Politician rants on foreign freeloaders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Sounds like wifey is compliant with her rival in the same house.

And it must be from a culture that takes this kind of arrangement (from a male perspective) in their stride.

His punishment is that he has to live with so many females. Six bedrooms? get up the yard.

Whether it's true or not, I am laffing at him living with all those women. Ha fkn Ha.

Probably take a third woman for a boy child eventually. Then it will be seven bedrooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Any proof to back up any of this or are you just talking out of your hoop.

Probably as much proof as the councillor has of Mr X being real
    road_high wrote: »
    Who said anything about asylum seekers? I'm there's a few genuine ones we can help but resources are limited and we can't solve all citizens from other nations problems. The asylum process should be difficult and rigorous. Are you suggesting it should be easy or something?

Probably just humane would be ok.
    Sounds like wifey is compliant with her rival in the same house.

And it must be from a culture that takes this kind of arrangement (from a male perspective) in their stride.

His punishment is that he has to live with so many females. Six bedrooms? get up the yard.

Whether it's true or not, I am laffing at him living with all those women. Ha fkn Ha.

Probably take a third woman for a boy child eventually. Then it will be seven bedrooms.

And in what universe would this claim be entertained? I've never heard of a person being given a house for two families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Borderfox wrote: »
    Anytime I had any interactions with the DSP they broke my balls so much that I found a job quicker. He must have thicker skin and a harder neck

Skin thicker than a Rhinos. A neck so thick no axe could seperate his head from his body.....and you paid for it all If you stick your head out the window when the air is right, you can hear him laughing, laughing at us..........

zell12 wrote: »
    I think he has a valid point. He outlines the fact that we are subsidising people immigrating to Ireland and their life choices.

Could we skip back to the part where we started regarding the spoutings of county councillors and the rest as if they were solid statements of fact to be acted on? Because I'd find that worrying, meself.
    mutant z wrote:
    He's completely spot on.

You know who "mr x" is?
    paddb 1975 wrote:
    And yet there'll still be loons trying to claim that absolutely no one is gaming the system.

If there is a system, then people will game it. That being said, we've no evidence this mr x exists.
    Grayson wrote:
    Remember Theresa May saying she heard of a guy was was given leave to stay in the UK because he had a cat?

And remember how the story was completely different to reality?

I have a feeling this story is probably even more disconnected.

I would say so.
    Road high wrote:
    He's completely spot on. Ireland is beyond a soft touch for these welfare tourists- look at what % of Nigerians for example are on welfare

Nigerians are extinct. It's all muslims now.
    road high wrote:
    Africa and parts of asia are breeding like locusts

Whats a daily mail journo like yourself doing on a board like this?
    biko wrote:
    Everybody chimes in about how bad dole abusers are......

Not really. Plus I doubt this x dude exists.
    Any proof to back up any of this or are you just talking out of your hoop.

Wouldn't that question be better aimed at the OP and/or the councillor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Isn’t it the case for EU migrants that you have to earn stamps before you get the dole?

You can get dole payments transfered from one state to another, but as far as I know your home state is the one paying. There is a limit though - three or six months - as to how long you can claim for.

After that, yes - just like locals, you have to be paying into the social welfare fund before you can take out.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

he's spot on but the snowflakes weirdos will be offended as usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jonnny68 wrote: »
    he's spot on but the snowflakes weirdos will be offended as usual

The guy doesn't exist, Johnny. There's nothing for the snowflakes to get offended about.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭wyf437gn6btzue

I live in a town with a hugely diverse population. A lot of Nigerians, polish etc. First hand its quite obvious that the first wave of Nigerians/Africans that came in don`t work, it doesn't take a genius to spot it. But the generation I grew up in which would of been their kids have a get up and go, I`ve two good friends who are both of Nigerian descent and one is in trinity studying to become a doctor and the other is studying aviation engineering. The other people I`d of grew up with of Nigerian or African or eastern European descent outwork most Irish people I know. Not to say there isn't still welfare tourists, that`s still a big issue.

I have a couple of polish lads who own their own business who buy from my business the odd time, great people to deal with, no BS with them.

I understand the sentiments behind the argument, but if you look at the figures there is a lot of our own who are taking the p*ss when it comes to welfare. The whole welfare system itself is in need of drastic reform for everyone, including the sector of noncontributing foreign nationals. But as with everything on this little Island, you can complain till yer blue in the face and nothing will ever be done. Its all economically uneconomical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭shaunr68

You can get dole payments transfered from one state to another, but as far as I know your home state is the one paying. There is a limit though - three or six months - as to how long you can claim for.

After that, yes - just like locals, you have to be paying into the social welfare fund before you can take out.
    This is true for contributory based claims (Jobseekers Benefit) but as far as I understand it you can claim Jobseekers Allowance as long as you meet the residence requirements, no prior contributions needed here or in any other EU state.
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/unemployed_people/jobseekers_allowance.html
    To get Jobseeker's Allowance you must be aged over 18 and under 66. You must also:

Be unemployed (you must be fully unemployed or unemployed for at least 4 days out of 7)
    Be capable of work
    Be available for full-time work and genuinely seeking work
    Satisfy the means test
    Meet the habitual residence condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

and in what universe would this claim be entertained? I've never heard of a person being given a house for two families.

I think you are naive. I was having a jest about more bedrooms to cater for a possible future male child with a third woman. Well he wanted five bedrooms before this anyway!

And it will probably be given, to avoid any backlash from the PC brigade or a threat of racism.

Travellers get similar.

The rest of the country don't seem to be in the limelight at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Businessman and politician rants on immigration, welfare abuse and the abuse of taxpayer funds.
    He is “very angry” about “people who laze around and do nothing all day”, and called for a complete overhaul of the country’s taxation and welfare systems.
    http://connachttribune.ie/former-mayors-attack-foreign-freeloaders-576/

Wow the Fine Gael Trolls in the frape room are working overtime.

I've probably said it before, but I am of the opinion that €188 per week to sit on your ass seems a fair deal to me.

If you don't want to work, that's fair enough. You get €188. You won't get a big house, a fancy car, a nice suit etc. but you'll have the luxury of not giving up 40 hours to 'the man' each week. Not everyone who's on the dole is a scummer, some just can't bear the thoughts of handing the majority of their life over to a company.

However, my issue is with the secondary payments. I'm of the opinion that children's allowance should be very much a payment for a first or second child, then ceased. 100% of the payment for the first child, 50% of the payment for the second child, nothing for any children after that. Squeezing a child out to get yourself a council house and a few euro extra per week (and then ignoring said child, and letting him/her grow up to be scumbag central, using up even more Council and Garda resources) is clearly not on.

I know a lot of people who have multiple children but who can't even take care of themselves. The idea is always to have a child to get pushed up the housing lists, etc. and it has worked over and over for people around me. Why wouldn't you do it? Have a child, become a single mother, bang, you're near the top of the housing list.

€188 for an adult is grand. Hell, round it off to €200. But stop with the constant secondary 'assistance' that simply encourages a reliance on the state. People with no desire to contribute to the state should not be offered perks from the state. Housing assistance, childcare assistance, money for furniture for their homes, etc.

But that's just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,322 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Its the people coming from the sh1thole countries are the problem. ;-)

I remember this country when it itself was a sh1thole country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

...well put points...

I agree.

I'd also add that a person on minimum wage working 39 hours a week should be better off than someone on the dole when those secondary payments are taken into account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

road_high wrote: »
    He's completely spot on. Ireland is beyond a soft touch for these welfare tourists- look at what % of Nigerians for example are on welfare. Why are they even being allowed come here? What value do they add? .

"BECAUSE DIVERSITY IS OUR STRENGTH YOU RACIST,XENOPHOBIC, ISLAMAPHOBIC, NAZI, BIGOT!!!!!"

This is a serious issue that needs to be addressed eventually. Too many foreigners coming in and leeching from the system will eventually drain it completely. Most of them are coming in with no intention of ever working and supporting themselves. And then they'll cry racism and discrimination if you don't give into their demands.

I think you are naive. I was having a jest about more bedrooms to cater for a possible future male child with a third woman. Well he wanted five bedrooms before this anyway!

And it will probably be given, to avoid any backlash from the PC brigade or a threat of racism.

Travellers get similar.

The thing about this shite is this - its easily proven false.

Why do you feel the need to come on social media and spread falsehoods?

"Galway County Council spent none of its available funding on Traveller Housing last year."
    https://galwaybayfm.ie/county-council-fails-spend-fund-traveller-accommodation/

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/family-who-were-offered-fourbed-home-lose-council-case-36433023.html

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    "BECAUSE DIVERSITY IS OUR STRENGTH YOU RACIST,XENOPHOBIC, ISLAMAPHOBIC, NAZI, BIGOT!!!!!"

This is a serious issue that needs to be addressed eventually. Too many foreigners coming in and leeching from the system will eventually drain it completely. Most of them are coming in with no intention of ever working and supporting themselves. And then they'll cry racism and discrimination if you don't give into their demands.

So it IS the muslims then?

I remember this country when it itself was a sh1thole country.

And it wasn't that long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

All those foreign freeloaders should be kicked out of this country we need to ease this relentless pressure on our services it makes no sense to have all those foreign freeloaders clogging it up.

Mutant z wrote: »
    All those foreign freeloaders should be kicked out of this country we need to ease this relentless pressure on our services it makes no sense to have all those foreign freeloaders clogging it up.

Have you proof of this fellows existence yet, or are we just on here for the windmill tilting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Odhinn wrote: »
    Have you proof of this fellows existence yet, or are we just on here for the windmill tilting?

I was just speaking to his third wife there. Had two daughters with her and he's already gone on to wife number four. Now he's looking for a hotel to be given to him. The nerve of some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,366 ✭✭✭✭zell12

The councillor can't name the individual, otherwise the Council will be sued!
    He's a pretty respectable councillor, so I don't doubt the veracity of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Seriously do you even need to ask that question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Cllr Noel Larkin, of Larkin Engineering should offer Mr X a job.

diomed wrote: »
    Cllr Noel Larkin, of Larkin Engineering should offer Mr X a job.
    He does not offer enough to support the wife, girlfriend and the four kids. Only the taxpayer can do it.

The councillor can't name the individual, otherwise the Council will be sued!
    He's a pretty respectable councillor, so I don't doubt the veracity of it.

If it was true, how could he be sued?

The latter is truly appalling.

Mutant z wrote: »
    Seriously do you even need to ask that question.

Yes, it would appear so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,287 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

kneemos wrote: »
    Sounds a bit like the pram tale in fairness.

The "pram tale" isn't an urban myth.

The DSP do pay for prams for welfare recipients.

All data is published by the DSP.

Geuze wrote: »
    The "pram tale" isn't an urban myth.

The DSP do pay for prams for welfare recipients.

All data is published by the DSP.

......god spare me, merciful jesus spare me....

If it was true, how could he be sued?
    The latter is truly appalling.
    Data protection laws, human rights laws, etc.