Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,082 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

hold up,did the feminist just let the man pay for dinner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

lol i know the girl from the ad for next week who says I'm not straight I'm fluid ..I shall be tuning in to see that anyway !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Your one there was on come dine with me wasn't she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I prefer the older couples on this.
    They are far more relaxed and (usually) don't take themselves as seriously as the young folk.
    I thought the older couple sounded extremely pretentious. I'm nearly the same age as the woman and was cringing listening to her (and him). And she's mad into star signs but couldn't even pronounce 'Piscean'. *Marks her down*
    Stephen comes across as genuinely sound and dare I say it, nice.
    I didn't think I'd like Mr Gay Ireland but he seemed like a very genuine person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭LLewellen Farquarson

Re the older couple, at least they were both away with the fairies so they were well matched.

I can see a book in her future.
    “Communing with angels through a golf club”

Probably sell millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,760 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Your one there was on come dine with me wasn't she?

Irl or UK?

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Irl or UK?

UK, she was on the Belfast episodes.

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/come-dine-with-me/on-demand/51383-043

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

So tonight.........
    one dater does part time acting,
    one is a drama student
    one is a stand up comedian
    one is a former model
    one is a Mr Gay Ireland....

....Is some casting or talent agency picking the people or is it just coincidence and am I just imagining things?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Talifornia Phil was the smoking gun that the show is taking the lazy route and casting via acting or modelling agencies. Maybe they've struggled to find enough normal applicants - Ireland is small enough and we're still relatively conservative people that appearing on a TV dating show is a bit too much - or maybe Coco figure some naturally effusive 'characters' would liven things up and went deep-trawling through those sorts of agencies, who knows. They're over-egging the pudding in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭De Bhál

god I love this show.

it's a guilty pleasure as they say. I don't watch much if any reality TV but love this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I can see why FDI are struggling to find people to appear on the show. On this week's episode one dating set had met each other before and one date had known one of the waitresses. Ireland's too small a place!

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    I can see why FDI are struggling to find people to appear on the show. On this week's episode one dating set had met each other before and one date had known one of the waitresses. Ireland's too small a place!

I don't think they have issues finding people. They have a gay couple in every episode, so a quarter of the guests on show, and probably gay people were only a tenth or so of applicants
    And theres lots of people in the background on dates who they don't even feature during the show. Obviously they get plenty of applicants just not enough applicants that they think are interesting enough to show.

Have to say this week's episode was better than last week's.
    I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with Mr Gay Ireland - he came across so nice and friendly, a really nice guy. He got on well with his date and was very polite. I found it interesting to observe a deaf date and even though Mr Ireland was hearing, he still signed when he was talking to someone else so his date wouldn't be excluded. It might only be a small thing but I thought it meant a lot. Not being disrespectful to the deaf guy but it must be hard to date in Ireland when you are gay and deaf, I'm not sure if there's many gay people with sign language, never mind actually fancying them, I dunno. Having to text one another on a date must be so frustrating.

The Belfast woman and the former model I thought got on really well, bit of flirty banter, I was surprised when she didn't want a second date.

wakka12 wrote: »
    I don't think they have issues finding people. They have a gay couple in every episode, so a quarter of the guests on show, and probably gay people were only a tenth or so of applicants
    And theres lots of people in the background on dates who they don't even feature during the show. Obviously they get plenty of applicants just not enough applicants that they think are interesting enough to show.
    But for this season they had to call out for male applicants a number of times, I remember I kept suggesting that a male friend of mine should apply, but he wouldn't cos he didn't want to be on tv and turns out he had his eye on someone.

Have to say this week's episode was better than last week's.
    I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with Mr Gay Ireland - he came across so nice and friendly, a really nice guy. He got on well with his date and was very polite. I found it interesting to observe a deaf date and even though Mr Ireland was hearing, he still signed when he was talking to someone else so his date wouldn't be excluded. It might only be a small thing but I thought it meant a lot. Not being disrespectful to the deaf guy but it must be hard to date in Ireland when you are gay and deaf, I'm not sure if there's many gay people with sign language, never mind actually fancying them, I dunno. Having to text one another on a date must be so frustrating.

The Belfast woman and the former model I thought got on really well, bit of flirty banter, I was surprised when she didn't want a second date.
    Me too..she seemed SO into him. I think she just said she didn't like him because maybe she was embarrassed of him being a good bit younger or something. I thought they would have been a good couple tbh, seemed like good fun the both of them.

But for this season they had to call out for male applicants a number of times, I remember I kept suggesting that a male friend of mine should apply, but he wouldn't cos he didn't want to be on tv and turns out he had his eye on someone.

Fair enough but there was still male applicants in the background in every episode who they didn't feature at all in the show!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Fair enough but there was still male applicants in the background in every episode who they didn't feature at all in the show!

Background dates specifically apply to be background daters, they didn't apply to be the main focus of an episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Me too..she seemed SO into him. I think she just said she didn't like him because maybe she was embarrassed of him being a good bit younger or something. I thought they would have been a good couple tbh, seemed like good fun the both of them.

To be honest when he said "I get bored of people very easily" in reply to her you talk more than me comment i think it turned her off. Was easily the most egotistical I've heard from anyone on this series amd that included Phil.

Background dates specifically apply to be background daters, they didn't apply to be the main focus of an episode.

Well people who don't get chosen for the show are in background too, my friend applied to be on tv but she was not picked and was just in background

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Am I the only one that things it's absolutely wrong to let a date buy you dinner when you have no intention of seeing them again?

Totally, nearly as bad as 'i'll let you go first' when asked do they want to see each other again -

'yeah id like to see her again'
    'me too but only as friends'

Have some fcuking respect for the other person and a bit of cop on, pay your half, go first to say you're not interested, leave out the friendzone waffle and don't make them look like an eejit on national tv.

'you're too nice'. He seemed like a genuinely nice, decent fella, she could do a lot worse and by the sounds of things, that's what she wants. Same with the other fella who was stiffed by the Belfast girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

That was definitely a case of her protecting herself in front of the tv.

They went on for drinks after and no doubt went further on with that, 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I can see why they struggled to get men on the show for series 3, most of them get turned down and then you see mrs theres no gents anymore tell a guy hes too nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,837 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

mojesius wrote: »
    Totally, nearly as bad as 'i'll let you go first' when asked do they want to see each other again -

'yeah id like to see her again'
    'me too but only as friends'

Have some fcuking respect for the other person and a bit of cop on, pay your half, go first to say you're not interested, leave out the friendzone waffle and don't make them look like an eejit on national tv.

'you're too nice'. He seemed like a genuinely nice, decent fella, she could do a lot worse and by the sounds of things, that's what she wants. Same with the other fella who was stiffed by the Belfast girl.

Indeed, there's probably a good reason a lot of these people are single and dateless. Some of their dating partners seemed fine for them and yet they're trotting out the "We'll just be friends" line, as if there are a big queue of people waiting to ask them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭ignorance is strength

Sorry to disrupt the temporal arrow of this thread, but I've just seen episode 2 and wanted to comment on the two guys' date (it being yet another instance of, when asked whether they'll be going on another date, one saying "You go first" only to then say no). Seems to me that the guy who said no was super nervous and insecure and maybe made his choice out of self-protection. The reason he gave was that the other guy spoke to the waiter. And, in fairness, considering it's edited, the exchange could well have gone on for ages. But only an insecure person would be offended by that. And, given the other guy then says he would like another date, that should have reassured him that he had been interested in him. Seemed to me that this instance of you-go-first-ing wasn't as brutal as the others.

Anyway, that is all. Thank you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,082 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Sorry to disrupt the temporal arrow of this thread, but I've just seen episode 2 and wanted to comment on the two guys' date (it being yet another instance of, when asked whether they'll be going on another date, one saying "You go first" only to then say no). Seems to me that the guy who said no was super nervous and insecure and maybe made his choice out of self-protection. The reason he gave was that the other guy spoke to the waiter. And, in fairness, considering it's edited, the exchange could well have gone on for ages. But only an insecure person would be offended by that. And, given the other guy then says he would like another date, that should have reassured him that he had been interested in him. Seemed to me that this instance of you-go-first-ing wasn't as brutal as the others.

Anyway, that is all. Thank you :p

plus he also let the guy he turned down pay for his dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Just cos someone is from the country and a bit overweight, they match them to someone else from the country who is a bit overweight.

Matt is lovely. Very handsome and cool personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Strazdas wrote: »
    Indeed, there's probably a good reason a lot of these people are single and dateless. Some of their dating partners seemed fine for them and yet they're trotting out the "We'll just be friends" line, as if there are a big queue of people waiting to ask them out.

27654747_1644896265573095_5593517014872475293_n.jpg?oh=abc7718a4a51cb7c8d8f0af7ca0d232f&oe=5B1DD46F

Cat is very pretty and kooky, I can't believe she didn't show more interest! But it said at the end they were still in contact so that's a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Bump