Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,805 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

- Mormon girl & "model" guy seemed an odd match, was kind of surprised they said yes but they seemed to get along well enough. Initially I thought the guy seemed too serious and loved the sound of his own voice.
    The quotes around model are fair enough I think....maybe a hand model?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,014 ✭✭✭plodder

- Mormon girl & "model" guy seemed an odd match, was kind of surprised they said yes but they seemed to get along well enough. Initially I thought the guy seemed too serious and loved the sound of his own voice.
    Ah, he didn't take himself too seriously though. I thought he was sound.

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

plodder wrote: »
    Ah, he didn't take himself too seriously though. I thought he was sound.
    I agree he was less painful as it went on....the trend for fake giant glasses needs to end though!!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

gmisk wrote: »
    The quotes around model are fair enough I think....maybe a hand model?

Buzzfeed said he was the 6 sexiest man in the world. That tells you all you need to know about Buzzfeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,835 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Buzzfeed said he was the 6 sexiest man in the world. That tells you all you need to know about Buzzfeed.

Was it not Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,360 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The lad with the duck dynasty beard and his date were dead sound.

Wouldn't mind a date with the blond waitress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Caught up with last week's episode on the Player last night.

The Cork guy was very nervous and tired by his own admission and kept putting his foot in it. I don't think he was fully "in the zone" and was struggling from the outset. In fairness, the Donegal girl was sympathetic and didn't take any of his gaffes to heart.

The two Aspergers people seemed well matched and were thrilled at the end when the other said 'yes'.

I find the young gay men on the show completely unwatchable and have to fast forward through their scenes, each pair are as tedious as the last one.

No idea why the young lesbian put down that she was open to dating a man at the restaurant. By her own admission, she had nearly only ever been with women.....seemed unfair on the young man who had presumably turned up with the hope of meeting a straight girl.

The gorgeous ginger lady from Navan is on POF, I'd say shes getting hounded out of it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭davo2001

The gorgeous ginger lady from Navan is on POF, I'd say shes getting hounded out of it :pac:

POF??

davo2001 wrote: »
    POF??
    POF = Plenty Of Fish

rusty cole wrote: »
    Scary? Ah i didnt realise you were being forced to go on a date with either of them, did you tick the transexual and pansexual box on your application?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,203 ✭✭✭dee_mc

What does the photo say?
    They seem like nice people, reading their story. Nice that they can accept each other and understand each others struggles.

yeah id doesn't look odd at all, some lad in a dress who identifies as whomever he sees fit on the day and eh another lad beside him!!

I find it weird and funny as is my choice, like it or lump it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

yeah id doesn't look odd at all, some lad in a dress who identifies as whomever he sees fit on the day and eh another lad beside him!!

gmisk wrote: »
    Scary? Ah i didnt realise you were being forced to go on a date with either of them, did you tick the transexual and pansexual box on your application?

Ha ha, Pan sexual, you're a riot..god as if that's a thing too.. ya nearly got me though ye scamp! the thoughts of it, people putting their willies on bread loaves of all things...whatever next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Thats pretty insensitive man. I don't know much about trans, but I don't think they get expensive and dangerous surgeries and hormone treatments and stuff and have their family often disown them for the craic

Ha ha, Pan sexual, you're a riot..god as if that's a thing too.. ya nearly got me though ye scamp! the thoughts of it, people putting their willies on bread loaves of all things...whatever next.

13 year olds shouldn't be allowed on boards....too immature.

My point is really who cares? what difference does it make to your life exactly? It might not be a "thing" to you but it clearly is to other people, each to their own I say.

wakka12 wrote: »
    Thats pretty insensitive man. I don't know much about trans, but I don't think they get expensive and dangerous surgeries and hormone treatments and stuff and have their family often disown them for the craic

I agree with you completely, real transsexuals don't, I hear. maybe in a mean way I'll admit, I'm poking fun at this particular one who had his 15 mins of fame on the late late show a while back, then had it again as an inspired Trans person on the late late show with that jenner wan, when he was on. now he's on first dates as the first transgender person on it. Sound like a fame hungry TV wannabe to me. Sure tubridy asked him, should we call you buy your girls nom de jour or your male christened name??? then he says, Oh whatever I identify with on any given day!! give over.

But real trans people, yes, no issue there for me, must be very sad to hate your reflection everyday, shocking heartbreaking stories to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,431 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I'm going to sound incredibly like a pig-headed, old-fashioned bigot but I just find this whole trans-pan set-up extremely off-putting.

I mean if he is going by David for the date (as opposed to Kayla on other occasions) then why is he dressed like a woman? And I would fear for his overall health as he is dangerously skinny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

Curly blonde girl is very cute, but probably not over Spanish man yet. Seems to be a good match all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,429 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They should send each of them a text before they arrive at the hotel saying "The door going in to the restaurant opens by the right door, follow this advice to not appear like a tool".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

A jump the shark moment for me. Im out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

This season is about to spontaneously combust with all the pc'ness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,780 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

They should send each of them a text before they arrive at the hotel saying "The door going in to the restaurant opens by the right door, follow this advice to not appear like a tool".

Every door should have that.

And also stickers across them to indicate there is actually glass there...

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,662 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Rekop dog wrote: »
    This season is about to spontaneously combust with all the pc'ness.

I think it's just dating in 2018.

I feel so outdated sometimes :o

What are the chances ?
    2 from Bray this week, yet last week they tried to match a Donegal and Cork?
    Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,780 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

"...and do anything and everything".

Seems that way.

David/ Layla and their date are well suited and genuinely seem so lovely.