Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Where did the brick come from?

That's the brick the lapdog flung through the window last week!

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Poor Damien how often does a man kidnap his daughter and ends up being hit over the head and being held hostage himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

What a load of b*****ks! It's even worse that the end of the Katy/Ciaran storyline and as ''what the f**k as THE PLAN.

Oakley has only an effing flare gun and could easily be overpowered, even Hannah, once he untied her could have picked up one of their endless supply of bricks and given him a good clatter with it, released the others, tied him up, then let them (wherever the hell they appeared from - there was no sign of anyone the other day, apart from Hannah, Dan and Miriam when he took them hostage) overpower Emmet and tie him up too, then go outside and tell the Guards what's been going on.

When Oakley said tonight to Miriam, while they were alone, that Fiona didn't die of cot death and to confess what really happened; I said to myself - ''so THAT'S IT, he thinks she killed the baby, and he's taking revenge''. Then later, after Miriam made her false confession - I don't believe for one minute the baby's death was anything other than cot death - he told Emmet, ''she's lying - she'd say anything to talk her way out of this'' I was left with the whole ''what the hell???'' feeling again. So, obviously, he doesn't believe she killed the baby either. Then what's the whole effing point?
    Had to laugh though at his diagnosis of the big baby doll in the massive hooded suit, though: ''She's looking very flushed.'' For the love of God, he could only see the back of the doll's head, not her face!'' So, Oakley, what's the whole point of any of it? Obviously Miriam is no sinister cult leader but as much a victim as the others - he's a cult unto himself - after all, no one brainwashed Emmet but him. And speaking of Emmet, was there ever a bigger eejit born? Considering what Ciaran did to himself and Katy, surely to God, he'd have seen through Oakley, and believed Miriam at this stage (I really hope that his is one of the ''tragic deaths''). And why don't the Guards call in the Armed Response Unit and try to negotiate a surrender?
    I thought someone was going to die tonight? Disappointed in that.... Have a feeling that Damo is already suffering a bleed on the brain and will be one of the casualties, though.
    Oakley is as mad as a box of frogs, that was the only thing that episode made clear. This tops the Katy/Ciaran thing and The PlAN as being the daftest storyline ever. Well, done FC writers, you deserve an award for the Best Incoherent Comedy Drama of the Year! :D

I predict this is what will happen to Dan. Dan will then be seen as a hero even by Robbie and Aoife.

Like any one in reality would ever grieve for their rapist - even if he died stopping nuclear war, you be like ''rot in hell''. But seeing as it's FC, she probably will...

tototoe wrote: »
    Does being a trauma surgeon allow him to check patients like Pete and have them discharged from hospital...doubt it somehow. Pete's plaster/scar healed fierce quick as well

It's Fair City - normal rules don't apply! :D

Maybe he's ciaron father !

Two young, I think. Oakley looks to be in his early forties, Ciaran his early thirties. :)

The Gardai must be really sick of the O'Brien's they had Eoghan's MURDER of Michael, Katy's kidnapping and now Emmett!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭threetrees

Ah no, what a pathetic episode. False brick, false baby, false gun.

Wouldn't you think Judith Dillon would fly back to Dublin since her grandchild is missing?

We need Deegan back, he'll sort out the OBriens house in jig time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,720 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Am I being OTT in describing FC as a national embarrassment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

walshb wrote: »

No, imagine Mel Gibson and co watching this episode for Gogglebox..

We all have a fair idea that Saoirse is a doll but isn't the dolly a little small. Shouldn't she nearly be running around the place by now!

walshb wrote: »

Nope - I described it as being a national joke the other day.... I only watch it so I can laugh at it, then have a humorous b***h about it!

Actually, and quite sadly, there ARE some people out there that really take it seriously. I was chatting to a neighbour in his sixties the other day, I know himself and his wife watch the soaps, so I asked him what he thought of this whole ''Cult'' that's not really a cult thing. He actually burst out laughing and said he and his wife were laughing like hell at the whole ''toy gun'' thing. But, sadly, he told me that an older fella in his early eighties that he knows effing lives for FC, but won't watch the other soaps, and whenever they meet, it's the only thing he can talk about - but that he refuses to talk about the ''cult'' part because ''it's frightening and disgusting''.... I couldn't stop laughing - disgustingly and frighteningly awful storytelling, yeah, but it inspires as much terror as a state bag of crisps found at the back of a cupboard, or a slice of mouldy bread.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Hilarious stuff. The brick had me in stitches!

I'm hoping the flare gun gets used, after all this build up I'd love to see the production values on someone actually getting hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Here comes the garda response unit.

[URL="[img]https://i.imgur.com/JN4vlYP.jpg[/img]"]JN4vlYP.jpg[/URL]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I'm another who enjoyed tonights episode. If Damian plays his cards right and says the right words he can blame his behaviour on the cult and maybe get back in Caoimhe's good books..how quickly she forgot he saved her life.

The good doctor turned around in the kitchen tonight and I'd swear I was looking at Ming the Mercyless for a split second. If he sings 'They're coming to take me away ha ha' when the men in the white coats eventally do cart him off. I'll eat my hat.
    The soldier training coming out tonight in Dan. I dunno how it's all gonna end but really enjoying reading all the posts on this thread. Thanks y'all !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

What an utterly absurdly ridiculous episode that was tonight. 40 odd writers and this is the rubbish they come up with? It was genuinely so funny how bad it was, i actually just laughed my way through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 kiero111

im telling ya the more I look at that hannah wan - christ she would look well in a leather pants.  I hope the doc doesnt burn her

i think its time for dr judith to get her ample bosom back to carrigstown

''You put your flare (toy) gun in,
    you pull your flare (toy) gun out,
    in - out -in - out, you shake it all about,
    you do the Oakley Cokey and you turn around, and that's what it's all about!
    Oh! Oakley Cokey Cokey!
    And that's what it's all about!'' ....
    . :D

kiero111 wrote: »

She really has to be the worst grandmother ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

I think Saoirse is going to die. Pity as she's one of FC's best actors. :pac:

RIP

4114d3781283ec9d8aeb22a7fed3487a--baby-doll-clothes-baby-dolls.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

On a serious note though, although there was some laughable moments, all pointed out above by everyone, FC turned very very dark today. I was surprised and I liked it. Finally something is actually happening.

Got a Jim Jones vibe from tonight. Thought the drinks were going to be spiked and Hannah would be the first to die. Glad she didn't and hope she isn't the one to go. Looking at the preview on player,
    Oakley intends to light the house on fire, killing everyone except for himself. Wants to pin it all on Miriam then. Emmet realises finally that his plan will only work if everyone dies and he then realises what a twisted man Oakley is.

I thought someone was going to die tonight? Must be tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing how it all plays out!

She really has to be the worst grandmother ever!
    she probably met a big 25 year old german stud who loves his milfs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Where did the brick come from?

It’s probaby the same brick that Emmett threw through the window, so Damien’s been hit with the same brick twice. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I thought tonight’s episode was good. Dr.Oackley is a good character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭De Bild

she probably met a big 25 year old german stud who loves his milfs

Ha ha ha!

Hanna should be at a niteclub in a mini.
    I'd slap Jane's ar*e.
    I'd do 15 rounds with the Niamh.
    Farrah should get a good slapping.
    Judy is a MILF.. (Are you serious??)

You are like a broken record. A sexually frustrated little man.

Tell me which one are you Podge or Rodge?

fin12 wrote: »

They could have knocked another bit out of Dr Oakley. I really enjoyed his character. (It wired how we never call him by his first name)

Even though Hannah plays the part of a dumbo, it looks like she's far from it in real life.
    Amy is an Irish actress, writer and producer. She set up the company Trees Rd Productions and is currently presenting her own Arts Show called The Stage Door. She is represented by Frontline Actors Agency.

LINK:

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

De Bild wrote: »

Hanna should be at a niteclub in a mini.

Well, no nightclub but the mini is there ;)

196b3851c4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

fin12 wrote: »

Must say I'm enjoying it. As sieges go, it's very unpredictable and I don't know what way the story is heading.