Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sets of faahve

• Registered Users Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

It was :) Everything in February was a PR so that's a good reference point for progress.

Holy sh*t!

I'd thought it was 95 and obviously still impressive improvement.

17.5kg? Holy sh*t!!!

I was delighted with 7.5kg!

Bottle what it is you're doing and I'll buy in bitcoins.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,695 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Think I’ll just go copy and paste your entire last year and follow that for 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Think I’ll just go copy and paste your entire last year and follow that for 2018

In some ways, I made a balls of this year tbh. There is a lot I could have done better.

If there's anything I learned where I could go back in time one year and tell myself anything about my time spent in the gym, it would probably be to up the frequency and variation of my bench training.

I'd also tell myself to do something about my weak hips.My squat has only gone up 2.5kg since July/August, which is crap on paper. But how I move the weight is far better.

In some ways, I made a balls of this year tbh. There is a lot I could have done better.

If there's anything I learned where I could go back in time one year and tell myself anything about my time spent in the gym, it would probably be to up the frequency and variation of my bench training.

Anything specifically that you think would have improved your bench

Hmm, maybe you read that wrong? Upping benching frequency and bench variations seems to be helping me a lot.

Texas method had benching 3 time a fortnight and I made only a tiny bit of progress there over the course of a couple of months. RTS had me doing bench variations 4 times a week. It's a format that worked for me in only a few weeks so I'll stick with it.

Hmm, maybe you read that wrong? Upping benching frequency and bench variations seems to be helping me a lot.

Texas method had benching 3 time a fortnight and I made only a tiny bit of progress there over the course of a couple of months. RTS had me doing bench variations 4 times a week. It's a format that worked for me in only a few weeks so I'll stick with it.

Ah. I read it as saying if you'd go back a year from now, you'd bench more.

Three times a fortnight is pretty poor frequency alright. Was there not even a decent variation alongside that?

Probably. But at the time, I wanted a squat-centric program and Texas method gave me that.

Re benching; RTS has the volume phase generally built up as such: Comp bench Monday, partial bench Tuesday, tng bench Thursday and triceppy bench Friday. There is more to it than that, but that's the general breakdown.

Probably. But at the time, I wanted a squat-centric program and Texas method gave me that.

Re benching; RTS has the volume phase generally built up as such: Comp bench Monday, partial bench Tuesday, tng bench Thursday and triceppy bench Friday. There is more to it than that, but that's the general breakdown.

I know and sure look i don't think I would necessarily know differences until I experienced them myself.

December 29

More mobility than usual. Stiff as a plank. Did absolutely none since the 22nd.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    120kg x 3

No real plan here. Kinda figured I'd go for a triple @ RPE 9 without belt/sleeves. The third triple felt less than an 8, so I was probably just loosening up by then. But form felt shakey and generally inconsistent.

Pause squat:
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5

Because I'm a masochist. I hate pause squats. But I acknowledge that my regular squat form improves when pause squats are a regular part of programming. Sets again felt easier as they went on.

Bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 3

Again, no plan. Seeing where I was at. 80 felt better as I went on.

BTN press:
    20kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10

Plan on having some BTN variant in regular rotation soon. Hopefully will address some delt imbalances. Mild pump afterwards.

Pullup:

Have done pullups once in the last 3 months. Experience tells me strength in pullups goes away pretty quickly but I was happy to put out some sets of 5 with bodyweight without any real struggle.

Was hoping for some medial/rear delt pump afterwards but have an overall torso pump instead. How bad.

Also, a handful of roses and after eights counts as post gym nutrition, right?

January 3

Was supposed to be in the gym yesterday, but they decided to reduce their opening hours for Tuesdays and Thursdays. Reduced gym opening hours. In January. Madness.

Today, I kindly asked them to revert this as my 4 days/week plan for the next few months has been scuppered. Might have to find myself a new gym if it doesn't work out. Bad time of year to do it.

Deadlift (conv):
    70kg x 5 (yanked off the floor. crappy setup)
    70kg x 5 (better; legs -> hips, legs -> hips)
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    * belt *
    130kg x 3
    150kg x 2 (crappy setup)
    150kg x 1 (better)
    170kg x 1
    185kg x F
    180kg x F
    170kg x 1

No real plan here, except to see if my conventional deadlift had miraculously gotten better while exclusively doing sumo. Ah well :D

Deadlift (conv) to knees:
    110kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    110kg x 5

Some arseing about.

Bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 4 (jayyysus)
    80kg x 5

More arseing about.

Pullup:

Overhead front plate raise, 3030:
    10kg x 10
    10kg x 10
    10kg x 10
    10kg x 10

Thumbs down lateral raise:
    5kg x 5 (jayyysus, not even close to parallel)
    2.5kg x 5
    2.5kg x 10
    2.5kg x 10
    2.5kg x 10

Thought these were a waste of time as I wasn't feeling any burn or anything. Then I tried putting my gym bag over my shoulder... So, yep, they did something alright.

5kg x 5 (jayyysus, not even close to parallel)
    2.5kg x 5
    2.5kg x 10
    2.5kg x 10
    2.5kg x 10

Thought these were a waste of time as I wasn't feeling any burn or anything. Then I tried putting my gym bag over my shoulder... So, yep, they did something alright.

Been doing these with my red band I usually use for pull-aparts and the like. Handy way to get in some work on these at home.

January 5

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    130kg x 2
    130kg x 2
    130kg x 2

No plan here. First time squatting in a week so expected to be a bit crap, but still wanted to go heavier than last week's triples @ 120kg. 130s were slow but always room for more in the tank.

SSB squat:
    20kg x 1
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 4

First time using this. Only read articles and watched videos so roughly knew what to expect. 80kg was a piece of piss and I felt I was going through the motions. Then at 100, gravity started hitting me from all sorts of angles. Racked it after 4 because I was genuinely fearful of collapsing forward. Interesting.

Bench (tng):
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 6
    80kg x 6

No plan here either. Just keeping everything fluid.

OHP:
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 5

Same as above.

Pullup

For last set, did a 6th by accident and just continued. Haven't done a set that long in a while. Think bodyweight pullups are too easy for now so weighted, here I come.

Grand day

Yeah, the SSB will try to fold you over in the hole. I found myself having to brace harder and harder to prevent that and I really feel the effort it in my abs/mid-section afterwards.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Ooh cool. Just read up on ssb and it says it pushes you forward all right. Interesting

January 8. W1D1

For now, I use the volume phase of the RTS Avatar program as a template to get some volume in over the next few months, or until I decided that competing is on the horizon. For the first few weeks, I'm doing more direct back hypertrophy work and slightly less benching. Am also swapping out pin squats for pause squats and a few other things like that.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 4
    130kg x 4
    135kg x 4
    127.5kg x 4
    127.5kg x 4
    127.5kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Few shakey reps here and there due to losing back tension, but I was able to correct them for the following rep. Nice having this awareness.

Bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 4
    80kg x 4
    85kg x 4
    80kg x 4
    80kg x 4
    80kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Could possibly have gone higher but something was off. Not sure what. Probably because I didn't get my favourite rack this morning and being a creature of habit, that can cause issues.

BTN press:
    20kg x 5
    25kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5

Up to x8, repeat. Banged the bar off the back of my head a few times but aside from that, grand.

Grand day.

January 9. W1D2

Deadlift (conv):
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    130kg x 4
    145kg x 2
    145kg x 1

sumo:
    130kg x 1
    140kg x 4
    132.5kg x 4
    132.5kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Recorded my form for the 145s and it was terrible; rounded back despite feeling ok. Decided there and then that I'll go back to faking it. Sumo felt solid then, even if the 140 wasn't near a 9

SSB squat:
    60kg x 6
    80kg x 6
    90kg x 6
    85kg x 6
    85kg x 6
    85kg x 6

Up to x6 @9. The 90 wasn't quite a 9 but I'm not quite used to the movement yet, so played it safe for now. Felt the bar pushing my forward but was able to fight against it. Also, my lack of conditioning may have been a limiting factor too.

OHP/pullup superset:
    20kg x 5/BW x 4
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 4
    45kg x 4/BW x 6
    45kg x 4/BW x 5
    45kg x 4

Wasn't intending on supersetting these and was going to do +5kg for pullups, but time was limited today so did what I could to get the work done. Also, conditioning was letting me down.

Disappointed with how crap my conventional deadlifting is but sumo has felt good for a long time, so may as well work on getting the numbers up for that instead.

January 11. W1D3

Pause squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5

Up to x5 @9. Got an achey lower back midway through the 120. Went off and foam rolled my glutes and hams which I had forgotten to do, but no joy. Knew I was bracing my back correctly, which is the usual culprit of squats feeling crap. Realised before last set that I hadn't been bracing my feckin core correctly. I never do that! And then last set felt piss easy. Ugh.

Bench (tng):
    20kg x 6
    40kg x 6
    60kg x 6
    70kg x 6
    80kg x 6
    87.5kg x 6
    82.5kg x 6
    82.5kg x 6
    82.5kg x 6

Up to x6 @9. Nice to know I could probably rep 92.5x6, which would be a TNG rep PR.

2.5kg x 20
    2.5kg x 20
    2.5kg x 20
    2.5kg x 20

Had only a rough idea of what I would do here. Figured I'd go AMRAP up as far as 15 but decided to move on and stopped at 20. Last two sets, I was grimacing in pain for the last ~5 reps.

2.5kg might seem small, but I'm keeping with the principal laid out in a few medial/rear delt hypertrophy guides I read whereby they specify to keep the weigh low and reps high. Might aim for 5kg x 15 in the future if this becomes too easy.

Grand day.

Better off keeping the lateral raises lighter and doing them properly for higher reps than going heavier and doing a triple extension to do them and getting less work on the delts.

Same as things like face pulls...people go heavier and end up getting less benefit for the muscles they want to hit.

January 12. W1D4

Pendlay rows:
    40kg x 6
    60kg x 6
    70kg x 6
    75kg x 6
    80kg x 6
    75kg x 6
    75kg x 6
    75kg x 6

Up to x6 @9. Had a good bit of accidental leg drive towards the end of the drop sets.

Close grip bench:
    40kg x 6
    60kg x 6
    70kg x 6
    77.5kg x 6
    72.5kg x 6
    72.5kg x 6
    72.5kg x 6

Up to x6 @9. Had it in my head that leg drive wasn't important for a triceppy exercise, but then corrected that when I almost failed the 70kg warmup. Think I was confused with JM press setups. Arms were ready to fall off by the end.

Reverse hyper:
    70kg x 6
    90kg x 6
    90kg x 6
    90kg x 6

Up to x6 @8, repeat. Am out of practise with these. There was always room left in the tank but trying not to use momentum was the hardest bit.

Overhead plate raise:
    10kg x 10
    10kg x 15
    10kg x 15

Used a bumper plate instead of small plate and it made the top portion easier. Wanted a few more sets of these but time was an issue.

Grand day

January 15. W2D1

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 5
    135kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    132.5kg x 5
    132.5kg x 5
    132.5kg x 5

Up to x5 @9. Wanted to call 135 a top set because last week was 135x4, but the voices in my head told me to stop being a pussy and that I was capable of more. Sure enough, 140 was a 9. The drop sets damn near killed me though.

Bench:
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5

Up to x5 @9. The 85 was a 9.5, as was the 2nd drop set, so I called it quits at that. I think I was genuinely fcuked after squats.

Klokov press:
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 7
    30kg x 7
    30kg x 7

Up to x7 @8, repeat. Was running short on time so rushed warmups. Was hoping for another two sets. Oh well.

Good day.

January 18. W2D3*

Missed Tuesday's session due to car crapping out and not being able to make it to the gym. Made some adjustments for today to cater for what I didn't do on Tuesday.

Lots of foam rolling of the glutes. Did some mobility Tuesday morning at home and realised my mobility has all but disappeared. Can't ignore this.

Rev band squat:
    20kg x 8 (no band)
    60kg x 5 (no band)
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    140kg x 4
    155kg x 4
    145kg x 4
    145kg x 4
    145kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Nice having this weight on my back.

Bench (tng):
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5

Up to x5 @9. Was hoping to do 90x5 for my 9 but it just wasn't feeling strong. Then my drop sets felt piss easy in comparison. Lack of warmups? I dunno. I'd expect that if benching was first exercise but the body was definitely warm.

Push press:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 7
    40kg x 7
    45kg x 7
    45kg x 7
    45kg x 7

Up to x7 @8, repeat. Grand

Pullup:

Wanted to do weighted but looked at the time and went "aaah jaysus". Feckin mobility work!

Was supposed to do push press and pullup on Tuesday, so did them today instead. In retrospect, I'm revising my program. I had two forms of overhead pressing for Mon/Tue and then direct delt work for Thu/Fri. Makes sense to split them up so it's Mon/Thu and Tue/Fri instead.

Grand day.

January 19. W2D4

Deadlift:
    250kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    130kg x 2

Missing the gym on Tuesday meant there'd be no deadlifts this week. Decided to just go through the warmup routine so I won't feel completely weak next Tuesday.

Seal rows:
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    50kg x 8
    50kg x 8

Up to x8 @8, repeat. I'm not really used to seal rows so they felt a bit crap. I don't like my breathing feeling restricted by lying down but I guess I'll just have to get used to it.

Lying rear delt raises:
    2.5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10

Up to x10 @8, repeat. Haven't done these much before either. 5kg was too light and I didn't feel much of a burn here at all. Not much sweat either. But for something isolation-ey like this, a jump from 5kg to 7.5kg would feel huge.

Pullup:
    5kg x 3
    10kg x 3
    5kg x 3
    5kg x 3
    5kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. First time adding weight in a few months. Lats were fried from yesterday and earlier rows so this was always going to be a struggle.

JM Press:
    20kg x 7
    30kg x 7
    40kg x 7
    50kg x 7
    55kg x 7
    50kg x 7
    50kg x 7
    50kg x 7

Up to x7 @9. Been a few weeks since I've done these so movement a bit all over the shop. Really felt it in the triceps afterwards.

Weird day.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I had to go look up seal rows. Ornk Ornk
    I knew what they were after all, didn't know that was the name

I've to do mob work too :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

January 19. W2D4

Deadlift:
    250kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    130kg x 2

That's a pretty impressive deadlift, although a weird way to go about a warmup!:pac:

bluewolf wrote: »
    I had to go look up seal rows. Ornk Ornk
    I knew what they were after all, didn't know that was the name

13385642_1183897861644669_1956807310_n.jpg

January 22. W3D1

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    135kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    135kg x 3
    135kg x 3
    135kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. I had 150x3 in my head if everything went well, but 135x3 felt heavy. Tbh, 145x3 was more like an 8-8.5 and I was tempted to go for 150x3 but declined. Bit silly in retrospect. Otherwise, form felt good.

Bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    87.5kg x 3
    87.5kg x 3
    87.5kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. Was hoping 100x3 was on the cards today but 95x3 was definitely a 9. The dropsets felt a bit easier than expected. There's a chance I wasn't using leg drive properly for the 95x3. Dunno.

BTN press:
    20kg x 7
    30kg x 7
    40kg x 7
    40kg x 7
    40kg x 7

Up to x7 @8, repeat. Was hoping for more sets but just got tired by the end.

Ok day.

January 23. W3D3

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    * belt *
    130kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    155kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    145kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. 150x3 felt like an 8, so was going to go up to 160. But then I remembered there's this thing called an RPE chart that I'm supposed to use and keep forgetting to am sometimes too stubborn to use. Sure enough, 155x3 felt like a 9. Was happy considering I hadn't pulled anything heavyish in two weeks, and not heavyish sumo pulled since before christmas.

SSB squat:
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    90kg x 5

Up to x5 @8, repeat. I think I used this wrong. The handles are supposed to face slightly away from me when SSB is resting in the rack, but I was using them the opposite way. I think? Anyway, bar felt very shakey and heavier than it should.

Pullup:
    x5
    5kg x 3
    10kg x 3
    5kg x 3
    5kg x 3
    5kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. Meh.

Thumbs-down lateral raise:
    2.5kg x 10
    5kg x 10
    5kg x 10

Ran out of time. Wanted more sets. But the 2.5 was too easy and 5kg felt a bit better this week anyway.

Good day.

I'm not sure I understand the confusion about the SSB bar in the rack so colour me confused too

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

That might be the same as the one they have in UL, it has to face a certain way or else you have to nearly force it into position when unracking and the entire thing feels way more difficult and nearly off balance.

Yeah, unracking it felt bad. Even standing still after unracking felt bad as it was almost, uh, bouncing?

Anyway, a quick google image search shows they're mostly the same:

ra0370-lg.jpg

Because I unracked it the other way around, the plates would have been higher up which probably caused the instability and made the thing feel way heavier than it should have.

Meh, was only my third time using it. It wouldn't be normal if I didn't make silly mistakes.