If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Boards Golf Society -Corballis-Jan.20th-10.30am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,047 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Seve OB wrote: »
    And there might be a prize for the best individual score.
    Seve OB wrote:
    Gimmes allowed, pick the ball up and move on and mark up your card/points.

If we're talking about individual stableford scores. Then, is the assumption that a given putt for a net par gives you 2 points then? Or should we be looking at people holing out for every shot that would score you points?

I know that when we played this last year we had a bit of a debate about it in our 4-ball around whether we should be conceding putts given there was a competition around individual stableford scores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭woodyg

anything inside a putter length to be given as a gimme would seem sensible to keep the pace of play going?

woodyg wrote: »
    anything inside a putter length to be given as a gimme would seem sensible to keep the pace of play going?

Putter length, or putter-grip length (digs out the long putter :D)

belly-putters.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,390 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

If we're talking about individual stableford scores. Then, is the assumption that a given putt for a net par gives you 2 points then? Or should we be looking at people holing out for every shot that would score you points?

I know that when we played this last year we had a bit of a debate about it in our 4-ball around whether we should be conceding putts given there was a competition around individual stableford scores

I think anything given for the matchplay should be considered given for the stableford. After all, it not a counting event, it's only a bit of craic

By the way if we end up with an odd number I would propose the team with 2 players should have to alternate holes, ie player A competes on odd number holes against player C and player B will compete on even number holes against player C.

I think anything given for the matchplay should be considered given for the stableford. After all, it not a counting event, it's only a bit of craic

Sounds fair. Works for me Seve.

Captain, I know that last year we did a lottery to create a singles score (randomly draw one Dub Card, randomly draw one Culchie Card, best stableford score wins a point) so that there were fourball & singles matches.

Thinking of doing the same this year?

Makes the overall score look a bit more substantial, since you'll have 15 potential points available rather than 5.

It'll keep the culchies interested too, after they've lost all their fourball matches by the 14th hole :D

them's fighting words :D

Oh jeysus don't be saying that or yer man will be back with his hemorrhoid cream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 536 ✭✭✭a post punk

Sounds fair. Works for me Seve.

Captain, I know that last year we did a lottery to create a singles score (randomly draw one Dub Card, randomly draw one Culchie Card, best stableford score wins a point) so that there were fourball & singles matches.

Thinking of doing the same this year?

Makes the overall score look a bit more substantial, since you'll have 15 potential points available rather than 5.

Yeah I actually forgot about that last year, we could possibly do that if everyone is happy to do that ? Potentially we could lose all matches and still win 10-5 :)

Lads there’s a slot available again instead of golfgraffix if anyone’s looking in on the chat.

If you want I can sound out my brother in law? He has a boards account but has never played with the society. Late notice so he might not be available.

Yeah it would be great to have even numbers, cheers.

I'll have a yes/no answer in the morning. If someone subs in before then just post on here & I'll let him know we're covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 ThecHamp26

Sorry lads for the short notice I have to pull out

User pearsefitz is available to play captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Break80

Will you make a call tonight if it's going ahead. It's brass monkey weather down south this morning.

User pearsefitz is available to play captain
    Cheers space

Break80 wrote: »
    Will you make a call tonight if it's going ahead. It's brass monkey weather down south this morning.
    I know I’m on a roof this morning:):) the forecast was to freeze hard last night and not too bad tomorrow. I’ll check it tonight again but as far as I’m concerned it’s going ahead.

ice wasnt really that bad this morning up here and it cleared up very quick

Lads Corballis doesn’t have a resteraunt but they recommend a hotel 2 mins from the course if people want to go there after the round. (I only found that out today).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Lads Corballis doesn’t have a resteraunt but they recommend a hotel 2 mins from the course if people want to go there after the round. (I only found that out today).

I had breakfast there on my first Boards outing to Corballis, decent food for relatively small money.

nearest spar for a dirty breakfast roll for me.....healthy january an all that :pac:

Captain you want us onsite for a specific time?

Are we still short one body?

From yesterday, we're down Golfgraffix & TheChamp, with Pearsefitz stepping in for one of them.

Forecast for tomorrow looking a bit soggy at the moment. Cooler than today, but with light winds

https://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Donabate/hour_by_hour_detailed.html

woodyg wrote: »
    nearest spar for a dirty breakfast roll for me.....healthy january an all that :pac:

Captain you want us onsite for a specific time?
    Just give yourself plenty of time to check in and meet the few lads....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭jarrieta

Hey lads unfortunately today I woke up with a fever and sore throat and legs feeling like jelly.

I don't think I will be able to make it tomorrow. I was so looking forward to playing corballis :(

Enjoy the day lads, see you next time.

I’ll have to update the time sheet later lads with the few changes.

10:36 Charlie V Roadrunner
    10:44 Alan M,Tim golfer V 3Putt,New in Dublin
    10:52 Woody G,Kieran Boards V Spacecoyote,Pearsefitz
    11:00 Kiers47,Break 80 V Emurphalot,Seve O' B
    11:08 Post Punk V Benny 79,B.Rossiter

I hope these late changes are okay with everyone?I stuck out the 2 ball first to keep things moving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

Lads, available for tomorrow if you want anyone else. Noticed post punk on his own. I'm a dub living outside the pale so I can play for either side!

Barnaboy wrote: »
    Lads, available for tomorrow if you want anyone else. Noticed post punk on his own. I'm a dub living outside the pale so I can play for either side!
    Great, your with me so on the non dubs side last tee time.talk to you then!Culchies abu:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭benny79

game on Post Punk we'll go easy on you in the big smoke :D