Smartphones have ruined concerts, pubs, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

warpdrive wrote: »
    It's funny because no phone is good enough to record the sound well enough to be enjoyable when played back.

Depends what you're looking for. I was at a concert in Italy and used my phone to (audio-only) record parts of it. There was an OB van at the side of the stage and I thought it was being broadcast live like the one the night before, but I found out afterwards that it'd be on two weeks later.

Well, back home by then, I was able to synch my "middle of the crowd" recording with their on-stage version, both played through a surround-sound system and it was like I was there all over again! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bridster007

Just watched Pat Short's Music from D'Telly tonight and there was a clip from 1985 with Chris Rea in the National Stadium.
    Compare that audience to a present day concert audience and it speaks for itself.

And I doubt anyone there that night is yearning to have had a video of it - they enjoyed the night, over and done with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

I'd never stand behind someone taller than me :)

ha, give ya that one. :D

Well this wee lad shall remember to tap ya on the shoulder and ask ya to kneel down should we ever meet :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

It doesn't really effect me because I am not constantly checking my phone when I am out. If I am on my phone alot on a night out, it means that I'm bored and not having a good time.

Yeah same for me, and I'm glad to have it sometimes to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

It's not the phones it's the people that's the problem.

Regards,
    dumbass american

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was at my daughters school christmas play this evening. I took a few photos but soon put the phone away but was amazed at the amount of people who video'd the entire thing on their phones and as a result watched the whole thing from their phone and imo effectively missed it as they were too busy keeping the phone/camera lens steady and centred on their little ones. Ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭theyoungchap

Dragging up an old thread here. Was at Dublin Legends in Vicar Street last night and it was tragic to see the amount of MORONS who recorded nearly every song.
    It is time venues like Vicar St start policing this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

On the other hand, it's appears to have triggered quadruple digit growth in the whiny judgement sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Was at David Gray in the Bord Gais last year and the ushers went around pointing the flashlight of shame on phone users. It was great.

Maybe they were just shaming people for being at a David Gray concert??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Pelvis

I saw Saint Etienne in the National Concert Hall a few months ago. A couple of times, people were told to put the phones away, but only if they were easy for the ushers to get to.
    Who were they playing? Seems an odd venue for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

Saw The Eagles in the point/o2 a couple of years ago. All seated, weren't allowed stand up, absolutely no phones, even 2 young wans beside me were threatened with being focked out because they wouldn't shut the fcuk up talking. Sounds boring but was easily the best concert I was ever at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭KellyXX

I don't go to the cinema anymore.
    Mobile phones/light sabers waving all over the place in front of you.
    Nuff said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

KellyXX wrote: »
    I don't go to the cinema anymore.
    Mobile phones/light sabers waving all over the place in front of you.

That was probably on the screen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭KellyXX

That was probably on the screen?

Bah the ones in the audience were brighter than the ones on the screen.

KellyXX wrote: »
    Bah the ones in the audience were brighter than the ones on the screen.

Funny you say that I went to Star Wars and the only phone on in the place after it started was a friend of my mother's, a man in his 60s, his 13 year old had to tell him to turn it off!

It's not necessarily a generation thing IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I was at Josh Ritter in the opera house in Cork earlier this month. Ushers were VERY strict on phones being used in the theatre. (I was admonished by one myself for taking a sneaky pic of the act. :o. I'd never record a video though. Pointless and rubbish quality. One photo maybe, then I sit back and enjoy the music.).

People got the message quickly enough that cameraphones shouldn't be used and it was a very enjoyable concert without all the lighted screens waving thanks to the ushers.

An announcement re cameraphones before the start of the performance or printed on the ticket would have made their jobs a little easier I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

I was out on the town for the first time in absolutely yonks last night - dancing away happily to the music - until I noticed the amount of feckin phones recording and snapping around the place. I backed up a bit and started spying to see what the heck where people snapping - out of focus photos of the backs of heads and close ups of double chins it looks like, mostly. Yay, technology! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

thelad95 wrote: »
    I don't understand people who stand there watching a concert, which they have paid up to €100 to see, through the screen of their phone. I'm sorry love but if you're putting it on Snapchat, nobody cares and if you're saving it to your phone you'll never look at that shït again.

People need to start rocking out again and remember how to live in the moment.

Get what you are saying BUT

Betcha you posted this on a smartphone!.

If you have one stop being a hypocrite and smash it to bits, the relief will be immense. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Get what you are saying BUT

Betcha you posted this on a smartphone!.

If you have one stop being a hypocrite and smash it to bits, the relief will be immense. ;)

Unless he was posting it from the middle of a concert, how is he being hypocritical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Chatting to a few mates last night in the pub.
    Was trying to remember name of actor in film... sure enough it was like a wild west gun draw as the phones came out.
    I had to tell them to put them away and try and use their brains for once... this was how we had fun back in the day!
    Thankfully they did, and we did manage to remember the actors name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Patww79 wrote: »

There's no need for a "right answer" in pub ****etalk with the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Chatting to a few mates last night in the pub.
    Was trying to remember name of actor in film... sure enough it was like a wild west gun draw as the phones came out.
    I had to tell them to put them away and try and use their brains for once... this was how we had fun back in the day!
    Thankfully they did, and we did manage to remember the actors name!

If there is one thing that smartphones have killed, it's the pub spoofer. It's a bit of a shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Unless he was posting it from the middle of a concert, how is he being hypocritical?

Using something he's having a moan about. How many people use them alone in private when no one's about?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

Patww79 wrote: »

Jeez, you must be great craic :confused: