Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Longitude Line-Up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

its like a parallel to Latitude
    Closer to perpendicular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

kneemos wrote: »
    Funny idea but whoever made this kind of missed the mark with this years lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

"Big"?

*Arches eyebrow quizically

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEGccV-NOm8
    Over 450 million views since end of june, its pretty popular by any standard!
    Personally I can't stand it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

wakka12 wrote: »

Oh wow, that's awful. I know I'm not contributing much but wow, that's bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Nokotan wrote: »
    Oh wow, that's awful. I know I'm not contributing much but wow, that's bad.

Try having your younger siblings playing it CONSTANTLY aloud at home
    I dont understand how it ever became so popular. Actually wrecks my ears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Well considering streaming is what rules music consumption at the minute, let's look at the numbers based on monthly listeners on Spotify.

J Cole - 10m
    Travis Scott - 19m
    Migos - 25m
    Post Malone - 36m (8th most in the world)
    Diplo - 10m
    Cardi B - 30m (21st most in the world)

And loads more with between 3-5m a month. Whether you like the music or not, they're some of the world's most important and influential artists.
    Being ignorant isn't a badge of honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Try having your younger siblings playing it CONSTANTLY aloud at home
    I dont understand how it ever became so popular. Actually wrecks my ears

Ah sure it's just part of the cycle seemingly. Although I can't imagine my mam and dad not understanding how I could like Oasis etc.

Then again I've never liked rap music so can't appreciate any aspects of the song posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I haven't heard of any of the acts at Longtitude. Just listened to the above 'song'. Never heard of it before. Not my thing and music for a different generation. From my limited contact with teens that type of thing seems to be all the rage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Being ignorant isn't a badge of honour.

It's not a badge of honour, but it's so easy these days to glory in your own preference and piece of the music pie. It matters not who gets the most listens in the world to me each month - I'm still discovering albums from genres I like that might be 'old' but are 'new to me' in spotify. I'm downing in music I love and, as such, I'm okay not knowing whatever is cool or hip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

Bob Harris wrote: »
    I haven't heard of any of the acts at Longtitude. Just listened to the above 'song'. Never heard of it before. Not my thing and music for a different generation. From my limited contact with teens that type of thing seems to be all the rage though.

I think a lot of hip-hop fans who would be very excited about seeing Travis Scott and Post Malone wouldn't be too keen on Cardi B either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭HonalD

"Big"?

*Arches eyebrow quizically

30Millions hours of that s***e. That’s 30m hours too many of blood shoes for me.

The US military must be using it as a replacement for water boarding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

RobertKK wrote: »
    I'm 41 and I know some of the acts...

Solange is Beyonce's sister.
    Travis Scott did that song with Camila Cabello.
    Saw Mabel on the music channels, same with Cardi B.

fellowkids.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭Cina

it's hardly a surprise, I was at Longitude once and it was mostly 16-18 year olds. They have their market, it's an over 16's "festival" for kids too young to go to EP and knackers too... eh... uncultured to venture outside of Ireland.

A shame, really, first few years showed good promise.

Europe is where it's at, just check out Nos Alive as an example, and it's cheaper than Longitude!

a1yj2ul3xad01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Nokotan wrote: »
    Then again I've never liked rap music so can't appreciate any aspects of the song posted.

Ive liked many genres including everything from classical to rap for a long time. This though, is pure drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Shock horror, music has evolved since Feile '94 or Oxygen '08 ffs.
    Commercial rock/indie music is in the doldrums at the moment, i guess it up to artists in those genres to figure that one out.

Hip-Hop, R'n'B and Grime are huge with the youth and this is who the festival is geared towards. Fair enough there isnt a lot of variety in genres this year, but in terms of "Urban" music its a very eclectic line up. A lot of the artists on the line up gained a huge following without labels, putting their music out online and connecting with their audiences. Not much pre-packaged pop nonsense on it at all. Hip-Hop went through a poxy period after the era of 50 Cent, it's good to see it on the up and up at the moment with a diverse bunch of artists knocking about.

Apart from HipHop its great to see some great instrumental Soul and R'nB back again. Anderson Paak for me would be the highlight of the weekend after that maybe Sampha who won the Mercury Music prize last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Cina wrote: »
    it's hardly a surprise, I was at Longitude once and it was mostly 16-18 year olds. They have their market, it's an over 16's "festival" for kids too young to go to EP and knackers too... eh... uncultured to venture outside of Ireland.

That's shockingly arrogant now in fairness.

Solange sounds like a brand name of orange juice sold in a discount supermarket.
    Reminds me of Sean Lock talking about Julian Assange.
    https://vimeo.com/226552451

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Arghus wrote: »
    It's After Hours: It's largely populated by a bunch of no-craic carmudgeons who hate people in any way different to themselves, especially the young.

That’s curmudgeons.

Shock horror, music has evolved since Feile '94 or Oxygen '08 ffs.
    Commercial rock/indie music is in the doldrums at the moment, i guess it up to artists in those genres to figure that one out.

Hip-Hop, R'n'B and Grime are huge with the youth and this is who the festival is geared towards. Fair enough there isnt a lot of variety in genres this year, but in terms of "Urban" music its a very eclectic line up. A lot of the artists on the line up gained a huge following without labels, putting their music out online and connecting with their audiences. Not much pre-packaged pop nonsense on it at all. Hip-Hop went through a poxy period after the era of 50 Cent, it's good to see it on the up and up at the moment with a diverse bunch of artists knocking about.

Apart from HipHop its great to see some great instrumental Soul and R'nB back again. Anderson Paak for me would be the highlight of the weekend after that maybe Sampha who won the Mercury Music prize last year.
    I dunno. I used to listen to a fair bit of Jungle/DnB and what would now be Grime. And a bit of Garage too. :pac: TBH all the stuff that's successfull now is pretty ****ty to me. Luckily I can still discover stuff from about 98-08 really easily that I haven't heard before and before it all had to go into the blender to be homogenised.

Also it amazes me how long it took for the currently popular stuff to leave its "genre" behind and get big. It was on the go for maybe 15 years before splitting and kinda falling away before the recent resurgence which seemed to take all the banal elements, polished, made generic and released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I dunno. I used to listen to a fair bit of Jungle/DnB and what would now be Grime. And a bit of Garage too. :pac: TBH all the stuff that's successfull now is pretty ****ty to me. Luckily I can still discover stuff from about 98-08 really easily that I haven't heard before and before it all had to go into the blender to be homogenised.

Also it amazes me how long it took for the currently popular stuff to leave its "genre" behind and get big. It was on the go for maybe 15 years before splitting and kinda falling away before the recent resurgence which seemed to take all the banal elements, polished, made generic and released.

Yeah i agree about Grime, i really dont see the fuss about Stormzy and Konnichiwa by Skepta was so overrated, not much in the way of top quality albums knocking about in Grime imo. To be fair looking again at the line up there and the only 2 "Grime" acts aren't even grime they are UK Hip Hop. I like Giggs looks like he'd be good live too and that J Hus album, although pretty commercial was pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

It looks promising...but its no Feile '93.

93 - I'd pay a grand to get into Feile 95 now!!

20206374_10154512003680213_1123380170_n-2.jpg

The Groove Stage - Look at it

LOOK AT IT!!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I don't know any of the artists, but my interests lie towards the rock/metal end of the spectrum so that's not surprising. I've been the same with most Irish festivals bar one or two big headliners for years now. I know I'm not cool, it doesn't bother me :D. Heading to the Netherlands for my festival fix this year and I can't wait.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Lord Nikon wrote: »
    Have any of the line-up had any chart songs/hits even. Clearly is focused on a niche market, which my brother spouted on about them have maybe one decent track each. But surely, a festival would have some mainliners that would be at least recognizable, that would interest all age groups of Hip-Hop.

Like I don't like Rap/HipHop, Rock/Metal music, but I would recognize artists and bands that were decent enough over the last 20 years, to be at least headlining or supporting at a festival.

As a previous poster said, Oxygen was brilliant 10 years ago, and last few years before it ended the festival went all EDM, and that why it ended, as it didn't provide for everyone.
    afaik rap/hip-hop is actually the biggest-selling genre these days. Anyway, Cardi B has had a #1

anyway here's my nostalgia bit
    OXEGEN-2007-Poster.jpg
    note that Amy Winehouse didn't show up, having been tired and emotional the night before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Seeing Oxegen 09 (Which I was at) being looked back on with such nostalgia has really made me feel old.

08 was my last one. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

im going to put on my slippers, pull my chair closer to the fire, have a cold one and listen to Un Bel di vedremo on my CD!!! & headphones , and watch the kids watch some gobsh1te playing a video game on youtube. not even playing themselves, but watching some body else play a game.

And I'm going to shed a little tear or two.
    One tear for the future.
    the other tear because I no longer have a sweet fcuking clue whats in or "cool".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Went to one festival ever. Quite close to the line-up I'd have written myself if I had the choice...

CarlingFestivalADVERT2002.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Jaysus that Oxygen ‘07 lineup was a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,988 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

This was my first two festivals, wildly different line ups.

20130810-025815-745322.jpg

7ef5a8d3f6274e48ce879e93fbd14ff0

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,988 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I have heard of most of the acts playing it but have absolutely no interest in any of them. It will be very popular with younger people or fans of that kind of music though and will probably still sell out. I suppose it's unfair to say the lineup is rubbish as if you do like that genre of music it's probably a great lineup, but what bothers me about it is that most people who have gone to Longitude over the past few years have kind of been forgotten about. There is no variety in the lineup at all, in previous years you would get a nice mix of all types of music over the three days but they have completely ditched that approach now and seem to be solely catering for one group of people. I can definitely see why a lot of people are unhappy with it as if you've gone every year since it began you would probably have been expecting something that would interest you.

Its like a bit of history repeating in regards to the last Oxegen when they lost it completely.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)