a bit of “women can’t/don’t do this” to boot

I’m not in the “hit her (or him) back camp” but I am in the hold them accountable camp, whether that’s having them removed from a venue or going a legal route.

The willingness of some of those channels to actually act is a different conversation. I’ve seen very varied responses from bouncers for example. I don’t honestly know if women have the same experience when they complain.

Not saying it's right to excuse the groping and what not, but for men, there usually won't be the physical intimidation aspect so it's often easier to just walk away or ignore it.

Not a sexual assault but a physical assault happened to be before. I couldn't simply walk away as this woman was reigning punches down on me. She had rings on and by the time the second one hit it bloody hurt. When the second one landed I grabbed her by the arms and told her that if she threw one more punch, she could expect one back. She didn't.

Still double standards from me though because if it was a fella that hit me, I'd have no issues going back at him right off the bat. I think this one, and maybe others, know this and play on it.

Having said all that, I wouldn't feel "comfortable", for lack of a better word, landing a solid right hand onto the jaw of a girl. It's a horrible grey area for me personally, but how much can you take it?

All in all, I dunno if I could ever strike a woman myself (haven't been forced to) but at the same time I don't feel an ounce of sympathy for the ones that do get a well deserved wallop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

I had a mild one when I was around 19 at college this girl slightly became obsessed with me.
    She basically sat on me and unbuttoned my shirt and then proceed to get to other areas. I pushed her off tough then.
    She was obsessed with me. Never stopped talking about me to people. People taught we were going out. Eventually tough she blocked me on social media because I was trolling her or something. She then moved onto a guy that was nearly twice her age.
    Have you ever had an unwanted sexual experience?

Have you posted your story to the meetoo thing?. Off with ya to the Gardai if a woman raped you. No time like the present.

I have never ever ever been in a physical altercation in my life (except when I put a garden spade through my brothers car window, dunno if that counts as it didn’t hit him) but if I saw a woman laying into a guy I knew or a guy clearly not going to defend himself I’d have no issue sticking my nose in. It’s horrible watching a person attacking another person who just can’t or won’t defend themselves

If I saw a woman laying into a guy I knew or a guy clearly not going to defend himself I’d have no issue sticking my nose in. It’s horrible watching a person attacking another person who just can’t or won’t defend themselves

I'd be careful with that stuff. I've seen couples fighting and passers-by trying to interject or make peace only for BOTH of those having the lover's tiff to turn around and bash the peacekeeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I have never ever ever been in a physical altercation in my life (except when I put a garden spade through my brothers car window, dunno if that counts as it didn’t hit him) but if I saw a woman laying into a guy I knew or a guy clearly not going to defend himself I’d have no issue sticking my nose in. It’s horrible watching a person attacking another person who just can’t or won’t defend themselves

Unfortunately, I saw a guy step in to defend a girl by grabbing the guy verbally abusing her in a head lock and she turned on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

leggo wrote: »
    I’ve seen a bunch of posts saying that it’s messed up that, with witnesses, boards ignored it and promoted him (and it is messed up)
    leggo wrote: »
    There does deserve to be questions asked about boards based on what she's claimed and the dearth of silence on their behalf on the matter.

Noticeable that I don't see any posts stating what should be an obvious possibility, that "Boards" spoke to all the witnesses and found that there was nothing to act upon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Unfortunately, I saw a guy step in to defend a girl by grabbing the guy verbally abusing her in a head lock and she turned on him.

Thats ridiculous to physically assault a stranger who's verbally assaulting somebody else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

TomSweeney wrote: »
    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

I wonder about this story .... I reallllly do...

There is no question of this being made up. I saw the chap with his phone in his hand. He refused to delete the video that he had just taken and he refused to hand up his phone. He upset Whoops and others and he was promptly ejected by security. It was an absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Noticeable that I don't see any posts stating what should be an obvious possibility, that "Boards" spoke to all the witnesses and found that there was nothing to act upon?

And that would’ve been a prudent thing for a representative of boards to have posted in the first 17 pages of this thread. You can even do it in a professional manner that doesn’t lay into or question the accuser, something like, “We conducted an investigation into accusations of improper conduct at an official boards.ie event regarding a high ranking boards.ie official and found insufficient evidence to proceed with any disciplinary action. This is a matter we take seriously and will act upon with full force should any such evidence come to light.”

If they did indeed do as much, the truth would shine through or at least leave a question mark over the damaging accusations that’d gradually go away in time. Like they’ve definitely seen it, there’s definitely been discussion about this in HQ. So what do we have instead? Silence. Knowing that silence makes them look bad, having the likes of me point out that silence is damning on their own website. So what is the public left to conclude from this if not addressed? That admitting the truth is a worse consequence than that.

I've had a few unwanted experiences, the first when I was a young child. Most are quite minor and don't constitute a crime but are intimidating nonetheless. There are two particular incidences that I can't even think about without a surge of anxiety that leaves me shaking.

I'm small, and I think one of the issues that comes with that is that while most people may feel somewhat protective towards the more petite, it can also attract the sort of person who thinks someone small is less able to fight back or may be easier to bully.

In other words, I probably look like an easy target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Would you cop on to yourself there.
    You can defend yourself of course, but all you need to do is push her away or something like that, you can't go boxing women.

Would you be so quick to start swinging digs if it was some 6 foot 6 ex Russian military type, manning the door of a dodgy pub somewhere? Cos if the answer is no, then throwing them at some woman is just being a bully, even if she hit you first!

There's nothing brave or even self respectful about taking on a fight you can't possibly loose!

You can defend yourself of course, but all you need to do is push her away or something like that, you can't go boxing women.

Would you be so quick to start swinging digs if it was some 6 foot 6 ex Russian military type, manning the door of a dodgy pub somewhere? Cos if the answer is no, then throwing them at some woman is just being a bully, even if she hit you first!

There's nothing brave or even self respectful about taking on a fight you can't possibly loose!
    I disagree. As a woman if I punch a man, (I wouldn’t because I’m not a knacker) I would do so expecting to be punched back. I don’t punch people because I don’t want to be punched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Very tempted, yes.

However I decided it against it because it had been a beers that boards.ie had invited mods to, the company ran it themselves rather than your regular public meetup. I informed boards HO of the incident (there were witnesses remember) and a few weeks later he was promoted to Cmod, so I figured it was more likely that I'd get banned if I named him and someone that pathetic isn't worth getting banned for :)
    Fúcking hell - sure a Boards ban in those circumstances (or, well - even in general) is nothing to be worried about - to the point of not saying something openly.

It's kind of bizarre that HQ knew about that (witnesses and all - mods even), yet still promoted the guy - makes me wonder if it was something people didn't want to touch, or whether there's actual rot extending through part of the sites leadership...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I have been subject to an unwelcome sexual experience, but I don't think I would go into it here because all I would get in return is comments about how it was actually all my fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Omackeral wrote: »
    Not a sexual assault but a physical assault happened to be before. I couldn't simply walk away as this woman was reigning punches down on me. She had rings on and by the time the second one hit it bloody hurt. When the second one landed I grabbed her by the arms and told her that if she threw one more punch, she could expect one back. She didn't.

Still double standards from me though because if it was a fella that hit me, I'd have no issues going back at him right off the bat. I think this one, and maybe others, know this and play on it.

Having said all that, I wouldn't feel "comfortable", for lack of a better word, landing a solid right hand onto the jaw of a girl. It's a horrible grey area for me personally, but how much can you take it?

All in all, I dunno if I could ever strike a woman myself (haven't been forced to) but at the same time I don't feel an ounce of sympathy for the ones that do get a well deserved wallop.

To be fair, that's a different scenario completely. I was talking about hypothetically confronting somebody that gropes you, not somebody that launches an attack on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I don't know, double standards on my part and social conditioning I guess but I wouldn't be too impressed with a guy who gave a girl a full on punch, even if she hit him first. Of course defend yourself and restrain the other person if possible and don't just take it but in general men are a lot stronger than women and the retaliation punch is more likely to do damage. Of course women or men shouldn't be hitting each other regardless. If I saw a man punch a man and the other retaliated with a punch then I would think it was deserved. I know that's hypocritical but a man punching a woman just doesn't sit well with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

wakka12 wrote:
    Thats ridiculous to physically assault a stranger who's verbally assaulting somebody else

Not in this case, in my view. Those of us there thought him assaulting her was next with the speed it escalated and his demeanor.

The headlock was only to remove him from the situation.

You're a bully even if she hit you first?

What if you're on a bus, say the Nitelink, and someone decides to box the head off you and you can't get out of there. You just sit there and take it do you? What if there's more than one of them? Ah sure let them off. That'll teach them not to do it to other people won't it.

Dangerous sh*te talk.