GARDAI are investigating a string of stabbing attacks this morning that has left one man dead and two others injured. The incidents took place in Dundalk, Co Louth. One man has died after he was attacked and stabbed on Avenue Road. He is understood to be of Asian descent. His age is as yet unknown. The man was pronounced dead at the scene. It is understood that two other men - both understood to be Irish - were subsequently injured in separate attacks. Gardaí who were called to the scene confronted and disarmed the attacker. He has been arrested on suspicion of murder and is being detained at Dundalk Garda Station. He can be questioned for up to 24 hours. It is understood that the attacker is originally from Syria.
Ash.J.Williams wrote: » where should we check passports on the border?
wakka12 wrote: » I don't get why people think he's not 18? Surely if he was lying about his age at all he'd pretend to be under 18 in order to seek less harsh sentencing?
markodaly wrote: » More than 24 hours afterwards, they cant assess where the person is from? That is most worrying aspect of all this.Even if this guy was a lone nut job, our borders are quite pourous anyway where anything more organised would be easily executed. Also, funny that the past few months that random unprovoked attacks around the world are all carried out by men from Middle Eastern origins.
imme wrote: » I'm guessing he is Libyan, either way the fact that his nationality cannot be ascertained is not that important. His turning up in Europe is part of the great migration mania. In terms of NI/ROI border post-Brexit, how can you not have a border People trafficking will be something you can only dream of/ have nightmares about. The stuff that's going on at the moment is frightening.
Del.Monte wrote: » If needs be. All I'm saying is that checking passports of everybody in an out of the country should be routine at borders between the British Isles and Europe. This would cut down on illegal immigration, drug smuggling, Irish scumbag criminals travelling where they like to enjoy their ill-gotten gains etc.
Strazdas wrote: » I'm not sure where the idea is coming from that Ireland is an easy country to enter. We're an island nation nearly out in the Atlantic Ocean (meaning people can only enter by airport or ferry port or across the Irish border) and we are not a member of the Schengen Area.
markodaly wrote: » Our saving grace is in a way that we are an island who don't appear on the radar of the bigger nations and of course our low Muslim population by EU standards. Saying that though, if our borders are as secure as you make out to be, how come a day after someone is murdered on our streets the authorities really have no idea who the person is baring his name?
Strazdas wrote: » Of course such people can somehow slip through the net but you're not going to see thousands or tens of thousands doing the same. One would have thought too that Ireland would be of little interest to troublemakers seeking mischief. The overwhelming majority who arrive are going to be people genuinely seeking asylum.
Fann Linn wrote: » Will this bloke get remand in Mountjoy?
markodaly wrote: » On your last point, people seeking asylum in Ireland are almost always bogus chancers. All the stats bare that out.
Odhinn wrote: » .....but it's illegal. All that happened before we had "de foriegners" coming and going. A hard border would just put up the cost of operation. Supply and demand and all that.
Professor Moriarty wrote: » People like you exist. Imagine.
Bubbaclaus wrote: » Can you send on those stats? I haven't seen them. Thanks.
Figures from the Department of Justice revealed that of a total of 1,552 applications for asylum to the Office of Refugee Applications Commissioner (ORAC) in 2015, only 9.8pc were granted leave to remain.
splinter65 wrote: » See some Dubs turned up. Imagine going all the way to Dundalk to abuse a stranger.
recedite wrote: » Is that trip on today or next Thursday? The timing could prove embarrassing for Varadkar if he goes ahead with this finger wagging mission.
ArthurDayne wrote: » At the risk of being seen to pontificate to people what should and should not frighten them, over 300 people have been killed in Irish road collisions since the beginning of 2016. Despite the fact that you are much more likely to be randomly obliterated in a car than you are to be randomly attacked by a Muslim -- the level of fear and hysteria towards the latter scenario seems disproportionately high. Not to mention that 500 people per year die due to alcohol-related cancers while over 5,000 per year die in Ireland due to smoking. Irish society has proven itself quite capable of producing mass murderers. The point is -- there are things out there killing hundreds of Irish people which do not garner the same fervour among people. One immigrant commits a murder and people seem to totally lose the plot -- calling for all kinds of things like a complete overhaul of society and a whole range of other extremities such as tightening immigration rules without any regard for cost and the effect on our economy. If you suggest to them that we maybe should criminalise tobacco, despite the fact that it could eventually save thousands of lives, they would rightly laugh at you for failing to see the practical and economic issues it would cause. Yet all it will take is a couple of murders by some immigrants and they'll be crying out for an Iron Curtain around Ireland regardless of the adverse practical implications. Immigration is a challenge for our country and it needs to be taken seriously -- but also rationally, logically and indeed compassionately (without compassion, I'm not quite sure what about our society we are trying to save). People should reflect on the rationality underlying their fear of being killed by a Muslim terrorist, which is unlikely in the utter extreme, while thousands of our people will lie dead this time next year due to things our society has happily tolerated for years.
expectationlost wrote: » so what have the uk told us about this guy?
splinter65 wrote: » I listened 4 times but couldn’t hear. I’ll get my husband to listen now he’s in from work.
Omackeral wrote: » Jesus the anger of that crowd. Not that I blame them.
Fr_Dougal wrote: » So he’s not Muslim...
tigger123 wrote: » Unless there was anything to indicate that the guy was a danger to himself or others the Garda did nothing wrong. What do you think he should have done instead?
Verpiss dich wrote: » Racist abuse at that poor man how dare those scum abuse that man you would think he committed a murder or something. Oh wait. So that Guards don't know his real name nationality connections or motives. But relax it was not terror they are sure of this they think sort of.:rolleyes: His balls should be cut of very slowly and he might just talk. He will probably be released instead unless he escapes.
markodaly wrote: » Also, funny that the past few months that random unprovoked attacks around the world are all carried out by men from Middle Eastern origins.