Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Megathread 22/08/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow

Will Jessica Kelly be still on the Pat Kenny show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,085 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Mr Snow wrote: »
    Will Jessica Kelly be still on the Pat Kenny show

I'd imagine so. I suspect that her show will be recorded midweek and broadcast at the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

Thankfuly at a time I won't ever have to hear him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

good changes there.
    Cuddihy deserves a full-time gig, and I've been impressed with Andrea Gilligan when she's been covering recently. Jess Kelly knows her tech stuff well and with the TED radio hour now in the Global Village slot, there's no issues with scrapping the Sunday one.
    Hook getting 2hrs with regular travel/music/US politics items should keep the show fairly tight and interesting, rather than the rambling shambles of High Noon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭vince

Great to hear George Hook in good form on Redfm just now. Catch it later on neil prenderville pod cast. It will be 30 mins from end aprox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Is this Ciara Kelly on Newstalk arguing with a vegan on Newstalk??? My god, what a repugnant, toxic, sociopathic c*nt! Go on Sandra give it to the toxic b*tch! How is she a radio presenter...my God. She should be kicked off the show...disgraceful behaviour for a host. She is a nasty piece of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Thoroughly dislike Kelly,however I'm in her corner on this one. This vegan is a nutter,threatening to hang up and chickening out when told to.

Well done Sandra Higgins. Not a vegan myself, but that was atrocious smug behaviour by a host. Sandra ran rings around her, and Ciara exposed herself as an ignorant, stupid nasty piece of work. What a bunch of arseholes on Newstalk. They are so paranoid against vegans!

I think she was threatening to hang up because of the snide ridiculous arguments from Kelly. She asked what was the point of bringing her on the show if that's all she was going to do. When she said I'm a psychologist, and Ciara goes "are ya?"....she needs a slap! Jesus, I only listened to Newstalk for an hour today for the first time in a long time...is this really the standard of show? It's like American right wing radio...just sociopathic nutters, that don't want to engage or challenge their own ideas of the world. That's me done with Newstalk again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Ah, don’t you know you can’t criticise Dr. Ciara Kelly? She knows everything about everything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Is this Ciara Kelly on Newstalk arguing with a vegan on Newstalk??? My god, what a repugnant, toxic, sociopathic c*nt! Go on Sandra give it to the toxic b*tch! How is she a radio presenter...my God. She should be kicked off the show...disgraceful behaviour for a host. She is a nasty piece of work.

eh? wouldn't be a big fan of Ciara's but I thought she was a lot more composed, put forth a logical coherent argument for those that eat meat. The vegan on the other hand seemed to just lose the plot and make some pretty ridiculous comparisons. just to add as a by the way, I have no issues with vegans and respect and admire their commitment and compassion towards all animals...I'm just not one of them.

She's a doctor? Good God. Although she is on talk radio, so she's probably a doctor in the same way that Gillian McKeith is a dietician, or Katie Hopkins is a human being!

Sandra tried to stay on point before all these ridiculous interrupting comments from Ciara. I just thought Ciara was very rude. If Sandra was making ridiculous points, then let her talk and then present your own views. Don't keep interrupting and trolling her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

Love hearing Vegans lose their marbles and act like children. Quality entertainment. Well done Doc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

i like cuddihy but got help him going up against marion !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,424 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

She's a doctor? Good God. Although she is on talk radio, so she's probably a doctor in the same way that Gillian McKeith is a dietician, or Katie Hopkins is a human being!

No, she was (until recently) an actual GP. I don't mind her most of the time but fcuk Ian O'Doherty. Rent-a-gob.

She used to introduce herself as "DOCTOR Ciara Kelly" all the time with major emphasis on the "DOCTOR". She's a GP - the lowest of the low in the doctor hierarchy. I worked in a very specialist field in pharma for a number of years and you should hear the things hospital consultants say about GPs. The highest level of medical consultant specialists don't refer to themselves or introduce themselves as "Dr." Its use as she used it suggested both a massive superiority and inferiority complex - situation dependent.

When she started her own show the "DOCTOR" was dropped. I posted on this at the time that I suspect she was encouraged/forced to drop it by Newstalk as she was coming across as very aloof. She comes across as an incredibly smug know it all. To paraphrase Ben Stiller in Dodgeball "I'm better than you, and I know it" could be her catchphrase such is her own lofty opinion of herself - at least this is how she comes across.

No matter what the topic she seems to know more about it than her guest, which begs the question as to why have any guests on at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Chris O'Donoghue cannot catch a break.

Announced last week he was leaving Newstalk to join Simon Coveney and now this Francis Fitzgerald mess is blowing up.

He'll remember 2017 for a while.

He doesn't deserve one.

She's a GP - the lowest of the low in the doctor hierarchy. I worked in a very specialist field in pharma for a number of years and you should hear the things hospital consultants say about GPs.

The lowest of the low.... SMH.

What are you shaking your head at? I qualified the statement by further adding “within the Doctor hierarchy”, which it is - or are you going to try and state otherwise? I did not say she is the lowest of the low as it appears you’re trying to imply.

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How does she find time to host a 5 day a week radio show and fulfill her GP commitments.

Most GPs I know are run off their feet.

How does she find time to host a 5 day a week radio show and fulfill her GP commitments.

Most GPs I know are run off their feet.

She's not practicing anymore since her media career took off, or at least she's significantly reduced her hours. She has a locum in covering her hours.

Hook's show seems to be pre-recorded.

webcam turned off on the website, no reference to who the 9am newsreader was, or a thanks after (and the webcam was on for them), and for some reason after George said that the first half was over (at 8:55am) and they'd take news and sport, Imagine Dragon's song "Believer" played for a few minutes before going to the news, which seems like they finished up recording a few minutes early and had to fill some time, so a producer plonked a song in there to take them up to 9am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

George used to have a show similar to this before.

It could well be pre recorded, maybe the "snowflakes" that are newstalk are afraid that Georgey boy might say something deemed not PC enough for them and they can delete it.

You notice no texts on the show? I would have preferred the interaction between Micky Graham and Georgy, instead of him being allowed to say his piece uncombured.

By the way, I wonder did new Georgys slot make Ciaras weekend show to be scrapped I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

jimmyw wrote: »
    George used to have a show similar to this before.

It could well be pre recorded, maybe the "snowflakes" that are newstalk are afraid that Georgey boy might say something deemed not PC enough for them and they can delete it.

You notice no texts on the show? I would have preferred the interaction between Micky Graham and Georgy, instead of him being allowed to say his piece uncombured.

By the way, I wonder did new Georgys slot make Ciaras weekend show to be scrapped I wonder?

I couldnt see George getting up at the weekend to do an early show. It seems like everyone kicked off the weekeday shows is given an early weekend slot till they move on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Hook's show seems to be pre-recorded.

webcam turned off on the website, no reference to who the 9am newsreader was, or a thanks after (and the webcam was on for them), and for some reason after George said that the first half was over (at 8:55am) and they'd take news and sport, Imagine Dragon's song "Believer" played for a few minutes before going to the news, which seems like they finished up recording a few minutes early and had to fill some time, so a producer plonked a song in there to take them up to 9am.

is there not an obligation on a broadcaster to let listeners know that a show is pre recorded according to BAI standards? you hear it quite often that they mention it is pre recorded and not to text, even if it was prerecorded and hook never mentioned the text number you would still get a fair few people texting assuming it was live and that would be totally unethical.

I’m just surmising and being honest, i have absolutely no interest in reading the BAI code of conduct and standards to find out.

very impressed with Kieran Cuddihy's show the last two Sundays. good mix of topics, and presented very well.
    hopefully he'll get a full-time weekday gig soon.

very impressed with Kieran Cuddihy's show the last two Sundays. good mix of topics, and presented very well. hopefully he'll get a full-time weekday gig soon.

He was that good when presenting before the recent shakeup.
    I don't see room for him on the current daily schedule, not sure how suitable he would be for breakfast...
    Himself and Shane Coleman would be too similar if working together I think.

Jess Kelly show had interesting guest in VP of Ticketmaster on Sunday. She's well able host as well as contribute.

I missed her this Sunday gone, but caught the first half of the previous week, and agree, she had no problems hosting her own show. she was always very good as a contributor to the other shows.