Have you ever had an unwanted sexual experience? Mod warning in op - updated 6/3/18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I've had plenty of men "try it on" that I had zero interest in but only two experiences stand out as bad.

One, where I was in a bar in Galway and a guy put his hand up my skirt and grabbed me. I instinctively punched him in side of the head. He seemed shocked I hadn't enjoyed it.

Another time I was at a boards beers, a fellow mod was filming my legs. When caught, he informed me that I wasn't to worry, that he wouldn't post it in After hours and it was only for him. He was removed by security. There had been a few witnesses. Absolute creep of the highest order. Sickened that he still posts here from his promoted position. Scumbag.

Frickin 'ell whoops that's awful. You used to be a mod, one of the more popular(level headed) ones. Surely you made friends with some admins over the years that can get rid of the f*ckin weirdo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

I’m not one to start burning pitchforks.
    Are we saying you caught him secretly filming you are are we saying he was filming an event and he pointed the camera at you legs like in comedy films and stuff.
    While neither are cool one might have just been a misjudged joke.
    I’m not saying what’s what here but abit of context is needed before we start a hashtag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    ... and he pointed the camera at you legs like in comedy films and stuff.

What? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Not surprised Whoops considering the pejorative language they allow on boards.

I was with a guy once. He wanted to top, I hadn’t bottomed before, I let him and I regret it, I felt so pressured into it

I’m not one to start burning pitchforks.
    Are we saying you caught him secretly filming you are are we saying he was filming an event and he pointed the camera at you legs like in comedy films and stuff.
    While neither are cool one might have just been a misjudged joke.
    I’m not saying what’s what here but abit of context is needed before we start a hashtag.
    Secretly filming anyone is NEVER OK

What? :confused:

Ever see a home movie in a comedy film and the camera pans to a girls arse then back to the event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I got a little too excited after I scratched my starfish...

Ever see a home movie in a comedy film and the camera pans to a girls arse then back to the event?

No!!!

Try_harder wrote: »

Yeah but again it’s the difference between being a raging pervert and being an idiot thinking he was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

No, but doesn't sound like my kind of movie. And not sure how that would have been any better.

I guess I don’t get as upset about things as you.
    We probably have the same idea of right and wrong but you suddenly seem very militant.

Yeah but again it’s the difference between being a raging pervert and being an idiot thinking he was funny.

Not sure that would hold up in court

The judge would consider it in sentencing if you want to keep this up.

There is generally no expectation of privacy in a public place, though there are exceptions to this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 125 ✭✭Koala Sunshine

Is it illegal for an adult to ask a 17 year old to have sex given 17 is the age of consent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

A few actually...

One was when a mate of mine, half trying to give misguided help after I'd broken up with a girl and half winding me up, got into my old MSN account and 'chatted up' a girl I was going down to work on a festival with under my name. She started texting me weird after that and I had no idea why, until we went down and she started feeding me drink while insisting she put my tent up (I was new to the camping lark and she said she was a pro). This drink included one mystery concoction with who knows what, but sure when at a festival you don't ask too many questions. Long story short, I woke up with her stripping me and messing around. I was half conscious so I kinda went along with it before coming to and leaving the tent. I called my mate and he broke down laughing on the phone and confessed all. Now, to be fair, I know it sounds awful on all parties but I saw it as a pretty funny prank at the time. He meant well and couldn't have predicted where it would go. I actually felt a bit bad for the girl after she got the cold shoulder for the weekend, but in fairness she'd half sexually assaulted me regardless of whether she thought I was interested to begin with!

Another was in an old job. The security manager noticed that one girl I just saw as friendly used to spot when I'd take my break, immediately take hers and follow me out to have a smoke, and gave me a heads up. So, not being interested, I started trying to gently drop hints to pre-empt any move that was going to be made and spare blushes. One landed too well and she flat out said, "Oh, I was going to ask you out..." I politely declined and she backed off, until a work night out. Another girl and I had always had a flirty thing going on, but I asked her out over text myself a few weeks before this night and she shocked me by turning me down (later I'd find out it was because she was dating a manager - it was a young workplace, everyone was riding). Drunk in the nightclub, she began dancing and coming onto me then asked if I wanted to leave. I was slow on the uptake and didn't realise what she was saying, so I said I was grand dancing away and she stormed off in a huff. Then the original girl came over to me and said she was having a party back at hers, the other girl was going too and asked if I'd be there. I foolishly went along to find it was just me, her, one of her mates from the job and a random lad. She began pouring drinks for me (I hadn't learned) until I stumbled off to the bathroom. She promptly followed me in, began kissing me, then sat me down on the toilet and undoing my pants, before her mother came down knocking on the door asking what was going on. I took the opportunity to pull my trousers back up and ran for it.

Another time, I was out with a group of mates and a 'mad' girl was there as one of the lads' girlfriend's friends. She was flirting with all of us but didn't get off with any of the lads. I wasn't interested tbh, she was a bit too wild for my taste. Anyway, later we all ended up at a party back at my friends' place. I remember being in a room with a few people and started slagging this girl off, messing like, it was all in good spirits. I went out to find somewhere to sleep for the night eventually, settling on my mate's kitchen floor with my coat for a blanket and jumper for a pillow. I wake up in the middle of the night like...do you know when you have drowsy sex with a girlfriend and you both just kinda fully wake in the middle? Like I felt a girl on top kissing me and stripping me off and kind of went with it, until I properly woke up and saw she was undoing my jeans. It was yer wan. I pushed her away a bit and was like, "What the **** are you doing?!" She just looked at me, giggled, and immediately went back to work trying to strip me. So I had to properly push her away (not roughly, just enough to be like, "No, stop touching my penis"). She giggled and ran off.

Oh and also an ex of mine was a sex sleeper. It's a real thing and really annoying in practise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Very tempted, yes.

However I decided it against it because it had been a beers that boards.ie had invited mods to, the company ran it themselves rather than your regular public meetup. I informed boards HO of the incident (there were witnesses remember) and a few weeks later he was promoted to Cmod, so I figured it was more likely that I'd get banned if I named him and someone that pathetic isn't worth getting banned for :)

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

I wonder about this story .... I reallllly do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭qwerty ui op

Yeah, but distress was brought about either way, and the victim was right to feel distressed if that's what happened. It might seem harsh but the idiot has to be treated the same as the perv by those in authority otherwise the perv will always claim ignorance.
    It's different for those of us who know the idiot/perv we can always judge for ourselves the intended malice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Omackeral wrote: »
    Was that A. Porter?
    No wait, that's too obvious. Was it Al P.?

And did he say 'Who Ah' after it happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

TomSweeney wrote: »

Why's that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

The judge would consider it in sentencing if you want to keep this up.

Mens Rea is a fundamental constituent of all Criminal Offences.
    It's absence is no charge and no conviction. You won't ever get to sentencing.

However in the story in question I don't think it is an issue. The intent and knowledge of what he is doing is certainly there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

I don't. It'd be very easy for boards to come out and dispute this story if it was untrue, in fact it makes them look so bad that they really need to if it's waffle. And given the poster's long-standing reputation on the board, she's going to be taken credibly (compared to if it was someone with single digit posts, say, thereby a possible rereg with an axe to grind).

They're in a rock and a hard place now. This is the kind of thing the media start to poke their noses into. Do they ignore it and damn themselves with silence? Do they lock the thread on trumped up charges and hope it goes away? (Therefore looking ridiculously guilty) Do other mods start kicking up and walking out now this is public or do they act as a wall for boards and risk individually disgracing themselves by standing by one of their own?

Fair play Whoops. You're dead right calling this out and have handled it perfectly so far. No legal liability for you, possibly maximum damage achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

When are all these Boards meet-ups by the way? I haven't seen one being promoted, or is there a secret section?

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    Mens Rea is a fundamental constituent of all Criminal Offences.
    It's absence is no charge and no conviction. You won't ever get to sentencing.

However in the story in question I don't think it is an issue. The intent and knowledge of what he is doing is certainly there.

I think you are agreeing with my judge considering it stance but it sounds like you are talking at an intillect level well above mine.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    When are all these Boards meet-ups by the way? I haven't seen one being promoted, or is there a secret section?

They all had to be cancelled some eejit was filming it and shouted yeah show us your legs as a girl who was in the group or maybe he had a hidden camera in his shoe and was filming up her skirt. Either way he should be thrown to the lions.
    It’s never right.
    Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I went through a period of being cock-grabbed years ago. Generally just laugh it off, but one really took a grip. Had to sit myself down for a few minutes. Any lads that took a blow knows the process of getting through a ball shot.

A bit of shallow breathing got through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I don't. She's always been a straight shooter. And I say that as someone who (many moons ago) was Doodlemodded.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Maybe in some private forums? But generally it seems the Boards Beers are sadly a thing of the past H. Which is a real pity as they were great nights when they were on the go. The BGRH forum beers in particular. Not just them either. Ah well...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

I think you are agreeing with my judge considering it stance but it sounds like you are talking at an intillect level well above mine.

I wasn't going against the direction of what you were saying.
    I was just being pedantic getting things exact, about a legal point.

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    I wasn't going against the direction of what you were saying.
    I was just being pedantic getting things exact, about a legal point.

Yo may as well be speaking Swahili my friend.