Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Breaking: At least 1 man dead after stabbing rampage in Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

where should we check passports on the border?

McNally’s turnip field. Should definitely have an officer sitting in front of the ditch at the north end, beside the ESB pylon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

wakka12 wrote: »
    I don't get why people think he's not 18? Surely if he was lying about his age at all he'd pretend to be under 18 in order to seek less harsh sentencing?

Ever think he may have entered the UK aged lets say 17 hoping to get asylum and 1 year later got turned down and now has to be 18...did someone in the UK tell him he would get a flat or house in Ireland if he was 18....we dont know.

Add to that....what do the Gardai publically admit to knowing about him....
    A name....if its his real name, well they cant say if it really is his name as they havent yet confirmed his nationality, where he is really from...cant confirm that....why he came to Ireland.....do they know that???

The truth is....they are telling the public half truths or lies. Simple fact is that if they dont know his nationality and havent confirmed it they dont know anything for sure. Its a common practice for refugees...they misplace all papers once they reach the EU....meaning they cannot be returned to their home country. Egypt etc. wont be issueing passports to take them home very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,899 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

markodaly wrote: »
    More than 24 hours afterwards, they cant assess where the person is from? That is most worrying aspect of all this.
    Even if this guy was a lone nut job, our borders are quite pourous anyway where anything more organised would be easily executed.

Also, funny that the past few months that random unprovoked attacks around the world are all carried out by men from Middle Eastern origins.

I'm not sure where the idea is coming from that Ireland is an easy country to enter. We're an island nation nearly out in the Atlantic Ocean (meaning people can only enter by airport or ferry port or across the Irish border) and we are not a member of the Schengen Area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,504 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

imme wrote: »
    I'm guessing he is Libyan, either way the fact that his nationality cannot be ascertained is not that important.

His turning up in Europe is part of the great migration mania.

In terms of NI/ROI border post-Brexit, how can you not have a border:confused:
    People trafficking will be something you can only dream of/ have nightmares about.
    The stuff that's going on at the moment is frightening.

Yes, it appears the destabilisation of these countries and the blind eye the EU has turned on the issue of immigration of people who cannot be identified with any satisfaction is the main problem here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Del.Monte wrote: »
    If needs be. All I'm saying is that checking passports of everybody in an out of the country should be routine at borders between the British Isles and Europe. This would cut down on illegal immigration, drug smuggling, Irish scumbag criminals travelling where they like to enjoy their ill-gotten gains etc.

.....but it's illegal. All that happened before we had "de foriegners" coming and going. A hard border would just put up the cost of operation. Supply and demand and all that.

Strazdas wrote: »
    I'm not sure where the idea is coming from that Ireland is an easy country to enter. We're an island nation nearly out in the Atlantic Ocean (meaning people can only enter by airport or ferry port or across the Irish border) and we are not a member of the Schengen Area.

Our saving grace is in a way that we are an island who don't appear on the radar of the bigger nations and of course our low Muslim population by EU standards.

Saying that though, if our borders are as secure as you make out to be, how come a day after someone is murdered on our streets the authorities really have no idea who the person is baring his name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Our saving grace is in a way that we are an island who don't appear on the radar of the bigger nations and of course our low Muslim population by EU standards.

Saying that though, if our borders are as secure as you make out to be, how come a day after someone is murdered on our streets the authorities really have no idea who the person is baring his name?

But is it really his name.....below is an example of how many of these people operate:
    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-38516691

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,899 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Of course such people can somehow slip through the net but you're not going to see thousands or tens of thousands doing the same.

One would have thought too that Ireland would be of little interest to troublemakers seeking mischief. The overwhelming majority who arrive are going to be people genuinely seeking asylum.

Of course such people can somehow slip through the net but you're not going to see thousands or tens of thousands doing the same.

One would have thought too that Ireland would be of little interest to troublemakers seeking mischief. The overwhelming majority who arrive are going to be people genuinely seeking asylum.

If people are slipping through the net, it means the net is not tight enough. The thing is no one really knows who is in this country doing what. The Government doesnt, the Gardai dont, the security forces dont. We just dont know.

On your last point, people seeking asylum in Ireland are almost always bogus chancers. All the stats bare that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Will this bloke get remand in Mountjoy?

No he will be remanded in Cloverhill on suicide watch i suspect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

According to various 'informed' sources that I've heard discuss this very issue on the radio the consensus is that Ireland is seen as a safe haven in which to lie low, plan, recruit etc. i.e not draw attention by acts of terrorism on Irish soil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

On your last point, people seeking asylum in Ireland are almost always bogus chancers. All the stats bare that out.

Can you send on those stats? I haven't seen them.

Thanks.

Odhinn wrote: »
    .....but it's illegal. All that happened before we had "de foriegners" coming and going. A hard border would just put up the cost of operation. Supply and demand and all that.

I think you will find that checking passports for travel between the Schengen area and Ireland is perfectly legal. Have you ever flown from Paris to Ireland, or from Spain to Ireland?

I think you know that but want to split hairs as it's your hobby.

People like you exist. Imagine.

He probably applied to join the Musketeers, got rejected and took it pretty badly....

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Can you send on those stats? I haven't seen them.

Thanks.

Of course.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ireland-refuses-asylum-to-90pc-of-applicants-35229842.html
    Figures from the Department of Justice revealed that of a total of 1,552 applications for asylum to the Office of Refugee Applications Commissioner (ORAC) in 2015, only 9.8pc were granted leave to remain.

Basically more than 9 out of 10 are chancers going by the Department of Justice, as they fail the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Direct flights. Dublin Convention.

That's hopefully why 90% are rejected now.

splinter65 wrote: »
    See some Dubs turned up. Imagine going all the way to Dundalk to abuse a stranger.

Now now Splinter, Dubs live in all parts of Ireland.

The lad shouting most of the racial abuse had a country accent, possible even deeps ssticks rural farmer lad :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

recedite wrote: »
    Is that trip on today or next Thursday?
    The timing could prove embarrassing for Varadkar if he goes ahead with this finger wagging mission.

Looks like it was today..

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0104/930958-labours-howlin-criticises-taoiseachs-trip-to-hungary/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

At the risk of being seen to pontificate to people what should and should not frighten them, over 300 people have been killed in Irish road collisions since the beginning of 2016. Despite the fact that you are much more likely to be randomly obliterated in a car than you are to be randomly attacked by a Muslim -- the level of fear and hysteria towards the latter scenario seems disproportionately high. Not to mention that 500 people per year die due to alcohol-related cancers while over 5,000 per year die in Ireland due to smoking. Irish society has proven itself quite capable of producing mass murderers.

The point is -- there are things out there killing hundreds of Irish people which do not garner the same fervour among people. One immigrant commits a murder and people seem to totally lose the plot -- calling for all kinds of things like a complete overhaul of society and a whole range of other extremities such as tightening immigration rules without any regard for cost and the effect on our economy. If you suggest to them that we maybe should criminalise tobacco, despite the fact that it could eventually save thousands of lives, they would rightly laugh at you for failing to see the practical and economic issues it would cause. Yet all it will take is a couple of murders by some immigrants and they'll be crying out for an Iron Curtain around Ireland regardless of the adverse practical implications.

Immigration is a challenge for our country and it needs to be taken seriously -- but also rationally, logically and indeed compassionately (without compassion, I'm not quite sure what about our society we are trying to save). People should reflect on the rationality underlying their fear of being killed by a Muslim terrorist, which is unlikely in the utter extreme, while thousands of our people will lie dead this time next year due to things our society has happily tolerated for years.

All true, but people are immune to the everyday common or garden deaths by what almost seems natural causes, “lifestyle” deaths, cancer heart disease stroke, ( self inflicted deaths some say) suicide, even car crashes barely raise an eyebrow anymore unless involving small children and even then... the gangland feuds and the many small time crooks, we barely notice any more.
    Brown colored bearded men stab strangers or run them down with hired trucks while shouting gobbledygook in exotic places like Nice and Las Ramblas, not Dundalk.
    When the outside world intrudes, it scares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,621 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

so what have the uk told us about this guy?

Have they even been asked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I'm sure the Gardai will get around to checking with them eventually.

splinter65 wrote: »
    I listened 4 times but couldn’t hear. I’ll get my husband to listen now he’s in from work.

Does your husband speak Arabic ?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

I can't speak for the rest of Dundalk but for my own view, when this news broke yesterday my 19 yr old son was in a house in that area. I tried to get him on the phone and was fairly frantic due to my own issues. Eventually i discovered he was asleep in his bed having come home in the early hours. I felt a right fool, but I will not say I spent anytime at all worrying about being attacked by a random brown skinned foreigner.

In fact, truth be told, I feel more afraid of being attacked (again) by two knife wielding white skinned junkies of the Irish variety. To save the usual trawling through my post history that is what happened to me, in Dundalk, last jan 14th. Hence my "mental issues" like anxiety etc.

While I currently have some friends from that area in college, I am not a fan of unlimited immigration. Call me racist if you like, frankly IDGAF. We have enough scum to worry about who were born here, we don't need to import more. If we continue to allow any tom,dick or mohammad into the country we will end up just like europe. not in another generation, but in this one. Previous attacks in europe are carried out by 2nd generation immigrants. As more come into europe, the collective sense of power grows and they become bolder. Attacks from 1st gen, just landed, give me a house and benefits type will become more common.

By all means give them aid, help to build houses, train workers, feed and clothe them. But why do it here? they would be better off in a country closer both physically and politically to their own. I have no objection to helping them, but not at the cost of them destroying my country due to overcrowding hospitals, longer housing lists etc. We Irish went aboard in droves, but we went to work, not to claim benefits. The country is too small, too under equipped and too damn soft to accept the numbers coming here. None of whom seem to want to assimilate into our culture. Instead they come here, demand more than the natives are getting and scream racist when they don't get it.

I don't have an answer to every question, I may not even remain on this thread, but for me its a question of looking after the Irish first, then IF we have any left we can begin to look after others. Charity begins at home.

yours truly,
    a worried,scared, tired old man who wants to do the right thing without getting screwed for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

So he’s not Muslim...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Omackeral wrote: »
    Jesus the anger of that crowd. Not that I blame them.

I believe 4chan's network engineers were diagnosing a suspected network outage around that time due to a dramatic drop in network traffic.

That's a joke just in case those that got upset over that posters hard on quip shed a tear again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    So he’s not Muslim...

nor gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

tigger123 wrote: »
    Unless there was anything to indicate that the guy was a danger to himself or others the Garda did nothing wrong. What do you think he should have done instead?

If being in the country illegally isn't itself an arrestable offence, surely it should be? Otherwise immigration laws are meaningless.

Racist abuse at that poor man how dare those scum abuse that man you would think he committed a murder or something.

Oh wait.
    So that Guards don't know his real name nationality connections or motives.
    But relax it was not terror they are sure of this they think sort of.:rolleyes:
    His balls should be cut of very slowly and he might just talk.

He will probably be released instead unless he escapes.

I never understood mob mentality.
    All over the years watching what were usually accused child killers and the like on the tv arriving at or leaving court unseen in the police/Garda van with the small blacked out windows and a mob outside waiting sometimes for hours in bad weather just to spend 20 seconds bawling abuse and sometimes eggs etc at a van, jostling for position with the photographers. Pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Also, funny that the past few months that random unprovoked attacks around the world are all carried out by men from Middle Eastern origins.

Most, if not all, the random attacks in Dublin anyway have been by Irish people.