Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Longitude Line-Up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

RobertKK wrote: »
    Personally I think Khalid will be one of the main highlights and will impress people who might not know his music.

I thought it was this guy at first.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7TG3pQgzW4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭Hoboo

ardinn wrote: »
    93 - I'd pay a grand to get into Feile 95 now!!

20206374_10154512003680213_1123380170_n-2.jpg

The Groove Stage - Look at it

LOOK AT IT!!!

I was torn between the Roses and Carl Cox/Garnier sets. Was back n forth. Nightmare :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

As a rap / hip hop fan I couldn't believe the lineup when I saw it. Looked too good to be true. I think I know everybody on the line up bar 2 or 3. I do understand the disappointment though with the lack of variety.

Nonetheless even if you don't know the artists, there's great music out there to be discovered I can tell you that. I'd highly recommend J Cole, Khalid, Migos and J Hus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 im6foot4

An extremely talented young musician by the name of Syd. She was part of Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All when they were active.

Elevator Music would have been a better name

Might go see giggs. Always wondered what he's been up to since he left united
    Classic Dad joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 im6foot4

wakka12 wrote: »
    Lord Nikon wrote: »
    Have any of the line-up had any chart songs/hits even. Clearly is focused on a niche market, which my brother spouted on about them have maybe one decent track each. But surely, a festival would have some mainliners that would be at least recognizable, that would interest all age groups of Hip-Hop.

Like I don't like Rap/HipHop, Rock/Metal music, but I would recognize artists and bands that were decent enough over the last 20 years, to be at least headlining or supporting at a festival.

As a previous poster said, Oxygen was brilliant 10 years ago, and last few years before it ended the festival went all EDM, and that why it ended, as it didn't provide for everyone.

Bodak Yellow by cardi B and Fall apart by Post malone were big chart hits
    Also, Migos recently released album 'Culture II' 
    Boom_Bap wrote: »
    wakka12 wrote: »
    Bodak Yellow by cardi B and Fall apart by Post malone were big chart hits
    They both probably the biggest singles in the USA this year.
    Cardi B as you say had Bodak Yellow. I've seen videos from clubs where it's played 3 or 4 times in a row and everyone says the words.
    I've also seen a video on someone playing it in a subway station and it comes to a halt and everyone chimes in.

Post Malone had the song Rockstar which was a monster as well. Funnily enough, it was ghost-written by one of the other acts on the Longer line-up.
    And don't forget Migos recently released album 'Culture II' landing no.1 on billboard 200

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

24 songs on Culture II and only a handful are supposed to be good though. Even Migos superfans are complaining about that one :)

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    24 songs on Culture II and only a handful are supposed to be good though. Even Migos superfans are complaining about that one :)

The fans are more so complaining about the length of the album, not the quality. On the first or second listen by the time you're half way through, the second half of the album will sound bad because by then you will be sick to death of hearing Migos. After a couple weeks now with multiple listens, I and many others i've seen can agree it is a great album (if you're into that type of music :p)

Their album debuted at No.1 on the Billboard Rnb and Hip Hop charts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,107 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

goose2005 wrote: »
    afaik rap/hip-hop is actually the biggest-selling genre these days. Anyway, Cardi B has had a #1

anyway here's my nostalgia bit
    OXEGEN-2007-Poster.jpg
    note that Amy Winehouse didn't show up, having been tired and emotional the night before

The sat of that weekend was my first concert experience (been to many all over Ireland and the UK since). The muck and ****, crap food and drink and the lines for the toilets stick in my mind.

Festivals are not my thing and prefer stadium/arena gigs for comfort alone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The sat of that weekend was my first concert experience (been to many all over Ireland and the UK since). The muck and ****, crap food and drink and the lines for the toilets stick in my mind.

best. gig. ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I dunno. I used to listen to a fair bit of Jungle/DnB and what would now be Grime. And a bit of Garage too. :pac: TBH all the stuff that's successfull now is pretty ****ty to me. Luckily I can still discover stuff from about 98-08 really easily that I haven't heard before and before it all had to go into the blender to be homogenised.

Also it amazes me how long it took for the currently popular stuff to leave its "genre" behind and get big. It was on the go for maybe 15 years before splitting and kinda falling away before the recent resurgence which seemed to take all the banal elements, polished, made generic and released.

Those aren't my genre at all but it I was exposed to a little bit of this sort of stuff in its natural habitat, Notting Hill Carnival the once and come South London nights a handful of years back and the stuff thats being posted here seems to completely lack any of the energy and edge of what I saw.

I don't really get how people can call this "cool" music, it all sounds fairly similar to a generic R'n'B club night from more than a decade ago, to be harsh it sounds like pure Basic Bitch music, its like saying Coldplay were the "cool" music of the 2000's or something.

Yes I am older and out of touch but this sh-t doesn't even sound particularly different to the music I hated when I wasn't an old grump :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I dunno. I used to listen to a fair bit of Jungle/DnB and what would now be Grime. And a bit of Garage too. :pac: TBH all the stuff that's successfull now is pretty ****ty to me. Luckily I can still discover stuff from about 98-08 really easily that I haven't heard before and before it all had to go into the blender to be homogenised.

Also it amazes me how long it took for the currently popular stuff to leave its "genre" behind and get big. It was on the go for maybe 15 years before splitting and kinda falling away before the recent resurgence which seemed to take all the banal elements, polished, made generic and released.

This is exactly how I feel. I'd be friendly with a lot of lads who this festival is aimed at and they are all over the moon with this line up. But when I compare it to the likes of Roni Size and Roots Manuva etc it's just,well it's just a bit **** really isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,473 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

That Feile 95 line-up is something else.

Had to laugh looking at the line-up for Witness 09, with Katy Perry lost in the middle of the line-up - just underneath the Ting Tings. Remember them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Being a hip hop fan I thought the line up this year was excellent. Travis Scott, J Cole, Migos, Anderson Paak and Joey Bada$$ will all be unreal.

It's obviously aimed at the 18-25 year old who these days unless your name is Ed Sheeran don't want anything do with music involving guitars for the most part.

I am struggling to name a band that have formed in the last ten years that could even headline a festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,182 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Well considering streaming is what rules music consumption at the minute, let's look at the numbers based on monthly listeners on Spotify.

J Cole - 10m
    Travis Scott - 19m
    Migos - 25m
    Post Malone - 36m (8th most in the world)
    Diplo - 10m
    Cardi B - 30m (21st most in the world)

And loads more with between 3-5m a month. Whether you like the music or not, they're some of the world's most important and influential artists.
    Being ignorant isn't a badge of honour.

Kardashian Jenner baby daddy

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,024 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Haven't a breeze who any of them are.

I actually thought it was a game of scrabble between 2 dyslexics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Being a hip hop fan I thought the line up this year was excellent. Travis Scott, J Cole, Migos, Anderson Paak and Joey Bada$$ will all be unreal.

It's obviously aimed at the 18-25 year old who these days unless your name is Ed Sheeran don't want anything do with music involving guitars for the most part.

I am struggling to name a band that have formed in the last ten years that could even headline a festival.

Tame Impala were headliners last year, weren't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

anna080 wrote: »
    Line ups from back in my day. #neverforget

tynrR0C.jpg

That's the year I went. I didn't go to a single concert, and when I did try and go to James Morrison I ran and slipped, twisted my ankle and had to be cut out of my lovely €40 wellies. Good times.

The only act I recognise from longitude is Khalid and I actually like him. No idea who post malone is though I hear him mentioned a lot.

I don't know any of them. The internet is a funny name

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I honestly think this is an excellent move by MCD. The hip hop and R'n'B market is huge in Ireland and having a festival solely dedicated to that market is great news for fans of these genres. I think some on here don't realise how huge Migos are for example. They currently have 14 songs in the US top 100 charts. The Beatles are the only other group to ever have as many. Tyler The Creator and Diplo will make a fantastic weekend.

It's a break in the norm from the usual guitar based headliners. I love that music but the same acts showing up for festivals all the time is boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Paddy2012

Clegg wrote: »
    I honestly think this is an excellent move by MCD. The hip hop and R'n'B market is huge in Ireland and having a festival solely dedicated to that market is great news for fans of these genres. I think some on here don't realise how huge Migos are for example. They currently have 14 songs in the US top 100 charts. The Beatles are the only other group to ever have as many. Tyler The Creator and Diplo will make a fantastic weekend.

It's a break in the norm from the usual guitar based headliners. I love that music but the same acts showing up for festivals all the time is boring.
    I agree and the comparisons with when Oxygen Festival started going dance is a little off the mark I think, that was more down them cutting costs after falling out with T in the Park where this seems like a more planned change of direction (I'm pretty sure Travis Scott or Solange are more expensive bookings than Alt-J for example)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

A couple of my friends are going (20), but all of my brothers friends are going (18).

I've heard of most of them, can't say I'd pay to see them though.

J Coles very popular over in the US, I only really know of Wet Dreams by him.
    Post Malone will have a pretty big crowd, he's very popular in the last while.
    Khalid should be headlining.. Don't care for the rest of them but Kali Uchis might bring on Daniel Caesar for Get You..

I've heard of Travis all-right, not much else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Always Be Closing

That line up is badly in need of a whack of a distortion peddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I've heard of Travis all-right, not much else

Are Travis playing? The 90s Scottish soft rock band?

Surely they'd stick out like a sore thumb in such a lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭manafana

I was up past their earlier, some funny looking teenagers about, is the drinking still the huge thing, as much as actually taking in the music, i didnt recognize line ups at all not my genre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

manafana wrote: »
    I was up past their earlier, some funny looking teenagers about, is the drinking still the huge thing, as much as actually taking in the music, i didnt recognize line ups at all not my genre
    Just took a walk on my break in work down to Rathfarnham village and yeah, didn't seem to be too much drinking and what stood out to me was I didn't see a single person smoking.

Of those on tonight if that Khalid headlining is DJ Khalid I have no words... he doesn't sing, doesn't rap, doesn't mix, doesn't produce, doesn't do anything. The guy literally does nothing; he's basically the Paris Hilton of rap music. Migos I'm not a fan of either, nor is Post Malone (though I can at least appreciate that he's good, just not my thing).

Interesting though that two Dublin rappers are on this evening at about 6pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Well considering streaming is what rules music consumption at the minute, let's look at the numbers based on monthly listeners on Spotify.

J Cole - 10m
    Travis Scott - 19m
    Migos - 25m
    Post Malone - 36m (8th most in the world)
    Diplo - 10m
    Cardi B - 30m (21st most in the world)

And loads more with between 3-5m a month. Whether you like the music or not, they're some of the world's most important and influential artists.
    Being ignorant isn't a badge of honour.

When it comes to music, it doesn’t matter a jot. Tastes vary widely. Nobody can know all the music. Absolutely nobody. Does this mean you are also ignorant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Why is the lineup of a general pop fest tailored to be pretty much exclusively hibbedy-pop is that where kids heads are at these days? Catering for the market I suppose.....man the brainwashing must be in full effect anyways enjoy the music kids.......

enjoy the performances I’m sure there are some musicians on the bill. Gonna be some crowd descending on that shïtshow good luck the gardaí :rolleyes: