Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

awec wrote: »
    Got an email from Virgin in November saying they were putting the price up so I just needed to give them 30 days notice if I wanted to cancel my service (I signed a new 12 month one last May).

A week later got a card through the door saying Sky was becoming available in my apartment. :D

Straight on to Sky to get the TV sorted, ringing Virgin tomorrow to tell them to shove this horizon box up their bangle and remove TV from my account.

Will be glad to see that back of it. Nearly danced around the living room when I got the card from Sky.

Anyone out there considering Virgin's TV service: don't do it. It's rubbish. The Horizon box is absolutely useless.

You lucky fecker!! Must get on to herself as she decided in her infinite wisdom to go back to virgin. That horizon box is genuinely useless and I mean USELESS. We are now on our third box and this one is shìte as well. Recording with no sound, skipped recording, recording the same programme over different channels. Press down on the remote and nothing happens. Press it again and the screen goes blank and it scrolls down about 30 channels. Wifi range is disastrous. Herself has to sit on one side of the kitchen table as the enormous 1.5 metres to the other side is too much of a stretch to send a signal to.

I'm surprised Samsung haven't distanced themselves from it tbh as it is soiling their name having this piece of junk associated with it.

Oh and if you complain to the reps here they'll ask for account details etc and then come back and tell you everything is fine on their side and to perform a factory reset....every single time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,536 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

I got fibre installed in my new place. 40 Mb up/down in the living room but can't even stream Netflix from the bedroom and it's not a big apartment.

Is there some cheap WiFi booster I can get?
    One of these will do the trick.

Simple to set up: connect to your laptop with a patch lead first, log n to the web interface and it will scan for Wifi, connnect it to your one and give it an SSID (usually the same as the original) and then site it somewhere where it can see and be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I haven't had quite as bad an experience as that with the Horizon box but I do find it pretty useless. If I want to watch Netflix it will sit on the splash page and nothing happens. I'll need to reboot it a couple of times before it actually logs in. We're having the house renovated at the moment so no point in cancelling right now but once we move back in I'll be jumping ship straight away to someone else. I might go with Eir just for the sports package included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

mfceiling wrote: »
    You lucky fecker!! Must get on to herself as she decided in her infinite wisdom to go back to virgin. That horizon box is genuinely useless and I mean USELESS. We are now on our third box and this one is shìte as well. Recording with no sound, skipped recording, recording the same programme over different channels. Press down on the remote and nothing happens. Press it again and the screen goes blank and it scrolls down about 30 channels. Wifi range is disastrous. Herself has to sit on one side of the kitchen table as the enormous 1.5 metres to the other side is too much of a stretch to send a signal to.

I'm surprised Samsung haven't distanced themselves from it tbh as it is soiling their name having this piece of junk associated with it.

Oh and if you complain to the reps here they'll ask for account details etc and then come back and tell you everything is fine on their side and to perform a factory reset....every single time.

Still on my first Horizon box I got a few years ago, have had the recordings with no sound but when I go out of the recording and back in its usually there. Never had the other issues.

Tried to play the game of calling up Sky/ Virgin before Christmas to get a better deal. Found the Sky rep to be waaay too pushy for my liking and just as the Virgin rep started telling me that the 9 month half price deals everyone of bargain alerts seem to get don't exist the builders in my house decided to cut the power and I lost the call ...

• The only thing that kept me with Virgin previous was their very very very fast internet. But I moved then and had no choice but to get Sky, and it dawned on me that I really don't need 320Gb or whatever Virgin offer, I really really don't. I'll be sticking with Sky from now on for sure, the TV offering is light years beyond Virgin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Buer wrote: »
    I haven't had quite as bad an experience as that with the Horizon box but I do find it pretty useless. If I want to watch Netflix it will sit on the splash page and nothing happens. I'll need to reboot it a couple of times before it actually logs in. We're having the house renovated at the moment so no point in cancelling right now but once we move back in I'll be jumping ship straight away to someone else. I might go with Eir just for the sports package included.

Switched to Eir before Christmas. Their box is more responsive but the layout of the channels when you get HD is very frustrating. Also you can only record 2 things and watch 1 at a time (per their site). It wouldn't even let me do that over Christmas. Was only getting 1 recorded and 1 live.

Still better than Horizon though.

prawnsambo wrote: »
    One of these will do the trick.

Simple to set up: connect to your laptop with a patch lead first, log n to the web interface and it will scan for Wifi, connnect it to your one and give it an SSID (usually the same as the original) and then site it somewhere where it can see and be seen.

Is opt for a powerline extender over one of these

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B0746HVPMC/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1515147090&sr=8-4&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=powerline+wifi+extender&dpPl=1&dpID=31CipLPcfiL&ref=plSrch

A bit more expensive but far better solution imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Synode wrote: »
    Switched to Eir before Christmas. Their box is more responsive but the layout of the channels when you get HD is very frustrating. Also you can only record 2 things and watch 1 at a time (per their site). It wouldn't even let me do that over Christmas. Was only getting 1 recorded and 1 live.

Still better than Horizon though.

To be honest, I barely watch TV. I use Netflix and download so I'm not that fussed about how responsive the channel layout although I don't think Sky can be beaten for their set up.

Eir will throw in their sports package for free which is the biggest single plus any provider has by a distance, for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

To be honest, I barely watch TV. I use Netflix and download so I'm not that fussed about how responsive the channel layout although I don't think Sky can be beaten for their set up.

Eir will throw in their sports package for free which is the biggest single plus any provider has by a distance, for me.

We have Eir and have had absolutely no issues with it. The sports deal was what swung it for us in the end too. We have Sky as well as herself is a big TV person. Couldn't be dealing with any other provider for that tbh. It's just such a doddle. Only thing is you can't get Netflix on the Sky box.

• Administrators Posts: 55,084 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I don’t watch a lot of live TV either except sport but Sky Q is perfect for us with all the catch up and on demand content.

There are a lot of drawbacks with those. Very dependant on the wiring used and are subject to electrical interference from fridges, microwaves, freezers etc.

Also completely hog power sockets, so you usually have to use a powerbar with them. And finally, if something goes wrong, they can be very hard to troubleshoot. I've seen more of those dumped than actually used.

If you absolutely, definitely have no other choice, then fine. But a good repeater, is a lot cheaper and will do a fine job with minimal fuss.

All ye people living in a place with good internet access make me sick!!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Since Virgin bought UPC and offloaded support to somewhere very far away, it has been absolutely shocking. I've had to call them on numerous occasions and ended up just abandoning ship. They've no idea wtf they're talking about and purely reading from a script. Will be switching to eir once fibre is available to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

All ye people living in a place with good internet access make me sick!!!
    Clearly you're not in Galway city so.

4G could be an option if you've a reasonable signal. 3G an option too.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'm thinking I might just move the router :D

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Clearly you're not in Galway city so.

4G could be an option if you've a reasonable signal. 3G an option too.

My phone 3g can be quicker than the WiFi we get in. But the WiFi is a solid signal and doesn't depend on what corner of the house we're in.

The worst thing is I actually need download and upload speed. So it's actually quicker for me to drive into Galway city download or upload what I need then drive the hour home than downloading at home

My phone 3g can be quicker than the WiFi we get in. But the WiFi is a solid signal and doesn't depend on what corner of the house we're in.

The worst thing is I actually need download and upload speed. So it's actually quicker for me to drive into Galway city download or upload what I need then drive the hour home than downloading at home
    Get a 3G/4G router. Use a PAYG SIM. You can get external aerials for those routers provided you get the right model. Unlocked ones obvs. 3G can get you up to 12MBps in both directions. In theory as high as 17MBps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

mfceiling wrote: »
    Lads anyone watch Detectorists?

Jesus I'm hooked. Very good.

Yup full season 3 is on BBC4 now.
    Talk about easy on the brain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yup full season 3 is on BBC4 now.
    Talk about easy on the brain!

I watched the first 2 series yesterday....then watched the 3rd series again today.
    I have to say that I think it is truly brilliant. The cinematography is something else and the slow pace suits the characters.
    I read somewhere that you watch an.episode and think "nothing happened" but when when you think back then enough happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Drumpf is having fun on twitter this morning.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Drumpf is having fun on twitter this morning.

Indeec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

He is, like, really smart

• There were a couple of posts on Reddit this week that got lots of attention, they predicted that Trump would take credit for 2017 being the safest year for air travel ever and that he has a bigger nuclear button.

So it seems you can in fact make this **** up.

• Look at this absolute cretin. Doesn't even have the balls to own up to it. Scum.

http://www.thejournal.ie/barry-mcelduff-bread-3784396-Jan2018/

They need to kick him out immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

They need to kick him out immediately

The GOP is morally bankrupt. They don't care what he says or does, they just want to get their agenda through asap - cut taxes for the rich, cut social security, cut health care, enrich big business. They're already well on the way to loading the judiciary with right wing judges. They will be desperate to get all that done before mid-term elections. In fact, much of what Trump says and does just distracts attention from their agenda so he's a useful fool. I can see a blue landslide in mid-terms if people wake up and see what Trump and the GOP are doing to the country. After that, possible impeachment?

Edit: just realised you were probably talking about the other idiot. :o

Yeah I was talking about Sinn Fein!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Yeah I was talking about Sinn Fein!

Well they need to kick Trump out too! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Has anyone ever used a one4all voucher online successfully?

I wouldn't mind a new pair of boots from lovell, but I don't wanna spend January cash on them...