Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭ollaetta

wakka12 wrote: »
    Lol has a boy ever rejected a girl on this show ? I don't recall it ever happening and every time at the interview it feels like a without question yes from the lad and then hold your breath for the yes or no from the woman haha

The German lad a few weeks ago surprisingly said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,341 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Did the lad from Cork say he had run 81 marathons in the last 81 weeks ?

How does he have that nedser if thats true ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

mystic86 wrote: »

Thats strange, seems like they were having great craic..and she looks pretty to me and probably even a little out of his league in that regard if had to say haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,431 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Because he’s not sprinting. Ive a smaller (about 16stone and 5 11) nedser but I cycle 300km a weeks, swim about 8km and usually run about 20km.

ricero wrote: »
    Annoying gays are annoying
    They need an older crowd. All young gays in this series have been knobs

ligerdub wrote: »
    "I'm fluid".............leave mate. This won't end well.

For two reasons

1. She used the term "fluid" rather than bisexual, that's a classic modern attention seeker.
    2. She's probably gay.

These are 2 giant red flags and merits him going no further along the line where something of any significance develops. Not worth it.
    Bleedin’ snowflake.

Love you are bi, it’s very common now shock value any more.

ted1 wrote: »
    Bleedin’ snowflake.

Love you are bi, it’s very common now shock value any more.

Yeh it made me cringe how much of a thing the show made out of that

I can only imagine how many trinners girls identify as 'bi' in 2018...Wouldnt be surprised if its about 1 in 3 and Id say only about a tiny fraction would ever have any notion of actually being with a girl longterm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,341 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

That should be about 6000 calories burned a week , you must be seriously overeating/drinking so or eating complete rubbish to keep that nedser , surely eat well for a month and it would fall off you .

I never seen a serious marathon runner who was not lean , and surely by any measure a marathon every week for two years is considered serious

That should be about 6000 calories burned a week , you must be seriously overeating/drinking so or eating complete rubbish to keep that nedser , surely eat well for a month and it would fall off you .

I never seen a serious marathon runner who was not lean , and surely by any measure a marathon every week for two years is considered serious
    With so much excercise I graze a lot, although I’ve been good since Christmas. No sh1te in the evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Wasn’t the cork fella the same guy who got humiliated on the late late annual live car crash thing they have in or around mid February each year?!

Some unbearable cringe moments tonight, just about saved by the Mormon date and the vasectomy one.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Thought the young guy Jordan was lovely, very polite and nice. The fluid wan almost gave me whiplash from rolling my eyes. Ffs fluid me hole.
    What is wrong with socks? Why aren’t people wearing them, are their ankles not cold.
    Mormon lady’s accent was annoying.
    What happened with donegal/cork was watching on player and missed a bit!
    Dont usually like X factor sob stories but felt for the girl who lost her brother, described grief very well, I shed a little tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,014 ✭✭✭plodder

That was a very entertaining show last night. I was thinking the well was running dry after last week, but they were a nice bunch. Even the car crash couple was absorbing in its own cringey way.

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭tinpib

plodder wrote: »
    Even the car crash couple was absorbing in its own cringey way.

I thought they were brilliant. To be clear they both seem like very nice people, she was making a big effort too, but it was a total awkward disaster from the get go.

I'd say yer man was nearly having an outer body experience, back home on his couch cringing while watching the episode on television as the date was happening in real time.

I've had first dates similar myself.

tinpib wrote: »
    I thought they were brilliant. To be clear they both seem like very nice people, she was making a big effort too, but it was a total awkward disaster from the get go.

I'd say yer man was nearly having an outer body experience, back home on his couch cringing while watching the episode on television as the date was happening in real time.

I've had first dates similar myself.

I thought they were both quite nice, and funny people. Like Im sure they both have plenty of friends, but I guess their personalities are just two that didn't really click

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,184 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Good show this week, I fast forwarded the traps made it a lot easier watch. What is it with the socks, looks good next week somebody got a shift we might see a pension yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

The Cork lad is the is reason I watch this. Love a bit of car crash cringe. Pissed myself anytime he said "that was a Jooookke".

Your man Keith must have been desperate to want another date with Erinna, that story she told was seriously off putting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

pc7 wrote: »
    Thought the young guy Jordan was lovely, very polite and nice. The fluid wan almost gave me whiplash from rolling my eyes. Ffs fluid me hole.

I know his mother.....she posted on facebook earlier that it was filmed in september and they didnt go on second date, she has a girlfriend now surprise surprise...he came across well, its wasnt an act, he's a nice lad in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

The 2 gay lads were shocking. So fake. Painted on eyebrows, painted on trousers, no socks, make up. Cringe.
    The 'fluid' wan was a fairy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Ah last night's episode wasn't too bad actually.

The girl Eirinna (beautiful name) - I thought she ruined her chances when she told the chilli story. But they seemed to get on so well, dare I say a bit smitten!

The blonde guy and the Mormon, wasn't sure if they were going to be well suited and wasn't sure really what to make of him. He grew on me as the night went on and came across as an interesting fella.

The Cork and Donegal pairing - ok why match two people from opposite ends of the country and two of the largest counties (and I'm married to a Donegal man, it takes the best part of 2 hours to drive the length of that county!). Poor man was nervous, take the shovel off him, stop digging! She was nice to him though.

The two gay guys, the blonde guy didn't look too impressed when he seen the guy at the bar. I think there as a frosty vibe off the pair off them. They thawed out after a while and made the best of it, far more maturity than the gay date in episode 1 or 2.

Lastly the couple where she described herself as fluid. I thought they got on well but more so as friends, they both seemed nice.
    I'm confused though, maybe I'm not up to date on the different terms of sexual orientation. But what is the difference between fluid and bi? And is pan sexual different again? One of the guys on First Date Hotels (UK) this week described himself as pan.

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Ah last night's episode wasn't too bad actually.

The girl Eirinna (beautiful name) - I thought she ruined her chances when she told the chilli story. But they seemed to get on so well, dare I say a bit smitten!

The blonde guy and the Mormon, wasn't sure if they were going to be well suited and wasn't sure really what to make of him. He grew on me as the night went on and came across as an interesting fella.

The Cork and Donegal pairing - ok why match two people from opposite ends of the country and two of the largest counties (and I'm married to a Donegal man, it takes the best part of 2 hours to drive the length of that county!). Poor man was nervous, take the shovel off him, stop digging! She was nice to him though.

The two gay guys, the blonde guy didn't look too impressed when he seen the guy at the bar. I think there as a frosty vibe off the pair off them. They thawed out after a while and made the best of it, far more maturity than the gay date in episode 1 or 2.

Lastly the couple where she described herself as fluid. I thought they got on well but more so as friends, they both seemed nice.
    I'm confused though, maybe I'm not up to date on the different terms of sexual orientation. But what is the difference between fluid and bi? And is pan sexual different again? One of the guys on First Date Hotels (UK) this week described himself as pan.
    Fluid I guess means you just don't define as bi and your attraction genders varies a lot, sometimes feel really straight sometimes feel really gay

Pan means you're attracted to men women and people who are trans or don't identify as either male or female..? As far as Im aware

Could be horribly wrong on all accounts there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,430 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Basically they are all terms that have emerged in the social media-dominated, politically correct, outrage society of today.

God be with the days you were either gay or straight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,014 ✭✭✭plodder

Indeed, it was amusing as well to hear the same girl express some surprise at having enjoyed a date with a guy. :pac:

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Basically they are all terms that have emerged in the social media-dominated, politically correct, outrage society of today.

yeah I remember those days. Pretty ****ty from that perspective if i remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,662 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I wonder what they think when they look back at themselves when the programme is aired?
    All glammed up for the recording, but-dare I say it without being attacked- some serious weight issues and fashion faux pas every week.

Exposed ankles and shoes without socks looks so silly, or am I just old fashioned?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I wonder what they think when they look back at themselves when the programme is aired?
    All glammed up for the recording, but-dare I say it without being attacked- some serious weight issues and fashion faux pas every week.

Exposed ankles and shoes without socks looks so silly, or am I just old fashioned?

That's just the style now. I don't get it myself either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Extra weight doesn't equal unattractive or 'bad', so I'd hope they feel okay about themselves. Although I do hope some of them will eventually look back on their lack of socks as a ridiculous fashion faux pas, akin to double denim, desert boots or a mullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,256 ✭✭✭jos28

wakka12 wrote: »
    Fluid I guess means you just don't define as bi and your attraction genders varies a lot, sometimes feel really straight sometimes feel really gay

Pan means you're attracted to men women and people who are trans or don't identify as either male or female..? As far as Im aware

Could be horribly wrong on all accounts there :pac:

Ah jeez, this is getting very complicated. I watched both FD Ire and FD Hotel and was googling the fluid, pansexual etc etc.
    I just about understand the pansexual thing but I can't see the difference between bi and fluid :confused: Help me out here folks please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭pl4ichjgy17zwd

It's basically an 'I'm-not-into-labels' label

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Not a bad episode this week but there have not been many great dates so far this season IMO.

- Keith & Erinna stole the show and were definitely the best couple on it, as others have said they are what the show is about, they both seemed very happy with one another and two genuine people by the looks of it.

- Cork/Donegal, well firstly seemed a terrible idea matching people from opposite ends of the country. The date itself went pretty terrible but it made for good entertainment and both of the individuals came across as nice, maybe just not suited or nerves got the better of them. Cork guy was hilarious.

- Mormon girl & "model" guy seemed an odd match, was kind of surprised they said yes but they seemed to get along well enough. Initially I thought the guy seemed too serious and loved the sound of his own voice.

- Fluid girl from trinity and the musician both seemed nice I thought, there are probably too many young people on the show in general and everyone is probably getting fed up of how younger dates are acting but both seemed to get on well and likeable overall.

- Gay couple, as with a lot of other gay couples so far, were very cringe and definitely my least favourite date of the show. The dark haired guy seemed genuine enough but the blonde fella really irritated me and seemed as if he was definitely on the show just to boost his image.

Overall it has been a problem for the show that people seem to be going on it more so to put themselves in the shop window rather than go on an actual blind date. The younger couples in particular seem to be going on it to promote themselves more than anything!