Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sets of faahve

• Registered Users Posts: 12,727 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

What’s a sweeping deadlift?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,498 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

When the bar gets cleaned off the floor.

I'm hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,552 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    What’s a sweeping deadlift?

There's a band attached to the bar and something in front of you so that you're having to work harder to keep the bar close because the tension in the band is pulling it away from you.

March 26. W12D1

Spent most of yesterday installing a new sink, which meant lots of crouching down, twisting and turning and whatnot. Was at it for around 9 hours, including breaks. If it was somebody who had the faintest idea of what they were doing, it would probably have taken 1 hour.

Rewarded my hard work with an extra 15 minutes in bed which meant 15 minutes less in the gym.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 5
    140kg x 4
    145kg x 4
    135kg x 4
    135kg x 4
    135kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Coach pointed out during my 120 that my depth wasn't always there. Concentrated on sinking the hips harder for the 140 and it felt soooo heavy. Was aiming for 150x4 but did a solid 145x4 instead.

Squatting without hitting depth is like having a fry without bacon. What's the point?

*looks at clock* "Holy crap I have 20 minutes to do everything else!!!"

Bench:
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 4
    95kg x 4
    90kg x 4
    90kg x 4
    90kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Backoff sets felt fine but there was a little ass raising on the last reps. Otherwise, technique felt sound.

March 27. W12D2

Can't use my regular gym this week. Went to Animalbarbell in Blanchardstown and got a week's membership.

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    160kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    150kg x 1

Up to x3 @9. Form just felt crap and leg strength wasn't there. Realised in 2nd drop set that I was putting m y back into getting it off the floor, so I left it.

Disappointed after how good last week was. Perhaps going from bumper plates to iron plates made everything feel heavier off the floor? Who knows.

DB bench:
    15kgs x 8
    20kgs x 8
    25kgs x 8
    25kgs x 8
    25kgs x 8
    25kgs x 8
    25kgs x 8

Up to x8 @ 8. No idea what the actual weight was on these dumbbells. The above was the sum of the weight on each dumbbell plate. Including handles, maybe another 5kg? Dunno.

Anyway, didn't do the knees up dumbbell setup bluewolf suggested as I'd prefer to be in my regular gym before attempting something potentially silly looking, but I discovered my own easier way of setting up; placing them against my chest before sitting back. Did the trick.

Front squat:
    20kg x 3
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5

Wasn't on the plan. Was supposed to be some single leg stuff. I was in unfamiliar territory and out of my routine so ended up ad hoccing it a bit. At least these felt good.

BTN press:
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    35kg x 8

Was supposed to do these yesterday but hadn't time then. I was going to do pullups today, but had a look around and couldn't actually see where to do them, so panicked a bit and went ad hoc again.

Weird day. Hopefully I sort myself out.

March 29. W12D3

Back to my regular gym.

Tempo squat 3030:
    20kg x 4
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    125kg x 3
    115kg x 3
    115kg x 3
    115kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. I hate these. But dammit, do I recognise their usefulness. Also keeping depth issues in mind, I made sure to sink everything.

Bench (tng):
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 6
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 4
    90kg x 4
    95kg x 4
    90kg x 4
    90kg x 4
    90kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Was hoping to go a little heavier but bar felt heavy in my hands. Still happy to have working set and drop sets all 90kg+.

OHP:
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 6
    50kg x 6
    50kg x 6
    50kg x 6

Up to x6 @8, repeat. 50 was probably an 8.5. Everything a little grindey overall.

Good day.

Nice squats. Everything holding well.

March 30. W12D4

Paused deadlift:
    70kg x 5 (1 normal + 4 paused)
    90kg x 4
    110kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3
    140kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. For some reason, if there was a dodgy rep in any set today, it was always the second rep. Not the first, nor last.

My lats were fried afterwards. Previously, I had problems holding onto lat tension and any given day could be hit or miss. I always tensed my lats first and they went from holding the bar slack from holding the full weight once it left the floor. Today, I changed my setup slightly so I engaged the lats at the same time as I engaged leg drive and it seemed to work out nicely.

JM press/facepulls:
    20kg x 6
    40kg x 6
    50kg x 6
    60kg x 6
    70kg x 6
    65kg x 6/23kg plate x 20
    65kg x 6/29kg plate x 20
    Pullup x6/29kg plate x 20

Up to x6 @8, repeat/w 100 facepulls. The 70kg was a 9.5, so, umm, oops. Only managed 4 sets at 65kg so did a cheeky set of pullups so I could complete my plan of 100 facepulls.

Grand day. Looking forward to starting some heavy singles next week.

April 3

Had intended on including heavy singles this week, but I am only able to get to the gym 3 times this week instead of my usual 4. Will start next week

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 4
    140kg x 4
    147.5kg x 4
    140kg x 4
    140kg x 4
    140kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Form felt off today and I couldn't put my finger on why. Upper back was tight. Broke at knees and hips together. Hmm.

Bench(tng):
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    100kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3
    95kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. Repping paused squats for 100kg is a goal of mine so doing it touch and go means I'm almost there. Delighted. Video made them look easier than they felt.

BTN press:
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5

Up to x5 @8, repeat. Grand.

Good day.

Lovely bar path off the chest!

April 5

Bench:
    20kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    60kg x 6
    80kg x 4
    90kg x 4
    97.5kg x 4
    90kg x 4
    90kg x 4
    90kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. Was optimistic about doing 100x4 but decided to take it easy. Good, as the 97.5x4 was a 9.5 rather than a 9. Such so that I strained my lower back during it.

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    * belt *
    130kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    170kg x 1

Up to x3 @9. Lower back from bench didn't affect me during warmups, but I seemed to strain my left lat during the 110x5. Quick bit of rolling and stretching didn't make any difference. Was able to continue on and the 150x3 felt heavy, but moved quickly. 170 was an absolute joke and my lat felt sore AF, so I cut my losses and ran.

OHP/SSB squat superset:
    20kg x 5/60kg x 5
    30kg x 5/80kg x 5
    40kg x 5/90kg x 5
    50kg x 5/90kg x 5
    50kg x 5

OHP was up to x5 @8 while the SSB was supposed to be x5 @9, but I was short on time and figured these were supersettable. My right knee felt achey during the first 90x5 so didn't go any heavier.

Feck sake. Sore lower back, sore lat and dodgy knee all in one day. Grrrr.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

On the plus side, love the new name!:pac:

April 6

Reverse band squats:
    20kg x 5 (no band)
    60kg x 5 (no band)
    100kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    120kg x 3
    * belt *
    140kg x 2
    160kg x 2
    170kg x 2
    160kg x 2
    160kg x 2
    160kg x 2

Up to x2 @9. Whatever about overloading the squat, I mainly find these useful for not freaking out when walking something heavy out on my back. I was able to stay nice and tight and use minimal footsteps to get into position.

2ct pause bench:
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 2
    95kg x 2
    90kg x 2
    90kg x 2
    90kg x 2

Up to x2 @9. Elbows were achey going into these. Bar moved well. But I reckon with a day or two of rest, I could have doubled 100kg. Triceps fecked after these.

One-arm DB row:
    25kg x 8
    30kg x 6
    30kg x 6
    30kg x 6
    30kg x 6

Up to x6 @8, repeat. Running out of time so had to rush these.

Good day. Was afraid lat would flare up but it was fine. Happy. But body is feeling a little beaten so need to take it easy this weekend.

April 9. W13D1

Start of heavy singles. Plan for this mesocycle is to start with a single at RPE 8 and add 2.5kg per week, as long as the previous week moved and looked like an RPE 8.

Took the top sets from weeks 9-12 and calculated what a single @8 would be, and rounded down. Used this weight as the starting weight for singles. And I plan on emulating platform behaviour, such as waiting for hypothetical commands. I've only ever failed lifts from strength so this isn't essential, but good practise and common sense nonetheless.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 2
    150kg x 1
    155kg x 1
    145kg x 4
    137.5kg x 4
    137.5kg x 4

Single felt heavy, but moved well. 145kg was supposed to be @9 but that was conservative. Rest were grand.

Bench:
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 2
    100kg x 1
    92.5kg x 4
    87.5kg x 4
    87.5kg x 4

Single felt heavy in my hands, but that is why I'm doing heavy singles; acclimatising myself. Moved well though. Rest was all fine too.

BTN press:
    20kg x 6
    30kg x 6
    40kg x 6
    40kg x 6
    40kg x 6

Up to x6 @8. Fine.

Good day.

April 10. W13D2

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 3
    150kg x 2
    165kg x 1
    155kg x 4
    140kg x 6
    140kg x 6

Single @8, followed by x4 @9 and then two sets of x6 @8. The calculated weight of my starting single seemed lower than expected, but last mesocycle's deadlifts were all over the place.

Single felt kinda bad because I don't think I activated my lats properly, but video looked pretty solid. I've decided to add a little volume because my volume last cycle was lacking. Therefore, my backoff sets will be @9 set's reps +2. Only a small increase, but I don't like the idea of high rep deadlifts unless form is 100%.

Floor press:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 4
    75kg x 4
    75kg x 4
    75kg x 4

Up to x4 @9. My left elbow got very achey in warmups. I just hate floor press.

SSB squat/pullup superset:
    60kg x 6
    80kg x 6
    95kg x 6/x 6

SSB was @8. 60s second rest between each exercise.

Aside from achey elbow, today was a good day. But I'm absolutely fcuked. Came home from the gym and wanted to curl into a ball and sleep, but I have a full day of work ahead of me. This sucks :(

April 12. W13D3

Pause squat:
    20kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    120kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5
    112.5kg x 5

Up to x5 @9. I felt pause squats didn't do much for me recently, but I may have been cutting depth short. Today, I made sure to sink my hips properly and holy jaysus, they destroyed me.

Bench tng:
    40kg x 8
    60kg x 6
    80kg x 6
    90kg x 6
    85kg x 6
    85kg x 6
    85kg x 6

Up to x6 @10. After Tuesday's achey elbows, I did some research and realised I've been gripping the bar badly for a while, i.e. holding it high in my hand instead of along the thumb pad, forcing a bend in my wrist. Video from Monday's session confirms it. Don't know why I started doing this, but it may be from when I concentrated on increasing my arch a few months back.

Going by recent sessions, a set of 6 @10 should be higher than 90 but I needed to get used to proper grip again.

I was wrecked today. Had a long day of work across the country yesterday and my energy levels were through the floor. Skipped OHP as a result. Look at how sweaty I was after my warmups:

Held everything together tightly on those.

Didn't look like an @9 anyway

You know what? It probably wasn't a 9. I might have been afraid of going higher and might have been conscious of the fact that my previous paused squats were cut high. And not hitting a true 9 could be holding me back.

I'll push harder next time. And if anything goes wrong, I'll blame yer man Alf from the internet.

April 13. W13D4

Sweeping deadlift:
    70kg x 5 (no band)
    90kg x 3 (no band)
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    155kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    145kg x 3
    145kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. Sweeping deadlifts are supposed to pull the bar in a horizontal plane, i.e. the band is tied to something in front, like a squat rack. Due to my gym setup, I can't do that. The deadlift platforms have hooks at floor level that are ideal for regular banded deadlifts and I use these, but that means the pull is a little downwards.

Kinda hard to explain, but I tried something different today that resulted in this lift being more of a banded deadlift than a sweeping deadlift, so I adjusted after the 130.

CGBP/facepull superset:
    20kg x 6
    40kg x 6
    60kg x 6/23kg plate x 20
    80kg x 6/29kg plate x 20

Up to x6 @8. My fixed bar grip possibly feels weaker. Must get used to it. Grand otherwise.

Good day. My body is feeling a little beaten up at the moment. If I still feel wrecked next week, I might do a little deload.

You know what? It probably wasn't a 9. I might have been afraid of going higher and might have been conscious of the fact that my previous paused squats were cut high. And not hitting a true 9 could be holding me back.

I'll push harder next time. And if anything goes wrong, I'll blame yer man Alf from the internet.

Watching back now, it looked a 7.5.

One thing I did notice is when you were in the hole on the 3rd and 4th reps, the bar moved forward a touch so just a touch tighter on the upper back because while it didn't affect you that much, it just seemed to take more out of you coming out of the hole than the 5th rep.

April 16. W14D1

February 2017, I weighed in at comp at 87.6kg. I tried putting on weight over the summer but weighed in at September at 86.1kg - I lost weight by accident. Made a proper conscious effort since Christmas at putting on weight because I had a lot of room to fill while staying under 93kg by July. Weighed myself yesterday - 93.6kg.

Fcuk.

Anyway...

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 5
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 2
    150kg x 1
    157.5kg x 1
    142.5kg x 5
    137.5kg x 5
    137.5kg x 5

Single @8, followed by x5 @9 and 2x5 @8. Form felt off today and I couldn't put my finger on it. Also, going by the video, depth wasn't quite there.

Bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 2
    95kg x 1
    102.5kg x 1
    92.5kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    90kg x 5

Single @8, followed by x5 @9 and 2x5 @8. Proper grip this week and no strength lost. Elbow felt good. Lost my marbles briefly the first time I unracked for top single because I was missing a 5kg from one side. That's what I get for hogging all the 5kg plates.

BTN press:
    20kg x 7
    30kg x 7
    40kg x 7
    40kg x 7
    40kg x 7

Up to x7 @8, repeat. Wanted more but out of time.

Mixed day.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

Hard to tell for definite from the angle but depth looked fine to me. Also the plates are wrecking my head in that video!

Vidjo not working for me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Crease def goes under knee in rep 1 there anyway

Deano7788 wrote: »
    Hard to tell for definite from the angle but depth looked fine to me. Also the plates are wrecking my head in that video!
    bluewolf wrote: »
    Crease def goes under knee in rep 1 there anyway

Angle and t-shirt/shorts combo don't make it clear. I really need to get a mini stand for myself so my phone is closer to knee level.

And sorry Deano. Plates absolutely wrecked my head too. Buuuut I paid the price for it with all my faffing around.
    Vidjo not working for me.

Maybe try stronglifts 5x5?

Depth does look borderline on the single. But I wouldn't mind that cos it moved well enough that dropping deeper wouldn't have made it any less of an 8.

April 17. W14D2

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 5
    * belt *
    130kg x 3
    150kg x 2
    160kg x 1
    167.5kg x 1
    152.5kg x 5
    140kg x 7
    140kg x 7

Single @8, followed by x5 @9, followed by 2x7 @8. Single felt easy. Form felt good. Happy.

Pin press:
    20kg x 5 (no pin)
    40kg x 5 (no pin)
    60kg x 3 (no pin)
    60kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    100kg x 3
    95kg x 3

Up to x3 @9. Elbow pain from last week came back. Maybe it's not my grip, but maybe the partial movement that is the issue? Got the same pain doing floor press last week. I didn't record any sets, so I might be doing something wrong. But I'm setting up the exact same way as I would for a normal bench. Hmm.

SSB/pullup superset:
    60kg x 7
    80kg x 5/x 5
    90kg x 5/x 5
    95kg x 7/x 7

Up to x7 @8, repeat. But I was running out of time so rushed everything. Worked up a massive sweat, at least.

Feckin elbow. Feckin lack of time management. Uuughghh.

Lol. Those deadlifts didn't look near @8 and @9. Good speed!

I agree. Although my form felt good, I'm not 100% consistent with it, so am erring on the side of caution. So... maybe 7.5?

I tried to sync by hand with the first rep of the deficits I recorded recently (triple @8).

Your speed and lack of form breakdown on the single makes it nor more than a 7.