Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

NufcNavan wrote: »
    This is a typical Joe Molloy question:

Now if you look at Cork and the bad year they had, combined with their win over Kilkenny last week and all the joy that brought to its plighted fans, factoring in Davy going to Wexford, taking into account how well they're doing, not forgetting the full moon we just had, will Cork win on Sunday?

Quadruple the length of that and it could be a ger gilroy self indulgent question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Slipperydodger

What do people think of Off The Ball AM show that is on each morning? They are pushing a lot more quality content across their social media platforms and their online following is steadily growing. They have also introduced a TV set which looks quite professional and recently announced new lunchtime shows such as the "Keith Andrews Football show".

I don't think it would be a bad idea if Eir Sport cut a deal with them to feature the OTB AM as a morning segment on Eir Sport 1. They are definitely building towards something as there seems to be a lot of investment in it. Could we see a 24 hour sports radio station in the next year?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

It's before the courts. There's a very good reason there are no threads about it.

As mentioned in my post, I’ve read numerous threads on boards with people commenting concurrently with cases before the courts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Ger Gilroy painful as usual tonight. Did anybody hear the intro, where he explained for about five minutes why they wouldn't be discussing Rory Best and his attendance at the Paddy Jackson trial. Presumably Ger thinks that all the OTB listeners will be thinking "wow, what a profound statement by Ger, he certainly is an virtuous, upstanding journalist of fine moral standing". As opposed to the "What an absolutely pious, self indulgent twat Gilroy really is" that I uttered.

It almost like there's a competition in Newstalk, anytime somebody does or says something wrong, each of their presenters in turn tries their hardest to come across as being the most offended.

I think you are saying that Ger is coming from the standpoint that Best is supppsed to have done something wrong? What exactly did he do that was wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    I think you are saying that Ger is coming from the standpoint that Best is supppsed to have done something wrong? What exactly did he do that was wrong?

My problem is not with the fact that they are not covering the court case, Jay. The problem that I had with it is that this could have been just one sentence. "Obviously we cannot discuss anything to do with the ongoing court case with Paddy Jackson." But Gilroy's rule of "never use one brief, factual sentence when twenty self indulgent ones will do" takes over. It seemed the purpose of the sentence was more to tell us what a virtuous chap he himself is, as opposed to just briefly letting us know that they simply can't talk about the topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

sightband wrote: »
    As mentioned in my post, I’ve read numerous threads on boards with people commenting concurrently with cases before the courts

If you say you have seen people discussing ongoing court cases on boards, then fine but I'd expect, given the very high profile of those involved, that Newstalk's legal advice and most other media outlets; is not to touch it, unless it is the straight forward court reporting which is a specialised area in itself.
    A sports show, hosted by journalists, with no experience of court reporting is not going to touch it and they would be foolish to do so.
    Commenting on motivation or meaning behind players turning up at the court case could lead you down a road you don't want to go.
    The judge has already warned the media on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Patww79 wrote: »
    Can a judge stop the media in another country discussing it though? Presumably this is happening in Belfast so they should have no say over what the media in Ireland does.

That’s what I was wondering, it’s another jurisdiction. I really feel if innocence is presumed, no one should be named unless found guilty. But that’s probably for another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

This is the introduction from the show. (Right at the start of the show)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

No, obviously he has no jurisdiction, however the judge usually phrases these warnings as an appeal rather than dictat and considering how relatively local this is I think Newstalk would err on the side of caution and also respect due process.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

pc7 wrote: »
    That’s what I was wondering, it’s another jurisdiction. I really feel if innocence is presumed, no one should be named unless found guilty. But that’s probably for another thread.

Totally agree with you, whatever the outcome those two lads lives are going to be very different and irreversible. Same goes for the girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

With the constant moralizing I don't understand their encouragement of gambling, it is an addiction that has ruined many families, much more so than doping in sport and they actively encourage it, smacks of double standards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

What do people think of Off The Ball AM show that is on each morning? They are pushing a lot more quality content across their social media platforms and their online following is steadily growing. They have also introduced a TV set which looks quite professional and recently announced new lunchtime shows such as the "Keith Andrews Football show".

I don't think it would be a bad idea if Eir Sport cut a deal with them to feature the OTB AM as a morning segment on Eir Sport 1. They are definitely building towards something as there seems to be a lot of investment in it. Could we see a 24 hour sports radio station in the next year?

I dip in to the morning show some times and find it quite good. I think the set works well and they are doing quite well in getting interesting guests on.

I suspect it is being prepared with a view to being taken up by a tv station but I don't think that this would be a precursor to a 24Hr station. There just isn't the content or market in Ireland for 24Hr coverage (although it would only be max 18 hours with repeats in the middle of the night I suspect).

Remember The Title newspaper (1996 :eek:), a dedicated sports Sunday paper. It didn't last too long before it became the sports section of Ireland on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I drop into this thread from time to time to remind some of its posters, who need reminding, if it wasn’t for newstalk and OTB, radio sports coverage in Ireland would be ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

Ger Gilroy painful as usual tonight. Did anybody hear the intro, where he explained for about five minutes why they wouldn't be discussing Rory Best and his attendance at the Paddy Jackson trial. Presumably Ger thinks that all the OTB listeners will be thinking "wow, what a profound statement by Ger, he certainly is an virtuous, upstanding journalist of fine moral standing". As opposed to the "What an absolutely pious, self indulgent twat Gilroy really is" that I uttered.

It almost like there's a competition in Newstalk, anytime somebody does or says something wrong, each of their presenters in turn tries their hardest to come across as being the most offended.

5 mins isn't too bad, three weeks ago at the intro on a Friday they weren't gonna speak about the Munster rugby players failed doping test. What follows is a 20 minute segment of them justifying the coverage and how they've been attacked online. Bizarre stuff, haven't actually listened since, finding it harder and harder to warm to it lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

Dots1982 wrote: »
    I drop into this thread from time to time to remind some of its posters, who need reminding, if it wasn’t for newstalk and OTB, radio sports coverage in Ireland would be ****e

Can't argue with this but it's gotten stale of late IMO. As others have mentioned I can get a lot better and specific content on a daily basis through podcasts.

With podcasts you don't really need radio sports coverage any more.[/quote]

Yes, podcasts provide a brilliant commentary service on live sport.....2 days after it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I think people are annoyed in that it was a great show, even after the tough task of replacing the last presenters but have intentionally gone down a route that makes them insufferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I think people are annoyed in that it was a great show, even after the tough task of replacing the last presenters but have intentionally gone down a route that makes them insufferable.

What is this route? And what makes you think it was an intentional decision to do direct the show in this way?

NufcNavan wrote: »
    This is a typical Joe Molloy question:

Now if you look at Cork and the bad year they had, combined with their win over Kilkenny last week and all the joy that brought to its plighted fans, factoring in Davy going to Wexford, taking into account how well they're doing, not forgetting the full moon we just had, will Cork win on Sunday?

Ahead of the TV3 coverage, in an article in the Irish Examiner today, Joe Molloy speaks about his style and how he received advice from John Giles on it.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/rugby/the-big-interview-anchorman-molloy-ready-to-go-mainstream-466616.html
    Molloy was keen to impress upon Giles his knowledge and research of the game.

“My questions were sub-clause after sub-clause. ‘So James McCarthy, John, I saw him against Everton against three weeks ago and he was doing this but then the month before that he didn’t do this like a proper midfielder should and he was he like that again last night…’

“So afterwards we were chatting in the studio for a bit when he said to me, ‘Do you want some advice?’

“And I said, ‘Yeah. Please.’ Because most people don’t give you advice directly, they just tell you to your face that you were great and then tell someone else where you were poor.

“Giles said, ‘Your questions are too long. That’s only my opinion, go back and listen to it yourself, but I thought they were. Nobody cares what you think. I’ll watch the golf and the reporter will be talking to Tiger Woods after his round and he’ll say ‘Tiger, on the third you did this and on the sixth you did this brilliantly…’ And I’ll be at home thinking, ‘Don’t tell me what you think! Ask Tiger what he thinks!’ Just be like a referee. Don’t have anyone notice that you’re there. But maybe in a few months’ time people will be able to go, ‘You know what, I enjoyed that. It’s not bad when he’s on’. That’s how they’ll notice you.’”

So, he is aware of the danger of questions being too long and so I think when he does ask long questions, it is for a specific reason and to make it a more interesting interview.

Newstalk is never going to be "What was the score?", "Do you think you will win the next time?" and so on. At least I hope not anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

duffman13 wrote: »
    Can't argue with this but it's gotten stale of late IMO. As others have mentioned I can get a lot better and specific content on a daily basis through podcasts.

I got to be honest I had stopped listening to it for a few months.
    Then I tuned in randomly on the radio to hear Nathan Murphy discussing football with John Giles a few days ago.
    My first thoughts were "Yipee no Gilroy or Molloy".
    I will listen in.
    Interestingly there was no mention of Leeds United circa 1970's or any of that craic.
    Giles was just giving his opinion on Pogba for Man United (how he not a complete midfielder) i and how Spurs don't have a creative midfield presence who really "does his stuff" like KDB for Man City.

It wasn't too bad. But as you say I find myself listening to Podcast's from other outlets to get decent sports discussion.

I just can't stick Gilroy or Molloy anymore.

If that is the best of what this country as to offer as another poster implied it is not saying much is it?

I mainly follow this thread now on the off chance that there might be some decent discussion that I should listen back to.
    Besides that I have given up on OTB and they look like they are going to be one listener down on the next listenership stats.
    As more often then not it is Gilroy or Molloy .
    Or worse Gilroy and Molloy!

It would be helpful if Newstalk put up a rota to show when Gilroy or Molloy is NOT on air.
    Then I would know when it would be safe to listen in.

As Giles would say "Good luck to them".

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I’m curious the people who post here who dislike the OTB agenda...do any of them subscribe to second captains? Because their liberal agenda grates on me. It was a factor when I unsubscribed.

Ahead of the TV3 coverage, in an article in the Irish Examiner today, Joe Molloy speaks about his style and how he received advice from John Giles on it.

Newstalk is never going to be "What was the score?", "Do you think you will win the next time?" and so on. At least I hope not anyway.

So basically you prefer sycophantic, "arts students" who waffle all the time and take ages to get to the point?

Remember Gilroy with Martin O'Neill even he pulled Gilroy up on it? (on this thread. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=103737180

Not all questions have to be unnecessarily padded.

A nice open question now and again should let the interviewee elaborate.

I’m curious the people who post here who dislike the OTB agenda...do any of them subscribe to second captains? Because their liberal agenda grates on me. It was a factor when I unsubscribed.

I don't.
    I enjoy Wooly Parkinson's GAA hour good solid stuff no air's or graces, good tactical analysis etc.
    And it is free!

So basically you prefer sycophantic, "arts students" who waffle all the time and take ages to get to the point?

Remember Gilroy with Martin O'Neill even he pulled Gilroy up on it? (on this thread. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=103737180

Not all questions have to be unnecessarily padded.

A nice open question now and again should let the interviewee elaborate.

To each their own.

You're right not all questions have to be unnecessarily padded.
    The point of the excerpt I posted was that Joe is also aware of that point.

I used to post here fairly regularly but until today hadn't for a number of months. I stopped posting and unfollowed the thread because I was sick of 80% of posts being about how bad the show was and how the posters were moving the dial and yet when I come back, I see the same posters, posting the same dislike for the show.

People have a right to an opinion, and to voice it but I don't understand persisting to listen to any show if you dislike it so much.

I don't think Newstalk or Second Captains have an agenda as such, naturally some of the presenters are more inclined to lean further one way than others but that doesn't mean it's a conspiracy at a board level. In my view anyway.