If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Boards Golf Society -Corballis-Jan.20th-10.30am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭woodyg

Non-Dub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

woodyg wrote: »
    Non-Dub Bogger

fixed your post :p

you spelt winner wrong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 339 ✭✭Alanm

Non dub too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭jarrieta

Non dub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 239 ✭✭newindublin

Dub or none dub is if you live in Dublin? Dub then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭3putt

Captain if possible could I get one of the early teetimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 ThecHamp26

Hi captain , I’m a Dub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 536 ✭✭✭a post punk

Okay so ,Benny 79 and. Brian have ye down as dubs??! Emurphalot and Kieran Boards I need you’re colours!!:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,047 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Well if it's our regular attendee Kieran., he's a Monaghan man, so a non dub

That’s who I was thinking aswell, cheers space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,390 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Political correctness gone mad I tell you. At least The Donald would have the nerve to just call yiz what you are.......... Culchies. We'll draw the line at muck savages though :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Seve OB wrote: »
    Political correctness gone mad I tell you. At least The Donald would have the nerve to just call yiz what you are.......... Culchies. We'll draw the line at muck savages though :eek:
    Tbh, that sort of name-calling is about as funny as hemorrhoids.

Was leaning towards bogger

Vita nova wrote: »
    Tbh, that sort of name-calling is about as funny as hemorrhoids.

Welcome to the Golf forum.

It's OK. Sure we're only West Brit Jackeens up here in the big schmoke

Forgot the needing a passport to cross the Liffey.

Ah what's the weather looking like Saturday?

Forgot the needing a passport to cross the Liffey.

Ah what's the weather looking like Saturday?
    Not hectic at the moment, hopefully the outlook improves!!

This little nugget from met.ie worries me :(
    "Widespread frost likely on Friday night, possibly severe."
    Hopefully that changes.

10:36 Charlie irl,Break80 V Seve o b,Roadrunner
    10:44 Alan M,Timgolfer V 3 Putt, Spacecoyote
    10:52 Woody G,Jarietta V The Champ26,Newindublin
    11:00 Kiers 47,Kieran.boardsVEmurphalot,Golfgraffix(provisional)
    11:08 SS Bob,A Post Punk V Benny 79,B.Rossiter

The Child of prague will be out for Saturday lads......................:eek::eek:

off the back tee's yea :)

I'm pretty sure that there is only one set of "Mens" tees on the course (open to correction though) so we'll definitely be off the back tees :)

Gulp

Gulp

Don't worry.... Corballis is not in any way to be considered a long track, quite the opposite in fact.

10:36 Charlie irl,Break80 V Seve o b,Roadrunner
    10:44 Alan M,Timgolfer V 3 Putt, Spacecoyote
    10:52 Woody G,Jarietta V The Champ26,Newindublin
    11:00 Kiers 47,Kieran.boardsVEmurphalot,Golfgraffix(provisional)
    11:08 SS Bob,A Post Punk V Benny 79,B.Rossiter

The Child of prague will be out for Saturday lads......................:eek::eek:

How does the versus work?

Fourball betterball matchplay if I'm not mistaken

Gulp

you spelled winner wrong :D

Fourball betterball matchplay if I'm not mistaken

Cool. How are handicaps accounted for in Fourball betterball matchplay?

A quick google got this:
    Handicap – Your handicap you play your match off is (a) handicap the day of the match or (b) the handicap you qualified off, whichever is lower. Lowest player goes to scratch and the other three players receive strokes based on (CONGU’s new rule for 2016 of) 9/10’s of the difference between the full handicaps. (e.g. Lowest player is off 6 and goes to 0. Player B off 16 goes to 10 and plays off 9/10’s of the adjusted handicap (9); players C&D are similarly adjusted.)

Cool. How are handicaps accounted for in Fourball betterball matchplay?

A quick google got this:
    Handicap – Your handicap you play your match off is (a) handicap the day of the match or (b) the handicap you qualified off, whichever is lower. Lowest player goes to scratch and the other three players receive strokes based on (CONGU’s new rule for 2016 of) 9/10’s of the difference between the full handicaps. (e.g. Lowest player is off 6 and goes to 0. Player B off 16 goes to 10 and plays off 9/10’s of the adjusted handicap (9); players C&D are similarly adjusted.)

Honestly I started to read and then stopped when i got to qualifying.... who is qualifying??

Lets keep this simple, we are out for a bit of fun. I think the idea is to have a team event for nothing more than bragging rights (and to gel together as a team ready to battle the reps in October). And there might be a prize for the best individual score.

Just play off your society handicap, the best score wins the hole. Gimmes allowed, pick the ball up and move on and mark up your card/points.

Honestly I started to read and then stopped when i got to qualifying.... who is qualifying??

Lets keep this simple, we are out for a bit of fun. I think the idea is to have a team event for nothing more than bragging rights (and to gel together as a team ready to battle the reps in October). And there might be a prize for the best individual score.

Just play off your society handicap, the best score wins the hole. Gimmes allowed, pick the ball up and move on and mark up your card/points.

simple always keep it simple.
    be hard enough to keep warm Saturday!

Perfect, just wanted to know if I needed to research anything as this is my first event.

Looks like its going to be cold and wet, the new pair of waterproofs I got in post xmas sales may be put to the test!